Injury Buddy's Health - Out for the season

As my posting history suggests, I am not prone to butt into other teams forums or troll - so I hope this is received well!

I just wanted to say that I love this kid - no matter where he is now - I absolutely love this kid. And quite frankly I don't understand why people always seek to bring down the very people who drag us through turnstiles and make us love football.

When he is playing at his best the only word to describe him is pure joy.

Guys like Buddy Franklin (et al.) are the reason we love this game. That moment when the ball enters his area and with all team allegiances aside you just stop talking, time slows down and we anticipate magic. And when the magic comes, we just laugh when he does the things, that we as mere mortals just can't do.

I hope he gets well, I hope he comes back bigger and better to play great footy for the Swannies (even against the Hawks).

But until he is able to, I just hope for now he is able to focus on being 'Lance' and has the time to find some peace in his own head.

I think, for now, he needs to put away the superstar 'Buddy' and just get well with his family.

Good luck as against the Roos!!!

PURE JOY

View attachment 174572

View attachment 174574
This post should be the heart of a campaign.

As my posting history suggests, I am not prone to butt into other teams forums or troll - so I hope this is received well!

I just wanted to say that I love this kid - no matter where he is now - I absolutely love this kid. And quite frankly I don't understand why people always seek to bring down the very people who drag us through turnstiles and make us love football.

When he is playing at his best the only word to describe him is pure joy.

Guys like Buddy Franklin (et al.) are the reason we love this game. That moment when the ball enters his area and with all team allegiances aside you just stop talking, time slows down and we anticipate magic. And when the magic comes, we just laugh when he does the things, that we as mere mortals just can't do.

I hope he gets well, I hope he comes back bigger and better to play great footy for the Swannies (even against the Hawks).

But until he is able to, I just hope for now he is able to focus on being 'Lance' and has the time to find some peace in his own head.

I think, for now, he needs to put away the superstar 'Buddy' and just get well with his family.

Good luck as against the Roos!!!

PURE JOY

View attachment 174572

View attachment 174574

100% agree.

Great post. I can't think of a player that has brought me more joy then Buddy Franklin.

Every time the ball goes forward, there is that anticipation of where is Buddy?

Can anyone tell me... Does the AFL actually have any hard and fast rules on this sort of thing, or is this just another ad-hoc, slapped together so as to not look stupid, stipulation that only applies to this particular contract?

Surely when Free Agency came in there must have been some sort of rules in place around what kind of contracts could be offered and how they should be treated in the event a player can't fulfill his end of the contract.

And now that they've added this stipulation to the Franklin deal, surely it applies to every single contract a free agent signs from here on in?

Just pissed off mate. We needed him Sat night, and he wasn't there, and apparently we can't wonder why.

You've been told why, and anything further would be an intrusion. Wonder all you like, but don't speculate, and don't fuel rumours. He's a human being first and a footballer second. If you really want him to get well and get back to playing good footy for us, you'd do well to remember that.

Buddy's back at training.

GettyImages-488696350.jpg

Just looking hairer than usual.

Just googled buddy and a new idea article popped up. According to them, he is in rehab after reaching rock bottom.

More than likely crap

[Mod Edit - The quote in question "The Sydney Swans player is said to be in a five-week, doctor- supervised program at a private hospital near Wollongong, which specialises in mental health, alcohol withdrawal and addiction recovery.". Take it for what its worth]

Last edited by a moderator:
Yep. I've heard he cheated withTippos missus (didn't think he had one...), in drug rehab, had more seizures and has some brain damage... The lot of it. Utter tripe. Completely guessing & probably so far off the mark but they don't care. Just get it out there & create drama. It shows how pathetic their lives are they feel the need to bring someone down with fake rumours & stories. Sad pathetic people.

Unlikely I would say.

More RUMOURS On Facebook and Twitter that he will announce his retirement after the weekend

Who from

Besides why time it that way? Like just leave it for a while, swans could have him on indefinite lave for yonks for a start

Who from

Besides why time it that way? Like just leave it for a while, swans could have him on indefinite lave for yonks for a start
Maybe for the same reason that Melbourne announced Clark's retirement mid-season for mental health reasons - it may be in the best interests of the player to have all stress removed from their life.

And then he makes a miraculous recovery and starts playing for GWS while our salary cap is rooted. Great.

Who from

Imagine the leave loading :p