Cameron Wood is a Pie

I'm real disappointed we lost Wood for one pick, but I could see it coming. This guy will continue to develop as pies starting ruck and go from good ruckman to superstar ruckman. Mark my words.
I like this guy's opinion better than others! :cool:

Highlights from C-Wood from a couple of games here:

http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/41559

Deliberately hits Black four times in taps in that montage alone.

In any sport, if you want to go
From just a beginner to a pro
You'll need a montage (Montage)
a simple little montage (Montage)

I did you the courtesy of responding to your post despite the fact that it was absurd from start to finish. I've already showed you more consideration than you deserve.

Yes, and I have responded to your 'view' with my view, which is that you don't know WTF you're talking about. Indeed, I even tried to demonstrate your misguidedness in a point-by-point response.

I'm sorry, WAG. Wipe away your tears -- I'm most apologetic if I upset you. (Pffffft... and you reckon I'm soft. Crikey!)

Where did I say otherwise? I've already conceded that he's average in the ruck contest. You're not debating me here -- you're debating some phantom opponent who said something that I certainly never said.

Sigh. First, spelling note: it's 'whimpering'. And given how much of it you've been doing, I at least thought you'd be able to spell it. Apparently not. Collingwood got beaten in the ruck in both 02 and 03. Yes, I acknowledge our ruck isn't good enough. Why do you think I'm so happy we got Cam Wood?

Again, I don't know who you think you're arguing with here. I think you should untwist your pantalettes, WAG, because they seem to be affecting the blood flow to your brain.

Wood will, especially with another couple of years to mature, be a genuine tap ruckman. Fraser will always be a follower type who excels around the ground. The mix will be exactly right.

Oh, the irony.

Mate, I've made the effort to respond to you twice now, despite the fact that you've pretty spouted ill-informed garbage. Perhaps you could reflect on that then get back to me?

Where have I disputed Hudson's excellence? Again, you're attributing views to me that I've never expressed (while accusing me of the same thing!). Maybe Hudson is athletic enough to play for another five years. I don't know. Neither do you.

Anyway, I've already wasted enough time on you. If you have any further questions, I suggest you just refer to my posts. I've pretty covered it all, I think.

You're welcome.

(Nimrod)

They wont win you a flag. How does that sound? You can talk a hundred more posts like this...sounds great in theory?

You can be as patronising as you like. Just makes you look even softer. Answer one more simple question for me?

When was the last skinny tap ruckmen...and follower... tandem ruck duo who took a side to a flag?

Answers to your own lack of football knowledge about modern footy. Any pie supporter...name me the last time such a ruck duo took a side to a flag...and I will say you were right and I was wrong.

Unfortunately for you guys I am 100% right...you have to go back such a very long time its not even worth debating.

Oh well better luck next decade...:thumbsu:. And save the soft comments and ****y abusive remarks for the pie board.

They wont win you a flag. How does that sound? You can talk a hundred more posts like this...sounds great in theory?

You can be as patronising as you like. Just makes you look even softer. Answer one more simple question for me?

When was the last skinny tap ruckmen...follower tandem ruck duo who took a side to a flag?

Answers to your own lack of football knowledge about modern footy. Any pie supporter...name me the last time such a ruck duo took a side to a flag...and I will say you were right and I was wrong.

Unfortunately for you guys I am 100% right...you have to go back such a very long time its not even worth debating.

Oh well better luck next decade...:thumbsu:. And save the soft comments and ****y abusive remarks for the pie board.

Congratulations, at least this time you made me laugh.

[And no, I wasn't laughing with you.]

Congratulations, at least this time you made me laugh.

[And no, I wasn't laughing with you.]

I see you cant answer the question? What a shame. I guess that makes you look even softer. If you can make a genuine comparison to a recent flag winning ruck duo I'd be very interested. Waiting...?

Fraser and Wood wont take you to a flag.

This was a deal we had to do. I'm very happy with how it played out. We have a huge deficiency in the ruck, and we have now addressed this. Sure, Wood is a gamble, but no more than pick 14 would be, and at least he's close to AFL ready.

he's not much of a gamble mate - this kid is going to be very, very good :(

as much as i realise the necessity of the trade with Leuey at the Lions, i am still gutted because i rate Cam extremely highly - he will become the ruckman you have lacked, as much as it pains me to say it :rolleyes:

it was a good trade all round - well done to the 3 clubs...if anything, Melbourne came off marginally worse - that is to be expected because they have not spent the pick...it could easily change if they draft a gun at 14 ;)

peace

I see you cant answer the question? What a shame. I guess that makes you look even softer. If you can make a genuine comparison to a recent flag winning ruck duo I'd be very interested. Waiting...?

I feel like Michael Corleone in the Godfather III: They keep pulling me back in! (Or words to that effect.)

All right, now to the task at hand... Premiership teams usually have at least one big strong ruckman, WAG, old pal. Yet again -- true to form -- you're acting as if I'm somehow arguing the opposite view, when I'm not.

In Collingwood's case, Cameron Wood is 204cm and 20 years old. In ruck terms, he's still young and still has a fair bit of physical maturing to do. But given the amount of muscle he's already stacked on since being drafted by Brisbane three years ago, I don't see any reason why he won't add the extra 5 to 8kg he needs.

Happy now?

alright amte they wont win us a flag are u ahppy?(u've bloody said taht three times now)

we needed a ruckman we got a ruckman. What else do u want us to do mate

Good pickup Pies, i think Wood will be a very good AFL ruckman.

Has dominated in the QAFL playing full games in the ruck.

Had a good aprenticeship at Brisbane, the only thing I would be concerned with is his willingness to work.

He was pretty quick to cite lack of oportunity as a reason for leaving, I wouldnt of thought he was that much of the outer in our ruck division.

Can't believe some of the comments RE: Wood. He will be a gun ruckman without any doubt. Also great around the ground and can pinch hit up forward and kick goals. In the long term pies got the best deal IMO.

unbelievable !!

Does that fact that Brisbane rucks have struggled this year - and yet they are still prepared to trade Wood mean anything to Collingwood ???

hello !!

Pick 14 ?? !!

I bet Brisbane wouldn't be able to wipe the smirks off their faces

:D

Maybe the crows should try to fix the problems with their list.

That should only take 5 or 6 drafts. :D

He was pretty quick to cite lack of oportunity as a reason for leaving, I wouldnt of thought he was that much of the outer in our ruck division.
Maybe not, but 20 year olds are impatient, and with Charman, McDonald and the tremendous and more recent hype on Leuenberger, he probably couldn't see too much light.

Collingwood now have Wood, Cox, Dick, Johnson and Goldsack.

Tomorrow we will try and get Adcock and bring Willie Dick out of retirement.

Maybe we go after Johnstone... oh no, thats right, we have a Johnson... ;)

Maybe not, but 20 year olds are impatient, and with Charman, McDonald and the tremendous and more recent hype on Leuenberger, he probably couldn't see too much light.

Thats true, but I would of liked him to stay on and push to be in the team, competition between the young ruckman may have done him the world of good.

I can understand why he left, and wish him all the best, will be a great player and was a great pick up.

The funny thing about this thread is that all the non Brisbane supporting Collingwood haters are coming out and saying we just got reamed big time and will regret the trade forever because Wood is no good. Most of them only ever having seen Wood play once or twice.

The Brisbane supporters (who are also Collingwood haters) are all spewing big time because they have to admit that they have seen the talent and potential of Wood over the 8 games he has played and are extremely dissapointed to lose him, especially to Collingwood!!!

I would tend to ignore the non Brisbane supporting Collingwood haters and be listening more to the very dissapointed Brisbane supporting Collingwood haters!

There are too many people here who cant take off their Collingwood hating hats long enough to properly assess what Collingwood do.

If Collingwood were able to get Judd, Cox and Kerr by giving West Coast a used copy of a September 1994 Penthouse, an oily rag, a bunch of dead roses and pick 112, they would STILL say Collingwood were dudded!!

Pelchen baulks at pick 12 being too high for Thornton an established senior player with plenty of footy left...yet pick 14 for an unestablished young ruckman is shrewd?

So in other words Pelchen is an idiot you are saying?

Thornton is a 3rd tall defender. Dime a dozen and he aint that good either cos he cant run the ball out like a Clement or Bolton. He is a Ted Richards. HE isnt worth 12.

Wood is 204cm, 21 yr old ruckman with all the attributes just needs to work hard. Perfectly fair deal. Id have given up more actually.

When was the last skinny tap ruckmen...and follower... tandem ruck duo who took a side to a flag?

Maybe you don't understand english too well. You have no effing idea what you are talking about! You speak like you have the low down on Cameron Wood, but everything you say says to me you have based you opinion on either hearsay or limited footage in one or two games you have seen. Saying Wood will always be a skinny tap ruckman whom will always be dominated physically is stupid. Maybe you will want to go find some pictures of Dean Cox at 20 years of age and tell me how much bigger he was than Cam Wood. I can tell you right now it wasn't much, if at all. Wood looks a tank in comparison to a 20 year old Josh Fraser and will definitely put on another 5-10 kilos of weight by the time he is 23. He is currently 204cm and 98 kilos. Fraser at the same age would have been 202cm and around 90-91 kilos. Wood will be a much better physical specimen than Fraser in terms of weight and size and putting himself in the contest. He is also a great tap ruckman unlike Fraser.

As for resting up forward? Trav Cloke will be so dominant next year that we probably won't require it of them that much. If they are servicable and can kick the odd goal that will be enough. With Cloke, Rusling, Reid, Dawes coming through, and Rocca still able to dominate games, a marking goal kicking ruckman isn't a huge requirement. Rocca and Cloke if I'm not mistaken were the number one contested marking duo this season. Rocca might not improve, but Cloke certainly will. And we will also have three pretty talented kids coming through whom will vie for that third tall forward role.

In summation mate you talk a lot of shit.

At the end of the day pick 14 on a youngster that went at pick 18 in a much stronger draft and 3 years of development under his belt is worth it in my opinion. Big men always seem to command more currency at the trade table and there is no doubt that the Pies have done extremely well here.

Look at it this way, it's like using pick 14 in the draft on a young player. Whats happened here is pick 14 is being used in trade week on a developing youngster. It's all relative.

All in all a fair trade all round leaving Brisbane with TJ and Melb with pick 14.

Wood for pick 14 seems a fair deal...he was only ever going to be a 3rd/4th string ruckman in Brisbane behind Charman, Leuenberger and maybe McDonald who are all very very good. This draft doesn't seem to be too deep so a ruckman with 2yrs development into him who was a 1st round pick seems quite good.

Cameron Wood is a Pie