Review R20: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. Hawthorn

How many more games will we win this year?

Because they are an actual football club. They are focussed on winning premierships, not satisfying the fools at this weeks luncheon.
They have won premierships in every decade since the 70's.

Somehow, we managed to recruit one of their admins, and then instead of finding out how they do it, we have turned him in to another one of us. I feel sorry for him. Like Fagan before him, we are destroying his career.
True. I was just posting snark about Vader's comment that rebuilds take 7 years. We will take 7 years just to get to rebuild 2.0, then let the same arseholes that botched the first one have another crack at it.

No benefit 😂 not my call

It’s just my hunch , mentioned it the other day that I thought Curtin would play in some capacity ie late out

I deleted a post before hitting the button saying that maybe Smith was getting the Sloane dropped but not dropped ego saving treatment. Didn't post it because I couldn't see Curtin going to half back with Smith as sub. If he was going to miss altogether he could just have been designated as rested.

I haven't had a chance to read through all of this thread yet but I need to get something off my chest.

Am I being too harsh on Rory Laird when I say I want him out of the side? He has been a champion of this club, but to me, he is a horrible fir for this young side moving forward.

He seems lazy when opposition have ball in transition, constantly tries to get a cheap handball receive, wouldn't know what a shepard is (to be fair that seems to be a dying thing across the league anyway) Body language doesn't seem great most of the time either.

When you hear him speak in the media the sense of entitlement is overpowering, yes, he will rack up 30 touches a game, but is he really adding much to the side? If we need a veteran in there I would much prefer Crouch who seems to have a much greater ability of getting others involved with his distribution whereas Laird is just a cheap 1-2 followed by a loopy kick.

Moving forward surely he isnt part of the picture, wouldn't it be better for both parties if we could facilitate a trade for him to hopefully play finals again somewhere else.

Good post but Crouch needs to go too, provides nothing but stat padding too.

WTF has happened to Keane?

Showed so much promise.

Usually takes the game on, runs off his player, intercepts well, spoils well. Last week virtually saved the game at the death with a fantastic spoil on Caddy.

This week couldn't tell his arse from his elbow.

Easiest position to play - until you're good at it and the opposition responds.

Because they are an actual football club. They are focussed on winning premierships, not satisfying the fools at this weeks luncheon.
They have won premierships in every decade since the 70's.

Somehow, we managed to recruit one of their admins, and then instead of finding out how they do it, we have turned him in to another one of us. I feel sorry for him. Like Fagan before him, we are destroying his career.

Fagan was a tosser as well.

I can't remember attending a game I've enjoyed less than yesterday.

Sure, we've had some shockers away from home over the years that have been brutal to sit through but we usually have put something up at home, even in poor years.

To go the best part of three quarters kicking one goal (from a soft free kick) was about as pitiful as I've ever seen us.

Nicks might have been spruiking the 0.6% but the players looked done. Either too young to front up and impact week-in, week-out or simply not good enough except as passengers when better players do the heavy lifting.
Reminds me of 94. Scoreless in the first and third.

The end to end goal where Scrimshaw kicks inboard to a teammate in the centre square is damning on Laird. Absolute ball watcher with zero defensive work rate. He just stopped.

A decent coach drops him for that.

But no, Nicks has to protect his Scotch College protege.

"If you won't defend, pack your bags and go,"

He's full of shit.

When we're under the pump, our strategy is to slow things down and control the ball

The trouble is when we do this it becomes impossible for us to score. Ball movement grinds to a halt. Slow, safe switches. It fails every time but we keep going back to it

When we're under the pump, our strategy is to slow things down and control the ball

The trouble is when we do this it becomes impossible for us to score. Ball movement grinds to a halt. Slow, safe switches. It fails every time but we keep going back to it
The amount of times we switched to........ kick it to a contest down the line! Infuriating!

Titus - I’m old enough to remember when the Crows were a competent football club.

This season they have underperformed to a level that is kind of amazing

Luckily, Crows fans are a patient lot.

Last year they only missed the finals because of AFL incompetence. This year, they haven’t needed any help at all. They can take full credit.

We need to thank Hawthorn for utterly exposing us.

We know by now that our coaching is deplorable. Our list management, drafting and recruiting has been poor.

One of the aspects of coaching that drives me mad is how we structure our forwards line. Some weeks we get away with it, but Hawthorn absolutely exposed us this week.

For some reason I simply can't fathom, we simply don't have small forwards of any ability in out forward line. Yes I know Rankine is injured, but we've also had to play him midfield, so can't really consider him a pure small forward anymore.

The other issue is that ever if we did have goal kicking small forwards (think young Rowe), we like to push them all up to the wing. It leaves us with (normally) 2-3 talls standing next to each other. This week we went with 4 of them.

Think about this weeks team.
We had 4 tall forwards. Not one of whom is 'mobile'.
We had Keays, who is a hard running player rather than a small crumber.
We had Rachele who actually gets most of his goals through marking rather than crumbing. He actually plays more as a mid sized forward than a small forward. I won't comment on his chasing or efforts just yet.
We had Cook - another 191 cm player, known for silky skills. Not known for crumbing or pressure.

How did we possibly think this would work? Not one player who is good at ground level. Unless we dominated the midfield and were able to hit up the tall forwards on the lead, we were always going to be in trouble.

The good news is that if it wasn't working, we had a sub option that could change the dynamic - a 197 cm mid/half back. Brilliant!

I question our list management because the small forward options are little to none. Without Rankine, what's next? Looking at the list it's Pedlar (who has been more of a mid growing up) and McHenry. Not one actual small forward.
McHenry might have been a defendable pick - at least he's small. In truth though, he's not a goal kicking small forward. He might get his hand on the ball a bit more, but he's likely to fumble it and turn it over anyway.

Poor team selection, poor coaching, poor drafting and poor list management.
Most of the blokes we've used to fill our small forward role are just failed/non-realised inside midfielders. Berry spent two years there as a forward, Pedlar, Murphy, McHenry, none of them were specialist forwards with elite speed or goal sense, largely just smaller inside mids who got put there because of their size (or lack thereof).

I don't think Nicks actually believes highly in the concept of a stay at home, roving small forward. He wants to push these blokes up the wings and to contests, which is all the more perplexing when you then do something like play 4 talls and don't let the smalls stay at their feet to feed off the spoil.

One area I think list management have largely failed is by using the rookie list as a way to cycle our own guys out the club, rather than using it to take speculative picks on guys who have a few elite traits and hope we can round out the rest of their game. The sort of thing we did when we took a Charlie Cameron for example, even though we had Betts by that point.

The other peak Laird moment was just before Impey's goal in the 3rd. His "effort" to chase was barely a jog. It was actually disgusting.
But that is not normal. Maybe there was a flu through the group? Crouch and Smithers both had it. It was uncharacteristic for us.

It does sound like bullshit but I can also guarantee you that Nicks used words to that effect.

Everyone here was shocked. Nicks basically saying he had selected his squad for the year and those guys weren’t in his plans.
And it's the one press conference from Nicks you'll find no trace of on the Crows YouTube channel as well.

Can anyone explain why, with four key forwards in the team, we've still got ROB flying for marks against them in our forward 50?

I mean it's unlikely he will actually hold a mark and even more unlikely that he'll convert the set shot.

Our coaches are complete morons.
I mentioned the exactly same thing to my mate during the game... wtf was ROB doing blocking up our forward line when we were playing 4 talls!

Further, what is the point in him outmarking them as he is such a poor kick for goal.

He should be a kick behind the play blocking the rebound.

AFL MRO: Crows, Hawks reach into pockets following Sunday melee​

The AFL advises that the Match Review of the Round 20 Sunday game has been completed.​

AIDAN CELLINI
Adelaide defender Max Michalanney has avoided a suspension from the Match Review Officer (MRO) but was handed a hefty fine for his strike on Hawthorn's Dylan Moore.

Michalanney was sanctioned $3,750 but can accept a fee of $2,500 with an early plea.
The MRO graded the incident as intentional conduct, low impact and body contact.

The young Crow wasn't the only one who would be reaching into his pockets following their actions during Sunday's game at Adelaide Oval.

Hawks trio and antagonists Nick Watson, Finn Maginness and Connor MacDonald were all fined a fixed sanction of $1,875 ($1,250 early plea) for their roles in the fourth-quarter melee.

While Chayce Jones, Luke Nankervis and Michalanney were slapped with a financial penalty of $1,875 ($1,250 early plea).

Made worse than we had a poor workrate, so our players didn't have options to kick the ball to a team mate in the clear.

I mentioned the exactly same thing to my mate during the game... wtf was ROB doing blocking up our forward line when we were playing 4 talls!

Further, what is the point in him outmarking them as he is such a poor kick for goal.

He should be a kick behind the play blocking the rebound.

That sounds like having a strategy.

As someone who has attended Crows games since game 1, I can't recall a coaching group so devoid of strategy.

Honestly reckon I could coach smarter & I have no football coaching experience.

I get frustrated with dumb footballers, but dumb coaches is many times worse.

He doesn't even learn from his mistakes as he repeats them over & over.

It's why I will struggle to renew my membership after more than 3 decades as I can't tolerate sitting through more days like yesterday where we lost the game before a game was bounced... because who would have thought playing 4 tall forwards against the quickest team would be a bad idea. Nicks realised in hindsight... whilst most of us amateurs raised the concerns when the teams were announced!

Review R20: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. Hawthorn