Brownlow for Cooney!

Well done Cooney and a great speach. However whats the go with all the Ablett bashing?
Did he do something to you lot? Don't like someone who actually wants to win? Didn't Scott West play for you guys and you can relate? Maybe its coz some Cat fans on our board said Ablett should win over Cooney? Or is it coz you lost on Friday?
Whatever it is, it is fairly pathetic to get joy out of watching someone grimace when he has done nothing to you personally.
Cooney is a worthy winner.

Well done Cooney and a great speach. However whats the go with all the Ablett bashing?
Did he do something to you lot? Don't like someone who actually wants to win? Didn't Scott West play for you guys and you can relate? Maybe its coz some Cat fans on our board said Ablett should win over Cooney? Or is it coz you lost on Friday?
Whatever it is, it is fairly pathetic to get joy out of watching someone grimace when he has done nothing to you personally.
Cooney is a worthy winner.

I believe its mainly your supporters who had a cry over Ablett/Bartel not winning and calling Cooney undeserving and the Brownlow system is ****ed. I find that a disgrace that because Geelong didn't win something AGAIN they all had to cry over it.

Gary Ablett has done nothing wrong, he is a great player and probably should have won if it wasn't for his team mates stealing his points and also missing games due to injury.

hi guys,

i will most likely get shut down as scum or filth or whatever because i am a long time fan of the Bombers,but I wanted to give my congrats to a worthy winner of the brownlow. Cooney is a great player & I love that he is an honest bloke.

I grew up in the west & played high school footy with brad johnson. The doggies have always been my second team (if you can have one) & I was throwing stuff at my TV when that free kick wasnt paid to brad when rooke hit him. Brendan Maccartney used to be our high school footy coach (along with the doggies own Brian Cordy) & i would have loved your boys to flog the cats cause im not a fan of Maccartney at all.

Good luck next year. you are on the right path for success. leaps & bounds in front of my beloved team. Id love to see the doggies win a flag as it would be well deserved.

peace out.

Cheers mate. :thumbsu:

I believe its mainly your supporters who had a cry over Ablett/Bartel not winning and calling Cooney undeserving and the Brownlow system is ****ed. I find that a disgrace that because Geelong didn't win something AGAIN they all had to cry over it.

Gary Ablett has done nothing wrong, he is a great player and probably should have won if it wasn't for his team mates stealing his points and also missing games due to injury.

Agreed nothing against Ablett personally, but the carrying on from the Geelong supporters is a ****ing joke.

But Cooney did want to correct one minor admission from his acceptance speech.

"I probably should thank Rodney Eade," he said. "They said to me after I got off stage that I forgot to thank the coach, but I don't think he'll be too mad about that.

"Me and Rodney usually get along pretty well,except match day when he doesn't really get along with anyone," he added with a laugh.

"So me and Rodney get along really well – so thanks to him for the support and everything that he's given me this year." :D
Would love to have heard him vary it slightly and say "Me and Rodney usually get along pretty well, except match day when he can be a bit of a plonker" :D

Congratulations Adam, you have been a wonderful champion and we always cheer you on every week. We were so delighted to see you win the Brownlow, very surprised, but very delighted. :thumbsu: I just knew though in my heart of hearts that there was a very good reason to continue watching the coverage of the Brownlow Medal this year.

Your speech was the best one I have ever heard as far as sportspeople go, the only other one that came anywhere close is the one made by Marat Safin after his 2005 Aussie Open win. I laughed and I cried, I was so happy for you. I felt your speech came straight from the heart and I would love to hear it all over again. :thumbsu::)

Just a side note: my grandfather's side of the family were Cooney's- perhaps we are related ( that would be lovely) :)- most of them have been and/or are die hard Bulldogs supporters. I have been a supporter since I was very small. I love the Dogs and couldn't even begin contemplating barracking or following anyone else in the comp.

Yes so for this reason amongst many others, we have taken you Adam, to our hearts, as our favorite player.

Keep up the brilliant work and hopefully one day I will get to meet you down at the Kennel. I have met some of the others, like Johnno, Granty, Crossy, Darce over time. All brilliant champs.

So sad to see Westy retire though, one minute I was rejoicing for you, then crying for Westy. He's been wonderful and I posted in the Scott West thread, thankyou before.

Yvonne

Yep thanks, just been watching it now, youtube is a godsend.

A very humorous, heartfelt speech. Even friends of mine who do not barrack for the Dogs, but watched the Brownlow adored your speech,Adam. It has been the main topic of conversation this week, and other Dogs fans I know have just loved it also. Impossible not to.

I have to say I was very nervous at the end when the last round was being counted, because I couldn't remember if Richo played a good game or not, when it was just out of him and you. Had my fingers crossed for you Adam.

Now, if there is another player that I like and admire outside of the Dogs, it has to be Richo, so I wouldn't have minded if he had won or drawn with you, but well his votes alone, showed what a damn good year he had out on the field. I will be honest and say that I applauded him as well from my loungeroom chair, because I do honestly think he is a great champ and quite often I find myself watching Richmond games on tv and cheering for them, when they aren't playing the Dogs, of course.

Brownlow for Cooney!