News Bradshaw quits the Lions

Yep TBD is right. Bradshaw will only nominate for the PSD. Sydney have pick 5 & they have apparently offerred Bradshaw a 3 year contract.

The clubs before Sydney would probably not give him a 3 year deal.

You had the chance to grab him with the Fev deal.

And you believe that dill thebrowndog... he is the one who was saying that you could bookmark it that Fev was on his way to Sydney and that the deal had been done and would be completed first thing Monday morning or something similar...

I will wait and see what happens ok... :)

And you believe that dill thebrowndog... he is the one who was saying that you could bookmark it that Fev was on his way to Sydney and that the deal had been done and would be completed first thing Monday morning or something similar...

I will wait and see what happens ok... :)

Yere there could be more surprises in store. Can't believe the 2 weeks that we have had in footy circles. It makes your head spin, especially over at the Lions!

In: Fevola, Out: Bradshaw - Who would have thought this would happen 6 weeks ago ?

Yere every club has it's flogs & shit stirrers. I know which 2 you are refferring to.

When Fev is not playing against Carlton, you'll still watch him with possible admiration & maybe even excitement. Same as me with Bradshaw. You just cannot break that bond or special feeling that you have for that player.

After all is said & done. Bradshaw will be primarily remembered as a Lions legend & Fevola will be remembered as a Blues legend.

That's how it should be I reckon.

I for one will be hoping he destroys the pies & bombers while playing for you guys.:) Hopefully he will have one of his off days against the Blues. One is for sure, I will be watching more lions games.

He's done a three-year deal with Sydney.

You'll hear more soon.

So if someone offered you more or the equivalent money over two years than you would get over 3 yrs. you are telling me you'd still take the three year deal ? Interesting.

With a young family at the end of his career it will be the about total sum he can earn over the next period not the time frame.

Second time you've tried to completely make up complete horseshit and attribute it to me. Seriously, why do you just make shit up?

I've been nothing but consistent and respectful on this board, but you are a complete knobend.
Why should we believe a guy thats had to change his sig about a dozen times since trade week???? :D

This is the 3rd or 4th time I've read that he rejected our offer, so I'm starting to think it might actually be true. Love to see him at the blues but it doesn't sound to promising now, does it??
Rejecting the offer made in a trade does not mean he rejects coming to the club. He is just after a little more than we offered, we could still offer him something he would accept. I think he wants 3 years and a little more money as he knows its his last contract, we apparently offered him 3 years in the trade deal that fell over.

I would be more concerned about reports he has spoken to Sydney. Whilst clubs should keep their options open, besides his contract payments and term, he comes free in the ND or PSD and one would suspect that if Sydney have spoken to him they might have an interest in him.

If he is happy to move to Sydney then he will get there. They have so much cap room and can slot him right into their team. No team can compete with that and they have a pretty early PSD draft pick. Just a question of whether its entirely about money/contract lenth or if its a balance with living in Victoria and settling his family down permanently after football.

Let's just wait & see. IF Fev takes us to a flag or two, I'd be pretty happy. IF we pick up Luke Ball I'll also be pretty happy.

I'm not to fussed about Hendo or pick 12. That's gone now for us, as is Bradshaw. No point in looking back. I hope it works out well for Carlton.
I hope that is actually your attitude........otherwise it smacks of denial.

If you get Ball it will smooth things out a little, but if you don't, and you lose pick 12, Henderson, Bradshaw and MacDonald........and only bring in Fev and some second tier players...........Voss hasn't served you well.
On with the Fev show!

Even though you're having a crack at the Lions, you must admit, the prospect of Brown & Fevola in full flight, in the one forward line is (as Bruce would say) Deliciousssss!
Is it really any more delicious that Brown and Bradshaw?

If you took away injuries and the extra 2 yrs age I'd take Bradshaw over Fevola. Fev is a good lead up forward and is maybe slightly better when the ball hits the ground, but Bradshaw can also stand and wrestle and knows how to protect his space to mark. Fev can't, other than with far inferior fullbacks.

Basically if the fullback is level with Fev he will spoil him more often than not. If the FB can match Fev for pace off the mark (over the years Scarlett, Hudgton) then Fev becomes near useless. If Fev loses half a yard of pace over the next 2-3 years his effect as a FF could rapidly diminish.

Bradshaw works much harder off the ball to create his space and if the FB catches him he is much better at holding position and protecting space.

All in all it's hard to see Fev as a significant upgrade on Bradshaw other than he doesn't get many injuries and he is two years younger.
The way they play though the extra two years may be less meaningful.

I'm hopeful we get Bradshaw but not too fussed if we don't.
I would think Voss would be gutted to lose Bradshaw for nothing, and he would hope and pray that some second tier players in the midfield can step up to help Rich, Black and Power or the chances of you beating Geelong or Saints for a flag in the next couple of years is pretty slim.........and if you lose in the middle it doesn't matter who is in your F50......the Dogs showed you that.

I hope this does work out well for both clubs as I have no dislike for the Lions (actually used to follow Fitzroy as my second team as a kid) and despite what he has done and what he has alleged to have done I love to watch Fev play footy and will miss seeing him in Navy Blue......but I just can't see the Lions winning a flag with that midfield and defence in the next 2-3 years.

Carlton will be crazy not to get Bradshaw! Better him than some othe names that have been thrown around. I think that although he mite not be the answer to win us a premeirship, he can give us 2 possibly 3 stable years upforward and with that can help some of the youngsters develeop ei.Henderson. Very sad the way the Lions have treated a champion of the club, but their loss can be our opportunity..

If you took away injuries and the extra 2 yrs age I'd take Bradshaw over Fevola. Fev is a good lead up forward and is maybe slightly better when the ball hits the ground, but Bradshaw can also stand and wrestle and knows how to protect his space to mark. Fev can't, other than with far inferior fullbacks.

It's amazing how much things can change in a few weeks. :eek:

I liked Voss' response when the Bradshaw/Rischitelli deal fell through and he was asked how the players would handle it- "Bradshaw and Michael are quality blokes and they'll handle it just fine. It's good to have kept them." :)

I've been nothing but consistent and respectful on this board, ...

lol. Don't be fooled by this Brisbane supporter nuff nuff. This guys been on an Anti-Carlton tirade for the past few weeks all over BF - an obsession. It's going pear-shaped for the Lions now and he ain't happy about it.

Brisbane supporter here's the deal. While the Blues gettting Bradshaw is still unlikely, I can tell who what is 100% sure. Fev cost you..

1. Pick 12
2. Henderson
3. Bradshaw.

And at the end of the day that cost to Brisbane won't change. Something for you to ponder over the next 2-3 years.

Anyway why does where Bradshaw go now even bother you? Brisbane's cost is now set in stone whatever happens. Suck it up and move on.

:)

lol. Don't be fooled by this Brisbane supporter nuff nuff. This guys been on an Anti-Carlton tirade for the past few weeks all over BF - an obsession. It's going pear-shaped for the Lions now and he ain't happy about it.

Brisbane supporter here's the deal. While the Blues gettting Bradshaw is still unlikely, I can tell who what is 100% sure. Fev cost you..

1. Pick 12
2. Henderson
3. Bradshaw.

And at the end of the day that cost to Brisbane won't change. Something for you to ponder over the next 2-3 years.

Anyway why does where Bradshaw go now even bother you? Brisbane's cost is now set in stone whatever happens. Suck it up and move on.

Not entirely true...

Should Ball nominate for ND

it would be:

1. Pick 12
2. Henderson
3. Bradshaw

for

1. Fevola
2. Ball

however it's all dependant on Ball's decision

Can't agree with you there, Parrot.
Post enough times and we're all going to be undone one time or another.

TBD is just riding the highs and lows and is a quality poster for mine.

TBD is a decent poster from a neutral point of view, although he has an ever increasing hatred of Carlton, the results of which are being littered around the site. :cool:

Not entirely true...

Should Ball nominate for ND

it would be:

1. Pick 12
2. Henderson
3. Bradshaw

for

1. Fevola
2. Ball

however it's all dependant on Ball's decision

But Bradshaw's loss was direct fallout from the Fev trade. Ball won't have anything to do with the Fev trade.

At this stage Voss gained Fev, lost his second best forward and 2 first round pick young players, and acquired 3 pieces of dead wood in exchange for other draft picks.

News Bradshaw quits the Lions