Prediction Changes: Round 21 Vs Brisbane Lions + prematch discussion

If Cox is fit he replaces Hamling straight out. According to Meriman he is fit.

In: Cox
Out: Hamling

Emergencies: MJ, Banfield, Stanley, Brodie

If Cox is fit he replaces Hamling straight out. According to Meriman he is fit.

In: Cox
Out: Hamling

Emergencies: MJ, Banfield, Stanley, Brodie
Why though?
Cox is too timid/soft v Hipwood. This week would be the perfect approach for the 3 KPDs, and then swing Cox up forward.
Hamling doesn’t deserve to be dropped

See, I prefer Wagner over Walker.
Other than pace, Walker doesn’t offer much. He’s statistically our worst defender losing about 40% of 1v1s
You’ll get to test your theory this weekend when Wagner has to play on Cameron .
I don’t reckon he could hold him as well as Walker does .

Comparing the two though I think Wagner’s disposal and decision making is better than Walker , but Walker has a bit more strength and dash ( possibly more suited to rugby though )

You’ll get to test your theory this weekend when Wagner has to play on Cameron .

Comparing the two though I think Wagner’s disposal and decision making is better than Walker , but Walker has a bit more strength and dash ( possibly more suited to rugby though )
Clark will get Cameron, he’s playing the lockdown role while Wagner is playing the playmaker role.
Will be a tough assignment for Clark, for the most part he did really well on Stengel, lost him in congestion once at a stoppage.

Clark will get Cameron, he’s playing the lockdown role while Wagner is playing the playmaker role.
Will be a tough assignment for Clark, for the most part he did really well on Stengel, lost him in congestion once at a stoppage.
That’s probably correct but it could get ugly
Clarke’s form has been pretty average lately ( seems to get caught a lot )

He’s due for a turn around soon though
Last year he was one of our best , might be just going through a rough patch like Ryan did earlier this year .

Did Clark play on Stengle? Ollie Henry was the only not-tall forward to kick more than a goal. If Clark can keep Charlie Cameron to two goals that would be a win.

I think Cameron is almost a perfect match up with Walker, cause Cameron wants the ball on the run in play.
But a player like Elliot is a nightmare for Walker.

I think Cameron is almost a perfect match up with Walker, cause Cameron wants the ball on the run in play.
But a player like Elliot is a nightmare for Walker.
I think walker gives his player to much ground thats why he always looks like hes speeding somewhere. Wagner will be fine.

Wagner does not lock down as much as Walker Get's the ball shit loads more than Walker though.
Several players have held Cameron to nothing or very little this year including Brady Hough from the Eagles.

I don’t want Hamling to be dropped. Him playing again after all these years is a nice little feel good story.

The fairytale would be Hamling replaced by Cox, Corbett replaced by Hamling like in his junior footy and he kicks four goals as the third tall.

Gee Corbett finally does something and fans want him dropped haha. Almost the pick of our tall fwds. Hamling will be back at Peel if Cox is ready. It’s obvious that Hamling won’t be on our list next year. Lots of emotion post game.

Mate the emotion was purely because of the win. Cox was originally gonna come back for the Derby. It’s not like they knew for a fact that was Hamlings last game for us

It was Corbett's best game but if we are talking fairy tales then one of those two is finishing at Freo and he's the one who gets the big farewell game.

Realistically I am expecting Cox in, Hamling out.

Mate the emotion was purely because of the win. Cox was originally gonna come back for the Derby. It’s not like they knew for a fact that was Hamlings last game for us
Few farewelly hugs.

I personally hope he gets one more but I think we have Draper filling his role next year and Davies.

Hamling is required defence next year. There is almost zero chance Pearce, Cox, Ryan get through a season unscathed. Hamling is the best experienced defender to replace any one of them. He still has a least 2 good years in him. If he wasnt going to get a contract then WC should grab him to replace barrass or hurn.

WC should pinch Hamling, Brodie and Taberner to fill in on the cheap and get bashed around while their teenage and early twenties high talent picks can get the 2nd and 3rd opponent.

Few farewelly hugs.

I personally hope he gets one more but I think we have Draper filling his role next year and Davies.
Lots of hugs in general though.

I know we're tight on list spots but we can't let him go when we don't have a ready replacement for one of Pearce/Cox next year. I'd honestly be happier losing Sturt than him. Sturt is a lot easier to replace with from our current list.

Hard disagree losing Sturt (one of the few natural forwards we have) for basically one year of Hamling…

It was the first win Joel Hamling has played in since we beat the Cats on August 3rd 2019..

First win on the road since we beat Collingwood earlier that same year. 1st of June at the MCG.

It's been a long time between drinks.

I just think we’re much more likely to win games missing Sturt than missing both Cox/Pearce and Hamling.
For next year I'd probably agree but I cant get behind cutting Sturt who may be an integral part of our forwardline moving forward (particularly since we have to replace Walters soon) for one year of Hamling. Davies will definitely be better than what ever Hamling can provide come 2025 IMO.

Ideally, I'd like to keep Hamling as well, in fact, I'd find a way to delist Corbett and/or Kuek and keep Hamling for one more year since those two are basically one year propositions as well but the list management team seem to have backed themselves into a corner on this one.

Prediction Changes: Round 21 Vs Brisbane Lions + prematch discussion