Strategy Changes & Pre-match Discussion - Round 23 vs. Brisbane, Marvel, Fri 18/08, 7:50pm

Will be interesting if we pick our team a bit differently with Melbourne losing. I am not one for resting players but at Marvel would be looking at possibly Jordy and Noble out and even give Sidey an extra week off. Only need 3 players to come in , one as sub so not major changes.
Yes, this must enter into consideration, since JDG and Noble looked very much battered after our game last night against
Geelong. On the other hand if we lose to Brisbane, we must still win against Essendon to guarantee top 2.
So yes, our selectors have many complex decisions to make.

I hope Krueger plays back in the 2s today. Strikes me as someone who would be worth trying down back in Moore’s absence.

I love sidey and hate to say this but his impact has been minimal since his injury. I’m not convinced having both he and Pendles in the side is conducive to our best footy. I’m with Ginni back and having a great impact I’m playing Hill on the wing and Ginni into the 22. I love Hill further up the ground. Massive impact both on and off the ball.

So Krugs in for Moore. Ginni into the 22 for WHE. Cox and Cameron line ball for the ruck. Sub out of WHE and Sidey.

Sorry, so you don't want Sidebottom, but want Ginnivan for impact? Mate if Steele was playing small fwd permanently you better believe he is having more impact than Ginnivan.

Yes, this must enter into consideration, since JDG and Noble looked very much battered after our game last night against
Geelong. On the other hand if we lose to Brisbane, we must still win against Essendon to guarantee top 2.
See what happens with Port tomorrow but you would think they would need to get some of that 45 goal equivalent percentage gap reduced for us to even be slightly concerned that top 2 is at risk.

I think we rest players next week on Marvel, and retool for Essendon the following week. Moore gets locked in a dark room and told to lie down for a week and not move. I'd consider sitting Pendles also, and maybe even not bringing Sidey back in.

Bring in Macrae and maybe Ash Johnson again, although I like the idea of Howe as the third tall forward to go with Miho and McStay, so maybe not.
Why? Ash has had more than enough opportunities to nail a place in our forward line and he has failed.

There’s almost zero chance we can drop to third now even if we lose both games. Port is the only team that can draw level with us on points but have a ridiculously inferior percentage.

I’d defeinitely consider resting sore players if that will help. Maybe not jdg but definitely noble

I would like to see managed next to a few players names this week.
This is no more a must win game for us, as top two is secured.
Marvel is hard and I wouldn’t risk any players with niggles.
Also there are a couple of players in the 2s that deserve a crack.

There’s almost zero chance we can drop to third now even if we lose both games. Port is the only team that can draw level with us on points but have a ridiculously inferior percentage.

I’d defeinitely consider resting sore players if that will help. Maybe not jdg but definitely noble

Rest everyone and anybody that needs to be rested. JDG inclusive.

Tonight demonstrated why you can only play 2 rucks if one of them is a legit key position in his own right.
ie Peter Moore. Moore began as a full forward. Who then became a great ruck.
Same as Paul Salmon.
Same as Simon Madden
Brodie Grundy played. Got in the way. He stuffed up Gawn’s mojo and they got rolled. If the Dees had played another forward, they win tonight.
Cameron and Cox do nothing as forwards. They need to focus on being effective rucks. Our key forward simply needs to help. McStay will do. If Johnno was able to provid intensity ala Leigh Brown, that would’ve been perfect. Unfortunately, he doesn’t seem to get it. I’m pretty sad. Because he had a final’s role all stitched up.
Players like Daniher, Blicavs and Dixon are very valuable. Because you pick them for a particular role and then they are quite serviceable in another.
Right now, Cox and Cameron are crap key forward targets. Only one can be picked. It has to be Cameron, because he’s physically stronger.

Tonight demonstrated why you can only play 2 rucks if one of them is a legit key position in his own right.
Same as Paul Salmon.
Same as Simon Madden
Brodie Grundy played. Got in the way. He stuffed up Gawn’s mojo and they got rolled. If the Dees had played another forward, they win tonight.
Cameron and Cox do nothing as forwards. They need to focus on being effective rucks. Our key forward simply needs to help. McStay will do. If Johnno was able to provid intensity ala Leigh Brown, that would’ve been perfect. Unfortunately, he doesn’t seem to get it. I’m pretty sad. Because he had a final’s role all stitched up.
Players like Daniher, Blicavs and Dixon are very valuable. Because you pick them for a particular role and then they are quite serviceable in another.
Right now, Cox and Cameron are crap key forward targets. Only one can be picked. It has to be Cameron, because he’s physically stronger.

Johnson has no role come finals, he can’t handle the heat. Agree with your ruck assessment, although not necessarily Cameron. Cox is a massive headache up forward, and clunk a mark around the ground…he has X factor. He has speed and loves a big Occassion.

Great win against the cats.

I may get shot down for this but Cameron needs to be dropped.
He is weak in the contest and honesty isn’t that good a ruckman.
When Atkins just took the ball off him, I just gave up on him because he just looked like he was making up numbers and lacking effort.

Cox is a better tap ruckman and like Ginnivan, may have some fire and give us a spark from coming back in the team.
I agree. If Cox played the game Cameron did, we would all be reminded by the likes of Collingwood lovers David King (enter sarcasm), that he is done.

Didn’t offer much in the centre nor did he around the ground. Two dropped mostly uncontested marks were poor.

Needs Cox at the very least to help out. Cox has played two solid games in the VFL and apart from a poor month leading to his dropping, he had been consistently good since mid season last year.

Johnson has no role come finals, he can’t handle the heat. Agree with your ruck assessment, although not necessarily Cameron. Cox is a massive headache up forward, and clunk a mark around the ground…he has X factor. He has speed and loves a big Occassion.

I’d love Cox playing. He loves the moment. I agree, when he gets his tail up he’s a head-ache. I have no particular bias. I just reckon he gets out-bodied too easily. I don’t particularly think Cameron is shooting the lights out. I’m ok to see Cameron make way for Cox this week. Cox has dominated the VFL and Cameron has only been so-so.
I’m gutted about Johnno. I was so keen for him to do well. It’s as though he’s totally dropped his bundle.
Wtf??…. The club re-signed him and he’s gone to crap!

See what happens with Port tomorrow but you would think they would need to get some of that 45 goal equivalent percentage gap reduced for us to even be slightly concerned that top 2 is at risk.
Exactly. There’s like a one in a million chance we won’t make top 2. Pies have locked in the top 2 now. I don’t care bout finishing first really. No trophy for minor premiers. Only under the old top 5, was there a clear difference between 1st and 2nd

Why? Ash has had more than enough opportunities to nail a place in our forward line and he has failed.

I think we have enough evidence to prove the coaches don't see Ash Johnson as best of our best team.

Don't see him getting any better either, he isn't young.

Resting players has passed unless they have niggles that need a week, if things go our 2 games in 5 weeks heading into a preliminary final isn’t good.
OUT Moore, NobLe inj
In sidey, trey

lets lock top spot need to inflict some mental doubt into the lions

Didn’t he play pretty well in big games last year?

I do think he’s lacking confidence but still.

Same as Paul Salmon.
Same as Simon Madden

I guess the debate was whether Cameron or Cox can regain some forward form. They have both shown that they can play there In the past.

Nothing more certain than Cox will be back in the team.

We need another tall to replace Moore, Frampton moves to permanent defender. Cox played well in the VFL and Cameron looks banged up.

In: Cox, Sidebottom
Out: Moore , Noble (or whoever else has a niggle).

I think we need to get another full game into Ginnivan just to have a closer look at what he can offer , so maybe make Elliot the sub and help reduce the load on his body.

Nothing more certain than Cox will be back in the team.

We need another tall to replace Moore, Frampton moves to permanent defender. Cox played well in the VFL and Cameron looks banged up.

In: Cox, Sidebottom
Out: Moore , Noble (or whoever else has a niggle).

I think we need to get another full game into Ginnivan just to have a closer look at what he can offer , so maybe make Elliot the sub and help reduce the load on his body.
I think it is worth giving Cox a go as first ruck against Brisbane. Cameron could use a rest.

I thought Ginnivan did some ok things on Friday night and did provide energy and hit the ball hard, but he again had no tackles. It's not good enough for a small forward.

I'd rest Darcy Cameron this week and see what Cox can do in the same role. If DeGoey and Noble are not 100 percent they rest too and it may be a game where someone like Pendles plays as sub.

We don't wanna go throwing games but we also don't want to be stupid, some of our players are finding it hard to maintain the rage in games of lesser importance.

I think it is worth giving Cox a go as first ruck against Brisbane. Cameron could use a rest.

Agree. I think the club would be taking a risk to start looking backwards now and reverting to two rucks. It should be one or the other.

Moores injury might change that thinking somewhat with frampton now required at full back but I think they should persist regardless, and play an unconventional second ruck setup with mcstay and frampton chipping in and Howe the swing man where needed to cover.

Cox to come in for Cameron isnt the worst idea. I’m 50/50 on that but personally I’d love to see Cox back in the side.

I think we lock top spot if we beat them next week.
I think we are lock for top 2 as Port % is low
Losing to them would also mean opening the possibility of playing them in the QF...at the Gabba.
Really important for us to win this game to:
a) Guarantee a home final against whoever
b) Let Brisbane know we have their measure
Only port can overtake us and they are 15% in percentage behind right impossible methinks we re lock for top 2

I think we are lock for top 2 as Port % is low

Only port can overtake us and they are 15% in percentage behind right impossible methinks we re lock for top 2

I think I read that equates to 45 goals. Not sure if true ( couldn’t be bothered) but if true it means port would have to win their last three games by ten goals average, and we’d have to lose our remaining two by 8 goals each.

EDIT:

Even if that happened , Brisbane would also have to win their last two games.