Roast Carlton Supporters: Lack of Support?

I don't mind people getting upset about a players performance. People who go out of their way to abuse their own teams players on their social media accounts directly are complete flogs though.
You mean like posting so much abuse towards Kane that he closed his instagram account?

Ohh... and if you are going to come out with the comment that it's a forum where you are allowed to express your views about player X.

The players also have access to these sites and can read the comments posted about them. We know that because Rusty posted a pic that someone took of himself with a computer behind him... with the Big Footy web site opened in a browser clearly displayed on the screen.

Aw... the precious little diddums you say... they need to drink some cement and HTFU. Swap their name for yours and if you feel that you would get upset about the comments that you are about to post abusing some player if they were directed at you... then go back through and reword it.

After all... we are dealing with human beings with feelings.

Thread justified.

Easy to pick the posters who would go off like nutters and flogs at games. Or abuse Mclean and Lucas online. Pathetic.

Yeah! How dare people be passionate about the club they love and demand better performances from players they feel are letting them down! The next time Gibbs refuses to put his over it and win his own ball, why, I'll just simply shout "Better luck next time Gibbsy old bean! That other player simply wanted it more. Cant begrudge you about that one!".

Thats a ****ing tops idea :thumbsu:

I believe that I finally learned an important lesson this weekend. It's about time after being diagnosed with an un-treatable (yet non-life threatening unless I do something stupid, like lose all self control over sports; by the way, thanks Damian Lillard you beautiful man) heart condition.

Just walk away. I did at half time. Couldn't take it - our insipid play or the way in which they were raping Hendo and getting away with it. Went for a drive with the missus. Better than continuing going off all stupid like I was. Instead of calling Murphy a lousy captain via Twitter when I wouldn't have the guts to do it in person (hello dickhead Wickzki, round 2) walk away, take a deep breath, and know that as much as I and anyone on here loves the Carlton Football Club that it's not life and death. It does hurts seeing the club down and we, as fans, are allowed to experience that pain and to respond to it in the manner that we so choose (within the law). Then when you have calmness cast your eyes and heart back to the game.

Understanding that it isn't the be all and end all of your existence does help. I'm not going to jump off the team when it's down. I'll find a way to keep supporting. I may need to step away but that's a "for now" rather than a "forever" type situation. At some point we will be back with a vengeance. We will be unstoppable. It can happen. It must happen.

I hope part/some of that makes some sense.

I believe that I finally learned an important lesson this weekend. It's about time after being diagnosed with an un-treatable (yet non-life threatening unless I do something stupid, like lose all self control over sports; by the way, thanks Damian Lillard you beautiful man) heart condition.

Just walk away. I did at half time. Couldn't take it - our insipid play or the way in which they were raping Hendo and getting away with it. Went for a drive with the missus. Better than continuing going off all stupid like I was. Instead of calling Murphy a lousy captain via Twitter when I wouldn't have the guts to do it in person (hello dickhead Wickzki, round 2) walk away, take a deep breath, and know that as much as I and anyone on here loves the Carlton Football Club that it's not life and death. It does hurts seeing the club down and we, as fans, are allowed to experience that pain and to respond to it in the manner that we so choose (within the law). Then when you have calmness cast your eyes and heart back to the game.

Understanding that it isn't the be all and end all of your existence does help. I'm not going to jump off the team when it's down. I'll find a way to keep supporting. I may need to step away but that's a "for now" rather than a "forever" type situation. At some point we will be back with a vengeance. We will be unstoppable. It can happen. It must happen.

You lost me when you said hendo was getting r*ped.

Sorry MEB for poor choice of words. Lost count of how many times the ball would go his way and his opponents were holding him, shoving him, etc. Even the commentators were making mention of it multiple times.

Dont forget him getting punched in the face by Marley Williams

Thread justified.

Easy to pick the posters who would go off like nutters and flogs at games. Or abuse Mclean and Lucas online. Pathetic.
Thread justified.

Ya reckon Sherlock? Really?

I reckon it is easy to pick posters who go off like flogs and nutters - supporting the unsupportable - all the time lending support to those who are destroying Carlton and feeding off its carcass.

You can get annoyed with team and player performances but abusing your own is not good. It's a game, it's just a job for some players. We all have bad days, weeks and years.... Relationship breakdowns, death in the family, dog runs away, mental health issues... We don't know what's going on behind the scenes. They aren't robots.

Let's go back to round 4 for a bit of perspective. We are winless and nearly every finger is pointed and every head is on the chopping block. Carlton supporters are screaming for Mick's head, our captains head, Gibbs head and nearly every other person associated with the club. Social media is clogged with Carlton supporters who are captain Hindsight and talking about everything that is wrong with us. After one win there is dramatic change. The boards are now filled with toasts and positives about players and our captain is once again beloved. After another win over West Coast, Carlton supporters can barley hold back their jubilation. There is now apparently nothing wrong with the club, the captain the management or the coach according to Carlton supporters. Then we lose again and its back to pointing fingers at the likes of Lucas, Warnock, Gibbs ect (the favorite whipping boys). We are suddenly doing nothing right anymore.

What are you talking about "Milton The Monster" ?? Here is the last paragraph from my post in the post-match review of the Dogs match :

Lastly, whilst I am thrilled with this win, I'm not shying away from any of the comments I've made over the past month regarding the quality of our playing list and the need for a rebuild. All this has done is convinced me that we do in fact have the nucleus to build from over the next two-years.

Maybe what you could be pointing the finger at is the inconsistency of thought whereby posters flip & flop from week to week just to be part of the majority.

If you have a belief on the players or the club, the result of one match should not change that view at all so maybe people should just have the 'courage of their convictions' and stick with that position even if is not a popular one.

, like lose all self control over sports; by the way, thanks Damian Lillard you beautiful man) heart condition.

.9 secs wouldn't you switch all screens......:confused:o_O

Wasn't going to anyone else....:confused:o_O

Great to watch though as I cant stand the Rockets...:thumbsu:

Poor old Dwightmare and The Flopping Beard....:cool:

Supporters this year have every right to be upset in my opinion.

We sacked a club champion, employed a coach who just spent 11 years coaching our rivals to a premiership, we pay him $1m a year to net us a flag in the next 3 years.

2013 - inconsistent, underwhelming year, but that's ok - we've realised we have a lot of dead wood on our list and the players just have to get used to Mick. Improve our list, develop a better game plan and bring on 2014.

We clean out the average players, and bring in better players. Let me explain that. We have bought in Docherty and Everitt, 2 players with class and skill, and a former All-Australian premiership player with elite skills and work rate, who is on big money. Whilst getting rid of guys like Joseph, Davies, Mitchell - guys who were simply adding nothing, and just taking up spots on the list. Not to mention (it looks like) nailing all 3 picks of the draft. Have we not drastically improved the list? Oh but we're not done, we have David Buttifant, the man behind Collingwoods freakish fitness levels during their peak period, the mayor of Arizona! Nah but seriously, we were all pumped for this guy to bring his expertise and flog the players to a new level. All we heard from the pre-season was it was hardest one we have ever done and the players have never been fitter. A few other coups like Dean Laidley and early re-signings of Walker & Simpson got our hopes up too.

So why, oh why have we gone backwards? It is absolutely bizarre and makes me want to cry. I'm not going to lie, I was pretty excited for this year. The media took no notice of us for the first time in years during the pre-season and it was all about Richmond, North and Essendon. I was convinced we would shoot up the ladder. Now, we are 2-5, making it nigh on impossible to make the 8, talking about rebuilds, and in my opinion, directionless.

I am so disheartened :(

To be fair Chunky we need to probably get our best team on the field for an extended run before we can be expected to improve on last year. Which is just not going to happen this year and probably wont benefit us greatly going forward anyway.

You mention Everitt, Thomas and Docherty as improving us but the facts are Thomas is miles behind in fitness and skill execution because of his period out of the game and Docherty has just come into the team after injury also.

So we have really only added Everitt but consider the outs or the players who have not been able to contribute fully or at all because of FA, injury and form.

I refer to Betts, Judd, Carrazzo, Kreuzer, Curnow mainly but lets not forget the injury/form concerns over players like Waite, Tuohy, Menzel, Garlett, Bell, Robinson, McLean and Armfield.

Once we can get the majority of these players on the park for a decent length of time building form and confidence then we are just not going to improve on last year.

To be fair Chunky we need to probably get our best team on the field for an extended run before we can be expected to improve on last year. Which is just not going to happen this year and probably wont benefit us greatly going forward anyway.

You mention Everitt, Thomas and Docherty as improving us but the facts are Thomas is miles behind in fitness and skill execution because of his period out of the game and Docherty has just come into the team after injury also.

So we have really only added Everitt but consider the outs or the players who have not been able to contribute fully or at all because of FA, injury and form.

I refer to Betts, Judd, Carrazzo, Kreuzer, Curnow mainly but lets not forget the injury/form concerns over players like Waite, Tuohy, Menzel, Garlett, Bell, Robinson, McLean and Armfield.

Once we can get the majority of these players on the park for a decent length of time building form and confidence then we are just not going to improve on last year.
I know what you're saying, but really it's no excuse.

We put in these huge pre-seasons, get these big name coaches and fitness staff to ensure that our players spend little time out of form. Injuries I understand, but let's not forget that effort and intensity have been the main causes of our losses. I still think the side out there Friday night wasn't that bad, we still had our A-list midfielders in Murphy and Gibbs.

Thomas should be doing more, I know he spent time out of the game but he did play 20 games in 2012, he is on big money, we were told during the pre-season he will be fine for Round 1. It is now round 8 - he has played a full 7 games and should be match fit, he needs to do more. And to be honest, he made a fool of himself Friday night- grinning, spraying shots, diving, throwing his weight around - he really made himself and us look silly.

We had close to a full side in against Port and Richmond, but we blamed that on being underdone and we will be fine once that sorts itself out.

6 weeks later we're conceding we're mediocre and need a rebuild. In my opinion, I will get flamed for this, but compared to the top line teams - we are a rabble :(

Dont disagree with much of what your saying but 2 top line midfielders in Murphy and Gibbs cannot be expected to compete with a midfield consisting of players the calibre of Pendlebury, Beams, Swan, Ball, Sidebottom etc especially when their best tagger in McCaffer does a reasonably good job of limiting Murph's hurt factor.

Thomas's injury and lack of pre season is hurting him but I am inclined to agree that he should be doing more, however his work rate and effort is good. I do expect that after 6 or 7 rounds of footy you should be able to kick the ball better then what he currently is, at least hit your foot in the sweet spot more often then not and kick over 40 metres.

Wasn't hugely impressed with his antics myself on the weekend, was it nerves that brought this on or him trying to deflect the attention from his output.... maybe these antics highlighted his output, his response on field will be very interesting over the next month or so.

The top teams have a good mix of youth with skill and hunger playing around high quality performers close to the top of their game which makes their transition from lower level football much easier.

We unfortunately have our youth either in the reserves or sitting in a subs vest whilst we continue to play players who will not get any better with poor skills, a lack of hunger playing around other senior players who are no where near the top of their game without much leadership.

I know what you're saying, but really it's no excuse.

We had close to a full side in against Port and Richmond, but we blamed that on being underdone and we will be fine once that sorts itself out.

6 weeks later we're conceding we're mediocre and need a rebuild. In my opinion, I will get flamed for this, but compared to the top line teams - we are a rabble :(

THIS is why I am so so angry ATM - starting to get a nasty feeling that malthouse has conned the whole Club.

Dont disagree with much of what your saying but 2 top line midfielders in Murphy and Gibbs cannot be expected to compete with a midfield consisting of players the calibre of Pendlebury, Beams, Swan, Ball, Sidebottom etc especially when their best tagger in McCaffer does a reasonably good job of limiting Murph's hurt factor.

Thomas's injury and lack of pre season is hurting him but I am inclined to agree that he should be doing more, however his work rate and effort is good. I do expect that after 6 or 7 rounds of footy you should be able to kick the ball better then what he currently is, at least hit your foot in the sweet spot more often then not and kick over 40 metres.

Wasn't hugely impressed with his antics myself on the weekend, was it nerves that brought this on or him trying to deflect the attention from his output.... maybe these antics highlighted his output, his response on field will be very interesting over the next month or so.

The top teams have a good mix of youth with skill and hunger playing around high quality performers close to the top of their game which makes their transition from lower level football much easier.

We unfortunately have our youth either in the reserves or sitting in a subs vest whilst we continue to play players who will not get any better with poor skills, a lack of hunger playing around other senior players who are no where near the top of their game without much leadership.
True, it was always going to be tough to win.

But the scoreboard really flattered us, at one stage it was like 22 scoring shots to 5, it had the potential to be worse than the Essendon game. We played simply awful. Second to the footy all game, and our refusal to work when we didn't have the ball was terrible. Touhy gets flamed for coughing it up but he was putting us in positions to get the ball going forward, it's not his fault (and others) that no one would move for him.

Thomas still looks unfit to me, there is just something not right about him, he doesn't look like a footballer. He has no muscle on him and seems to have lost a touch of class. I am genuinely concerned about this recruit. If he doesn't get any better this year then there is massive pressure on him and Mick next year, and if he can't stand up against his old side due to external pressure, then how will he go next year? And the year after, and the year after? I'll be concerned if the money we're paying him restricts us from re-signing Gibbs or Yarran.

One good thing to come from Mick is our improvement of development and drafting, which you can easily tell from our VFL results.

I can handle being shit, I can't handle having no direction whatsoever. As David Parkin often said; "the pages of youth turn over very quickly", and if we continue treading water, our decent core of mid 20s players will be hitting their twilight years.

Now begs the question, if we do end up bottom 4/6 and go down the rebuild path, do we give Mick an extension?

After all this time though, it only makes me laugh that we actually still haven't done an independent review of the club.

That's about the smarmiest thing you've ver posted particularly after the bagging you gave the OP in post 13.
Absolute garbage. Better words would be 'mealy-mouthed' or 'pusillanimous'.

THIS is why I am so so angry ATM - starting to get a nasty feeling that malthouse has conned the whole Club.
Con? Do you remember the whole 'sack ratten' campaign? A large number of supporters, including some in powerful positions, had already decided Malthouse was the messiah. He didn't have to con anyone

I am just shitty mate...

Pissing down at farm when I am doing some earth moving
Had to bury two steers - snake bite
My daughter has decided she is off to London
and a tradie ran over the misuses' dog - had to replace hip and plates in badly broken leg etc etc

oh and Carlton is no better off after all the hoo haa than we were two years ago- when we had a Carlton born and bred coach in charge..

I miss Eddie B and his phat pantz, Ratts with his big ears and grin...rather 'rebuild/reload' with a Carlton bloke in charge than a bunch of ring ins..

Roast Carlton Supporters: Lack of Support?