Coaching Staff Brendon Bolton - Senior Coach - Locked in until end of 2020 (23/5/18)

That would make it 17 then.

Unprecedented, but send about as strong a message as could ever be sent. 17 changes made. Those 17 players failed to show the effort, respect and spirit that the Carlton Guernsey and club deserves. They aren't being written off, they'll be eligible for selection the following week.

Harsh. Yep.
Unrealistic. Yep.

But honestly, it pisses me off that we're making bullshit excuses for players not caring. Enough cuddling and hand-holding and educating and growing. We stand by our players as long as they stand by eachother and the club.
The thing about lack of effort is that it can be contagious. One player sees his mate not chase hard..... that player copies the action. Snowballs. Even players of solid character may fall into the trap.

So I’d look at the tape. Identify the players who first drop away in effort.... probably first 4 or 5. And they are cut, hard and fast

Effort. That is something that should be nonnegotiable. Running around like headless chooks should not be tolerated! Flowing laying a tackle or a shepherd or a gut busting run should be the norm! Nothing to do with the being young and inexperienced. No excuses for effort!

It should be. But we are so down at the moment that its just human nature to be flat at times. We busted a gut the last month or so and got no result. Pair that with never ending and growing injury list and honestly i cant blame them for dropping the head. I know i would.

Do you think the lose of craig has hurt us and bolton? i think we need to bring in some hard edge senior assistants and some better tactical coaches, we just seem to be struggling in the coaches box

I reckon probs 25%. The main reason for our struggles is not enough senior leaders, 2 many young boys with under 50 games and injuries.

It's weird I don't think there is a sport in the world where a club gets 5 years to rebuild. Yet here we are. We can't sack him because he is doing what we want him to do and that's build a playing group from 0. It just really sucks that we had so little to start with. Unlike Sydney, Collingwood and Hawthorn for example. Can't sack him, we have to back him in and we have to nail the next 2 drafts. If that doesn't occur than sack him. And the next person gets 3 years max to sort it out.

We sack Bolton, because we (SOS) doesn't nail the next 2 drafts?

I am so confused

We sack Bolton, because we (SOS) doesn't nail the next 2 drafts?

I am so confused
Well recruitment and then the implementation of said recruit into an environment that fosters growth and development in all facets are different things. SOS does one and Bolts the other. If we nail the draft and then nail growth and development we will be fine. If one suffers than Bolts will get the arse.

Effort. That is something that should be nonnegotiable. Running around like headless chooks should not be tolerated! Flowing laying a tackle or a shepherd or a gut busting run should be the norm! Nothing to do with the being young and inexperienced. No excuses for effort!

So a young draftee, not having the tank to gut run or the strength to constantly lay a tackle? Perhaps a couple more preseasons?

Senior players absolutely

Well recruitment and then the implementation of said recruit into an environment that fosters growth and development in all facets are different things. SOS does one and Bolts the other. If we nail the draft and then nail growth and development we will be fine. If one suffers than Bolts will get the arse.

So Bolton gets the arse if SOS doesn't nail the draft or the development coaches, don't develop the players?

I don't think so

Do you think the lose of craig has hurt us and bolton? i think we need to bring in some hard edge senior assistants and some better tactical coaches, we just seem to be struggling in the coaches box

IMO the departure of Craig has definitely hurt us. He was the experienced head amongst a generally young group of coaches. He would have been invaluable as a sounding board for Bolton and his assistants.

We appointed a rookie coach to what at the end of 2015 was easily the toughest coaching job in the AFL. We need to surround him with a strong support staff.

It's important for us to find someone to perform the role that Craig DID.

We have a coach who is learning what it is to be a senior coach at the same ti me as we have completely overhauled the playing list. This isn't a Chris Scott situation where he took over a ready made premiership team.

TALK OF REPLACING Bolton at this point is crazy, he should be there for at least the next couple of years. That doesn't mean his performance shouldn't be reviewedalong the way but I do believe he should be given the chance to finish what he started.

The main reason for our struggles is not enough senior leaders, 2 many young boys with under 50 games and injuries.
Add to this our age demographic. Despite the relative inexperience of Brisbane's team, we fielded 9 players who are 21 years of age or younger, while Brisbane only fielded 4. This is a significant difference in number of mature bodies.

Hope the little bloke doesn't lose confidence in himself
If he does and players pick up on it we will be more stuffed
I like him
Cross me 4b2s he is successful with us

A very important pre-season coming up, for coach and players to breathe, re-boot and regain faith in one another.

Hope we don't take the Adelaide approach! :p

I don’t think Clarko could coach this side to more than a single win.

I don’t think it’s Bolton’s fault, he does make some strange moves (or lack of) on game day, and not selecting Harry has me baffled, but there are bigger issues than him. I do think he needs a strong senior assistant next to him.

I can’t believe after 3 years of hard yards people want him out now. It was always going to take time. Richmond stuck with Dimma and their young stars when it got hard, we seem keen to throw ours out.

I suspect Clarko wouldn't have won many, if any more. A more relevant question is, after three drafts, would Clarko have allowed the list to get to such a state where it would struggle to win more than one game for the year.

Also, people keep comparing to Dimma and Bomber Thompson scenarios. There is another that is conveniently overlooked. Matthew Primus.

Way to early to throw Bolton under the bus. Assistants I am looking at hard at for now and what has Barker ever done?

Sometimes it takes a few years to get the right help to support your senior coach and currently Bolton does not have this IMO.

You need a good TEAM in the coaches box as well that compliments your team that runs out on the field.

What was clarkos record like in his first couple season? Am i right in saying alot of hawks supporters hated the way clarko coached and had them playing that chip it around style
I remembered one of my mates use to go off about it ever wk

What was clarkos record like in his first couple season? Am i right in saying alot of hawks supporters hated the way clarko coached and had them playing that chip it around style
I remembered one of my mates use to go off about it ever wk
clarko's 3rd year was when lance franklin kicked winning goal against adelaide in the finals. The clarko comparison isn't helping bolton here at all...

Add to this our age demographic. Despite the relative inexperience of Brisbane's team, we fielded 9 players who are 21 years of age or younger, while Brisbane only fielded 4. This is a significant difference in number of mature bodies.
We still had a lot of good players playing. It was probably the healthiest our midfield has been this year. What we saw against brisbane wasn't a gulf in talent or experience. I'll take weiteirng getting out-bodied in marking contests, i'll take fisher getting pushed off the ball by bigger opponents. That's part of the journey.

But brisbane (17th ranked team mind you) got 24 marks inside 50. It's close to the highest number allowed by a team this year. Melbourne averages the most with 14 per game for some perspective. It was a total systemic failure and bolton has to be accountable for that. We were the witches hats to the team that are witches hats for all the other teams...

I get we've had some good games as well so we shouldn't overreact too much, but the nature of this loss was extremely concerning

We still had a lot of good players playing. It was probably the healthiest our midfield has been this year. What we saw against brisbane wasn't a gulf in talent or experience. I'll take weiteirng getting out-bodied in marking contests, i'll take fisher getting pushed off the ball by bigger opponents. That's part of the journey.

But brisbane (17th ranked team mind you) got 24 marks inside 50. It's close to the highest number allowed by a team this year. Melbourne averages the most with 14 per game for some perspective. It was a total systemic failure and bolton has to be accountable for that. We were the witches hats to the team that are witches hats for all the other teams...

I get we've had some good games as well so we shouldn't overreact too much, but the nature of this loss was extremely concerning
Our defence has lacked leadership for much of this year due to the loss of Docherty without a ball being kicked in anger. The loss of Plowman removed another leader from our defence & then to top it all off, Simpson pulled up sore & was a late omission this week. Rowe, who at least gives some voice in defence, was then shuffled into our forward line to cover for the early injury to Phillips.

How many people would back in a defence of Thomas, Lamb, Silvagni, Jones, Weitering & an underdone Marchbank (who ultimately ended up in hospital) to maintain structures long enough to hold out any opposition's forward thrusts? Does anyone think that a defence which included Docherty, Simpson, Plowman, a fully fit Marchbank, Weitering & Jones would have capitulated in such a way? You can rest assured that if both Docherty & Simpson were out there on Saturday there would have been no way Brisbane would have taken 24 marks inside 50. It probably wouldn't have been half of this.

So Bolton gets the arse if SOS doesn't nail the draft or the development coaches, don't develop the players?

I don't think so
Bolts gets the arse because that's what football clubs do, not what they should do. I say keep Bolts if you're wondering.