Preview Changes v Saints Rd 6

Funnily enough we actually moved the ball quite quickly last year. People got sucked into the groupthink, I feel. We were the fifth-fastest side for average defence-to-offence transition time in the competition IIRC and over the course of the year we began to play on from free kicks/marks more. The problem was that we had no real system in transition - we blindly moved the ball quickly, but couldn't convert these transitions into actual opportunity.

The Saints use the ball shorter, slower and more methodically than we did last year. Also use the boundary much more.
Yeah I'm not too surprised about that stat really. We would kick long a lot, generally to the boundary but were able to win it back more often than not and kick it long again. But like you said we didn't really have too much method to our attack. If they can manage to use the ball well, short precise kicks are a pretty effective way to get through a zone but honestly if we pressure them like we have been well I can see us scoring very quickly and heavily at times off the turnover.

We made a huge statement the last two weeks but this is a chance to really put a team to the sword (didnt think I'd be saying this, but percentage is important now :p :eek:) not getting ahead of myself at all we absolutely need to come out firing again or things could get a bit worrying, i'm just confident we will.

What do you think about the ruck situation this week? I think we can afford to carry Minson and his positives will far outweigh his negatives this week. Pretty confident he will come back in to be honest, but who really knows what Bevs thinking!

Dannnnnnnnnn I agree with your analysis of St Kilda's ball movement with one difference. What you described is their movement against a well structured and set up defence. Their ball movement is slow transitioning from defence to attack when they are confronted with a game situation where the opposition has had the chance to setup defensively.
From a turnover or midfield stoppage win they are competent at moving the ball quickly and kicking long into Bruce or Membrey. This transition is usually fairly swift if they can complete the handball chain without disrupting it due to poor skill execution.
Very fair comment - my assessment was probably more biased towards 2014 than 2015. They've definitely been moving the ball more quickly from stoppage situations. Partly due to the rise of Bruce and partly due to the return to form of Steven, as well as subtle changes in how they play.

The ruck conundrum can be summed up simply, the player to replace Cordy in the VFL had 10 kicks 30% effective and no contested marks. You would expect a hell of a lot more when pushing for a role in the AFL

One player who's really impressed me this year so far for the Dogs is Lin Jong. I thought at the start of the year that he would just be a depth player only, but he's playing very well to this point and is getting better with each game. He's been one of the Bulldogs most consistent midfielders in 2015.

Would still give up about 6-7 centimetres to Boyd though I'd say. Not expecting domination or anything of the sort but I'd be looking for Boyd to have a solid game.

The extra height did not help Daniher or Carlisle, both of whom did little when Delaney was actually on them. He was mainly on the wonderkid Daniher who racked up 0 Kicks and 3 HBs against him

I am much more concerned about your edge in the midfield.

What kind of footy do the Saints play? I haven't watched much of them.

Do they play a heavy press like us or more one on one?

What is the key to beating them and where can we exploit and score heavily?

ie, what did Collingwood do well against them?

It is more what type of footy that they are TRYING to play. Which is fast and direct.

But they are young and still learning, and have gone missing for big periods this year and so are highly inconsistent. Our best has looked fabulous, but equally they have switched off which is what teams with lots of young kids do.

Having said that IF Roo and Joey both come back and we don't lose Savage, then that will definitely be our best team for the year. Our midfield is fragile though, and that is your strength. Fragile in that sometimes their workrate drops when the opposition gets the ball and then cut us to ribbons. ie Pies game last 3 quarters.

No, I haven't
He just finds ways to win the ball , he moves well and tries to take the game on , his kicking has let him down in the games I have seen but it was his first 2 games back from injury so we can let him off from that , would love for someone to help me here with a player comparison as I can't think of one at the moment

Shane Biggs = Jack Grimes from Melbourne both 187 cm and 84 kg
play off half back good rebounding types.

Apart from Gilbert and Ray, the Saints will be at full strength this week so I'm expecting a very tough match. The Saints will be very hungry, thinking they have nothing to lose and should give it everything they've got. There's no doubt it's a danger game and we will need to maintain intensity throughout.

Dannnnnnnnnn I agree with your analysis of St Kilda's ball movement with one difference. What you described is their movement against a well structured and set up defence. Their ball movement is slow transitioning from defence to attack when they are confronted with a game situation where the opposition has had the chance to setup defensively.
From a turnover or midfield stoppage win they are competent at moving the ball quickly and kicking long into Bruce or Membrey or Reiwoldt if on the side. This transition is usually fairly swift if they can complete the handball chain without disrupting it due to poor skill execution.
Unlike us however they do not create as many of these opportunities, meaning that throughout the course of the game, they do look like slow ball movers overall.

Statistics aside, we are getting the ball into an open forward line to 1:1 contests much more frequently this year - thats whats important.

And when the opposition have already got back, we are being smarter about how we defend. Its seems obvious when you see it in action, but zone defending your F50 instead of manning up is a lot more efficient way of locking the ball in. Once we have set up the press, there should never be any opposition player in our F50 without a bulldogs opponent more than a few meters away, so that every single opposition disposal in our F50 will be pressured and hopefully any panic long kicks get picked off by our outliers.

And Im seeing a lot less of us doing fast break where the player with the ball 'offside'. You know last year someone would take the ball and make a break past the opposition press and there would be nobody between centre wing and our goal square. Whereas this year anyone looking like breaking past the opposition line will have 3 or 4 of our players running like maniacs back towards goal.

Personally, I reckon Grant, like Crammers and Jong and JJ, should be one of the kings of the fast break.

He is being used to his strengths by Bev - there is no point in him being too deep in our forward press because he is unsuited to crash and bash defending, but he is quick and tall and can take a grab, so being one of the outliers is fine. And going the other way, he should be ready to be one of those sprint-attacking in support of the fast break.

The extra height did not help Daniher or Carlisle, both of whom did little when Delaney was actually on them. He was mainly on the wonderkid Daniher who racked up 0 Kicks and 3 HBs against him

Boyd plays more like a taller Tom Hoawkins - wide hips and shoulders on top of his height. Daniher is skinny as anything.

We've got a few injuries through the midfield. You should be fine.

Thanks for the input. :thumbsu:

Don't get me wrong, I rate Delaney (and was very confused by the North supporters that were pretty much pushing him out the door...always showed signs of being a very competent defender), but if your midfield helps you out and you work hard and play the right way, that much of a height difference should be significant. Delaney is very good at punching above his height range but I'd still look for a solid game from Boyd.

As I said - not expecting him to dominate or anything of the sort. But in terms of expectations, I would like to see him work to somewhat expose that advantage at times - halving contests, bringing ball to ground and clunking a few. It's easier said than done but these are the sorts of games that I'd like to see him play relatively well in.

If Wallis continues to get through training then I would expect:
Out - Jong
In - Wallis
Next in line Hunter, Dale.
Cordy to retain his spot.
Glad to see someone else viewing Hunter as a replacement for Jong.....can't believe how many are wanting the new kids to come in...makes no sense to me......IMO Hunter could be our stevie j....for those with long memories stevie was also a wayward kid with loads of potential...through some misadventure had to be given some tough love and he responded accordingly...see a lot of similarities with Hunter...even similar numbers in the draft.....clearly the club is putting together one of the most exciting lists going around....must be patient and let the young ones develop....

One player who's really impressed me this year so far for the Dogs is Lin Jong. I thought at the start of the year that he would just be a depth player only, but he's playing very well to this point and is getting better with each game. He's been one of the Bulldogs most consistent midfielders in 2015.

Did you watch the Box Hill Hawks grand final against Footscray last year?

You would have to think that Minson would flog Longer in the ruck...although Longer isn't exactly a seasoned ruckman, so maybe we should just stick with Ayce? This is the best chance Ayce has, so might as well stick with him against a slightly weaker team.
Hunter the likely replacement for Jongy - not exactly like-for-like, although Lach deserves his chance after some good form in the VFL

You would have to think that Minson would flog Longer in the ruck...although Longer isn't exactly a seasoned ruckman, so maybe we should just stick with Ayce? This is the best chance Ayce has, so might as well stick with him against a slightly weaker team.
Hunter the likely replacement for Jongy - not exactly like-for-like, although Lach deserves his chance after some good form in the VFL
Minno would win the hit out but Longer would win around the ground, Minno can't keep up with him