Changes Required

May 27, 2002
Torquay
Bulldogs
To improve you must constantly change and evolve. My thoughts....

Firstly, we need 3 home games at the MCG. Along with a couple of away games as least this gives us 5 games a year there. Do not sign another contract with Ballarat, small minded thinking and has to stop if we want to be a successful club. 8 at Marvel and 3 at the MCG. The MCG games need to be promoted heavily and we aim for 80k each game. The atmosphere was fantastic and we need more of it. These games attract players to your club. We need to be a destination club, we currently are not.

Transition some players who have been good for us yet in this modern, cover the ground with run and pace they are now surplus. Macrae and Daniel, thankyou but the game has changed. Only as back up Duryea and Libba. We need to start the on-ball transition and Libba although a warrior is tied. He can be used next year but after others.

Onball – Bont, Richards are locks. Bring is Sanders for the Libba in and under role. Bring in Freijah to work in tandem with Treloar. Recruit or trade for another on-baller. The modern onballer need to be fitness freaks, like what Sydney has, guys that can run all day up and back at pace. I also expect Darcy to ruck more than he currently does.

Forward – Our game is old-school. Lock it in and score from stoppage. Very safe but get burnt against the best sides. Only need two of Darcy/English (I expect 50/50 next year) and Naughts and JUH. One of Naughts and JUH should spend a pre-season playing defence. It would give us flexibility for them to play either end pending match up. A true swingman. Weightman plays as a 3rd tall anyway.

Next we need a couple of genuine quick goal sneaks. We don’t have one, we have makeshift small forwards.

Defense, as above, stick with Lobb and build another key back in JUH or Naughts. Give Jones the easier intercept role next year. Need another running, classly defender.

Finally get off to a better start, too many times we can charging for the 8 too late.

We are not too far away (its a tough comp) yet hawthorn show what change and youth can do in 1 season.

"Recruit or trade for another on-baller. The modern onballer need to be fitness freaks"

Literally the best available fit for this position in the competition right now is Bailey Smith. We have him, but seem resigned to letting him go!? This needs to be the first 'change' we make.

Agree with Naughton back, don't need three key forward talls, especially when English & Bont can also rest there.

Bevo needs to be challenged at the selection table. We’ve been on about it for 8 years. He is a good, maybe great coach who is actually poor at selection. We may lose Lobb and West and Garcia for how badly they’ve all been managed at selection. All three had to been played in that final on Friday. We lose games on a Thursday night. Egan, Pratt, Lade need to take this role as he is no where near the level at this narrow aspect of his coaching.

"Do not sign another contract with Ballarat, small minded thinking and has to stop if we want to be a successful club. 8 at Marvel and 3 at the MCG."

So how do you propose we make up the money that we would instantly lose by not signing with Ballarat? Hawthorn have been playing home games for a decade in Tassie. Has it hurt them??
We need to pay bills just like anyone. How do we do that with less income?

I understand people are pissed at what happened on Friday. So am I, but lets not base decisions that help keep us afloat on a poor on field performance.

"Do not sign another contract with Ballarat, small minded thinking and has to stop if we want to be a successful club. 8 at Marvel and 3 at the MCG."

So how do you propose we make up the money that we would instantly lose by not signing with Ballarat? Hawthorn have been playing home games for a decade in Tassie. Has it hurt them??

I understand people are pissed at what happened on Friday. So am I, but lets not base decisions that help keep us afloat on a poor on field performance.
Your missing the point. Hawthorn's home ground is the MCG and under their deal they get 4 replacement away games at the MCG. They are losing nothing.

We need more exposure at the MCG as that's where finals and grand finals are played. Its so much wider than Marvel, we need to learn the ground. Become a bigger club and the dollars will flow.

Hawthorn effectively get 15 home games. They have THE most generous home and away advantage in the AFL. Then they get a home final against a higher ranked team who play as many games at their ‘finals home’ as Gold Coast do. Then the AFL stuff up the tickets (I personally missed tickets) to have more of their entitled nuffies at our home final, suppose that didn’t effect the deplorable umpiring in the first quarter?

I keep saying all the evidence I’ve seen so far is that the club stuffed up the barcodes, not the AFL or Ticketek.
It’s been a disastrous end of season all round for this club on and off field.
The replacement game issue for Ballarat matches is a disgrace compared to what the Hawks and North members get.

I keep saying all the evidence I’ve seen so far is that the club stuffed up the barcodes, not the AFL or Ticketek.
It’s been a disastrous end of season all round for this club on and off field.
The replacement game issue for Ballarat matches is a disgrace compared to what the Hawks and North members get.
I would’ve loved to have gone. Got the barcode in the day, was too busy at work to do anything just then. It was a sell out by the arvo. I saved some money and dodged a bullet. But I don’t feel any less flat about the result, just didn’t have to listen to their fans, because I was able to initially turn down the volume, then just turned it off.

Your missing the point. Hawthorn's home ground is the MCG and under their deal they get 4 replacement away games at the MCG. They are losing nothing.

We need more exposure at the MCG as that's where finals and grand finals are played. Its so much wider than Marvel, we need to learn the ground. Become a bigger club and the dollars will flow.
How am I missing your point? You stating that we shouldn't sign at Ballarat is going to cost us money. That's a simple fact. We won't be able to make that same amount playing at the MCG.

I agree with you that we should be trying to get as many games at the MCG as possible. But the AFL aren't going to give us home games at the MCG. We can't fill Marvel so it aint happening as much as we might want it to.

Also, how do you propose we "become a bigger club?" You seriously don't think that playing a few home games at the G will all of a sudden increase out supporter base by 100,00 and that they will all flock to the footy. The reason for pushing into areas like Ballarat is to increase our supporter base. So more people buy memberships. The last few years we have had record membership numbers, so I don't think Ballarat is our problem. The AFL no putting us on the G is the issue and we won't be getting home games there.

How am I missing your point? You stating that we shouldn't sign at Ballarat is going to cost us money. That's a simple fact. We won't be able to make that same amount playing at the MCG.

I agree with you that we should be trying to get as many games at the MCG as possible. But the AFL aren't going to give us home games at the MCG. We can't fill Marvel so it aint happening as much as we might want it to.

Also, how do you propose we "become a bigger club?" You seriously don't think that playing a few home games at the G will all of a sudden increase out supporter base by 100,00 and that they will all flock to the footy. The reason for pushing into areas like Ballarat is to increase our supporter base. So more people buy memberships. The last few years we have had record membership numbers, so I don't think Ballarat is our problem. The AFL no putting us on the G is the issue and we won't be getting home games there.
How do you know we will not be able to make as much money at the G?

The growth in our membership base is smaller than just about all others.

2 Marvel games were sell outs this season

How do you know we will not be able to make as much money at the G?

The growth in our membership base is smaller than just about all others.

2 Marvel games were sell outs this season
The Ballarat deal is worth 1+million dollars.

In what world are we ever going to make that from 2 home games at the G? Please let me know

We should be looking to swap our Marvel home games against Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton to the MCG, not swapping Ballarat games.

Trade Bailey Smith to Port Adelaide for Dan Houston.

And yet from 2022 to 2023 our income from match receipts increased by nearly $800,000, not far off the $1,000,000 you note and also not guaranteed as it is funded from the State Government.

So year really this year moving for example the Essendon and Carlton games from Marvel to the G, a minimum of 50,000 extra spectators, and the Gold Coast Game and the GWS game from Ballarat to Marvel a minimum of 30,000 extra spectators would not provide significantly more that $1,000,000.

Also, instead of selling 9 game home memberships they would be 11 increasing membership and hospitality would also be significantly higher.

The numbers have changed significantly since covid, sadly we still think $1,000,000 is a big number to forgo opportunity

And just to add that $1 million is now under 2% of our income, yet we think there is a risk in being bold

I'm not an expert in this yet there is information on the net which suggest big games of est. 80k vs say Essendon or Collingwood, clear an est. $750k to $1m profit pending club and catering deals. ANZAC day alone clears est. $2m profit split 50/50. Geelong announced just a few year ago before the stadium was finished that they earn $750k a game at Kardinia Park and they need about $70k at the MCG to make the same.

There is scope for two Bulldog MCG Marquee games to clear more than Ballarat.

It used to be that most of our threads ended up with a discussion about Bevo no matter what the OP was about.

Now it seems every other thread ends up discussing whether or not we should have games at Ballarat no matter what the OP was about.

The problem is that nobody has the true figures so those in the debate end up just saying things that suit their argument, either for or against. Until we have some hard numbers (not vague assertions like "it's better for clubs since the AFL took over Marvel") we are never going to get anywhere in this discussion.

Specifically we need to know:
  • What is the break even attendance at Docklands (yes there are several variables so it might only be approximate, but even if it's + or - 2000 that's close enough for current purposes)
  • Similarly what is the break even attendance at the MCG?
  • How much are we guaranteed per year when we play 2 H&A matches plus a practice game at Ballarat? (IDGAF if it's guaranteed by the state government or not.)
  • What is the profit margin (for each 1000 extra attendance) over the break even point for each of Docklands and MCG? (Again if it's approximate but within 10% that's close enough to have a debate). If it's not an arithmetic scale give us a few data points (eg 50,000 / 70,000 / 90,000).
  • Similarly what do we lose for each 1000 attendance under the break even point?
Some reputable links verifying this would be handy.

Without this sort of information it's just piss in the wind.

I understanding wanting more away games and replacement games at the MCG, but WHY would we want some of OUR home games there?

It’s a distance too far for the vast majority of our supporters to be a regular occasion, myself included, we would likely be outnumbered as a result if it is a big game vs say Collingwood, who would have half the stadium to themselves anyway in the AFL and MCC reserves, and I highly doubt it is more financially beneficial than the current arrangement.

Why did they ever move on from the replacement game system? Could easily make our two replacements games both at the MCG.

In 2019 I recall the replacements being Collingwood at the MCG and Essendon at Marvel.

Club has to pay for it, they don’t want to.

We're not giving up Ballarat in favour of MCG home games. Neither the AFL or the club would agree to that. It's fanciful.

I can't see why we can't lobby the AFL to have a minimum of 3 (or maybe 4) away games at the G though. 3 is readily achievable with this year's fixture simply by having Collingwood host us at their own home ground rather than Marvel.

What we should have done is have Ballarat built to MCG dimensions. We had the choice and decided against it for some bizarre reason.

We need new banner makers. Contrast between Hawks and Dogs banners Friday night was as stark as Meek vs English. I’m actually being serious, it was embarrassing.

Same shit feeling as this time last year.

Spangher should not have been let anywhere near our forward line. Nor should have Webb with our mids.

They've pissed away a huge chunk of Bont's golden years. It makes me filthy that we never gave Treloar a flag.

Changes Required