Brian Lake must learn a lesson

you can bet there will never be another free kick like it paid after all the commotion it has received and in 30 years time people will back and say WTF was that free kick for.

you can't just pick and choose when you want to pay free kicks just cause a player has received attention for a half and the umps decideds it needs to be stopped.

the rule must now be no contact what so ever on a opponent who doesn't have the ball.

Like all Dogs fans in all 25 threads on this matter, you conveniently ignore the fact that the Bulldogs got a similar free in the 2nd quarter. Robert Eddy on Tim Callan. And I bet Eddy didn't even get a warning.

Which was a free that overturned a free to Riewoldt for being knocked over by Lake off the ball. The third quarter decision was in fact the second time Lake was penalised for knocking Riewoldt over (although the contact was much less than the first time, and IMO Roo emphasised the contact).

Yes, it was soft. And no, I wouldn't want it paid against us either; I said so at the time at the game. But the fact remains Lake was pinged twice for it, so the second time in particular was as stupid an act as you could imagine.

It was still only one decision; there were many line ball decisions made over the course of the game. Probably we had the better of those, but there were several we didn't get that we should have too.

And Aker's "deliberate" free was 100% correct. There wasn't a Bulldog in the same postcode as the ball when he hit the boundary.

Reiwoldts credibility lost, what a crock. If that was that pathetic little nancy boy Johnson you'd all be saying how good it was. Reiwoldt obviously heard the umps warn about the issue and took advantage of it, if it was a dive good on him!!!!

You can't tell me the dogs weren't targeting him in a low dog act trying to put more pressure on his knee, simply dropping him to the ground in an effort to possibly remove his influence from the game perhaps. The real issue here is that he was smart enought to let some stupid, cowardly, backline sniper hack do it at an oppotortune time and get a result.

I can't see why you losers are targeting Riewoldt, after all, if Lake was actually good enough he could have played Reiwoldt and beat him man to man (he wasn't even playing on him), could never happen, so he just thought he'd take every opporunity he could to try and bully him instead, look how that turned out. You tossers should be calling for Lake to be delisted, not attacking Rooey for taking advantage of the mindless sap.

Wow, maybe Sammy Newman can come do street talk from your house, you could fill a whole segment with your smarts

i reckon maybe you're a rugby league supporter masquerading as an aussie rules supporter. let me explain:

aussie rules is the game that has sublime skill as the primary drawcard, with occasional exhilarating exhibitions of violence as fun icing on the cake which have unavoidable consequences. the stars of the game - the most skilful players like ablett or riewoldt - get frees to encourage skill.

rugby league, on the other hand, is your game. the primary drawcard there is blokes hitting each other. it's all sanctioned by the rules and the governing body. every few games someone does something skilful, and the opposition usually responds to that by belting them next time they get the chance.

do you see the difference?

now piss off to your game and leave ours to evolve naturally into an exhibition of skill.

Wrong mate. I'm an aussie rules supporter through and through.

think you're a little bit touchy ............................

I can't see why you losers are targeting Riewoldt, after all, if Lake was actually good enough he could have played Reiwoldt and beat him man to man, could never happen, so he just thought he'd take every opporunity he could to try and bully him instead, look how that turned out. You tossers should be calling for Lake to be delisted, not attacking Rooey for taking advantage of the mindless sap.
Wow, maybe Sammy Newman can come do street talk from your house, you could fill a whole segment with your smarts
I know Lake wasn't playing on him you tool, and as I said it's because Reiwoldt runs Lake around like the mindless moron he is and absolutely towells him, Lake isn't good enough to compete with the Roo, so he gets the second or third best forward and settles for gutless little tactics like throwing his little elbow here or there as often as he can.

The man is a spud pure and simple, and he gifted us a goal simply for the sake of
proving the fact!

You flogs are missing a decent forward and a good fullback, good luck wit hthat

The only lesson Lake needs to learn is that to beat the saints you have to beat the umpires as well.

wow if he was any good at footy he would have played on Reiwoldt and perhaps quelled his second half influence that cost you the game. It was a good match your team gave it's all, the problem with you guys focusing on this one situation in two hours of footy is, if there was no contact there was no dive.

If Lake had of taken the advice of the umpires there would have to be a whole new little situation to whinge about.

Lake can carry his stupidity around now as a resume for next season!!!

Eagletons 'touched' goal and reiwoldts 'not touched' goal had a bearing as well.

Either way we if we had taken our chances we'd be in the grand final. It's glaringly obvious we need a power forward because we have a genuine great midfield.

The only lesson Brian Lake should learn, is not talk to Aker about what happened after the event.

Soft as marshmallows that free kick, hands up here from a Saints supporter.

However, Aker admitting that Lake was told if he did it again they would pay a free, should have been kept it inhouse. As much as this information highlights that the umpiring was acummulitive, Aker didn't do his mate any favours by practically highlighting that he knew the consequences of this action....and choose to do it anyway.

First thing I don't understand is why people are saying it was a dive. Riewoldt got hit when he wasn't looking, lost balance and fell over. It's not uncommon to fall over when you're bumped and not expecting it. In fact Lake fell over moments later as well, was that a dive too?

Secondly, soft as it was (it was very, I'd be spewing if the roles were reversed), the free kick was there. Blame the rules not the players or umpires involved.

Thirdly I love it how this has apparently become the defining moment of the match. Like there was no poor decisions our way that quarter and as if the Dogs don't have themselves to blame.

Riewoldt is the biggest bloody actor in the AFL.

oh no! how dramatic! ahhhhh he bumped me ooohhh awwwww.

Big pussy, harden up nick!

By the letter of the law the free was there, even if it was outrageously soft.

Decisions like it may be easier to fathom if the umpires were in any way consistent. Fact is they're not, and this is why I think pretty much every fan in the league is so disillusioned with them.

By the letter of the law the free was there, even if it was outrageously soft.

Decisions like it may be easier to fathom if the umpires were in any way consistent. Fact is they're not, and this is why I think pretty much every fan in the league is so disillusioned with them.

spot on. It seems also to fans that the umpires have their favourites, and Nick is one of those imo.

To not be allowed to bump are they serious, its not tiddlywinks.

Geez bulldogs supporters are a pack of whinging bitches. Have they not been watching Johnson play for free kicks for the last 3 years, the big blouse throws his head back every time he get near the pill. Lake is a stupid moron, he got penalised in the 2 quarter for knocking Roo down but luckily the kick was reversed when Eddy retaliated. So instead of learnin a lesson, he waits thill the play is dead, and runs into Roo when he's not looking and knocks him down 5 metres out from goal, and then has the temerity to throw his hands up an sook when a free kick is awarded.

Obviously the guy is an absolute a-grade MORON!!!

In all seriousness...what Lake was doing was kiddy stuff and kinda soft. He just constantly waited till the bloke was off balance or not looking then nudged him. Surely that aint the way to get in someone's face or knock them off their game. Didnt work in the end...Lake effectively got done, same with Morris.

I knew this thread would be started by a saints supporter. It seems that the majority for/defending this decision are saints fans.
Without getting into a slinging match cant we all just agree that call was no good for the game. Lake didnt have to do it, but the contact was minimal, hardly enough to bring reiwoldt to ground ie he played for it. Theres no denying this and hes not the first to do it (Johhno does it too).
So what if he was targetted, this happens all game every game, its aussie rules for gods sake! Remember, powell, baker and co and the physical tactics theyd use to hinder scott west? Were not complaining because thats footy.Its tough and we all love it.
As long as its not head high, dangerous or excessive force lets just consider it footy as we have for 100 years.
Anyone trying to justify this decision please stop, it looks pathetic. None of us want to see this happen next week or ever again.

Mabye you should speak to Adrian Anderson and Gieschen. They notified clubs about taking out players (and even nudging them in the back which Zac got pinged for) after a North player belted (I think it was Buddy) nearly 60 times in the back.

JUST DONT BLOODY RISK IT. Lake knew the risk and paid a very hefty penalty.

Stupid stupid goose of a back.

You're the stupid stupid goose. There was nothing wrong with what Lake did. Perfect in the side nudge which happens at least 100 times a game. Grow a set and admitt that Lake was harshly done by.

Lake didnt have to do it, but the contact was minimal, hardly enough to bring reiwoldt to ground ie he played for it.
I won't contend that it was a soft decision that shouldn't have been paid. Unfortunately their the rules and hopefully in the off-season the AFL soften them (along with the high bumping rules) as no one wants frees paid for that. But I will contend Riewoldt took a dive.

Lake bumped him when he wasn't looking, he lost balance and fell over. How is that a dive? You don't need a lot of force to be put off balance if you aren't looking, and he didn't pretend he was hurt by the bump. You'll notice Lake went to ground from and equally soft bump from Kosi moments later, was that a dive too?

Cmon man up and open the other eye. Im not calling reiwoldt soft or choice words others have used, so let go of that and watch the footage objectively. It was barely a bump, but reiwoldt knew if he went to groud hed get the free. Theres no doubting that but its far from the issue, which is the decision itself and all good football supporters agree. Lake tried to milk it the other way of course and as the umpire shouldve done in the first place, ignored it.

I've watched the replay a four or five times and what I see is a bloke getting caught off balance with a light bump and falling over. Not exactly jumping to the ground and pretending it hurt, and not what I'd call a dive. Guess we'll have to just agree to disagree.

Geez bulldogs supporters are a pack of whinging bitches. Have they not been watching Johnson play for free kicks for the last 3 years, the big blouse throws his head back every time he get near the pill. Lake is a stupid moron, he got penalised in the 2 quarter for knocking Roo down but luckily the kick was reversed when Eddy retaliated. So instead of learnin a lesson, he waits thill the play is dead, and runs into Roo when he's not looking and knocks him down 5 metres out from goal, and then has the temerity to throw his hands up an sook when a free kick is awarded.

Obviously the guy is an absolute a-grade MORON!!!

you're an absolute ****ing tool.
brad johnson is a ****ing champion of the game and he DESERVES to be playing in that Grand Final next week. and your good, but SOFT boy nick riewoldt doesn't.
now stop attacking our players and trying to defend the shit decisions. cause you won the game. you're lining up next week, and we're not. we SHOULD be, but we're not.
so WHY do you saint kilda supporters keep going on about it, just be happy that you're even there!

FFS

Cmon man up and open the other eye. Im not calling reiwoldt soft or choice words others have used, so let go of that and watch the footage objectively. It was barely a bump, but reiwoldt knew if he went to groud hed get the free. Theres no doubting that but its far from the issue, which is the decision itself and all good football supporters agree. Lake tried to milk it the other way of course and as the umpire shouldve done in the first place, ignored it.

As I said, free kick was soft as...

People have used Akers admissions as a way to have ago at Roo for diving, but why isn't anyone highlighting that Lake bumped after being told he would be penalised for it?

Brian Lake must learn a lesson