C Section Amateur Football

overtheline said:
Well, where do I start? I was rubbished by several posters for my prediction above re Ajax and their vulnerability today. Interesting to note that Nobs kicked the last 6 goals(refer 6 day break) and those who rubbished me...feel free to apologise.
Reds? What a disaster! Worst loss at brunswick st for many, many years. With Davis and Dullard back and Loats a late withdrawal, surely the scene was set for a Reds win. Two late goals added respectability to an otherwise dirty day (and more injuries!) and saved total embarassment. I suppose that puts the "no Loats no Camberwell" theory to bed!
Roy, we need your wisdom!!

OTL, just wondering who rubbished your comments? Also, you can't claim credibility by saying you thought Ajax were vulnerable but still picked them to win and now think you are proven right when they lost by a lazy 47 points. Simple answer is you were wrong.

Just proves that C Section remains the most even comp in the senior grades. Can't wait for next weekend's matches (StB v Reds, Jackas v Monash, etc) showing that there is a lot at stake in just about each game (win and you stay in the hunt, lose and the last 4 games become crucial to avoid the drop).

Son of a Gun said:
OTL, just wondering who rubbished your comments? Also, you can't claim credibility by saying you thought Ajax were vulnerable but still picked them to win and now think you are proven right when they lost by a lazy 47 points. Simple answer is you were wrong.

Just proves that C Section remains the most even comp in the senior grades. Can't wait for next weekend's matches (StB v Reds, Jackas v Monash, etc) showing that there is a lot at stake in just about each game (win and you stay in the hunt, lose and the last 4 games become crucial to avoid the drop).

Who rubbished me? Mappa and RCT...have a read. Yes, i was wrong with the result but all and sundry were tipping a massive Ajax win and I simply pointed out that they we very vulnerable with a "massive let down factor". I got that right! Who did you tip?

See Rovers have a poll on their website....Do you think something needs to be done to help the VAFA’s district club's from facing problems such as losing players to ‘Old Boys’ club’s? Obviously trying to point the finger at someone and not themselves. Where do the Rovers players go to? Rovers have always had a pretty good reserves side, yet are really struggling. What's happening at David Street?

Roy is not happy.

Disgusting performance from my beloved team, would expect a massive week on the track before we get our season back on track against the Tigers next week.

Great win from NOBS - will not get relegated Scribe.

As Roy has predicted, the teams in Green will go down - Parade and Hampton.

Please stop these outrageous predictions Frase and try to follow my example and be a little more reserved !!!

That is all for now.

Roy is going to drown his considerable sorrows.

Interesting round of footy!

Hats off to NOBs - terriffic effort notwithstanding any injuries the Jackas may or may not have. Alphonse - you have every right to be pumped but note in your comments NOBs only beat the Students by a point from memory, so hardly 'comfortable'.

Red Roy you may become alcoholic by season's end mate. My sources tell me the Reds put in a bit of a shocker all things considered. I have no fear they will stay up but finals starting to slip away....

StBM just fine tuning but Parkdale not done with re finals. The Students and the Monders have a bit of a buffer but I'm not convinced about either yet. Hampton are struggling and obviously gave the Monders a great fright. As for teh Students 2 wins on the trot, but with all due respect to the vanquished, they have merely beaten the bottom 2.

Ajax v Monash this Sunday at the Wick a pearler - a win by the Students and Ajax's hold on the double chance will loosen considerably. A win by Ajax and the Students are back in the mess

Red Roy said:
Roy is not happy.

Disgusting performance from my beloved team, would expect a massive week on the track before we get our season back on track against the Tigers next week.

Please stop these outrageous predictions Frase and try to follow my example and be a little more reserved !!!

That is all for now

The Reds will be heading back to D Grade. They are by no means safe.

Keen Observer said:
There lies the problem my friend. Parade are & always have been one of the most sociable teams in the ammo's. Win, lose or draw they will come in for an ale. The resultant weight problems are an indication of this - maybe a little too much post match celebration/commiseration !

The Winter tans ?? Hope your not having a crack at our indigenous players - Dore & Brabender !

Is Brabender the first indigenous player to play 300+ games in the ammos

uglydermie said:
first time poster on the C grade thread:

saw Reds dominate D grade last year whist Ormond (although promoted) where equal to a few other teams in the section - {IMO}. Have Ormond recruited or Reds lost players? I keep seeing that all Reds players (from VFL) are released most weeks.

Could Reds get relegated?

Would like to know?

Thanks - Ugly

Ugly, we (ormond) haven't recruited much, we got Matt McConville back out of retirement & Ryan Martin back from Uni Blues, other than that 3-4 of our U/19 premiership team from last year have stepped up & become good senior players & a few younger blokes have settled into playing consistant senior footy.

On the w'end, Hampton were in no danger of beating us, we were 7 goals up in the last kicking against a 4 goal breeze, & they got a few junk time goals to make the score look respectable.

Grandstand Guru said:
I have no fear they will stay up but finals starting to slip away....

Starting to think this perspective is looking very accurate. Should NOT have lost to OC if they wanted to play finals.

Red Roy said:
... try to follow my example and be a little more reserved !!!

:D

My feeling is that Parade will go down, but my other relegatee will have to be guesswork - possibly Hampton Rovers. Am still confident Reds will remain in C Grade next year, but they'd want to change their ways from the last couple of weeks!

Mobbenfuhrer said:
Starting to think this perspective is looking very accurate. Should NOT have lost to OC if they wanted to play finals.

:D

My feeling is that Parade will go down, but my other relegatee will have to be guesswork - possibly Hampton Rovers. Am still confident Reds will remain in C Grade next year, but they'd want to change their ways from the last couple of weeks!

my feeling is that you and your red-headed homo-sexual mate buck023 will get relegated, but going by my guesswork i could well be right!!
fellas get on board these 2 fine red headed homo-sexual fellow posters!

freo-heev-ho said:
my feeling is that you and your red-headed homo-sexual mate buck023 will get relegated, but going by my guesswork i could well be right!!
fellas get on board these 2 fine red headed homo-sexual fellow posters!

What the **** are you talking about ??
Has someone hit a nerve ?

Mobbenfuhrer said:
<--- red headed. :D

-------

A reminder to all to refrain from abusive posts. Initially, I'll delete the posts, will subsequently you may face suspension or banning.

Pretty straightforward :thumbsu:

abusive, your kidding !! thats not abuse !!

bucko23 said:
simon vincent has a small family at the moment and also has only been in the coaching game for 3 years as a assistant therefore he needs to learn a bit more if Harford returns to the OPs then Mark Graham is a certainty and also heard around the traps that Nick Holland could possible lace up the boots for a couple of games to help out his old mates

Two rumours that I believe are fact

St Bedes holding discussions with a recently retired AFL Player.

Brad Boyd seen lunching with a gentleman in an Old Paradians top at a Mornington Restaurant. I believe Boyd has committed to playing for the Paradians next year.

South of the Yarra said:

Brad Boyd seen lunching with a gentleman in an Old Paradians top at a Mornington Restaurant. I believe Boyd has committed to playing for the Paradians next year.

More info on the St Bedes rumour plz SOTY

South of the Yarra said:

South of the Yarra, your magic mirror is accurate. I saw a man with a large appettite in an Old Paradians top lunching with Brad Boyd as well.

Bigfootyfan said:
More info on the St Bedes rumour plz SOTY

Unfortunately I cannot say much more about the St Bedes rumour for a week or two. My source has asked me to keep the name quiet.Boyd will play for Parade and will help out his old school. I believe his back is fixed and he is fit and firing. Parade have been on a massive recruiting drive for 2007 and I believe they already have commitments from several big names who are willing to play with mates or for the old school. The current situation is not resting easily out at the Garvey and the clubs biggest recruiting drive in history is well under way. Expect at least 5 quality signings and the return of one gun. St Bedes have done likewise and are keen to get into B and then fire straight into A Grade. Expect my Tiger friends from down the road to attack all and sundry in an attempt to drive themselves into A Grade.

South of the Yarra said:
Unfortunately I cannot say much more about the St Bedes rumour for a week or two. My source has asked me to keep the name quiet.St Bedes have done likewise and are keen to get into B and then fire straight into A Grade. Expect my Tiger friends from down the road to attack all and sundry in an attempt to drive themselves into A Grade.

Richard Clay Torpedos you seem to be in the know down at Tigerland, whats your comment

Re the Parade rumours - will relegation affect the recruiting drive or make it easier (eg more likely to win a C Grade flag rather than B Grade)?

This a red herring! You would think the Tigers brains trust are focused on this year. Need a couple of key players for sure, but crikey they have a number of TAC kids signed already from within plus a great U19's and reserves. They will focus on who they currently have playing first off. The current crop has heaps of improvement. I'm sure RCT will enlighten us.

Red Roy said:
Roy is not happy.

That is all for now.

Well Roy, the question is 'where to from here"? Is it too late for the Reds to make finals and is relegation a real possibility? How will Burgs cope with possible failure? With st bedes this week and more injuries, the immediate future doesn't look flash.
Some wisdom please Roy!

I have more chance than reds do of playing finals, and i am not even an Amatuer club!

Tough run home for Reds.

Reds vs St.B
Nobs vs Reds
Reds vs Blues
Orm vs Reds
Reds vs Rovers

My winners in bold. I can't see Reds registering a win until rd.18

Will that be enough to keep them up??