C Section Amateur Football

sxcdavster40 said:
Best players for the match : Anstey, Beveridge, Wintle (I think that's his name), Ritterman, Rappaport, Lewski, Jankie.

I'll never forget that match.

You are kidding arent you? What about Elliot Janover and Nick Gold? Easily AJAX's two best players on the day.

sImpLy f0oTy said:
Anstey has 39 touches and M. Wintle picked up 37.
I thought no-one really from AJAX stood out in the last half of the game, when the going got tough for them.

do the words Jason and Ritterman mean anything to you?

Also, Jason Seidl had an instant impact when he replaced Jared Raleigh in the ruck and he also set up a few goals from Centre Half Back when he was thrown down there.

Ari Lewski was also racking up the touches at will in the second half

Fantastic game. Agree with everything written. In the end unfortuantely Ajax ran out of legs and the team that maintained its run to the post was the Tigers. Must pay a compliment to the coach, Luke Beveridge. Also would add that Ajax also gave out a bit themselves. Tried to fix up Tyquin's shoulder at the start and also the punch to Nbr 3 for the Tigers head early in the first term when marking was a poor effort. It was even poorer when the umpires didn't pay a 25 for that infringement.

Red Roy - I see your season was capped off nicely with the Reds U/19s letting a 66 point lead at 3/4 time slip (10.8 to 0.1 in the last)....some soul searching to be done old boy!

Grandstand Guru said:
Red Roy - I see your season was capped off nicely with the Reds U/19s letting a 66 point lead at 3/4 time slip (10.8 to 0.1 in the last)....some soul searching to be done old boy!

Well done Grandstand - I was one of the many who witnessed the single biggest capitulation in recent history. Never seen such an awesome quarter - especially in a Grand Final.

Roy - what the hell happened??? How can you be 11 goals up at 3/4 time and lose?

Re-GF

Absolutely astonishing game. I’m a supporter of neither side, but great effort from the StBM to come and win

Quick question(s)

Was the medal winner Michael Wintle (St Bedes/Mentone Tigers) # 10 the one with the dreadlocks nicknamed Mouse ?. And are all three Wintles L,P & M brothers ?

kangeroojack said:
Re-GF

Absolutely astonishing game. I’m a supporter of neither side, but great effort from the StBM to come and win

Quick question(s)

Was the medal winner Michael Wintle (St Bedes/Mentone Tigers) # 10 the one with the dreadlocks nicknamed Mouse ?. And are all three Wintles L,P & M brothers ?

Yes to all of the above

kangeroojack said:
Re-GF

Quick question(s)

Yes:
-Michael Wintle is referred to as Mouse
-Luke Wintle is referred to as Juice
-Paul Wintle is referred to as Rat

lozza5 said:
I would have to agree with those posts expressing positive comments about the quality of the game at Sandy on Saturday. Both teams were a credit to the Amateurs. The one blight on the game was SBMT number 34 who, at the beginning of the game, refused to shake the hand of number 27 from Ajax who had extended his hand as gentlemen do. He then proceded to harrass number 27 with kidney punches and a right arm whack to the midrift, felling the young player. The icing on the cake was the dispicaple act of spitting on a player and for that I see him as a disgrace to his team. Congradulations to SBMT and the supporters of both teams. I am sure the Ammos cleaned up at the gate.

Totally agree. If SBMT think they should take this guy into B grade, they should think think long and hard. He is a disgrace to football and no doubt played a big part in their resurgence. That is, he was off the ground so players could get back to playing a great game of Aussie Rules and not boxing. Well done to both teams for putting on a great show (except 34, the hooligan)

number 34 for SBMT has called it a day along with number 38 and possibly a few more to come. good note to go out on for number 38, four goals and a close to best on performance

2007 C Grade Settled

So 2007 C Grade should look like this...

(in no particular order)
Whitefriars
Mazenod
Parkdale
Ormond
Fitzroy
Camberwell
Monash
NOB\St Pats
Old Carey
Rupertswood

****! Enjoy the road trip to Sunbury next season all you C Grade people!

RCT was seen boarding a plane for Tangiers after givng the Ajax supporters two points in midway thru the second quarter. Local reports blamed RCT for the quick Excudos after the game! Sorry not Excodus, I met exit!

RCT reporting in to all concerned C section thread bearers and especially Three Malugas and my old mate Red Roy.

'I seen it and I now believe it'.....

Never have I had heard so many people tell me from both participating clubs and non playing clubs who went to the Grand Final at Sandy on Saturday, that they have witnessed one of the 'greatest games of local football' in the last 30 years!

To the players and officials of both clubs who provided a spectacle of the ages...thank you.....and for anyone who wasn't there with the approx.4500 spectators, then do contact SBMTAFC and purchase a copy of their DVD of the game....best footy investment you'll make this year....or send me a private message and I'll help you make arrangements for such.

A Grand Final for the ages...it had everything and then some....and can I say to anyone who has made a comment about individual player(s) on field behavious or perfomance...let it go...there was plenty going on the field and just as much off the field that was probably even worse in reality (note not physical but beyond the call of 'watching your opposition')

A Classic Grand Final will have the following in no order - goals, spectacular marks, courage, physicality, domination, comebacks, pressure, reports, dubious umpiring, good umpiring, crowd banter, defeaning crowd noise, injuries.....sounds like Hawthorn v Geelong at the MCG doesn't it....but no it was SBMTAFC v Ajax at Sandy last Saturday.

Ajax in my eyes had some outstanding players in Gold (and I hope his injury which looked serious isn't ) Ritterman and Sutton and a target up forward in Rapaport and their first quarter and a half was awesome football to watch as they served it up to the Tigers. Can't believe I've seen possibly four of the best marks you could imagine to see ever in one game of football.
The momentum of the game shifted from the 20 minute mark of the second term when the tigers started to run the lines with Sawers, and Lynch in the ruck making a statement. Hayes kicked some telling goals and Tyquin started show why he is a key to the Tigers in the middle. Third quarter incredibly better the first two, the Tigers piling of the goals but the Jackas keeping them at arms reach to hold a 5 point lead at the final change and coming home with the breeze. How big were the huddles on the ground at 3/4 time!!!
When Ajax stretched their lead to 15 points at the 18 minute mark of the last term it seemed as though it just might be their flag but the Tigers refused to let go of the dream, and kicked 4 of the last 5 goals of the match from the 22 minute mark of the final term. Collins goal from 45mtrs into the breeze from the worst corner on the ground to kick one on this day, was a kick of pure class....17 years old but drilled like a 28yo playing his 140th game and then added to the drama when he took a brilliant pack mark 15 metres out only to miss the easy kick in front....Rapaport then takes a grab for Ajax up forward and nails it from 35 mtrs and their back in front by 5 points at the 30 minute mark....but the Tigers atack again and Groves takes a mark low to the ground and literallly splits the middle of the two big sticks from 20 mtrs out...still 2 minutes to play and Beveridge shows his absolute class to take two marks accross half back as the Jackas try everything to get it forward...the siren goes but it's barely audible such is the noise in the ground....has it ended....incredibly it has and the Tigers have won by a point.

Could you write a script like it...not in your wildest dreams.

So after three days of partying and living the dream of 3 Flags at Brindisi Street on a Saturday in September, I'm going to go quietly at work today and give the liver half a chance!

YEEESSSSSSSSSSSS.......

RCT

Conduct Unbecoming said:

Well done Grandstand - I was one of the many who witnessed the single biggest capitulation in recent history. Never seen such an awesome quarter - especially in a Grand Final.

Roy - what the hell happened??? How can you be 11 goals up at 3/4 time and lose?

We're just angering ourselves into a better 2007! :D

Its not the first time this has happened to a Reds team in a granny. The seniors did it in 1999 at the hands of Latrobe Uni ... 9 goals to none in last quarter to turn a hiding into a premiership.

If the Reds hadn't actually won a bunch of flags as well, people make wobble references to us :)

Richard Clay Torpedoes said:
RCT reporting in to all concerned C section thread bearers and especially Three Malugas and my old mate Red Roy.

'I seen it and I now believe it'.....

Never have I had heard so many people tell me from both participating clubs and non playing clubs who went to the Grand Final at Sandy on Saturday, that they have witnessed one of the 'greatest games of local football' in the last 30 years!

To the players and officials of both clubs who provided a spectacle of the ages...thank you.....and for anyone who wasn't there with the approx.4500 spectators, then do contact SBMTAFC and purchase a copy of their DVD of the game....best footy investment you'll make this year....or send me a private message and I'll help you make arrangements for such.

A Grand Final for the ages...it had everything and then some....and can I say to anyone who has made a comment about individual player(s) on field behavious or perfomance...let it go...there was plenty going on the field and just as much off the field that was probably even worse in reality (note not physical but beyond the call of 'watching your opposition')

A Classic Grand Final will have the following in no order - goals, spectacular marks, courage, physicality, domination, comebacks, pressure, reports, dubious umpiring, good umpiring, crowd banter, defeaning crowd noise, injuries.....sounds like Hawthorn v Geelong at the MCG doesn't it....but no it was SBMTAFC v Ajax at Sandy last Saturday.

Ajax in my eyes had some outstanding players in Gold (and I hope his injury which looked serious isn't ) Ritterman and Sutton and a target up forward in Rapaport and their first quarter and a half was awesome football to watch as they served it up to the Tigers. Can't believe I've seen possibly four of the best marks you could imagine to see ever in one game of football.
The momentum of the game shifted from the 20 minute mark of the second term when the tigers started to run the lines with Sawers, and Lynch in the ruck making a statement. Hayes kicked some telling goals and Tyquin started show why he is a key to the Tigers in the middle. Third quarter incredibly better the first two, the Tigers piling of the goals but the Jackas keeping them at arms reach to hold a 5 point lead at the final change and coming home with the breeze. How big were the huddles on the ground at 3/4 time!!!
When Ajax stretched their lead to 15 points at the 18 minute mark of the last term it seemed as though it just might be their flag but the Tigers refused to let go of the dream, and kicked 4 of the last 5 goals of the match from the 22 minute mark of the final term. Collins goal from 45mtrs into the breeze from the worst corner on the ground to kick one on this day, was a kick of pure class....17 years old but drilled like a 28yo playing his 140th game and then added to the drama when he took a brilliant pack mark 15 metres out only to miss the easy kick in front....Rapaport then takes a grab for Ajax up forward and nails it from 35 mtrs and their back in front by 5 points at the 30 minute mark....but the Tigers atack again and Groves takes a mark low to the ground and literallly splits the middle of the two big sticks from 20 mtrs out...still 2 minutes to play and Beveridge shows his absolute class to take two marks accross half back as the Jackas try everything to get it forward...the siren goes but it's barely audible such is the noise in the ground....has it ended....incredibly it has and the Tigers have won by a point.

Could you write a script like it...not in your wildest dreams.

One of the few down sides of the day was the fact that the Ajax players and officials did not stay on the ground for the presentation, which is a clear instruction from the VAFA in writing and well known...the Tigers endured it when losing to Whitefriars at EP 2002 and perhaps in some ways it also helped them in winning this one....it is character building.

So after three days of partying and living the dream of 3 Flags at Brindisi Street on a Saturday in September, I'm going to go quietly at work today and give the liver half a chance!

YEEESSSSSSSSSSSS.......

RCT

Great work RCT. It is typical Ajax to not hang around for the presentations. They have no idea how to conduct themselves as losers or winners and wonder why everyone hates them? The scribes coach of the year blew a 50 point lead to lose a flag? Surely Bevo is the man!

OTL

Bevo is an outstanding coach and person...as always his speech post match on the ground was humble...praised the oppositon and of course his warriors and his club, the crowd and officials....and the last people he and Tigers Reserves coach Tim Lamb chatted to before leaving Sandy was Tim O'Shannassy and Ajax officials....just pure quality.

He has the Silverware which is just reward.

I haven't read anything from Scribe about Saturday yet?????

RCT, your last comment about ajax not staying on the ground is incorrect,
and how dare you criticize ajax for this.

I was standing with the ajax players, who were sitting on the ground approxiamtely 10 metres behind where the presentation was taking place.
( just behind the sbmt supporters)

They stayed on the ground while each sbmt player received their medal,
and once the cup had been presented and bevereidge said his speech,
then they walked back to their change rooms.

Please check your facts before you criticize ajax on this.

In regards to overthelines comments saying they have no class...

after losing a gf by 1pt, i deem them to have class waiting around for all
the presentations. The fact that you didn't even notice that they were
on the ground for the entire presentation clearly shows you had no clue
to what was going on around you.

I expect an apology from overtheline and rct, not to me, but to the ajax
players....

BN43,

I'm always man enough to make an apology and to that end I'll retract my statement and will delete it from my posting. I did not see the Ajax players on the ground and honestly believed that they had left the ground for the changerooms...and several other people had made the same comment.

As you can see from all my previous threads I will give praise where it's due I do believe I've given plenty to the Ajax players on their performances...such a spectacle required two teams to put it on for all who were lucky to be there.

RCT

BN43,

who was the guy calling the game for the AJAX video...was impressed with the fact that he had done some homework on who the Tigers players were...funny thing was when Hayes kicked a goall early in the game for the Tigers he said somehting along the lines of ' Hayes from St.Bedes kicks a goal...maybe he is related to Lenny Hayes at St.Kilda..maybe he is the 'not as good brother'....funny thing is he is Lenny Hayes cousin!!

RCT

I've heard from an eye witness that Barry Rowlings (ex Hawthorn & Richmond) was at Sandy on Saturday...perhaps watching a young Tiger????

Believe Barry is still doing some work for the Hawks....

RCT

Richard Clay Torpedoes said:
BN43,

I'm always man enough to make an apology and to that end I'll retract my statement and will delete it from my posting. I did not see the Ajax players on the ground and honestly believed that they had left the ground for the changerooms...and several other people had made the same comment.

As you can see from all my previous threads I will give praise where it's due I do believe I've given plenty to the Ajax players on their performances...such a spectacle required two teams to put it on for all who were lucky to be there.

RCT

RCT nothing to apologise for. They stayed on the ground until Bevo started speaking. He hadnt even had the chance to thank Ajax as they already had their backs to the presentation and heading to the rooms. I know its a disapointing loss but they only had to stick around for a few more minutes, instead it tarnished them even more.

Well,

what a finish to what must go down as one of the most even and entertaining seasons in Ammo History. The presence of the mighty Reds gave the competition some credibility early on and then we left the final stage to others who don't have the amount of silverware we do out at Brunswick Street.

Red has had an interesting weekend. He did travel south to Sandringham and pay the requisite $10 for entry (fair day for the coffers there boys) and was not disapointed. For once i agree with RCT (that hurts) in that the game had everything - fights, marks (one taken up the sandy social club end by the young lad wearing 70 for STBMT reminded Red of himself) goals aplenty and a 1 point result.

As for the Reds U/19's - Roy is not talking about that. How the F%^* can you be 66 points up at 3/4 time and lose the game?????????????

Well, roy now needs a rest after a long season. Fear not, he will return to keep you all amused during the season

cheers

and thanks for your support

The Red

I reckon RCT summed it up pretty damn well actually.

Must admit, viewing the game for much of the senior match up in the Sandy Social Club, I honestly thought Ajax settled very quickly, but, ran out of puff when you didn't expect it to happen.

Spent the final term in amongst the Bedes fans on Can Hill and I can honestly say - I DIDN'T HEAR THE SIREN!!!! Actually have a pic on my mobile taken from Can Hill looking towards the Social Club end and seeing a crowd 8 rows deep behind that goal. Never seen anything like it.

In the 10 years I've been involved with Amateur footy, that was the best game I've ever seen.

As for the 2's game, I can sum it up this way. Was a fair game until half-time, but, the class of the Tigers shone through, whilst the Wellers basically lost the plot.

Bluesnews43 said:
RCT, your last comment about ajax not staying on the ground is incorrect,
and how dare you criticize ajax for this.

I was standing with the ajax players, who were sitting on the ground approxiamtely 10 metres behind where the presentation was taking place.
( just behind the sbmt supporters)

They stayed on the ground while each sbmt player received their medal,
and once the cup had been presented and bevereidge said his speech,
then they walked back to their change rooms.

Please check your facts before you criticize ajax on this.

In regards to overthelines comments saying they have no class...

after losing a gf by 1pt, i deem them to have class waiting around for all
the presentations. The fact that you didn't even notice that they were
on the ground for the entire presentation clearly shows you had no clue
to what was going on around you.

I expect an apology from overtheline and rct, not to me, but to the ajax
players....

Where did I say that they had "no class"? Perhaps you should get your facts straight blue!