Carlton Delistings

http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=234011

Becker and Pleming also cut from rookie list.

With addition of Setanta, Saddo, Pick 1, 4, 20, 36 and PSD 1 (maybe also Pick 68), Carlton will beed to Cut at least 3-4 more players. I think they will probably be Bannister, Davies, Wiggins and Campo depending on who we pick up in the draft.

A couple of our hacks could be saved though with the walking out of Campo and potentially LAppin.

Why delist a promising young defender (which we lack) and keep duds like Wiggins :)o )?!

Dennis......... you're really starting to get on my nerves....

Funkalicous said:
Why delist a promising young defender (which we lack) and keep duds like Wiggins :)o )?!

i think the wording of the message explains it. Norman's lack of disciplne finally pushed him too far. Neither 3 were ever going to be a key to our success. Norman had alot of potential, but he obviously is a ******** head just like his mate Angwin.

Time to take no crap CFC - good work :thumbsu:

Bobby Beecroft said:
Would love the Lions to pick up Norman.
Big on ability as you guys would know,
Hopefully Lethal could do a "Pikey" with him.

We badly need some height in an ageing backline.

He's worth a punt but the guy has a lot of problems. Hopefully someone picks him up and he applies himself because it would be a shame to waste that talent.

Funkalicous said:

Because Wiggins applies himself, Norman doesn't. Why do you think he spent most of the year in the VFL?

Read this: http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=234011

“Brett and Digby have certainly made a significant contribution to the Carlton Football Club, both on and off the field, since joining Carlton in late 2003."

Interesting how Karl doesn't get included there!

i reckon deslisting them was a big mistake. they are fairly handy players with experience. dont we want any depth at our club. im really suprised we held onto bannister and wiggins and to a lesser extent houlahan.

Digby is unlucky. He's not a key position forward, or a defender. He's a winger come third forward, and a very useful one at that. Most of his problems this year stem from our problems down the spine and him being thrown around - out of position - to fill gaps. When he's been used to his strengths, he's been OK.

I guess Pagan figures that Sentata will do this and more. He may be right, but I thought Digby was worth keeping. Still, someone has to go to make room for picks 1, 4, 20, 36, the PSD, and Sentata.

Feel a bit sorry for Morrell, he always played his guts out. But if you are committed to Whitnall and Fevola (which we are now) there just isn't room for him.

Norman was a tool, and its probably for the best that he's gone. Bit surprised with Johnson. Had a lot of potential as a midfielder but never really lived up to it. I'd love him to get another try elsewhere, reckno he could really contribute

Norman does not have the attitude....players like him won't help you win finals.....you can't just rely on talent.

Digby lacks mobility to play, just like Lance. Gets exposed as a backmen and his lack of height/mobility means he doesn't take enough marks.

Johnson probably got cut because we have Bentick coming through who has better disposal and doesn't get pushed off the ball as easily as Johno did.

Out of all of our deadwood, these are the players with the best potential and best depth ingredients.

Norman is one player that can buckle down and make us pay. Morrell dead set unlucky.

Sad to see them go...

Even though we didnt win much when they played they tried. They are better than VFL but not quite solid performers in AFL. This is why they where delisted....

WE have a very young team. Expect lean times to continue but when they age we should have a solid team.... Dont be hard on Wiggo he will get there.

Houli has class... Needs to find more of it when he plays and use his talent and get the ball....

Mike

I would have thought the likes of Bannister would be first to go before Morrell and Johnson... Maybe Pagan seen what Bannister did in the backline in the VFL final against Tassie :eek:

Norman was always going to go, I'd say he would have stuffed up off the field again.

Morrell very unlucky, he deserved another season atleast. Was a good team man, tried hard, did everything asked of him... who will fill our gaps if Lance breaks down with injury next season?

Johnson... fair enough I suppose. Was a good contributor to the club over the last couple of seasons.

Johnson a bit stiff,
saw him play at Adelaide and Perth where he came off the David in both,
once the early pace was gone, picked up 20odd and kicked a couple of goals,
but still remember him going nite nite with about 2 seconds to go against Essendon and giving up a goal, after he marked uncontested.

Morrell was a handy back up, but with O'Hailphin and Barltlett ready to step up, i suppose he is in the last man in,
first man out syndrome.

Norman is a dill.

dissapointed to see digby get delisted ...he always had a dip when thrust into the gap fill role by Denis....Johnson could find the ball but his disposal was dismal..he's a very very good VFL player but not quite an AFL player.
Norman is a lazy head case and needs to go

Carlton Delistings