Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXV - 'Loopy' Season has begun

They want to go there because they usually like to surf or are country lads (Jez, Danger just to name 2).

It's the same reason the Sydney sides keep/attract players, lifestyle.
There are many reasons to want to go to Geelong and those are just some of them.

Location and lifestyle are part of it. Fact is that there have been 4 standout teams in the competition for the last 25 years. Geelong, Collingwood, Sydney and Hawthorn. Over that period they haven't missed finals that often, rebuild quickly, win premierships and make grand finals. They are the four standout operators. Those are the clubs who also appear to be the major destination clubs and it's their history and how they operate and their reputations which make them so.

You chose those clubs because they are your best chance at winning a premiership and they are good professional operators. The players trust the clubs and trust them to have the best people working for them.

We are a fair way off. It's our big name, being a traditional big 4 club that keeps us going. If we weren't, the way we have been operating, we would be the clear worst team in the league the last 25 years. We would be a destination club to the level North Melbourne are.

Our desirability has improved the last 5 years. But it has a long way to go before we reach the level of those 4. Trust is a big thing in an industry. Could you trust Carlton not to bottom out soon and to give you a chance at a flag more than these 4 teams? Nope.

I live near Torquay and see their young guns pretty often at my local trivia

They just get treated like regular people in Geelong, I even had a player buy something off of me on marketplace

I don’t reckon you get that luxury in Melbourne, they always seem to be ducking their heads and avoiding eye contact

Saw Gawn outside the AFLW game at GMHBA as I was leaving Chin Chin’s and when I made eye contact he immediately looked at the floor, probably keen to avoid anyone noticing him or hassling him

Think there are a lot of intangibles that Geelong provides that are unique for a Victorian based club

Geelong is a nice place lets be honest.

Sam Edmund just said on SEN that he believes it’s Geelong but Baz isn’t asking for big money so he said any club could fit him in and Baz is moving for football reasons not money.

If that’s true then I really hope Austin at least asks the question because he is exactly what we need plus we could offer Bulldogs better compensation than Geelong.

Also Barass requested a trade to Hawthorn and hawks are still in it so I find it interesting Baz hasn’t chosen a specific club yet.
Mate, Geelong are appealing....

After our performance.....we are not appealing....

On CPH2135 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Will be at Geelong. No club mentioned due to Geelong still in premiership contention.
What Is That GIF by Xbox

I live near Torquay and see their young guns pretty often at my local trivia

They just get treated like regular people in Geelong, I even had a player buy something off of me on marketplace

I don’t reckon you get that luxury in Melbourne, they always seem to be ducking their heads and avoiding eye contact

Saw Gawn outside the AFLW game at GMHBA as I was leaving Chin Chin’s and when I made eye contact he immediately looked at the floor, probably keen to avoid anyone noticing him or hassling him

Think there are a lot of intangibles that Geelong provides that are unique for a Victorian based club
Hadn't thought of it like that but makes sense

FWIW, as someone from the country when I graduated high school the VAST majority of my friends chose to go to uni in Geelong as opposed to Melbourne, due to it being a big place with all the resources that come with that, whilst still having that laid back, country town feel. It's no surprise to me that all of these country VIC players find moving there so appealing.

Being the most successful side of the past 20 years certainly helps too.

We are a fair way off. It's our big name, being a traditional big 4 club that keeps us going. If we weren't, the way we have been operating, we would be the clear worst team in the league the last 25 years. We would be a destination club to the level North Melbourne are.

One might argue that being a "traditional big 4 club" is what's held us back...

Geelong's reward for being the best team in the game for the last 35 years. Players want to go there for good reason.

That's a furphy

They are a great team with great culture but their success is based around:
1. The best home ground advantage of any Victorian team
2. An ability to entice Western Districts country kids back home...you know which players (and not just Dangerfield Cameron)
3. An ability to entice those kids and others to a "surfcoast lifestyle"
4. Getting 10s of $M in state and federal funding because of their regional geography
5. "Hiding' kids in the Western District Leagues and schools like St Joeys
6. Farming kids in regional areas (Geelong has has a huge breeding ground there) are still very much a football in winter with cricket in summer mindset. They either don't get exposed to as many sports as city kids do or they're not as interested. The communities live and breathe footy and alot of these kids eat footy night and day from when they are born.
7. Good luck to them but they have been immensely fortunate with Father Sons (Scarlett, Ablett, Ablett, Hawkins, Atkins, Bews, Blake)

If Geelong just do it better than anybody else, why haven't other clubs tried to copy their model. They can't because they are unique geographically and have had unbelievable luck with F/S...again, I wish we had the success they've had over the last 20 years and their list management prowess, but that success has a caveat to it

Doc turns 31 in a bit over a month. I very much doubt that he would be contemplating retirement just yet. Could see him

going on for two or three more years, as long as he stays healthy. He is still a gun player, just do not like to see him in

defence any longer. Much prefer him on the wing or HF.

OOC end of next year. That should do him I reckon. :think: