• Parkdale Vultures

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Mazenod

Votes: 0 0.0%

Scribe. Ritterman and Dukes are recovering from operations. Ritterman had a frontal lobotomy and Dukes had a nut separation (a la Judd). My tip for 08 is Rovers especially if the 2 Dannys return, being Corp and Hughes. Guy Martyn would be a good inclusion but the council at Boss Reserve won’t widen the doors for his nut.

i am a long time supporter of the zebras and am pretty well connected down there at sandringham and i can tell you that these guys (corp, martyn, hughes) are freaks. dont know anything about them going back to their local club (hampton) but i can safely say that if they did they would blow the comp out of the water. hughes just got delisted from melbournes rookie list and hasnt played for sandy yet so im not sure what hes doing with his footy this year.

isn't the rookie list sorted before the start of the afl season so if injuries occur then they can be replaced with rookies? And if the rookies aren't in the seniors then shouldn;t they have played with sandy 1's or 2's if they are THAT GOOD? Just because they're down at sandy doesn't mean they are the superstars of the ammo's!Hampton are flying obviously but never ever write off the opposition.

The only people being written off are the w@nks that said we'd be lucky to win a game before the season had started. With a 5-0 start you'd be foolish to suggest anything more than an air of confidence around the place. Rupo proved last year what can happen when you play your best footy early in the season and possibly get ahead of yourselves - not suggesting they did, but a 13-0 start and not making the GF could be perceived that way.

Are you serious you f*cking fool? Ask Chis during the week if he played in a premiership as a junior with the Rovers? I think you'll be surprised. Came down with a few other Caulfield Grammar boys for a couple of years. I'll be waiting for an apology Gunn!
And he's a handy player but by no mean was he dominant. His first 2 goals came in a 5 minute stint and the next 3 game in a 10 minute stint. Where was he the rest of the game when it was there to be won? He would have been lucky to have 10 possies for the day.
And please don't try and say Rovers had the run with the umps. People saying stuff like that makes me realise i'm typing to a bunch of ******s on this forum.
Again Gunn, i look forward to the "Yeah sorry, you were right Pinto" re. Chisolm playing juniors at Rovers.
As a ormond person and someone who has played at a higher standard i was at the game on the weekend rovers were a well drilled unit and deserved the victory was very happy that ormond fought it out but on chisholm hes kicked 5 goals i dont care if he was playing on 37 or 5 he smashed who ever was on him. As a defender if you get more than 3 goals kicked on you you have been well beaten. look forward to the next time at the gunn .

Yes good call on the umps brother. Unfortunately they seemed to take their cue from that great hero who umpires the AJAX twos and the theme was also closely followed by the AJAX goal umpire in the seniors!!

AJAX (the players as distinct from the umpires) very impressive. Clearly the second best side in the comp at this point. Lewski did his hammy but Blieden and Ritterman covered nicely.

Monash got plenty of the footy but continually coughed it up (strong tackling from the Jackas contributed at times) and seemed to lack a spark without Gregory and Bartram. Gregory has more often than not smashed the Jackas in the past.

we're not going to hear the end of our umpiring are we? this is more bigotry from some hate filled people.

thank you les, for your honest opinion of our game. we think we'll be very competitive and are starting to see the benefits of the systems we have in place. we now face mazenod, hampton and ormond to give our season some momentum.

we're not going to hear the end of our umpiring are we? this is more bigotry from some hate filled people.

thank you les, for your honest opinion of our game. we think we'll be very competitive and are starting to see the benefits of the systems we have in place. we now face mazenod, hampton and ormond to give our season some momentum.

Goldy,

very poor form my friend. Why would you take cticism of your I presume reserves umpire (who if it is the same one you had for the last two years is a shocker) and go down the bigotry line??

If anyone has issues it is you, if you don't agree with the assessment, thats fine but don't play that card. You are doing yourself and your club a disservice. I know the jackas are trying hard to improve their off field reputation, commetns like yours do not help.

VG.

ps - with the talent at your disposal you should romp in this section. Your midfield would look at home in A Grade.

Goldy,

very poor form my friend. Why would you take cticism of your I presume reserves umpire (who if it is the same one you had for the last two years is a shocker) and go down the bigotry line??

If anyone has issues it is you, if you don't agree with the assessment, thats fine but don't play that card. You are doing yourself and your club a disservice. I know the jackas are trying hard to improve their off field reputation, commetns like yours do not help.

VG.

ps - with the talent at your disposal you should romp in this section. Your midfield would look at home in A Grade.

Agreed Mr Guru

Lets nip the possibility of re-igniting the stupidity we had on this thread recently by hoping now that no one responds.

I'm an ajax man and I can see clearly that all Les was doing was winding up and seeing if anyone nibbled at the bait. He had success. Lets leave it there and move on to the footy.

Btw, hearts out to the poor bloke in the Ajax reserves team who - would you believe - disclocated (or had displaced?) a hip during the third quarter on Saturday. Play stopped whilst an ambulance had to come on the ground and the third quareter was called off. Apparently surgery followed on Saturday Night so lets hope he is ok. I get queazy just thinking about it!

Hughes was on the list in 06 and 07 but didn't get a spot this year because he had 2 major groin and hip operations. (Similar to the ones had by Robert Quiney and what they think Matthew Kreuzer will need at some stage.) Hughes was playing Sandy 1's over the past few seasons but obviously injury has delayed the start of his season but he has signed with Hampton. Martyn is playing Sandy 1's at the moment but is also a Hampton boy who has strong ties down there and we think we're a good chance to have him for the entire second half of the season. And Corp is now playing at Frankston after a year off due to injury/going overseas but is seriously considering a move back to Hampton with all his mates where he played junior footy due to not liking Frankston as much as he first thought.

As a ormond person and someone who has played at a higher standard i was at the game on the weekend rovers were a well drilled unit and deserved the victory was very happy that ormond fought it out but on chisholm hes kicked 5 goals i dont care if he was playing on 37 or 5 he smashed who ever was on him. As a defender if you get more than 3 goals kicked on you you have been well beaten. look forward to the next time at the gunn .

As an ex Hampton & Ormond person I couldn't agree more about the great contest. Hampton looked that little bit bigger and faster. Should be a more even contest back at the Gunn in the return bout.
For someone that's played a higher standard you seem like you lack football knowledge. Chisholm does have the goods, but 2 goals were kicked on 37 and 3 were kicked on 5. Therefore neither were 'well beaten' and whilst he looked threatening he never did when the game was up for grabs.
Next you'll say Martinov played well. He's the definitive "built like Tarzan, plays like Jane". Don't think he had a contested possession. He looked to struggle when challenged. He kicked 2 quick goals when number 20 from Rovers got lost and he got out on his own and 1 when the game was over.

As an ex Hampton & Ormond person I couldn't agree more about the great contest. Hampton looked that little bit bigger and faster. Should be a more even contest back at the Gunn in the return bout.
For someone that's played a higher standard you seem like you lack football knowledge. Chisholm does have the goods, but 2 goals were kicked on 37 and 3 were kicked on 5. Therefore neither were 'well beaten' and whilst he looked threatening he never did when the game was up for grabs.
Next you'll say Martinov played well. He's the definitive "built like Tarzan, plays like Jane". Don't think he had a contested possession. He looked to struggle when challenged. He kicked 2 quick goals when number 20 from Rovers got lost and he got out on his own and 1 when the game was over.
I believe Martinov's 4 goals came in a 15 min burst in the 3rd 1/4 when the game was 'live'. Also, isn't the whole idea of playing as a forward to lose your opponenent & score goals. As golfers say, its not how, but how many !! No 8 from HR scored his goals, 4 I think, from hand ball receives by losing his opponent in general play & running into goal. The fact they weren't from pack marks or breaking tackles takes nothing away from his fine performance. I thought he played well & HR deserved their win.

Read the post again. 1 of Martinov's goals was when the game was over. All well and good to lose his opponent, but he didn't impose himself on contests like you'd expect from such a big body. He needs to be able to do that more than he does lose his opponent. Do both and we've got ourselves one heck of a quality footballer.
No.8 wasn't too impressive for Hampton with all the wraps they've put on him and they're captain is overrated. Hasn't got much of a workrate for someone leading a team 5-0. And the gangly grasshopper wasn't around last year. He does well as a third goal post.

Goldy,

VG.

Shut your trap you uneducated simpleton. The bigotry and intolerance some of you plebs show towards our proud club is repugnant. So willing you are to go against AJAX purely for the sake of it. We just want to be viewed by everyone in the same manner they view others.

Read the post again. 1 of Martinov's goals was when the game was over. All well and good to lose his opponent, but he didn't impose himself on contests like you'd expect from such a big body. He needs to be able to do that more than he does lose his opponent. Do both and we've got ourselves one heck of a quality footballer.
No.8 wasn't too impressive for Hampton with all the wraps they've put on him and they're captain is overrated. Hasn't got much of a workrate for someone leading a team 5-0. And the gangly grasshopper wasn't around last year. He does well as a third goal post.
I read it the first time. Hampton pushed 3 loose players into their defensive 50 for the last 2-3 mins. During this time Ormond did not goal and its why I believe none of Matt's goals were scored when the game was 'over', as the HR coaching panel certainly didn't believe the game was over when they put them there.

Quite laughable given I'm in that 'panel' and there was no such instruction. If anything there would've been a decision by the players themselves to peel off. There was definitely no instruction from the bench to play loose in defense.
I would've thought we were flat and the Ormond boys kept coming - as one would expect knowing Barney and his demands of a playing group.

Shut your trap you uneducated simpleton. The bigotry and intolerance some of you plebs show towards our proud club is repugnant. So willing you are to go against AJAX purely for the sake of it. We just want to be viewed by everyone in the same manner they view others.

That's really going to help our cause. Clever.

lack of knowledge i assure you that i have played at a higher level than anybody associated with these posts. The HR full forward beat ormonds backman all day as chisholm beat his opponents all day. hampton had plenty of good runners carried well.Martinov had a poor day on the weekend still kicked 4 yet to have been beaten all year has kicked 20 odd goals in 5 games plays like jane, you have to be kidding me

Quite laughable given I'm in that 'panel' and there was no such instruction. If anything there would've been a decision by the players themselves to peel off. There was definitely no instruction from the bench to play loose in defense.
I would've thought we were flat and the Ormond boys kept coming - as one would expect knowing Barney and his demands of a playing group.

Thank you for clarifying to me the coaching panel did not put them there. It was wrong of me to come to that conclusion. The point I was trying to make was not who put them there, but the fact that they were there, which you have verified. This indicates the players did not believe the game was won until the siren went. If they put themselves there, which you think seems to be the case, they showed good initiative, which is the sign of a well drilled team. I was making the point to a previous poster that there were no ‘junk time’ goals by Martinov, 3 loose in defence for the last 2-3 mins seems to indicate this, regardless of how they got there. It is not unreasonable to point this out.

Didn't Martinov kcik his in the 3rd quarter? It was Chisolm who kicked 3 in the last quarter in a 7-8 minute stint. And during this time the sting was definately out of the game. Players may have dropped back in the last couple of minutes to make sure of the win but these goals were kicked when Hampton had taken their foot off the pedal. Chisolm shows signs but has to play for an entire game rather than 2 x 7-8 minute blocks where he pops up and kicks a couple of goals.

Spot on Pinto, they were in the 3rd quarter. Also, I concur that Chisholm does have a fair way to go in terms of consistency, form & fitness, but he has a worse injury record than poor old Kosi at St Kilda & seeing him play at all & kick a few goals is a start. He's a ripper bloke & we should reserve our judgement until he's played a majority of the season, he deserves that much. Good luck to HR in the games to come & see you in 9 weeks.

Just to clear the air for you, my post stated "if anything", therefore I did not verify your statement. I don't recall anything different to the way the game was being played prior to the final 2-3mins, other than a more dominant performance by Ormond. I pass no judgement on Martinov, or any other player. You can argue that one with whomever it was that did.

Great to see HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY Sullivan get a couple of touches. Close to signing on with his mate Stephens at Skye he was that out of touch

Do you class 42 as a couple Big Willy? Im tipping that nuggety little back pocket player would have got most of those out wide. Pity he didnt have another bad one and put pen to paper. Great to see Parky win, Yippa were you at the game? Heard the balder of the sullivans got the mug ahead of Horsey, must have been one hell of a game from Kevs brother.
I hear Macca has been going well too!!

who is this beckett in ormond reserves, according to vafa website played 3 games kicked 4, 10 and 5, any chance of playin ones? is he a tall or small?
He's kicked 9, 11 & 5 in 3 games. Unfit would be the word associated with big Davey.

Uncle Mick, I'll admit it, I was WRONG! Chis did play at HR for a season or 2.

As for the abuse about Chis being no good & Martinov "built like Tarzan, plays like jane" - It is typical of the HR tossers who think they know best. Being at the ground Saturday just reinforced most opposition supporters views.

Congrats to HR for winning on the weekend, but with a full side, i'll back us...

Just to clear the air for you, my post stated "if anything", therefore I did not verify your statement. I don't recall anything different to the way the game was being played prior to the final 2-3mins, other than a more dominant performance by Ormond. I pass no judgement on Martinov, or any other player. You can argue that one with whomever it was that did.
Uncle Mick, I'll have to chose my words more carefully next time. I'm not quite the wordsmith some of the other posters are !!