Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXV - 'Loopy' Season has begun

I actually think the whole story is b.s.

Obviously made its way through a source somehow but that may have been testing the waters to see whether a trade could eventuate. I’m sure there are agents / managers out there who do this type of thing to see how it plays out. Now that McKay said no, they will probably take a different route at a different club. I mean there is nothing to say he is interested in joining us or was planning on nominating us.

I would not be shocked if Melbourne agree to a trade, but only if he selects one of the clubs that they can get the best deal from. It’s all speculation though so who knows what will happen.
I reckon that Melbourne is trying to make it as uncomfortable as possible for us to even contemplate taking Trac.

Trade Martin and Motlop to Freo for next year's first. They want Martin and always wanted Motlop. Both WA boys anyway.

Trade Carroll and our second to West Coast for their 2nd rounder.

Trade Owies to whoever it was that was chasing him for a second rounder. His value is higher this year.

Trade Cerra, our future first, and West Coast's 2nd to Melbourne for Petracca. Dees did court Cerra at one point.

Trade our first to Port for Houston.

Trade Freo's future first to GWS for Aleer.

Keep our second in case Ben slips past their and we can use it, or give it to Freo to get that deal across the line.

I reckon Cerra might be open to a trade. His soft tissue injuries haven't been managed well, and he's been forced to play at half-back to fit in our bulls. Also helps greatly with the cap.

Maintain all of our elites, and add Aleer, Houston and Petracca ... who wouldn't

Yes, I know our small forward stocks are reduced to Durds, Fantasia, Williams and Fog, but that's quite doable.
I want Moir!

We wont be able to afford Houston and Petracca in the cap.

Id rather forgo on Houston, go for Aleer instead and go all in on Petracca, saving later picks for points for at least one of the Campo boys.

Aleer wont be that expensive. He hasn't shown much at AFL level (despite being a former number 2 pick).

I say we shop Pittonet around and retain Cerra. Back in TDK (with McKay, McGovern and JSOS as backup plus Aliir and a project Rookie ruck).
Aleer was taken with GWS’s second pick in that draft. Pick 15. Not pick 2. At least check his wiki page or the GWS page on him before coming out saying he was pick 2.

Petracca would certainly make us better, but can't see any of our gun talls departing

If anything you would look at moving on a mid or 2
That's what happens in my makey uppey 3 way trade! 😀

As things stand, Carlton is not involved in the Christian Petracca situation at all at the moment, it's got nothing to do with them.

Riley Beveridge: “In terms of the Christian Petracca-Harry McKay stuff, I've spoken to Dave Trotter Harry McKay's manager & he said both Melbourne & Carlton have spoken to him as well & told him it's got nothing to do with them & it's nothing that they've discussed.

Petracca said a BIG Victorian club not a rabble out of Moorabbin,however they could get it done as it will start with Max King.

If we bring in Houston, who is he going to replace? I can’t see a Carlton side going forward that doesn’t have Moo in it, and I honestly think that Moo next year is going to make us start asking why did we think of Houston.

The only possible option would be Boyd really… or Newman. And replacing Newman isn’t going to happen. He’s a general down back. So it’d come down to Boyd. But if we wanted to, we could use Cinc in the role Boyd plays. And then we have Doc coming back in.
I think it's more than positional. In the top 2-3 kicks in the game, and I think most would agree that's a weakness for us. Leadership, right age bracket, seems low maintenance. A custom fit for the way Voss would like us to play. I'll add I wouldn't entertain any talk of two first rounders...but a future first or thereabouts? Sure.

Assuming we need a core of 8 or so defenders to choose from, that gives us Weitering, Houston, Saad, Newman, McGovern, Cowan...and then Boyd, Cincotta, Young, Docherty for a spot in the rotation, injury cover etc. We're really not rolling that deep down back.

I know it's wanky, but in this case it's legit. He does have a bit going on besides footy.

But I also don't buy the narrative that he's damaging his own brand. Nasty journalism.
It's not even unique to his case, Cripps several years ago talked about in an interview the commercial benefits to playing for a club like Carlton and how he's embraced his off-field business ventures.

It feels like this is a bit of slander against Petracca, probably form Melbourne to make him seem more selfish. Sure, the catch phrase "Brand Petracca" sounds wanky, to your point, but it's really not an unusual thing for a player to pursue, especially high-level ones. This has just been made public, and I doubt it's Petraccas crew that are putting it out there...

Collingwood pushed out a reluctant and popular Adam Treloar in 2020, when he had five years left on his contract. Brutal.

In 2022, they traded out Brodie Grundy, who had been in the leadership group the year before and had four years left on his monster contract. Brtutal MkII. These trades helped the Pies to recruit Hill, Mitchell, Frampton and McStay.

A year later they win the flag (* involuntary twitch*).

I am all for culture, but sometimes there are 'greater good' considerations. Not specifically talking McKay vs Petracca, but just in general.
While true, they did also have a coaching spill and a club review. It wasn't as though those moves catapulted them into a premiership necessarily

We should have a crack at Petracca. Would really be a massive get for us. Is it doable? Well it probably means Kennedy is not getting a game next season. He and/or Hewett. Cerra could well be in this boat with his form and body both taking a hit this season. Rumours were Melbourne had interest in Cerra. Depending on Melbourne's interests then these three players could be used along with our first to unlock this trade.

I don't think McKay will be traded. I don't think that would be a good idea anyway.

If Petracca can get out of his contract then that puts a lot of pressure on Melbourne. It means this is a serious trade scenario.

Media may be beating this up but who knows. Smoke = fire. Would love to have him.

Didn’t think you could name clubs still playing finals. All I’ve seen from the WA media is that he’s requested a trade to a Victorian club.

Hawks!

WEST Coast defender Tom Barrass has confirmed his intention to be traded to Hawthorn.

The 28-year-old has been the subject of trade speculation throughout the year and confirmed his desire to move to the Hawks at his exit meeting on Tuesday.

I very much doubt anyone is giving us a 2nd rounder for a 30yo who is perennially injured. He's going to get us a 3rd rounder at best.

Also big doubts on Carroll being worth a 2nd rounder too... the guy has played what 15 games this year? Had hardly any impact in a lot of those games, often gets subbed out. He has youth on his side, another 3rd rounder potentially.

Owies could be worth a 2nd rounder.

Pittonet isn't going to be traded.

Don't get me wrong, I would love for this to play out... bit too unrealistic for mine...

We are not going to land Petracca by getting rid of a bunch of fringe players to supplement our 24 and 25 1sts.

If Melbourne were smart, if and when Trac requests a trade to us, then they'd have to realise that its time for them to refresh their list because their flag window will be slammed shut. So picks should be very lucrative to them especially with Tassie around the corner...

I'm thinking it'll cost us something like 24 + 25 1sts + Cerra for Trac + a 2nd rounder (#38)

If we can get a 2nd rounder for Owies that leaves us with three 2nd rounders this year. Just guessing we trade him to the Tigers for #29.

Aleer + a 3rd for 2 of those 2nd rounders, maybe #29 + #38.

So we have 1 x 2nd, 1x 3rd plus whatever we get for Martin and Carroll to spend on Campo bros.

OUT:
#11 + F1 + #29 + #38 + Cerra + Owies + Martin + Carroll

IN:
Petracca + Aleer + B.Campo + L.Campo

Contextually, a "second rounder" can run the gamut from Pick 20 to Pick 45 these days.

Those players aren't worth early second rounders, but I reckon Owies could net a "mid" second rounder around the late 20s, early 30s, while Martin and Carroll could be "late" second rounders in the vicinity of Pick 40. And depending on the club trading for them, it could also be a very early third round pick (ie. 45 from WC), which while technically not a second rounder is close enough to the mark that it's pedantic hair splitting to argue over it.

And as always - it comes down to what picks the clubs have. Maybe we get a second rounder that's a little above market value simply because that's the closest pick the other side has, and they're not fussed about 35 draft index points difference. Maybe we toss in a fourth rounder or something tokenistic (happens every year, and often the other club doesn't even use the pick).