Bluemour Melting Pot XXXI - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

My position is very clear.We are running a high performance football club in an elite competition. We are governed by the laws of the land and the rules of the AFL. Beyond that the political interference of many factions within the club have blurred the vision of what we are trying to achieve. And in my opinion anyone pushing their own agenda ahead of the goals and objectives of the club is partially responsible for the position we are in and that is everyone.
I have stated elsewhere that I am supportive of respect, but I am anti personal agendas.
And speaking of agendas, you are clearly peddling a number of them.
I like the majority on this site, want the hatchets buried and the club to move forward and starting to play finals footy again.
CB
why is the opinion of someone who is part of a bigger movement, described as a personal agenda? you don't read my posts on carlton, the club, the games, performances, history, wins, highs, lows, disappointments, euphoria? I also have an interest in equal rights, human rights, women's rights and other progressive movements as do a lot of others around the place - but now I'm told I have an agenda?

Conversely can I ask when do you stop kicking someone for something they may or may not have done years ago?

I see you are not just a lawyer now but the whole damn star chamber judge jury and executioner. what a class act.
sounding extremely defensive - hope that eyesight isn't blurring your judgement..........

Dunno but I would consider them at the very least just like I would consider Ross.
Character is a very important quality so I do understand where you are coming from but I also believe we have a role to play as a society to show them the right way by reintegrating them to a certain extent
sure - never said any different - my beef is with the coverupperers and those who believe holding people accountable is somehow "virtue signalling" whatever the hell that is.........

I know they'll obviously ask for more but I still reckon pick 6 is fair. I mean isn't it: either pick 6 or he can go to the draft - unless some other team wants to spend their top 5 capital on him? It's been reported he's meeting with several other clubs - not just us. We are not beholden to Cerra in any way so if I was the club I'd say: 6 - take it or leave it. Worse comes to worse we keep 6 and could do wonders with it.
Yep, it's actually just about perfect compensation. Nice to use in the this draft if we need to walk away.

the only way a perpetrator deserves to be accepted fully into any organisation, space, family etc is if that person is fully accountable, listens to the victim/survivor as to what they have experienced through the abuse, takes full stock of the situation, commits to reparation, commits to change in behaviour and commits to becoming an advocate for change - do that and past transgressions will be seen as a mistake that a person regrets and wants to genuinely ensure ddoesn't happen again - anything else is fake, a cover up and will leave the perpetrator as miserable in their soul as the person they abused.......
Agree.

There are too many people who don't take accountability or responsibility for their actions.

And if one was skittish on process is not willing to own up, take responsibility, acknowledge transgressions, - then seeya, the door is that way and don't let it slam on the way out.

BF lets agree to Disagree mate.

Go the Blues

Depends... you like to go off on tangents...

If I defend Ross' coaching ability, you immediately translate that to me wanting him...

I want the best person for the job. That could be Ross or someone else...

The club clearly wanted Ross to be a candidate. He pulled out.. so this isn't the club not wanting him... this is him not wanting to go through "the process" which who knows what that entails... you and I certainly don't...

Having said that... I have my doubts "the process" was simply an interview about why he feels he's the man for the job and what he can bring but (imo) would've been more of an interrogation based on speculation. I say this because if it was a normal interview, he would've done it hands down. Again, my opinion and we can agree to disagree on that part.

But stop confusing the facts... I'm not spitting the dummy that Ross won't be coaching us, simply pointing out how outdated your remarks are re his coaching ability.

Conversely can I ask when do you stop kicking someone for something they may or may not have done years ago?

I see you are not just a lawyer now but the whole damn star chamber judge jury and executioner. what a class act.
Meanwhile apparently Voss can't coach now because he didn't go super well 12 years ago after being talked into a senior role too early (when he'd already accepted an assistant role at WCE and otherwise had only done some academy work)

There are circumstances Ross didn't win a flag... falling just short of beating probably the greatest Cats side in history...

Falling short of beating one of the greatest Hawks sides in history lead by a coach who is better than him...

How many coaches available that are better than Ross?

And there it is again.. "the process" ... what is the process? You can bet your house Diesel and Parkin were all for getting him... but what would they know...
Did he lose to Collingwood as well?

Who'd a thought that a post quoting Kane Cornes would get this many likes?

Doesn't he hate us?
hats off to cornes considering he has to sit next to lyon on footy crucified, remotely or otherwise...........

Depends... you like to go off on tangents...

If I defend Ross' coaching ability, you immediately translate that to me wanting him...

I want the best person for the job. That could be Ross or someone else...

The club clearly wanted Ross to be a candidate. He pulled out.. so this isn't the club not wanting him... this is him not wanting to go through "the process" which who knows what that entails... you and I certainly don't...

Having said that... I have my doubts "the process" was simply an interview about why he feels he's the man for the job and what he can bring but (imo) would've been more of an interrogation based on speculation. I say this because if it was a normal interview, he would've done it hands down. Again, my opinion and we can agree to disagree on that part.

But stop confusing the facts... I'm not spitting the dummy that Ross won't be coaching us, simply pointing out how outdated your remarks are re his coaching ability.

lol

you put a smile on my face

As said I'm not impressed by him or rate him as high some others do.

13 years no silverware. 3 chances to win against Geelong, Hawks and Pies.

How many chances the great Ross Lyon Need?

Maybe we let him coach in a grand Final against a crap side just so he can win one.
Great coaches and teams find a way to win. Doggies 2016.

He is not bigger than the club and I'm glad the club stood their ground.

Did he lose to Collingwood as well?

His teams losing were not a result of his poor coaching ability...

Toe poke from Matty Scarlett.. overall close game

Unlucky bounce for Milne... overall close game

Inaccurate kicking for goal... overall fairly close game - kick in it late in the 3rd quarter

You want to sit there and blame Ross for those - your call. But if you do, you show a fundamental lack of understanding the coaching caper.

Can blame him for not getting his side up and about for the gf rematch v Pies. That's only one of four grand finals...

You want to talk about his last few years? What about Clarko's? What about Brad Scott's?

Maybe we should just hire the coach of the team that wins the flag this year... there's an idea you can get behind...

Agree.

There are too many people who don't take accountability or responsibility for their actions.

And if one was skittish on process is not willing to own up, take responsibility, acknowledge transgressions, - then seeya, the door is that way and don't let it slam on the way out.
Its the american sitcom society....do what you like so long as you say sorry afterwards.....but only if your caught out.
If people made better choices the word sorry would vanish from our language.

The pile on here is ridiculous. Sayers has set about to right the good ship Carlton. He is obviously naive to the mechanics of the largely incestuous environment that is AFL, with everything tempered by journos happy to create mischief through half truths or blatant fabrication. Add that to the increasing number of former players, officials and journos wanting to extend or relive their short lived time in the limelight and this is the source of the apparent cluster**** taking place.

The only real mistake Sayers has made is to work innocently towards an environment where he and the board can move quickly once the essential dominos fall. It has been reported in the media and by our various posters with a degree of inside info that he has contracted pretty much anyone who may be a target to fill a role. Either administrators or assistant and/or former have been contacted to identify their availability and interest in a possible role with the club. I don’t believe his intent was ever to make any appointment without a process from the board or senior officials. The reaction to the withdrawal of Lyon is ludicrous. Sure, in terms of experienced coaches Clarkson and Lyon (along with Roos) are the highest profile in the business. Clearly Lyon thought his time was up and had resigned himself to maintaining relevance with his media presence. An opportunity seemed to present piquing his interest, and seemingly offering a path back to the big time. We can only guess at the level of the skeletons in his closet with only bits and pieces being public knowledge. It would seem Lyon responded positively and eagerly to the overtures from Sayers and with Clarko seemingly out of the race viewed the position as his, like many in the media and the public.

Sayers clearly did not have the mandate to appoint Lyon directly even if he had any desire to do so. This in no way should be assumed. By putting a process in place with a purpose formed committee, there was no way Lyon could avoid certain levels of scrutiny so hastily withdrew, seemingly resigned to the fact he would not survive a significant level of scrutiny.

There is enough information available to us to suggest Liddle and Lloyd are likely in the “dead man walking” category. Clearly Sayers and the board are utilising their services pending availability of replacements and perhaps to mercifully minimise any professional blowback to those individuals. Allowing for a lower key ”career move” as opposed to a summary sacking would seem kind to these officials. Unfortunately it is likely that rather than carry out their tasks to the best of their abilities, one or both are taking any opportunity they have to lob grenades at management. Things are escalating, but I for one have not lost faith in Sayers. He has shown admirable courage and intent to remove any toxic influences from the management and has my support. It is not prudent to dump both CEO and Head of Football when we are working through list management decisions. There is some logic to retaining this pair pending replacements.

The latest revelations and the determination of the media to destabilise the club have serious ramifications around player retention and recruitment and need to be addressed. I would defy any individual posting garbage on our board to have the skill set to seamlessly manage such a circumstance within an organisation requiring obvious levels of corporate governance, and under such public scrutiny. I really hope all of the stirrers driving their own little agendas would back off unless they have something relevant and beneficial to add to the discussion.

How about we Carlton supporters actually support Carlton…………..
Thankyou for reading my brain and putting it much more eloquently than I ever could.

His teams losing were not a result of his poor coaching ability...

Toe poke from Matty Scarlett.. overall close game

Unlucky bounce for Milne... overall close game

Inaccurate kicking for goal... overall fairly close game - kick in it late in the 3rd quarter

You want to sit there and blame Ross for those - your call. But if you do, you show a fundamental lack of understanding the coaching caper.

Can blame him for not getting his side up and about for the gf rematch v Pies. That's only one of four grand finals...

You want to talk about his last few years? What about Clarko's? What about Brad Scott's?

Maybe we should just hire the coach of the team that wins the flag this year... there's an idea you can get behind...

Thanks you for making me laugh so much lol.
I am genuinely cacking myself.

At the end of the day its about winning premierships.

Has he won any?

It's not about getting close, or making excuses as to why you don't win them.

He is not above any of his peers. All I am saying is that I am happy the club is sticking to their guns.

Have you got a man crush or RTB? :p

the only way a perpetrator deserves to be accepted fully into any organisation, space, family etc is if that person is fully accountable, listens to the victim/survivor as to what they have experienced through the abuse, takes full stock of the situation, commits to reparation, commits to change in behaviour and commits to becoming an advocate for change - do that and past transgressions will be seen as a mistake that a person regrets and wants to genuinely ensure doesn't happen again - anything else is fake, a cover up and will leave the perpetrator as miserable in their soul as the person they abused.......
That’s why if Lyon was genuine he could have been a great ambassador he could have done all of the above for all I know
If he had and expressed and owned it and has travelled the road of self improvement he communicated on fc
Then I would like to think he could still coach the club
The NDA is bit of a red flag when you see how it is used in Hollywood and big business it’s usually a way of protecting the perpetrators reputation