List Mgmt. Carlton's 2020 Draft Thread

Folks should remember we are also making a reserves side and everything in this draft is needs based
First time we have done this in a loooong time

So exciting to have a stand alone reserves team.

I think as a small forward he's probably playing in front of most of them. Will definitely get regular games next year I'd think. Betts hopefully only plays a handful of games.

And I suspect Fisher moves into more of a midfield role.

Crows, Dogs & Blues most interested.

Didnt have a party or any gathering - wanted to be alone and digest the night himself. Going into the night thought he'd likely end up at Carlton. At our pick, he left the room....when he came back out we hadnt picked him. Adelaide were on the clock and selected him - the house errupted. Rowe breaks down describing about how Nicks came to the house with a cap and polo. Obviously pretty wrapped - particularly for a mature age pickup.
Happy for the kid to get to his preferred club but would hope he would've been stoked if we picked him, too.

I'm happier with Durdin in any case.

Crows really went safe with their draft.

Maybe we put Henry Walsh on our VFL supplementary list and see how he goes, keeps him in the frame and gets games into him at the next level down, chances are we will need to add a ruck through that avenue whether Henry is up to it is up to the recruiters I guess.
Doubting this. If not on a list, can’t see him committing to city life. Has been working a rural job including assisting cattle birthing and the like. Hard to see a kid with this potential career path playing non professionally in the big smoke. Probably some heart to heart discussions in the decision process. Maybe Cats if they want him, but they have two new project rucks already. ( Do hope I am wrong)

I am happy no ex-afl dud list cloggers so far

You mean you don't miss those days of Gallucci, O'Shea, Shaw, Fasolo, Mullett, Bugg, Goddard, Moore.... :)

I think we may yet see one soon and he may be around the 195cm mark.
I actually think Goddard wasn't a terrible gamble, but it just didn't work out.

gandaal's draft review

Alright it's the day after the draft and that means we've had more than enough time to determine who won the draft and exactly how all these 18 year olds who haven't played footy for 12 months will turn out. So here's my rankings:

Adelaide: D-
The crows have proved themselves to be a bunch of ****en cowards who don't back themselves to keep any player who isn't still living at mum's house next year. Didn't even have the balls to take the pressure of pick 1 and fobbed it off to the Dogs. Picking a bunch of SA boys when there was better options at every pick is basically admitting that they suck, and that their club is a cesspool no sane person would want to work at. Berry is the only vic and was a good pick so not an F.

Brisbane: D
Did nothing. Picked nothing. Didn't help themselves win a flag. Waste of time.

Carlton: A+
Aren't we awesome? Clearly the best in the comp. That said I've never seen our team so depressed during a national draft. Things went wrong, but I'm kind of glad things went wrong. We don't need another mid, we need Durdin. I'm also happy to see us finally having the guts to pick the slider even if I'm not sure Carroll is the star some are suggesting. It's a pleasant change. More of this in the future.

Collingwood: A+
Screw you Collingwood. Die in a hole.

Essendon: F
LOL at Essendon. OK so yes they've probably got a player or two but that's supposed to happen when you have 3 picks in the top 10. What's not supposed to happen is that a team with a garbage midfield has their biggest draft ever and then doesn't pick a single mid. Doro is an incompetent idiot and long may he reign.

Fremantle: B
Are they still a club? Waste of time bolding them. They needed matchwinners, players with some skill to run along side their solid citizen core. They got... more solid citizens. Good for them.

Geelong: C
Isn't Wells great? Isn't he awesome? Remember when he picked Blicavs? Wow. Awesome. He's great. Remember when he picked a whole bunch of duds with first rounders for 8 years straight? Geelong picked a bunch of speculative players which is pretty par for the course in a pretty speculative draft.

Gold Coast Suns: A+
Life is easy when half of Australia is in your recruiting zone, and you pick up the best mid in the draft with pick 7. Well they need that break, it's not as if they've got a whole bunch of midfield talent already on the list.

GWS Giants: B
Tanner Bruhn looked like he just found out his girlfriend is actually his sister. Solid picks all round. The only concern I have is how Tanner will fit into Carlton's 2023 Premiership winning team.

More to come.
On the bright side of things for Essendon, at least they'll have the second best basketball team in the league. First would be Collingwood with Scott Pendlebury. Did you know he used to play basketball? Blew my mind when I found out.

On with the show.

Hawthorn: B+
The entire recruiting team will be drunk for a week after Grainger-Barras fell into their laps. Yes, they got him because they're a terrible, terrible team with absolutely no young talent whatsoever. And yes that's entirely their fault. And yes if Grainger-Barras doesn't end up the star he probably should be they'll probably all get sacked by Kennett sooner rather than later. And yes, their club has zero chance of receiving State Government support for at least the next 20 years. But right now they've got Grainger-Barras so things are looking fantastic.

Melbourne: B
They did OK but I did a better job in the phantom. I'd ask them to give me a job but, you know, it's Melbourne and they don't pay their employees.

North Melbourne: B+
Firstly, I like Will. He'll be a very good player. Secondly kicking North while their down is a bit like celebrating another Collingwood grand final loss. We all knew it was going to happen. You tell every Collingwood supporter you knew that Collingwood we're going to choke in a massive spectacular fashion. You create memes and spread them across Facebook and post them on your work notice board. You create T-Shirts with a cartoon image of myself choking a magpie while drinking a VB.

Wait... what was I doing again?

Port Adelaide: A
So the minor premier got a player who should have been a top 10 draft pick who'll quickly slide right into their best 22. Great.

Richmond: D
Another draft, another Rioli. When was last time one of these guys was a dud and how do we get one? Juddy time to dump crazy Bek and move to the NT.

St Kilda: D
This club doesn't care about the draft anymore. This is the recruiting team who looked at Wayne Hughes' efforts at Carlton and thought "Geez, he could really pick out some absolute gems for us in the draft." Clearly drafting or identifying talent isn't their specialty.

More to come.
On the positive side for Hawthorn, the players are likely to enjoy many photo opportunities with well known Victorians Josh Freydenburg and Greg Hunt. They both seem like top upstanding blocks. Not flogs at all. That's sure to make them very popular and improve their chances with the ladies.

Sydney: .
According to Sydney the Academy system needs to change. Apparently the system just isn't weighted heavily enough in their favour. Sydney want to get a free selection every time one their players gets picked by another club. So that way if they secretly know that the player they've been watching is injury prone or lazy and unlikely to make it that isn't obvious to everyone else who doesn't have this player already training with their team, eating their food and working with their coaches, then they just pass on him and get a free selection of every other available player with the next pick. GWS and Brisbane are big fans of this apparently. The AFL is considering it. Meanwhile potential AFL juniors are moving out of our Northern suburb catchment because the Northern Knights suck. Carlton is working hard to correct this imbalance by hosting a father son training session once every year. Go Blues!

West Coast: B
Can you hear the sniffling? That's the sound of Bigfooty Blues supporters reaching out, sadly and desperately, towards what could have been. Why did we not get Winder? Please come back we need you...

Western Bulldogs: A
This system is awesome isn't it? Four years ago they win the flag and now they have the first pick. Not because they suck. Not because their players have super genes. Because the number 1 pick was born in their zone. What a disgrace! Who ever heard of a club enjoying long term success because they happen to have a good zone? I know my club would have never done something like that in the past. What an outrage! And why is The Blueseum having a heart attack?

I hope you all enjoyed my rankings. I took them very seriously and I know the futures of every club will be solely determined by these draft ratings.

Good. You should love it.

The balance is much better for mine. Need KPD cover....but the club knows that. They said so.

Balance is good even for not having an extra ruck-man, also. Reserves will be interesting next year.
Its fantastic the balance is so much better than 2 years ago .

Lots more leg speed on all lines for both the seniors and( reserves in particular) with the additions of the likes of Saad Williams Fogarty Durdin added to last years intake .

Whilst taking off Ben SOS, Finbar , Kruez , Moore Macreadie who take out Kruez werent going to fill in adequately anyway if a senior tall went down to injury .
Whilst only adding Parks finally the balance is just about right .

Imo our reserves will be the big beneficiary of having a proper balanced side not completely stacked with tall timber everywhere .

So long as we can keep the injuries to a league average rather than what weve had to deal with since the start of 2018 .
Exciting times ahead .

Doubting this. If not on a list, can’t see him committing to city life. Has been working a rural job including assisting cattle birthing and the like. Hard to see a kid with this potential career path playing non professionally in the big smoke. Probably some heart to heart discussions in the decision process. Maybe Cats if they want him, but they have two new project rucks already. ( Do hope I am wrong)
IIRC work is around Leopold way so it isn't a massive commute to Melbourne.
Chances are he'll end up on VFL list and balance the two commitments.

Austin: Blues tick draft boxes

Draft Wrap Vid:-

One day prior to the draft, Head of List Management Nick Austin outlined Carlton’s priorities: a small forward, a midfielder and defensive depth.

Consider those boxes ticked

On the positive side for Hawthorn, the players are likely to enjoy many photo opportunities with well known Victorians Josh Freydenburg and Greg Hunt. They both seem like top upstanding blocks. Not flogs at all. That's sure to make them very popular and improve their chances with the ladies.

Sydney: .
According to Sydney the Academy system needs to change. Apparently the system just isn't weighted heavily enough in their favour. Sydney want to get a free selection every time one their players gets picked by another club. So that way if they secretly know that the player they've been watching is injury prone or lazy and unlikely to make it that isn't obvious to everyone else who doesn't have this player already training with their team, eating their food and working with their coaches, then they just pass on him and get a free selection of every other available player with the next pick. GWS and Brisbane are big fans of this apparently. The AFL is considering it. Meanwhile potential AFL juniors are moving out of our Northern suburb catchment because the Northern Knights suck. Carlton is working hard to correct this imbalance by hosting a father son training session once every year. Go Blues!

West Coast: B
Can you hear the sniffling? That's the sound of Bigfooty Blues supporters reaching out, sadly and desperately, towards what could have been. Why did we not get Winder? Please come back we need you...

Western Bulldogs: A
This system is awesome isn't it? Four years ago they win the flag and now they have the first pick. Not because they suck. Not because their players have super genes. Because the number 1 pick was born in their zone. What a disgrace! Who ever heard of a club enjoying long term success because they happen to have a good zone? I know my club would have never done something like that in the past. What an outrage! And why is The Blueseum having a heart attack?

I hope you all enjoyed my rankings. I took them very seriously and I know the futures of every club will be solely determined by these draft ratings.

Superb trilogy gandaal. Had 3 good laughs.

Truth and digs wrapped up in humour. And the humour worked, so you have no chance of a gig at the Melbourne Comedy Festival or a breakfast radio gig.

Imo our reserves will be the big beneficiary of having a proper balanced side not completely stacked with tall timber everywhere .
Cannot like this line enough. We now look like a football list instead of the high jump squad for the olympics.

Reminds me of a guy we had on our list a couple of years back - Schumacher.
Really thought Angus had a chance

Parks reminds me of Schumacher, but also Jeremy Howe because of his intercepting high marking. Fingers crossed the latter is more likely. 1607583963988.png

Reckon Fish may get the odd mid rotation as the season goes on, but it certainly sounds like he's all-in on the small forward gig.

Yeah by the sounds of it Fogarty will be the one training primarily with the mids so I suspect he will be given the most mid time rather than Fish although Fish will get his small bursts.

I hope we ask Kolar down to the club as a train on player as he has some great athletic traits in speed and endurance and while raw has huge upside, at 195 cm he would be a good back up option if Charlie doesn’t fully recover and being from the Knights would be a good option for our VFL supp list as well, just makes sense to invite him to train with us.

Cannot like this line enough. We now look like a football list instead of the high jump squad for the olympics.
Waiting for the not too tall crew to jump in now .
But our list management of the past couple of years in particular this year indicates the club did indeed agree that the list needed to be balanced better .

Waiting for the not too tall crew to jump in now .
But our list management of the past couple of years in particular this year indicates the club did indeed agree that the list needed to be balanced better .

I doubt letting go of the likes of BSOS, Macreadie, Goddard and Krooz retiring was because they were too tall and unbalanced the list

But not replacing them with like for like is indeed stating indeed that a better balance was the intention .
Give it up the club is taking a wrecking ball to your narrative .

List Mgmt. Carlton's 2020 Draft Thread