Butler tackle on Blakey

Passed HIA.

Momentum is an unavoidable thing. It was an inherent football action (running and tackling) that resulted in the head impact, rather than Butler having to use extra force to get him down ala Parker. I’d say fair tackle. No issues with the free kick, ump doesn’t get the benefit of multiple replays and has to interpret it as instructed.

When we do have multiple replays though I think it’s fair to say all actions were reasonable from Butler.

However the AFL has almost set themselves a precedent of any head contact is a week so wouldn’t be surprised if he goes and we have another week of shithouse legal arguments at the tribunal.

Jon Ralph said "he dodged Crouch so wasn't expecting a tackle".

What ******* sport does he think he's playing if he wasn't expecting a tackle?!

Yeah, the more steps you take and the more players you dodge at AFL level literally the more likely you get tackled. Hence the whole first option/first give mantra for majority of players - it’s the percentage play. Sidestepping one player and not being at full pace means Blakey was a sitting duck - this is different to when he steamed through the middle against Carlton

You can always count on a footy "journalist" to have the absolutely most idiotic take.

As you said - "wasn't expecting a tackle". Yes because after you evade two tackles at this level the other team basically give up.

You fecking moron Ralph.

jesus christ if this gets even 1 week the game is cooked.

you can't stop every bloke getting a concussion ffs. Blakey should have done better to protect himself.

This is 100% a clean tackle with an unfortunate but accidental outcome.

There is a difference between tackling with ill-intent (2 actions, feet off the ground, slinging/head first motion) and a solid tackle. Unfortunately the precedent has been set by the MRO so far this year where players are missing games as a result of the outcome of a tackle instead of the tackle itself.

In this case Butler cannot miss a week or there are serious issues. Blakey’s lack of awareness and even lack of voice from his team mates to get rid of the pill more of a concern in this instance.
• Single motion tackle
• Didn’t drive head into ground
• No slinging action
• No concussion/injury to Blakey

Spot on, old mate number 13 for Sydney was ball watching and just let Butler sprint past him for the tackle. How about putting some body contact on or something and helping your players out.

Because #13 knows that if he puts body on Butler and Butler falls and bumps his head then he (#13) is having an enforced holiday... no need to bump, unnecessary force, should have/could have foreseen this outcome, Butler wasn't expecting contact, etc etc...

If players can't accept the risk that accidents can happen in even the most perfectly executed tackles, then it's simple. Don't set foot on the ****ing ground. Choose not to play.

If anything, Blakey failed in his duty of care to himself by not disposing of the ball earlier and having a complete lack of awareness.

One of the best tackles of the year and he will get rubbed out for executing it. The game as we once knew it is over, the bump is almost gone and the tackle is next, Gil and his cohorts are more interested in virtue signaling than what's happening with the game of Australian Rules Football. This game will be a non-contact sport by 2030.

If Butler gets given weeks for that tackle by the MRO we should appeal it and take it to the tribunal and if that fails we should take it to the High Court.

The fabric of the game is at stake, if a tackle like that gets a suspension this game is stuffed.

This dangerous tackle thing is getting out of hand, it's gone from dangerous sling tackles to any tackle now where a player hits his head on the ground.

It's a contact sport where tackling is a part of the game and some players are going to get hurt as a result of tackles. you can't prevent that unless you just ban tackling altogether. Butler's tackle was a perfectly executed tackle, the fact that Blakey ended up concussed was just an unfortunate accident.

If Butler gets given weeks for that tackle by the MRO we should appeal it and take it to the tribunal and if that fails we should take it to the High Court.

The fabric of the game is at stake, if a tackle like that gets a suspension this game is stuffed.

This dangerous tackle thing is getting out of hand, it's gone from dangerous sling tackles to any tackle now where a player hits his head on the ground.

It's a contact sport where tackling is a part of the game and some players are going to get hurt as a result of tackles. you can't prevent that unless you just ban tackling altogether. Butler's tackle was a perfectly executed tackle, the fact that Blakey ended up concussed was just an unfortunate accident.
You could go through the tape and find 60 tackles that were more 'dangerous' than Butler's in last night's game alone.

It's almost a good thing this happened, because Blakey isn't concussed (Horse confirmed) and the conversation needs to happen. Daisy and Ralph were just about barracking for Butler to get suspended which is putrid. At least Dunstall had some common sense about him.

I would also like to see the tackle that Seb Ross made on Amartey that led to a shot on goal be looked at as well. I wouldn't say Amartey 'staged', but if you look at the replay footage it is odd how far Amartey's head goes back considering that he is braced and his head never actually touches the ground. I actually think that free was paid because of Amartey's head going back (it looked like his head hit the ground, but it didn't) rather than the action of the tackle.

Like the Butler tackle, I would love for the AFL bigwigs to explain how Seb should have tackled there considering it was in f50 in a tight game and Seb is 10cm shorter than Amartey.

My understanding now is that elite coaches today typically teach a "Dodge, Duck, Dip, Dive and Dodge” strategy, so it's reasonable for Blakey to have expected to be able to execute a duck, followed by a dip after he successfully completed the dodge.

Everyone here should do yourselves a favour and watch the Close vs Dawson tackle Close got suspended for. Nearly the exact same sequence of events:

• Should have been called holding the ball - perfectly executed run down tackle on Dawson
  • 6'4 player being taken down by a 5'11 player
  • Momentum carries tackle, forcing Dawson into the turf
  • No concussion, or even HIA assessment undertaken, and bounces right back up
  • Commentators call it a week based on precedent (and they're not wrong)
  • Close gets given a week
  • Close appeals and fails under 'duty of care' expectations
  • All supporters die a little more inside

My understanding now is that elite coaches today typically teach a "Dodge, Duck, Dip, Dive and Dodge” strategy, so it's reasonable for Blakey to have expected to be able to execute a duck, followed by a dip after he successfully completed the dodge.
If you can dodge a wrench, you can dodge a tackle!

Everyone here should do yourselves a favour and watch the Close vs Dawson tackle Close got suspended for. Nearly the exact same sequence of events:

• Should have been called holding the ball - perfectly executed run down tackle on Dawson
How on earth do you see the Close tackle and consider it a run down tackle?

I don't think close should have been rubbed out for that, and I don't think Butler should be rubbed out for this. That said, if the AFL seek a suspension on the grounds it is basically the same as the Close tackle, I hope our lawyers argue the following:

The Close tackle contains a very slight slinging motion (in terms of very slightly screwing Dawson around and turning his head / upper body to open it up more in the direction of the ground) which increases the risk to Dawson. Butler's tackle falls of Blakey slightly to the left (the opposite direction) and actually turns his upper body away from the direction of the ground such that Blakey lands perpendicular to the ground, with his should and side making contact.

There's also the issue of - does Butler's duty of care re: laying the tackle outweigh Blakey's duty of care to brace with his free arm?

That's like saying that a person crossing the road wasn't expecting to be hit by a car.

Just a ridiculous statement.

2-3 weeks seems fair

2-3 weeks seems fairly stupid.

That's like saying that a person crossing the road wasn't expecting to be hit by a car.

Just a ridiculous statement.

2-3 weeks seems fairly stupid.
We are trying to stamp out dogshot tackles from the game. So would be a fair outcome.

I know you are just trolling as usual but there was nothing wrong with Butler's tackle, it wasn't a sling tackle or two motions and he didn't pin the arms.

It was a textbook come from behind tackle and he should have been rewarded with a holding the ball free kick, not punished with a report or suspension

How on earth do you see the Close tackle and consider it a run down tackle?

He runs him down from the front, rather than from the back. It's not like they're standing next to each other and he slings him. Dawson is facing towards his own goal and stands there for an enternity, and Close covers a huge amount of ground in a short time, to lay the tackle - which should have been textbook holding the ball.

Dawson might not have been running himself, so I guess it's a bit different, but I still consider it a 'closing' (excuse the pun) space tackle - if you find that more accurate.

It's almost a good thing this happened, because Blakey isn't concussed (Horse confirmed) and the conversation needs to happen. Daisy and Ralph were just about barracking for Butler to get suspended which is putrid. At least Dunstall had some common sense about him.

Yeah saw that. Reckon he came close to calling them the complete morons they've proven themselves to be.

Butler tackle on Blakey