Yeah Worrell’s gotta get a go this week
Have you actually checked Jordan Butts kicking efficiency or for that matter Nick Murray.
Ah the good old AFC.
Have a young player ready to play, but instead choose to continually flog an injured senior player, despite their obvious poor form.
Will we ever learn?
So selection tonight tells us whether Worrell is ever going to ply another game with us.Doedee out.
On AA now and confirmed he has been sore for weeks and limited training.
They should put the cue in rack for the year and play Worrell there.
On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yeah well when it comes to playing on the AFL's monster KPF's I'm picking Butts and Murray long before Frampton currently and into the future given the relative ages and experience.Absolutely.
Its great (But not as good as Frampton's).
Buuuuuutttt - the issue with those two is that they don't kick it far, their kicks aren't attacking. In fact - are we entirely sure those two aren't the Bowden Brothers re-incarnated?
Have you actually checked Jordan Butts kicking efficiency or for that matter Nick Murray.
Yeah well when it comes to playing on the AFL's monster KPF's I'm picking Butts and Murray long before Frampton currently and into the future given the relative ages and experience.
Kicking efficiency...Fancy using DE stat to counter the point made. You don’t need to use the footy that well to get a good DE stat as a player. Even easier for defenders who tend to kick long to contests.
It’s “Thommo’s not injured, you try telling him he’s not playing” whilst Lyons is burning in the 2s. End of year, “well, whilst having his little hip cleanup, turns out the problem was much worse than expected, no wonder he could barely run, poor run of form fully excused”. Talia would have been bullshitting to keep his competitor out of his spot during 2020 as well.
I don’t give a crap if senior players want to play injured and I don’t care if our coaches select them. But excusing poor performance because they’re carrying and “brave” is the problem.
At some point the coaches need to simply say, “look, we think we’d get about the same from junior player x, so we’re going to prioritise their development. You can either go into rehab and get right or keep playing in the 2s until it sorts itself out”. How many AFC senior players do people reckon select option 2? SFA is my tip.
Doesn't Burgess have a mantra of playing through pain and injury?Wow, what a shock. And Bicks (Mutineer ) tried to have us believe that Burgo would come in and overule coach’s selection philosophy.
So we’ve chosen to play a poor performing, due to injury, player ahead of a 3rd tall replacement that’s been consistently playing well in the 2s.
You can look at the macro number of KIDS like the shallow dimwits or you can look at examples where there’s an actual choice. This tells the story of an overarching selection philosophy that has haunted us for years.
And we wonder why our players are cooked at 29. Senior players playing (poorly) through injury has been a problem since Roo in 06/07 when he pretty much didn't train.Doesn't Burgess have a mantra of playing through pain and injury?
But yeah I agree, he should have been rested ages ago. I guess having your finger dislocate three times in a game (Collingwood Game) made him and the selectors realise how banged up he is.
The management of Doedee this year has been terrible.
He said he is out this week.Did he say he’s out or are you saying he should be out based on the injuries and not training
Kicking efficiency...
Frampton is an intercept marker and can't defend to save himself. Cannot play on the opposition key forwards.
Sure play him in a Doedee like role but on key forwards absolutely not.
When Walker spoke after signing the new contract, he spoke about his poor form in early 2020 (remember the mini-preseason halfway through the year?) and he said (and I paraphrase) "I felt it was my duty to go out each week and play to provide on-field leadership (despite my injuries and poor form)".
It struck me as so interesting that he felt he was being selfless, while observers might feel he is being selfish.
Doesn't Burgess have a mantra of playing through pain and injury?
But yeah I agree, he should have been rested ages ago. I guess having your finger dislocate three times in a game (Collingwood Game) made him and the selectors realise how banged up he is.
The management of Doedee this year has been terrible.
We have seen what Frampton offers. Delist.How about him and Billy having gotten a month each and maybe even a taster into Borlase. This is a rebuild and we chose to play doedee injured and dishing up SANFL level output to what end? It hurts Doedee, it doesn’t improve our performance outcome and it doesn’t develop other players.
So why do we keep making the same decision over and over. Back in the day it was continuity because we were contending. Obviously that’s rubbish as we’re not contending now.
Why?Worrell did travel last week, it's just Curnow and McKay that might have us leaning towards Bill.
Yeah I agree.No, that’s a horrible misunderstanding of what he actually said. His mantra is that you train at intensity through pain and injury and it’s there that players realise their true limits. What we do is baby them through the week because we’re shitscared of them not being able to hobble to the line on the weekend. It’s exactly the opposite of what Burgess was quoted as saying.
No, I think they believe it for real, they honestly believe half form from them is better than full form from a junior because of what they add outside of the football.The mini preseason was 2019 and when having to explain poor form due to playing injured, do you really reckon he’s going to say anything else? When Talia said that he’d have not soldiered on through 2020 if we’d been contending, did you believe that too? These are just excuses from selfish senior players to keep clocking up games.
Think you might have missed the sarcasmNope. Thats why we have the dour brothers in Murray and Butts.
Stop living in 1985. You need to have defenders who can use the footy in 2022!