Cameron Wood is a Pie

Far too many experts commenting on a Kid who has been in the system 5 minutes (Wood) and has done nothing ( nothing against the kid) and a pick (14) without a face...

How the buk could anyone know if it is a fair deal or not...

Wood is unproven & pick 14 is just a number.....

Far too many experts commenting on a Kid who has been in the system 5 minutes (Wood) and has done nothing ( nothing against the kid) and a pick (14) without a face...

How the buk could anyone know if it is a fair deal or not...

Wood is unproven & pick 14 is just a number.....

true enough and i know nothing of wood. but i do know that our premiership window is opening and a young ruck with 3 years under Mathews is a better prospect for us right now than pick 14 who will spend the next 3 years in the twos and at the gym

If 14 ends up as a gun i can see this argument in 10 years time... "Collingwood gave up so and so"... and We'll say "So did Brisbane"... As has been said before pick 14 is a number not a player. If we traded pick 2 the year we picked up thomas, the other team may have picked up Ellis, doesnt mean we lost Ellis considering we were never going to get him. So whoever gets picked at 14, dont go saying he would've been picked at Collingwood or Brisbane because it wouldn't have happened.

Did we pay to much?? More than likely, but Wood imho is worth more than 31 but less than 14, he is prob worth about 20 in my eyes. The problem with that is we have to give up a pretty decent prospect to get pick 20, eg a Rusling or a Goldsack. This way we techniquely dont lose much, a first round pick although a great thing to have, still requires a bit of luck.

Needless to say we were desperate for a ruckman. Unless we went for an established player like King, if he was not the best option, he was damn close to it. Fact is ruckmen take longer, but he should be ready to go. Only way he will get better is to be played and that is something we can guarentee.

Pick 14 too much? Maybe, maybe not but at least we have had a real go at fixing a glaring problem. That is all you can ask IMO. The fact he is highly rated and seems quite mobile and skilled for a big guy is also a postive. He is also the right age to mature with the rest of our kids.

We pretty much have the key positions covered now, we just need to tinker with the midfield.

If King is still available why not go for him too. Either trade direct or thru the PSD (we should have a bit of room due to retirements).

That would give us Fraser and King as starters and Wood and Bryan as back-ups. Given Josh's injury problems this year it might pay to have a bit of insurance.

I'm real disappointed we lost Wood for one pick, but I could see it coming. This guy will continue to develop as pies starting ruck and go from good ruckman to superstar ruckman. Mark my words.

IMO there are only 2 genuine superstar ruckman in the AFL (Cox and Lade)....Wood will never get to this standard :thumbsdown:

Very happy Brisbane got pick 14 for him, although would have liked us to keep it instead of getting Johnstone....maybe Leigh sees a flag opportunity in the next 3 years :thumbsu:

Surely by reading the flavour of the comments posted here, it puts an end to all the crap that the pies aren't prepared to give up something to get something.

First rounder for wood on-traded by Bris to get TJ. Positve trading :thumbsu:

I admit I do try to get a rise out of any hawk supporter I can...I think I need some therapy myself ;)...

I can understand Collingwood going for him he has talent...BUT I just think he will always be a ruckman...and so will Fraser...at some point the Pies need to draft a ruckman who can also play forward...thats what they really need and still dont get with Wood. If you are going to throw your first pick at someone it should be exactly what you are looking for.

IMO Hudson is a superior ruck option to Wood and he went for a second rounder...case closed perhaps?...
why would the pies need a ruck/forward when they have cloke dawes reid rusling and fraser

If King is still available why not go for him too. Either trade direct or thru the PSD (we should have a bit of room due to retirements).

That would give us Fraser and King as starters and Wood and Bryan as back-ups. Given Josh's injury problems this year it might pay to have a bit of insurance.

You'd have to feel for Wood then, goes from Brisbane cause he wasn't getting a run, then still doesn't get a run!! lol

Anyway, I doubt that will happen. I think we need one more dirty in and under type player (licca gone, burns soon, obree as well), and possibly a pacey midfielder (although clarke is quickly filling this void) before a backup backup (?) ruckman...Having said that, I think we are close to a premiership! Wood=Norm Smith 09 GF (after Pendles wins 08)

think its a win win for both teams, happy to get him but i feel brisbane will feel they did well on this trade, more than happy to hav him instead of bryan and richards!!!:D

Pies this year - I reckon Wood will get a fair run at the Pies but Fraser, Wood, & Bryan seems a bit thin to me (afetrr Richards has been flicked).

If King is available and we can afford him, why not? King's 28, Fraser 25 and Wood 21 so it would be a good mix and allow Wood to develop.

Pies this year - I reckon Wood will get a fair run at the Pies but Fraser, Wood, & Bryan seems a bit thin to me (afetrr Richards has been flicked).

If King is available and we can afford him, why not? King's 28, Fraser 25 and Wood 21 so it would be a good mix and allow Wood to develop.

we will almost defenantly draft a ruck aswell, maybe two, so our ruck stocks might not be as thin as just those three.

Wood was picked at 18 in the 2004 draft (tallest player drafted that year) and have had the luxury of 3 years development under Charman and Mcdonald. While there is no guarantee that Wood will be a star it is a very good bet as he has impressed this year with a rising star nomination in round 2 but just does not get the opportunity. We desperately need a ruck but if we get an 18 year old he may take too long to develop and we suffer. Number one priority was a ruck, we use our first pick on the best prospect available.

Win win.

Spot on, some people will only judge this at the pick for player level and not consider the effect his inclusion will have to improving the overall structure for your side, a nice inclusion. well done.

King's a ready-made premiership player and out of contract apparently. If we can afford him at a price where no one else can, we get him for nothing but cap space. We were a game off a GF this year and I reckon King would be a big help to Fraser and Wood, moreso than a first year player.

Very true. How did we get ourselves in this position?? (rhetorical, we all know how we got here, don't we Mick)

If we waste (poor choice of words) all our good picks on ruckman, how are we going to replenish our back and midfields? Midfields is the real issue for us now (not that we have a crappy one atm, but will not be as strong come 2-3 years). Still, having thought about it (albeit over 5 minutes) having King in the team could really give us a genuine premiership window of 3-4 years before we fall due to lack of midfielders.

I reckon pick 14 is a big price to pay to get him. Although i'd say it also reflects Collingwood's desperation for a ruckman, so you can't look at it in isolation.

If I was ever to support trading a first rounder from my club, i would like it to be for a player who is under 23 with a lot of potential. Much better than trading it for 60-70 games from Johnstone imo.

Melbourne should be happy with that, as much as it sounded bad on the radio from Melbourne supporters. Trading players at their peak value compared to future output, is something AFL clubs dont do. I have a feeling in a few years time you'll be happy.

I sure know we are with Birchall, Bailey, Lewis, Little who should play 500+ games between them, for giving up 2 players over the hill in Hay/Thompson.

Collingwood have already seen the reward in trading players whose market value compared to future output is at its most favourable by trading Tarrant. I think Reid will play more games for Collingwood than Tarrant did, and probably at equal or better quality.

Unless you have been in several finals campaigns in a row, im not for picking up 26+ aged players, and find the Brisbane decision quite strange.

Ruck was the glaring deficiency for me in the Prelim, just that final centre break we didn't get, I suppose. I reckon we're pretty good elsewhere.

Wood won't dominate for Collingwood in the next two years. He will do exactly what is required of him though, in that he'll not allow their ruck division to be dominated as it has been. Over those two years, he'll at least provide a contest, even to the best in the comp. If he bulks up and continues his development, he has the potential to be a top five in the league ruckman over the next ten years.

He is a very intelligent footballer. He makes good decisons under pressure. He's not a bad kick at all, for a big bloke. He is a very aware-of-his-rovers 'tap' ruckman. He works well below his knees, so to speak.

He doesn't take enough marks. At this stage, understandably, he is lacking physical presence. I was disappointed in the way he played before he was dropped to make way for Leuenberger this season. It was as if he'd lost interest. This last point may be attributable to the tiredness of youth.

All in all, if we end up with Johnstone, I'll be rapt. We desperately need a finisher. I can see Travis flourishing in a new environment under Matthews, away from some of the looneys at Melbourne. Brisbane's choice of Leuenberger may prove to have been an inspired one. There's no doubt he's going to be a better player than Wood, and his presence on the list allowed us to make this deal. We'll see.

Maybe you don't understand english too well. You have no effing idea what you are talking about! You speak like you have the low down on Cameron Wood, but everything you say says to me you have based you opinion on either hearsay or limited footage in one or two games you have seen. Saying Wood will always be a skinny tap ruckman whom will always be dominated physically is stupid. Maybe you will want to go find some pictures of Dean Cox at 20 years of age and tell me how much bigger he was than Cam Wood. I can tell you right now it wasn't much, if at all. Wood looks a tank in comparison to a 20 year old Josh Fraser and will definitely put on another 5-10 kilos of weight by the time he is 23. He is currently 204cm and 98 kilos. Fraser at the same age would have been 202cm and around 90-91 kilos. Wood will be a much better physical specimen than Fraser in terms of weight and size and putting himself in the contest. He is also a great tap ruckman unlike Fraser.

As for resting up forward? Trav Cloke will be so dominant next year that we probably won't require it of them that much. If they are servicable and can kick the odd goal that will be enough. With Cloke, Rusling, Reid, Dawes coming through, and Rocca still able to dominate games, a marking goal kicking ruckman isn't a huge requirement. Rocca and Cloke if I'm not mistaken were the number one contested marking duo this season. Rocca might not improve, but Cloke certainly will. And we will also have three pretty talented kids coming through whom will vie for that third tall forward role.

In summation mate you talk a lot of shit.

In summation mate Fraser and Wood wont take you to a flag and you are still one talented ruckman short on your list. You got to love the pie supporters talk this one up though. I agree Wood is a good talent...but thats not what wins flags these days. You need size and strength right now if you think your premiership window has opened. He is too young for your flag dreams for at least another 2-3 years. Have a look at the tandem ruckmen who have played in the premiership sides particularly of the last decade. Wood and Fraser arent going to give you that two pronged strong ruck duo you need. It will be 5 years before Wood gets that strength he needs to actually dominate games...by that time Fraser will be gone. If you are thinking about winning a flag in the next three years...Hudson was a short term fix admittedly...but a better one. He has the size and wear with all to match it with the big boys. He went for a second round pick...hmmm shame about that one. Smart pick doggies.

The best fun about chatting to Collingwood supporters is they are all delusional...which makes them incredibly predictable. Gee...I had no idea you would be abusive and try say how Wood was the best thing for Collingwood since sliced bread was invented in the Old Testament. Give it up you guys you all sound like wind up dolls.

Here's a very basic summation (so one you might understand!). Geelong lost the 2004 preliminary final by 9 pts...lots of would of could of should ofs...like the pies' narrow loss of 2007. Bottom line tough sh1t...we were better and so was Brisbane in 2004.

As a result of that we went out and spent 2 first round draft picks on Ottens. Brad was drafted at 24...had already been All Australian and had a reputation for being a very damaging athletic forward. See the chase down by Ottens in the GF mate or were you still teary eyed? He had also played alot of footy at 24.

You spend 1 first pick on Wood. Wood is capable but never will be a Brad Ottens....ummm and has played 10 games yet? This is funny.

We already had King and Blake at the club then too and since have recruited a talented ruckman in West who we just signed for another two years.

Summation...you dont understand what it takes to win a flag. You are ALL focused on Wood's playing ability...but not on what wins premierships in the modern era as far as ruckmen go. You need at least 2 if not 3 talented strong big men who have the right mixture of size, strength, experience and rucking ability. You need at least one ruckman you can play forward and take contested marks to create difficult match ups and free a guy like Rocca from getting his baby arse whipped every time by talented defenders. You need a ruckman who can play as a strong forward not a leading forward like Fraser so he can spend most of his time near the goal square to create goal scoring spillages. You need a ruckman to play forward so you can have both ruckman on the ground at the same time. You need ruckmen who can give strong second and third efforts all over the ground. You need strong contests at the centre square each and every single time.

Hey why am I telling you this...its obvious by how you are talking Wood up you guys know all of this already...ha ha..

Its just reality and its been hilarious just watching you all duck and dodge the truth...but then I realised thats what you are all good at Collingwood so why stop now?

Spot on...take it back...one pie supporter who is right on the money...:thumbsu:

In summation mate Fraser and Wood wont take you to a flag and you are still one talented ruckman short on your list. You got to love the pie supporters talk this one up though. I agree Wood is a good talent...but thats not what wins flags these days. You need size and strength right now if you think your premiership window has opened. He is too young for your flag dreams for at least another 2-3 years. Have a look at the tandem ruckmen who have played in the premiership sides particularly of the last decade. Wood and Fraser arent going to give you that two pronged strong ruck duo you need. It will be 5 years before Wood gets that strength he needs to actually dominate games...by that time Fraser will be gone. If you are thinking about winning a flag in the next three years...Hudson was a short term fix admittedly...but a better one. He has the size and wear with all to match it with the big boys. He went for a second round pick...hmmm shame about that one. Smart pick doggies.

The best fun about chatting to Collingwood supporters is they are all delusional...which makes them incredibly predictable. Gee...I had no idea you would be abusive and try say how Wood was the best thing for Collingwood since sliced bread was invented in the Old Testament. Give it up you guys you all sound like wind up dolls.

Here's a very basic summation (so one you might understand!). Geelong lost the 2004 preliminary final by 9 pts...lots of would of could of should ofs...like the pies' narrow loss of 2007. Bottom line tough sh1t...we were better and so was Brisbane in 2004.

As a result of that we went out and spent 2 first round draft picks on Ottens. Brad was drafted at 24...had already been All Australian and had a reputation for being a very damaging athletic forward. See the chase down by Ottens in the GF mate or were you still teary eyed? He had also played alot of footy at 24.

You spend 1 first pick on Wood. Wood is and never will be a Brad Ottens....ummm and has played 10 games yet? This is funny.

We already had King and Blake at the club then too and since have recruited a talented ruckman in West who we just signed for another two years.

Summation...you dont understand what it takes to win a flag. You are ALL focused on Wood's playing ability...but not on what wins premierships in the modern era as far as ruckmen go. You need at least 2 if not 3 talented strong big men who have the right mixture of size, strength, experience and rucking ability. You need at least one ruckman you can play forward and take contested marks to create difficult match ups and free a guy like Rocca from getting his baby arse whipped every time by talented defenders. You need a ruckman who can play as a strong forward not a leading forward like Fraser so he can spend most of his time near the goal square to create goal scoring spillages. You need a ruckman to play forward so you can have both ruckman on the ground at the same time. You need ruckmen who can give strong second and third efforts all over the ground. You need strong contests at the centre square each and every single time.

Hey why am I telling you this...its obvious by how you are talking Wood up you guys know all of this already...ha ha..

Its just reality and its been hilarious just watching you all duck and dodge the truth...but then I realised thats what you are all good at Collingwood so why stop now?

Geelong won the premiership because they were the best team ALL AROUND THE GROUNd. Brad Ottens did not win you the premiership, The only reason you beat us is because you were up against Bryan+Richards.

I think you are overestimating the value of ruckman, again look at the Collingwood game. Although Ottens dominated, look at the inspired of efforts of Coreys smother and Abletts final goal, this is what wins you a premiership, not just a built tall bloke.

WAG - Is King on the market and if so, what do the Cats want for him?

Its actually an interesting dilemma Sp...King wants to stay but not sure we can fit him into the cap.

I think we will be hoping to off load 1 maybe 2 players somehow to alleviate salary cap concerns. Otherwise the word is geelong will encourage him to retire if we cant fit him into the cap or cant give him a suitable trade home. Going in the PSD isnt a good look for a previous captain, AA and recent dual premiership player VFL and AFL in 6 days...

Geelong I believe would cop a draft pick upgrade...rather than a straight draft pick. Our third round and King for your second perhaps but after you gave your first pick away that looks incredibly unlikely now. Geelong dont want to be seen to be giving him away so it looks unlikely anything will happen and either we keep him or try convince him to retire. For the very same reasons you mentioned I hope he stays next season.

Cameron Wood is a Pie