Coaching Staff Brendon Bolton - Senior Coach - Locked in until end of 2020 (23/5/18)

WTF is going on with our kick in the constant kick to themselves and the kick to the pocket is so predictable why are we still stuffing this up.

This is easy to answer. Docherty and Williamson haven't played a game all year, and Weitering has missed games through injury and form.
Look at who's taking the kick outs.

I liked your post, but I've an issue with the degree of modifying history that goes on at times.

Under Ratts, we were scintillating when we had the footy, when we won the clearances and the contested ball; when we had even numbers around the contest, we smashed sides through our superior quality, and we put them to the sword if we got the fast break. However, when sides played a) an extra around the stoppage, b) an extra behind the ball, or c) played accountably through the middle, we didn't just struggle, we got shut down hard. Strategically, Ratts had a fundamental and unmodifiable plan A, and was both unable and unwilling to change his strategies to account for opposition strengths, direct counter tactics, or the injuries that hit us in 2012.

Injuries certainly hit hard, but our squad was not so poor by that point that our entire game should've got dismantled. Our gameplan didn't change; we kept trying to run the ball fast, beat the opposition's mids 1v1, despite lacking Carrots and Murphy - and Judd - and having to salvage a midfield from the rest of the list.

Ratts is a terrific midfield coach. Ratts is capable of getting a side binding together. Ratts is a shocking overarching strategy coach, and he's even worse at working out where things have gone wrong over time. Had we a marginally better squad, then sure we may have gone further - that's down to the recruiting - but he was unable to adapt his plans to compensate for injury woes, and that killed us as much as anything else did.

Malthouse was a pox on this club.

If he genuinely thought he could do it, he would've delayed his book tour - or cancelled it - cognizant of the importance of that preseason. He would've actually looked at the football department, at recruiting, instead of just bringing over his mate to work on fitness; it wasn't fitness and conditioning that we lacked. He then proceeded to carve out the specific part of the ground that probably worked the best and was the most complete - the forward line - out of some form of misplaced pride or need to make a statement; you don't change culture by cutting out the sore parts. You don't drive them deeper and further away; you get them help, you stand by them, and you make them see how valued they are.

It is due to Malthouse that we lost Waite, Betts, Yarran, Gartlett, Robinson, Henderson. You can provide all the reasons why we 'had' to get rid of some of that list, but were the club a great place to be, some of the indiscretions committed may have not occurred, and had the leadership been stronger, the playing group may have never fractured apart.

He should never have taken the job had he been unwilling to commit to us fully, and we should never have sought to get him in if he was unwilling to commit sufficiently.

A-fricking-men to that, at least!
Seems like we agree just fine, I just didn't go into the details. Personally I feel that all this angst people have wouldn't exist if the team could hit targets fairly regularly and made half the errors we do - and we make heaps and still only lose by about 6 goals (4 of which get kicked on us in the last 5 minutes). We would have won 2 games more and wouldn't be so frustrated.
If we think we are frustated, think how the players must feel!

So Barker is just a really sloooooooooooow burn, he’ll come good one day
I thought they shifted Barker to Craig's role. He wasn't the chief, he was an advisor and sounding board to Bolton.
You be the judge whether Barker is doing a good job or not, I myself have no idea.
Barker gets paid out a lot here, but something has to be said that he is still here in a respectable post for yet *another* year.
Maybe they don't think he is brilliant as a line coach but want to keep a quality person around to help with our young list.
Just my short-sighted opinion but he seems like he is a good Carlton man.
Hopefully he still has a lot to give and we reward his effort and loyalty. It's what I'd want if I was him.

[/QUOTE
It's Leigh Mathews we should get.. But I think he hates us too.

I mentioned this earlier.. Just a suggestion... Dermott Brerorton (sp?)

Thoughts.?

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
He'd be great but I doubt he would, seems pretty comfy with his media profile and getting paid for comments.
We should definitely ask him though, I really like how he reads/analyses the game. Got time for Dermie :thumbsupemoji:

I wouldn't bother. We already know where he stands in relation to Bolton.

The Unofficial Selection Committee is alive & well on BF.

LOL thinking I am from USC. You are really clutching at straws. So if one member has a point of view that is opposite to yours and dislikes what is seeing from the coach and believed could do much better it gets labelled into something as you are having a tantrum?

I hope Bolton figures out sooner rather than later that he has a list of 40+ players to nurture, coach and develop - not just 8 green shoots. Tired of hearing about 'green shoots' - would rather hear praise about worthy games from good clubmen - blue collar Carlton was great Carlton. More mongrel less bling Bolts - please.

Spend more time with role players and deck chairs - get the best out of them is my tip. - because last week a few of these irrelevant to the future players - played like they felt like that.

I hope Bolton figures out sooner rather than later that he has a list of 40+ players to nurture, coach and develop - not just 8 green shoots. Tired of hearing about 'green shoots' - would rather hear praise about worthy games from good clubmen - blue collar Carlton was great Carlton. More mongrel less bling Bolts - please.

Spend more time with role players and deck chairs - get the best out of them is my tip. - because last week a few of these irrelevant to the future players - played like they felt like that.

Brendan Bolton is a great player manager, can inspire, nurture and galvanises the players, that’s palpable in MHO.
However he may not be a tactician, a little too early to confirm and I’m prepared to give him all the support he needs, he’s task is enormous and difficult.

Bolton in the 5 games he coached at Hawthorn proved he can coach if he has a good team, like most of the coaches out there. I think we are underestimating just how hard AFL football is. It's probably never been harder. A lot of our players just can't do it, most of them can half do it, it just takes time.

Sometimes selections can make you wonder but players aren't just dropped on form and they are only played for development if they earn it. Some are where they are for effort or lack thereof. Effort and competitive hunger determines whether a player plays AFL or VFL and some deserve to be dropped and some promoted. This is just developing players right and is righting a wrong from our last rebuild.

Bolton in the 5 games he coached at Hawthorn proved he can coach if he has a good team, like most of the coaches out there. I think we are underestimating just how hard AFL football is. It's probably never been harder. A lot of our players just can't do it, most of them can half do it, it just takes time.

Sometimes selections can make you wonder but players aren't just dropped on form and they are only played for development if they earn it. Some are where they are for effort or lack thereof. Effort and competitive hunger determines whether a player plays AFL or VFL and some deserve to be dropped and some promoted. This is just developing players right and is righting a wrong from our last rebuild.

Starchamber could have coached Hawthorn to those five wins.

I think often when something bad happens to a football club, like for example, us having 7 points on the board to half time last week, is that it is easy to trace things back to the coach. I.e. the players weren’t switched on therefore the coach didn’t prepare them properly, their skills were poor the coaching group is focusing on the wrong things, we leaked easy goals thus the game plan is wrong etc.

But I think many of things that are going wrong with us are symptomatic of a really young and raw playing group as opposed to the group not being coached or lead properly.

If you could boil down our main problems into a couple of key points, to my thinking they’d be: lack of cohesion with our game plan, poor execution of skills (particularly going inside 50) and lapses in concentration. I’d put those problems down to youth and lack of AFL experience more than anything. And I think the only way out is to get more experience into the group as opposed to making other changes.

And I think in some ways this season has kind of been a series of lessons learned the hard way for the playing group. Unfortunate and frustrating as that is it’s probably the only way forward.

Last week's game was a shocker. There can be no sugar-coating of it. I was on the wrong side of the ground to boo our players when they left the field at half time. That is my only excuse. Well done to those who did let their feelings be known over the pleas of Emily Angwin (and I never thought I would condone disparaging of the players).Some observations.

First, the players did not appear to be switched on. Their collective efforts until half-time seemed to lack intense application to the task.
That is largely a coaching problem since it is the coaches that are responsible for motivating the players to eat glass if necessary.

Secondly, whilst I was watching the game at the start it seemed to me that BB had actually tried tweaking up the attacking side of the game-plan ( a la the tigers game in rnd 1). This didn't seem like such a bad idea since Freo had quite a few kids playing themselves that might have been able to be panicked if we got a fast start. This continued to half-time after we doubled down on the bet at quarter time hoping to "recover" our losses. For the second half we reverted to our more defensive game plan, looking to hold possession of the ball until a clear chance of scoring a goal presents. Freo being well ahead were obviously content with us playing like that.

My comment is that perhaps it would have been better, particularly after the bye when players do seem to suffer from cobwebs, to have started with the defensive game plan, work out Freo's strengths (Sandilands and Fyffe, O'Neal Blakely and Mundy) and look to switch to a more attacking game plan in the second half.

Conclusion:
The game will be as good a learning experience for coaches and players - as it was a very painful one for supporters.

We are going to have such games. We need to experiment. I am still very happy with the players we have recruited over the last 3 years and am very happy to have BB continue to teach them how to become the players we want them to be.

Is it going slower than hoped? Yes.
Do I want to see a repeat of the Freo game? No.
Will we get a repeat of the Freo game? Probably.
Will sacking the coach prevent a repeat of the Freo game? Definitely not.

Is it going slower than hoped? Yes.
Do I want to see a repeat of the Freo game? No.
Will we get a repeat of the Freo game? Probably.
Will sacking the coach prevent a repeat of the Freo game? Definitely not.

Spot on Windy:thumbsu: and I do love a good read but I reckon you could have just said the above.:D