C Section Amateur Football

easy round to tip for mine.

ajax (way to much going for them against the struggling Nobs)
ormond (will bounce back hard after last weeks disappointment)
monash (perhaps closest game of the round,Gregory on fire ,will set up win).
tigers (by a country mile,too skillful,too quick))
Reds (hard for me to tip against OC,but even with the imminent return of Loats, too many others are missing)

ok i've been sitting back and watching too long...

There is so much rot spoken in here its not funny.

1) Lewski a gun player, had 50 or so touches against the best team in the league and they lost, so mustnt have been very damaging...same as anstey had 40-odd also but the kid could not hit a target all day so most of possesions just thrust them forward but didnt directly result in goals

2) red roy, seriously mate, you are in here to stir ppl up but all you do is dribble and no1 takes notice anymore, becoz it just isnt funny, the reds are no good! get over yourself

3) Good to see parkdale play well in their 1's but geez have alot of work to do, their 2's are a joke, ugly too...

4) parade lose weight and get rid of the clubs solariums, no1 likes overwight tanned men

5) finally every team should stay around for a cold one after the game, its all good and well to blame it on rehab but geez shaking ur oppenents hand or shooting daggers across the room needs to be done for this comp to go further, how about ALL you clubs pull your heads in and do the right thing get to the after match and be sociable not arrogant or sore losers!

thats all

ITSMYNAME said:
5) finally every team should stay around for a cold one after the game, ........how about ALL you clubs pull your heads in and do the right thing get to the after match and be sociable not arrogant or sore losers!
That's the Amateurs though ITSMYNAME. I am amazed at how such a big competition can have such a woeful social scene. Go to any EFL, DVFL or SFL game and there will be big crowds, and after the game, all supporters, players etc will hang around for a drink and presentations.
Go to an Amateur game and most of the Reserves leave and go home after their game, and apart from a few die hards, there would be lucky to be 20 or 30 supporters in the "crowd" at most games (of course there is the odd exception, but they are few and far between).
The Amateurs prides itself on being clean, and devoid of the thugs that apparently run around in other leagues (which is only ever highlighted by a few, isolated incidents). When it comes to leaving things on the field that happen on the field though, the SFL and EFL and the rest are streets ahead. Amateur players would rather say "I'm not going to drink with those p***ks" than taking on field incidents for what they are, and taking the moral high ground.
The atmosphere at, and after an Amateurs game is right up there with the Wednesday night dogs at Sandown.

Matthew Lloyd's a diver said:
That's the Amateurs though ITSMYNAME. I am amazed at how such a big competition can have such a woeful social scene. Go to any EFL, DVFL or SFL game and there will be big crowds, and after the game, all supporters, players etc will hang around for a drink and presentations.
Go to an Amateur game and most of the Reserves leave and go home after their game, and apart from a few die hards, there would be lucky to be 20 or 30 supporters in the "crowd" at most games (of course there is the odd exception, but they are few and far between).
The Amateurs prides itself on being clean, and devoid of the thugs that apparently run around in other leagues (which is only ever highlighted by a few, isolated incidents). When it comes to leaving things on the field that happen on the field though, the SFL and EFL and the rest are streets ahead. Amateur players would rather say "I'm not going to drink with those p***ks" than taking on field incidents for what they are, and taking the moral high ground.
The atmosphere at, and after an Amateurs game is right up there with the Wednesday night dogs at Sandown.

You will have to tell us what the wednesday night dogs is like( I thought it was thursday!) as most of us haven't been. The VAFA has many, many more grades and teams than the quoted comps and if we only had two/three or even four divisions, then the crowds might be bigger. Remember, the u/19's play at the same time. There are five divisions of them. A lot of the supporters aren't boozers. So what?

ITSMYNAME said:
ok i've been sitting back and watching too long...

4) parade lose weight and get rid of the clubs solariums, no1 likes overwight tanned men

5) finally every team should stay around for a cold one after the game, its all good and well to blame it on rehab but geez shaking ur oppenents hand or shooting daggers across the room needs to be done for this comp to go further, how about ALL you clubs pull your heads in and do the right thing get to the after match and be sociable not arrogant or sore losers!

thats all

There lies the problem my friend. Parade are & always have been one of the most sociable teams in the ammo's. Win, lose or draw they will come in for an ale. The resultant weight problems are an indication of this - maybe a little too much post match celebration/commiseration !

The Winter tans ?? Hope your not having a crack at our indigenous players - Dore & Brabender !

overtheline said:
The VAFA has many, many more grades and teams than the quoted comps and if we only had two/three or even four divisions, then the crowds might be bigger.
Each team has reserves doesn't it, why don't they hang around ? At the very least, the Senior players should be available to show their face in the rooms after the game.

overtheline said:
lot of the supporters aren't boozers. So what?
I use the term "hang around for a drink" in it's general term Over The Line. I am referring to staying and supporting either their own team, or opposition team be it with a beer, or a Coke, or a coffee, or whatever.

I notice you follow Monash, they are along with AJAX the LEAST sociable after a game, I am surprised you just don't make it BYO and be done with it. As for the atmosphere at Monash's ground it is akin to a links golf course in the middle of a blizzard.

OK - firstly I'll ignore the ramblings of Matthew Lloyd's a diver. I think you do need to compare apples with apples.

To the tips:
NOBS v Jackas - Will be a lot closer than people think with NOBS at home fighting for C Grade survival. I've been on the Jackas wagon for a good stretch, so won't jump off just yet.

Ormond v Hampton - Ormond to bounce back with an eeeeeasy win to consolidate their spot in the 4.

Monash v Parade - Monash to string a couple together to keep the pressure on the 'Monders. Expect a gallant first half from Parade.

StBM V Parkdale - understand why everyone wants the Tigers to stumble but won't be happening here. Vultures very plucky of late and have proved many wrong, but I think they ill be outclassed.

Fitzroy V Camberwell - am a subscriber to the "Reds are overrated" school of thought but irrelevant here as I think they will have too much polish for OC.

ps From the Pile - from what I understand Monash are actually one of the best teams post game. Ask OC and StBM about this - have heard positive feedback from both clubs in particular.

Grandstand Guru said:
OK - firstly I'll ignore the ramblings of Matthew Lloyd's a diver.
Please note that all comments and opinions must now be passed through the Grandstand Guru to see if they are suitable for public consumption. I apologise for breaking rank oh righteous one ! :)

Each team has reserves doesn't it, why don't they hang around ? At the very least, the Senior players should be available to show their face in the rooms after the game.

I use the term "hang around for a drink" in it's general term Over The Line. I am referring to staying and supporting either their own team, or opposition team be it with a beer, or a Coke, or a coffee, or whatever.

SO i am assuming you are conceding that we have far more games on at the same time( you made no mention of it!), therefore crowds more spread. For instance, your club couls have seniors and reserves playing and clubbies and unders playing together elsewhere. We are far and away the biggest comp in the state and it is easier to get crowds to two divions with three games on at the one venue which serves alcohol all day.

overtheline said:
SO i am assuming you are conceding that we have far more games on at the same time( you made no mention of it!)
What's to concede Over The Line ? I know there are more games on at the same time, but what has that got to do with it ? Your argument seems to suggest that each league in Melbourne is allocated an equal number of supporters and because the Amateurs has more teams, the spread at each game is less ! Yes, I am being sarcastic, but wouldn't having more clubs mean more supporters ? And if a club has 5 teams, wouldn't that mean more past players that should attend to support ?

Diver,
My point is that IF all the sides played at the one gorund on the one day( like EFL) then you would have a chance to see more supporters of the club together at the one time. They are spread out across several venues and again, they don't serve alcohol. Understand it now Diver?

There may be more people at efl,dvfl or whatever , I wouldn't know but so what? Those competitions would kill for our participation rate, reputation and number of strong clubs. We have 70 senior, 70 reserve, 50 under 19 and 30 odd club xviii sides...you do the maths and tell me whether thats a strong, vibrant competition?. You want massive crowds at all of those venues?
What comp are you involved with diver?

I agree with Eddie's point about the tyranny of distance. You often find "local derbies" in some sections are far better attended than those games where teams are 30 or 40kms apart.

Frankly though, the biggest drawcard for suburban footy over VAFA footy is the booze. The VAFA made a firm decision many years ago to ban alcohol at games and this served to minimise the feral supporter element which is far more prevalent in the suburban leagues.

If you want 700 people at your game, play a side in the next suburb and serve VB at $3 per can all afternoon. Pretty straightforward really. Doesn't happen in the VAFA, so we don't get the large crowds.

Parkdale vultures playing at home talking about ethics and moral fibre. I watched the first game of the year , where were your standards then.Also a question, a player red carded .My understanding is that he can be replaced in 15 minutes but he himself cannot return for the game. Am I right ? if so 2 weeks is a "great escape" for the vultures.

Go Jackas

Hey Quietly Confident, are you going to elaborate on the alleged lack of ethics and moral fibre shown by Parkdale? Or are you showing your 'lack of' by not posting the allegations?!

Scribe said:
I agree with Eddie's point about the tyranny of distance. You often find "local derbies" in some sections are far better attended than those games where teams are 30 or 40kms apart.

Frankly though, the biggest drawcard for suburban footy over VAFA footy is the booze. The VAFA made a firm decision many years ago to ban alcohol at games and this served to minimise the feral supporter element which is far more prevalent in the suburban leagues.

If you want 700 people at your game, play a side in the next suburb and serve VB at $3 per can all afternoon. Pretty straightforward really. Doesn't happen in the VAFA, so we don't get the large crowds.

Go and watch footy in the bush, they sell cans all day and there's heaps of families and kids. Whereas if you went local suburban such as the SFL or EFL, the crowds are feral namely due to the grog.

Local derbies are great though so get down to Brindisi St today and have a ball and, after 4.30, a refreshment.

you know it makes sense

richoooo said:
Go and watch footy in the bush, they sell cans all day and there's heaps of families and kids. Whereas if you went local suburban such as the SFL or EFL, the crowds are feral namely due to the grog.

Local derbies are great though so get down to Brindisi St today and have a ball and, after 4.30, a refreshment.

you know it makes sense

Well said Richo, being ex country NGFL there was hardly any trouble, my first senior club in Melb we would have fights between the players(Saturday nights).
Would love to be at the Tigers today, go Parkdale, within 10 goals will be fair but I hope its closer.

Ps
Find my boot.

I agree with above sentiments, and can also vouch for country footy seeing plenty of grog but little aggro (Lexton FL). On the other hand though, from my short experience with Chelt, it was also quite ok there as well, so I wouldn't say its all feral in the city.

Easily, and EASILY the most feral performances I have witnessed are VFL/AFL, followed by VFA/VFL. But I've seen very little of the leagues with the fiery names, eg DVFL.

Anyways :
NOBS v AJAX
Ormond v Hampton
Monash v Parade
StBM V Parkdale
Fitzroy V Camberwell

Nobspc smacked AJAX by 9 goals, i believe M Barker kicked 9, what a year the spearhead is having. Fraser i felt your call on NOBSPC to drop was a little short sighted in this weeks record, we have been the from team of the comp (apart from the tigers of course who are in a league of their own) over the past 5 weeks. Sure Parade beat us but from all reports the ground more resembled a lake and that was all always going to suit the bigger Parade bodies at Garvey Oval.

NOBSPC have now beaten Monash and AJAX comfortably.Only St Bedes holds any fears. That said we are only a game off the bottom and would need to win every game (other than against tigers) to make the four

C Section is very very tight, both relegation and promotion is still on the minds of at least 6 clubs.

Alphonse you are always very wise with your words, I imagine you would be enjoying the warm weather over there at the moment, a bronzed former Port premiership player must be going well with the ladies. Scribe your call that NOBSPC will be relagated is as bad as that French crap you served up this week. Keep this up and I suggest you would be better served back in the unders write ups. AJAX were missing players but we had 4 key players out as well

overtheline said:
Very intersting Roy!
Nobs-jackas- Not so sure this will be as easy as you think roy. Ajax have been pretty happy with themselves for a side who lost on the weekend and I could see a big let down factor(and a six day break after playing in the wet!) I think it will be much closer than most think..Ajax just
Agree re Ormond
Monash to smash Parade
Parkdale is an interesting one. They have met two very, very depleted sides in the past two weeks( look at the teamlists) and I reckon their form is a little flattering. SBMT to win easily
Reds surely at home? Loats does loom large though but OC have too many on the long term injury list and can't win away. Reds by a mile.

Well, where do I start? I was rubbished by several posters for my prediction above re Ajax and their vulnerability today. Interesting to note that Nobs kicked the last 6 goals(refer 6 day break) and those who rubbished me...feel free to apologise.
Reds? What a disaster! Worst loss at brunswick st for many, many years. With Davis and Dullard back and Loats a late withdrawal, surely the scene was set for a Reds win. Two late goals added respectability to an otherwise dirty day (and more injuries!) and saved total embarassment. I suppose that puts the "no Loats no Camberwell" theory to bed!
Roy, we need your wisdom!!

first time poster on the C grade thread:

saw Reds dominate D grade last year whist Ormond (although promoted) where equal to a few other teams in the section - {IMO}. Have Ormond recruited or Reds lost players? I keep seeing that all Reds players (from VFL) are released most weeks.

Could Reds get relegated?

Would like to know?

Thanks - Ugly

uglydermie said:
first time poster on the C grade thread:

saw Reds dominate D grade last year whist Ormond (although promoted) where equal to a few other teams in the section - {IMO}. Have Ormond recruited or Reds lost players? I keep seeing that all Reds players (from VFL) are released most weeks.

Could Reds get relegated?

Would like to know?

Thanks - Ugly
I don't know what Ormond have recruited, The Reds have lost a couple from last year but recruited a few as well. I know it's no excuse but the reds have a long injury list at the moment. They are not playing particularly good football. As for the VFL players half the time when they are released they end up getting a late call up and don't play for the Reds.

Anything is possible especially in a comp as tight as C grade is, I think relegation is unlikely though.