Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXV - 'Loopy' Season has begun

That's a furphy

They are a great team with great culture but their success is based around:
1. The best home ground advantage of any Victorian team
2. An ability to entice Western Districts country kids back home...you know which players (and not just Dangerfield Cameron)
3. An ability to entice those kids and others to a "surfcoast lifestyle"
4. Getting 10s of $M in state and federal funding because of their regional geography
5. "Hiding' kids in the Western District Leagues and schools like St Joeys
6. Farming kids in regional areas (Geelong has has a huge breeding ground there) are still very much a football in winter with cricket in summer mindset. They either don't get exposed to as many sports as city kids do or they're not as interested. The communities live and breathe footy and alot of these kids eat footy night and day from when they are born.
7. Good luck to them but they have been immensely fortunate with Father Sons (Scarlett, Ablett, Ablett, Hawkins, Atkins, Bews, Blake)

If Geelong just do it better than anybody else, why haven't other clubs tried to copy their model. They can't because they are unique geographically and have had unbelievable luck with F/S...again, I wish we had the success they've had over the last 20 years and their list management prowess, but that success has a caveat to it
Righto, explain how Sydney, Hawthorn and Collingwood are much the same then? Those factors are most definitely true but what I said carries as much weight if not more. Geelong have been the best team in the game for 35 years and this is their reward. Everyone expects their next grand final appearance is just around the corner. If you are a club players can trust to get up and contend for flags, players will go there. And you get the right players with the right attitude. You get the players who value success. Otherwise players move for money, opportunities because they aren't great players or there is some other connection there like the team in the city they want to go to being the only one able to do the deal etc.

You can not just copy success and just do it the same as Geelong do. Since 1989 they have appeared in 10 grand finals and won 4. They haven't missed finals all that often. You can't just go out and copy that.

Geelong have well and truly earned what they have now. If you had no team bias, you would want to go to that club with that record.

Collingwood have been in 7 grand finals, won 3 in the same period and they haven't gone real long without missing finals.
Hawthorn 7 grand final appearances and won 6 since 1989. In the 80s had 7 grand final appearances and won 4 flags.

Sydney have 7 grand final appearance and have won 2.

This is they are destination clubs, players associate them with success, everyone does, player managers associate them with success...

Then there's us. Since 1989 we have played in 3 grand finals and won 1. Unlike the teams mentioned above, there are no recent grand final appearances. Prior to last year, hardly any playing player would be able to remember us playing in a prelim let alone a grand final. No one associates Carlton as a successful and reliable club you can trust will have teams playing in grand finals and being a genuine contender.

Anyone who thinks this counts for nothing is absolutely kidding themselves.

You go to these 4 clubs for success. You go to the others because you grew up there or because of the contract... maybe you barricked for them.

Carlton's reputation. We hardly make finals, we win a lot of spoons, we don't win flags, we rarely if ever contend, we sack coaches, we offer poor job security, we aren't successful. We have a lot of work to do and in a competitive environment with a hell of a lot of good competition, we have quite a long way to go. Our reputation is garbage after the last 25 years. Give me a good reason why you would chose us over the more successful clubs?

You earn your reputation.

Righto, explain how Sydney, Hawthorn and Collingwood are much the same then? Those factors are most definitely true but what I said carries as much weight if not more. Geelong have been the best team in the game for 35 years and this is their reward. Everyone expects their next grand final appearance is just around the corner. If you are a club players can trust to get up and contend for flags, players will go there. And you get the right players with the right attitude. You get the players who value success. Otherwise players move for money, opportunities because they aren't great players or there is some other connection there like the team in the city they want to go to being the only one able to do the deal etc.

You can not just copy success and just do it the same as Geelong do. Since 1989 they have appeared in 10 grand finals and won 4. They haven't missed finals all that often. You can't just go out and copy that.

Geelong have well and truly earned what they have now. If you had no team bias, you would want to go to that club with that record.

Collingwood have been in 7 grand finals, won 3 in the same period and they haven't gone real long without missing finals.
Hawthorn 7 grand final appearances and won 6 since 1989. In the 80s had 7 grand final appearances and won 4 flags.

This is they are destination clubs, players associate them with success, everyone does, player managers associate them with success...

Then there's us. Since 1989 we have played in 3 grand finals and won 1. Unlike the teams mentioned above, there are no recent grand final appearances. Prior to last year, hardly any playing player would be able to remember us playing in a prelim let alone a grand final. No one associates Carlton as a successful and reliable club you can trust will have teams playing in grand finals and being a genuine contender.

You go to these 4 clubs for success. You go to the others because you grew up there or because of the contract... maybe you barricked for them.

...and we still have a thread mocking Essendon about winning finals .

As you say, we have been bog ordinary !

Has not held Collingwood or Richmond back.

We would be worse than North Melbourne if it was not for that.
Collingwood and Richmond never shared the Carlton mindset, they both woke up to the reality of the professional national league because they realised there is no other choice.

The only club with a comparable mix of arrogance, complacency and delusion to the CFC has been the * - we can see how well that's going for us both

Carlton's reputation. We hardly make finals, we win a lot of spoons, we don't win flags, we rarely if ever contend, we sack coaches, we offer poor job security, we aren't successful. We have a lot of work to do and in a competitive environment with a hell of a lot of good competition, we have quite a long way to go. Our reputation is garbage after the last 25 years. Give me a good reason why you would chose us over the more successful clubs?

You sure do…

The only clubs not to have played in a granny this century are The Suns, North and… Carlton.

Carlton have 1 solitary prelim since 2001, the same as Essendon and less than North.

You sure do…

The only clubs not to have played in a granny this century are The Suns, North and… Carlton.

Carlton have 1 solitary prelim since 2001, the same as Essendon and less than North.
Yep, reputation is massive in business and this sport is a big business. We have a lot of work to do fixing our rep. This is one, it's hard. The other is the coach sacking thing. Attracting players for success and not money and attracting top coaching prospects are a real problem at this club because of the reputation we have developed over the last 25 years.

Collingwood and Richmond never shared the Carlton mindset, they both woke up to the reality of the professional national league because they realised there is no other choice.

The only club with a comparable mix of arrogance, complacency and delusion to the CFC has been the * - we can see how well that's going for us both
Part of it, they still love relishing in their Big club status. It makes them money and the big crowds and big club mantra helps attract players. They just use it well. It's a gift, not a curse. It's kept us relevant and kept us above clubs like North who don't have that crutch to support them.

IF we were a North level club and did what we did the last 35 years, we would not even exist.

...and we still have a thread mocking Essendon about winning finals .

As you say, we have been bog ordinary !
That's funny and warranted though. Even through our darkest period in our history we've at least managed to win some finals, all the while * somehow keep failing to.

Amen.

I was saying it to another long time Carlton fan mate only the other day, the only thing elite about Carlton over the last 20 years has been is its fans.

Yep, reputation is massive in business and this sport is a big business. We have a lot of work to do fixing our rep. This is one, it's hard. The other is the coach sacking thing. Attracting players for success and not money and attracting top coaching prospects are a real problem at this club because of the reputation we have developed over the last 25 years.

Carlton as a ‘big successful club’ is outside the lived experience of every player on an AFL list.

To these guys or youngsters in the coming draft pool, the blues are the club their parents supported (or loathed or feared) but no longer has intrinsic appeal as a destination.

Carlton as a ‘big successful club’ is outside the lived experience of every player on an AFL list.

To these guys or youngsters in the coming draft pool, the blues are the club their parents supported (or loathed or feared) but no longer has intrinsic appeal as a destination.
Except getting to play in 80k plus crowds regularly

Shits me the G is not our home ground

This isn’t true.
While we certainly haven’t been successful, every Carlton player who played last September knows we’re a big club.

Yeah I was trying to guess his value, guess it’s less than Baz so probably one first rounder? Preferably next year - I don’t know, is that too ambitious?
Future first would be the best outcome but he’s contracted so it’s gonna be difficult.

Jon Ralph reporting that our plan to get Houston is get another first round pick in this years draft by trading our future first and we want to keep our first pick (pick 11) use that in the draft, add Houston and the Campo boys

This isn’t true.
While we certainly haven’t been successful, every Carlton player who played last September knows we’re a big club.

1 finals campaign where the supporter base composed of those who actually remember the club’s history turn out doesn’t makes us a big club. It reminds us that we used to be one.

Unless we have sustained appearances I fear our participation deep into the season (when we occasionally get there) will be viewed as a surprise or a novelty rather than as something sort of expected.