C Section Amateur Football

Great win by the Monds on Saturday. Got the monkey finally off the back.

The supposed big names for Reds didn't fire a shot, although Davis was missing from the side, too busy trying to listen in to our qtr time huddle talk, he obviously can't relay messages very well...

Dead rubber against St Bedes this week, fine tune for finals action...

Thanks for the messages on concern for RCT's welfare...and to me old mate Red..season gone and no silverware for the cabinet but we have each other and that's what matters...

What a week...just nailed the Quaddie late afternoon Monday at the Sorrento Pub, shouted the bar a round of Jim Beam and cokes and the girls suggest we might set sail for St.Leonards and spend the night with feral's at the pub...wander down to the where the sloop should be and nothing...turns out some local zombie decided he would sail her single handed across the Bass Strait and then leave her anchored off some Northern Tasmanian coastline town!

As a result RCTand girls from Bar 20, rented a nice little shack at Portsea for the week and spent our time between the wineries, playing golf and relaxing in the 12 person spa....unfortunately the lap top was on board the yacht so RCT had no access to post a weekend market...and it was a good thing I couldn't as the results were easy get's...told everyone weeks ago Ormond would defeat the Red's at the Gunn...the good news was I made up for the lost betting action by running an SP Saturday arvo at the Sorrento and took a packet when all the locals unloaded on Minson in the Group One....sometimes taking money is so easy....

This week...will Loats back up againt the Cleaners for 3 weeks in a row and gee the hammy will be tested at the Park...Parky easily over Parade who are finished...reckon the NOBS will knock off the Students who will be absent studying for future exams...Rovers vs Reds...could become drink off at the Lord Newry to decide the result...Tigers host the Gunners in a warm up before the bigger events ahead...markets will be coming this week.

Credit where credit is due- Well done Ormond! too good for the Reds on SAturday and that is it for 2006. Surviving in C grade is still an honourable outcome though.

Was looking through the stats on the vafa website, Ormond have an enormous amount of key players who have played every game or only missed one or two. Certainly has helped their season. I think Miller,Keleher and McConville have missed two between them! Do the Sullivans ever miss? It is very intersting reading as Parkdale and st Bedes also have a lot in the same category.

That list indicates just how hard hit Reds and OC have been, so it has been a good effort from both of those clubs.

Roy, we all eagerly await your thoughts form Saturday!

Credit where credit is due- Well done Ormond! too good for the Reds on SAturday and that is it for 2006. Surviving in C grade is still an honourable outcome though.

Was looking through the stats on the vafa website, Ormond have an enormous amount of key players who have played every game or only missed one or two. Certainly has helped their season. I think Miller,Keleher and McConville have missed two between them! Do the Sullivans ever miss? It is very intersting reading as Parkdale and st Bedes also have a lot in the same category.

That list indicates just how hard hit Reds and OC have been, so it has been a good effort from both of those clubs.

Roy, we all eagerly await your thoughts from Saturday!

RCT's C Section VAFA B&F Market

Anstey - SBMT $2.80 solid favourite
Lewski - AJAX $3.20 but no real money seen as yet
Miller - Ormond $4.60 always votes well and played nearly every game in 06
Gregory - Monash $ 5.80 consistent year and will poll
L.Wintle - SBMT $ 7.00 another consistent tall who stands out
P.Sullivan - PV $7.50 in and under with good disposal noticed by umpires
J.Tyquin - SBMT $ 8.00 missed out on Rep. teams somehow but another Tiger with a show...could hurt his teammates in the end
Loats - OC $ 11.00 will poll a few 3 votes with big bags but missed too many game to win
T.Davis - FR $ 13.00 eye catcher in middle of the road team
G.Smythe - Monash $ 13.00 bit of a smoky...red hair and plays free..last years winner and umpires favourite
McConville - Orm - $25.00 another who may suprise everyone but those at the Gunn
Ritterman - $25.00 - missed a few games and won't be in the finish for mine
Cahill - FR $33.00 - game on baller and wears a helmet which will get him a few votes

Any odds the rest for me...no-one from NOBS/Hampton Rovers or Parade can nor should win and should be embarassed if it were to!

With so much hanging on the result it will be interesting to see how the younger brigade at OC handle the pressure. As predicted at the start of the year ,there have been sweeping changes at OC and ,also as predicted, the side has never really felt it would be relegated.

Now these young blokes have an opportunity to take a huge step forward. With a couple of pacy mid-field types still sidelined with hammys,plenty of young blokes will play. I watch with great interest to see which ones will get the nod. 10 unders have played this season,with all showing a lot,a couple have become regular members of the side.

The availability of key players who missed last week will go a long way to determining the result as Ajax have been well settled for the past month or so.

The one thing I know is that OC will turn up the heat early on. They are keen for their younger blokes to expierence finals footy as part of their development and with a strong view that '07 will be the best year OC has seen for some time.

If Ajax take it lightly or play to preserve, they will be eaten alive. I can't wait to see how it pans out. As stated 5 weeks back,if you're good enough ,you make it, otherwise someone else fills your spot.

Footy feeds on the weak,that's why it's the best game.

Richard Clay Torpedoes said:
RCT's C Section VAFA B&F Market

Anstey - SBMT $2.80 solid favourite
Lewski - AJAX $3.20 but no real money seen as yet
Miller - Ormond $4.60 always votes well and played nearly every game in 06
Gregory - Monash $ 5.80 consistent year and will poll
L.Wintle - SBMT $ 7.00 another consistent tall who stands out
P.Sullivan - PV $7.50 in and under with good disposal noticed by umpires
J.Tyquin - SBMT $ 8.00 missed out on Rep. teams somehow but another Tiger with a show...could hurt his teammates in the end
Loats - OC $ 11.00 will poll a few 3 votes with big bags but missed too many game to win
T.Davis - FR $ 13.00 eye catcher in middle of the road team
G.Smythe - Monash $ 13.00 bit of a smoky...red hair and plays free..last years winner and umpires favourite
McConville - Orm - $25.00 another who may suprise everyone but those at the Gunn
Ritterman - $25.00 - missed a few games and won't be in the finish for mine
Cahill - FR $33.00 - game on baller and wears a helmet which will get him a few votes

Any odds the rest for me...no-one from NOBS/Hampton Rovers or Parade can nor should win and should be embarassed if it were to!

RCT- there you go betting to 400% again...no wonder you clean the punters !!!! What about the odds for Any Other Player? They are always the best bet. Everyone knows the umps couldnt tell black from white.....nor class from ass. Give me odds to win $10,000 !!!

Saintly 5...name your player and I'll give you a price...had to set the board to such a percentage to fund the cost of shipping my yacht back from Tassie and I don't anticpate much money for the favourite duo so I could be on a hiding to nothing!

RCT.

Saintly 5...name your player and I'll give you a price...had to set the board to such a percentage to fund the cost of shipping my yacht back from Tassie and I don't anticpate much money for the favourite duo so I could be on a hiding to nothing!

RCT.
I'd have Keleher or L.Deledio before McConville, so give me a price on those two thanks!

CFE...Keleher is one I am a little wary of not having included in my market as having studied the best player 'appearances' and his past record would suggest he just might be in the mix...$16.00 with a big watch...Deledio - I'm not as convinced he will poll heavily so $33.00 on offer for him...

RCT

Afternoon All,

Despite suggestions to the contrary - Roy has not crawled under a rock, he is alive and well.

Well - then exorcism appears to have worked - somehow Daryl Cullinan has picked the flipper and sqaure cut it behind point for a nice boundary. Ormond will make the finals and the Reds will not - Red is disappinted but big enough to acknowledge the victors - so well done Ormond.

(we will always have that 05 flag over you though!!!!!!!!!!)

Red is not as gracious as he thought !

A magnificent effort for the Reds to stay up given the ridicolous injury toll we have endured - not to mention the absence of our illustrious leader and coach for a few games.

Lets finish off well by sending Hamtpon to D Grade this week and keep the Nobs up. We can't play for the RedNob cup if they are in D section can we and Red likes the Nobs, even if there appears to have been a bit of a souring of the relationship between the respective coaches.

O.K. - what know for the Red some of you may ask? Well a quick perusal of the Reserves table and you will see that the Reds will finish 3rd and see some finals. One advantage of the ones being out is that coach Litza will have plenty of boys qualified (that will play a part in selection this week mark my words) and you will see a vastly different (read better) magoos outfit come finals time. A flag is a flag lads - so lets go get our first C Section Variety shall we.

I see RCT has graced us with his Market for the comp B&F. Since when did you become Simon Beasely anyway RCT? and enough of the yacht to Sorrento crap - Red and others are well and truly over it. Some striking similarities with my top ten - your quote on the Giant is almost a direct replica of mine - have you been cutting and pasting my posts again RCT???? I will start to impose a fee.

Enough from the Roy for now

See you later in the week

The Red

CFE...Keleher is one I am a little wary of not having included in my market as having studied the best player 'appearances' and his past record would suggest he just might be in the mix...$16.00 with a big watch...Deledio - I'm not as convinced he will poll heavily so $33.00 on offer for him...

RCT

Agreed - that's why I've slotted Keleher in as 2nd fave. Will also have the same problem as Anstey & Lewski re: teammates pinching votes but it should be close.

Scribe said:
Agreed - that's why I've slotted Keleher in as 2nd fave. Will also have the same problem as Anstey & Lewski re: teammates pinching votes but it should be close.

Agree with you with such strenght in the Ajax midfield will take votes off him, Including;
Ritterman
Sutton
Isrealson
Roitman too name a few

I see RCT has graced us with his Market for the comp B&F. Since when did you become Simon Beasely anyway RCT? and enough of the yacht to Sorrento crap - Red and others are well and truly over it. Some striking similarities with my top ten - your quote on the Giant is almost a direct replica of mine - have you been cutting and pasting my posts again RCT???? I will start to impose a fee.

Enough from the Roy for now

Nurse Rachett....Red's medication time.....

Your football knowledge Red is very limited...RCT gave a young Simon Beasley a lesson playing at full back for the Tigers at the Western Oval and then sat him down post match for a few beers and lessons in life and money matters...

The only exorcism to be carried out in C Section is to the RED shorts worn by Fitzroy Reds.....disgraceful

Clinging on to a hope for a Reserves Premiership now RED...how things quickly change!!!

Might be a case of de ja vue for Parkdale, I seem to remember Parky needing to win the last game and Uni Blacks needing to win for Parky to make the finals, Parky had a good 8 goal win and Uni blacks decided to lose only their 3 game of the season, think I can see Ajax losing with nothing to play for.
meaning Parky will finish 5th again.

VAFA,
It is with deep regret i post this message to inform you all i will not be playing football next year.
I have finnally fullfilled my childhood dream of being promoted to shift manager of the local charcoal chicken, wich means double time on saturdays and incentives for every chicken wing sold.

Thank you for all the great times and friendships i have made.

D.Boundy

bit of a disapointment to see Old Paradians getting relegated to D1 Section. Have no one to blame but themselves though, **** training drills and cannot attract skilful players from the school. Them going down to D1 next year will see them lose Bounty to Bundoora and many potential under 19s who are having to go up to play seniors next year will leave.. most likely to Old trinity where the facilities are brilliant.
what does anyone else think about this?

They never planned to stay in C Grade by not promoting good Under 19's kids early enough and failed to respect the competition.

Garvey proved nothing more than a joke as a home ground (note it takes 3 hours to get from Parkdale to Bundoora on a bad day) and how they could not get some of these sides on the hop at hime outstounds me.

Facilities ? Why would people then play at clubs with grounds such as Parkdale's former home (Southern Road) or Gordon Barnard Reserve which remains a 1950's set of a movie !

C'mon - this is no shame. It's a poor season and the penalty must be paid.

The Senior coach takes his side down to D1 for the first time in what a long time ? Maybe the first time ! A bitter pill to swallow.

That Under 19's trophy will be worth nothing and D1 it may be for a at least a season or three . . . .

Red Roy said:
O.K. - what know for the Red some of you may ask? Well a quick perusal of the Reserves table and you will see that the Reds will finish 3rd and see some finals. One advantage of the ones being out is that coach Litza will have plenty of boys qualified (that will play a part in selection this week mark my words) and you will see a vastly different (read better) magoos outfit come finals time. A flag is a flag lads - so lets go get our first C Section Variety shall we.

Word is that regardless of who can qualify, 12 regular twos players missed on Saturday regardless - all bar 2 will be available this week.

Although one to waych with interest is whether Coach Litza drops himself after slotting one through from just inside the centre square on Saturday...

My money is he may have to play, seeing the state of some of the boys at the Lord Newry on Saturday night... hard to see them getting up from that.

Spencer Johnson said:
bit of a disapointment to see Old Paradians getting relegated to D1 Section. Have no one to blame but themselves though, **** training drills and cannot attract skilful players from the school. Them going down to D1 next year will see them lose Bounty to Bundoora and many potential under 19s who are having to go up to play seniors next year will leave.. most likely to Old trinity where the facilities are brilliant.
what does anyone else think about this?

They never planned to stay in C Grade by not promoting good Under 19's kids early enough and failed to respect the competition.

Garvey proved nothing more than a joke as a home ground (note it takes 3 hours to get from Parkdale to Bundoora on a bad day) and how they could not get some of these sides on the hop at hime outstounds me.

Facilities ? Why would people then play at clubs with grounds such as Parkdale's former home (Southern Road) or Gordon Barnard Reserve which remains a 1950's set of a movie !

C'mon - this is no shame. It's a poor season and the penalty must be paid.

The Senior coach takes his side down to D1 for the first time in what a long time ? Maybe the first time ! A bitter pill to swallow.

That Under 19's trophy will be worth nothing and D1 it may be for a at least a season or three . . . .

well said Spencer.
you echo a number of comments from my revious post.
the powers tat be paid to much attention to their old boys in the team rather than bring on the young ones. hence many have left over the past few seasons to make their mark in teh local competition how much better would they have been with them playing now - might have even knocked over the old Reds!
And they are back down in D garde for the first time in yonks - maybe 50 plus years.

The latest market moves on C Section Medal:

Keleher $16.00 into $8.00 with good money bet on the previous D1 winner from Ormond including a large sum from a legal eagle betting name 'Scribe'
P.Sullivan $7.50 into $6.00 with good nibbles from his many Parky playing brothers who believe they will win him bonus votes
Lewski - Ajax out from $3.20 to $4.00 with no money coming forth from EP or Sandy or Albert Park or any other ground they play/train at
Tyquin - SBMT also blown out from $8.00 to $11.00 with no money from anyone at Brindisi Street for seemingly unpopular player

Plenty of rumoured names as possible replacement coach for the great man Burgs at Fitzroy Reds for 2007-2010 including Kevin Sheedy, Malcolm Blight, Darrell Hair and Dean Jones to name just a few in the mix...a betting market to come.

This weeks games and it is universally known as the 'Telstra/Optus' final round as the mobile companies will be making a fortune and one wonders why the VAFA Executive have not got a sponsorship deal in place as yet

Tigers 4/6 vs Gunners Evens- Gunners had a terrific win last week but this week is a different kettle of fish and at Brindisi street the Tigers will make it 18/0 for the home and away.
NOBS 4/5 vs Students 5/4 - NOBS will play for their lives to survive and students will be happy with a slab for the drive home
Reds 8/11 vs Rovers 3/1 - game to be transfered to the Lord Newry and become a testimonial for the retiring coach and the retired coach of both sides...Reds to send Burgs off in style and Rovers to D Section
Cleansers 4/6 vs Marissa's Mob 11/8- rumour around is Jackas don't want the OC's in the last four mix..could be willing this one and reckon the OC's might pull a rabbit out of the hat and make the bronze medal play off
Vultures 2/7 vs Boundy's Boulders 4/1 - no contest here and despite a big win for the Sullivan brothers it will prove to be in vain.

RCT selections are underlined.

RCT

The latest market moves on C Section Medal:

Keleher $16.00 into $8.00 with good money bet on the previous D1 winner from Ormond including a large sum from a legal eagle betting name 'Scribe'
P.Sullivan $7.50 into $6.00 with good nibbles from his many Parky playing brothers who believe they will win him bonus votes
Lewski - Ajax out from $3.20 to $4.00 with no money coming forth from EP or Sandy or Albert Park or any other ground they play/train at
Tyquin - SBMT also blown out from $8.00 to $11.00 with no money from anyone at Brindisi Street for seemingly unpopular player

Plenty of rumoured names as possible replacement coach for the great man Burgs at Fitzroy Reds for 2007-2010 including Kevin Sheedy, Malcolm Blight, Darrell Hair and Dean Jones to name just a few in the mix...a betting market to come.

This weeks games and it is universally known as the 'Telstra/Optus' final round as the mobile companies will be making a fortune and one wonders why the VAFA Executive have not got a sponsorship deal in place as yet

Tigers 4/6 vs Gunners Evens- Gunners had a terrific win last week but this week is a different kettle of fish and at Brindisi street the Tigers will make it 18/0 for the home and away.
NOBS 4/5 vs Students 5/4 - NOBS will play for their lives to survive and students will be happy with a slab for the drive home
Reds 8/11 vs Rovers 3/1 - game to be transfered to the Lord Newry and become a testimonial for the retiring coach and the retired coach of both sides...Reds to send Burgs off in style and Rovers to D Section
Cleansers 4/6 vs Marissa's Mob 11/8- rumour around is Jackas don't want the OC's in the last four mix..could be willing this one and reckon the OC's might pull a rabbit out of the hat and make the bronze medal play off
Vultures 2/7 vs Boundy's Boulders 4/1 - no contest here and despite a big win for the Sullivan brothers it will prove to be in vain.

RCT selections are underlined.

RCT

Rct,

Very generous odds the tigers. Me fancy some action at the 4/6!!
Reckon you are pretty spot on this week with your predictions and the Reds will ensure a grand send off for the great Mr Burgen! There are, however, a few being sent back to the twos to qualify. Nobs playing for plenty and Monash already in footy trip mode, so agree with you there as well. Ormond no hope, in the only game that has no meaning.

Marrissa's mob? Do explain? They have won 5 from their last six and Ajax appear to be struggling a little( nealry lost to the pie eaters last week!) and the giant looms large at the park. I am with you on that one too. Heard the jackas got some injuries last week as well( and some important ones!)
Parade couldn't win if they started now and for the second year in a row, Parkdale will have their hearts broken by the wellers in round 18. Ormond have made it clear they would prefer to play Parkdale, who they have smashed twice.

Why don't the cleansers want Oc in?

OTL

Mischa Barton's character 'now deceased' in The OC on Sandra Sully's network was named 'Marrissa'......

Not sure whay the cleansers are thinking this way but it is what I've heard around the traps...heard the 1st round match at Gordon's was a little willing and plenty of yap so it may be interesting again this week....if the Jackas have injuries the market they may get the blows...any names??..perhaps all their Sandy based training isn't proving to be the advantage they hope for!

RCT