Preview Changes vs Adelaide

Considering you have watched him in action in VFL beyond the stats then I am happy to use your judgement.

What I would say though that regardless of his disposal quality, the deer in the headlights/slow indecision you state surely can't be measured until he plays AFL again? If he has shown improvement there on prior VFL performances that is one thing, but it's still far quicker at AFL level again.

I personally would think Jacobs is depth for rest of 2014 and used only to cover injuries, and see how he goes with a pre-season next year.

He's a victim of timing.

If it was 3 years ago he would probably have had a stint in the 1s at someone elses expense to see if he could crack it.

Now spots are limited and he'll need to smash the door down and then some to dislodge an incumbent.

My point? That the talented kids haven't let us down.

Remember this?

You liked the post that I was referring to, so you're either incredibly stupid or having an off night.
I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

I was liking that he was clearly having a potshot at you saying that you would like to gift kids games for based on talent alone.

Harper has shown Hill-like capabilities at AFL level. He is never going to accumulate big numbers, but he would be great in our current "park the bus" set up. McKenzie at least hits targets, 91%DE last week and his poor stats were due to limited game time. Not quite an inability to get a kick.

We have enough rabbid dog scrubbers, we need silk & talent. Hence the reason Jacobs "Mr 27%DE" has no business playing 1's until he sorts that shit out.

Harper isn't qualified to shine the boots of either Hill boys. Take your blinkers off mate, you are blinded by the jumper he wears & by his career highlight reel, not his actual output, he along with MacKensie have had plenty of opportunity & have been carried at times. They both lack the desperation required to play AFL. Gibbo while less talented has it in spades.

We are finally looking the goods to finish top 6 & maybe top 8 & you want to start blooding youngstars or guys who aren't performing at VFL. Clueless!!!

Grima ruled out. I think they will go with Tarrant.

In - Tarrant, LT & Jacobs
Out - Wright, Daw & Adams

Have a feeling Jacobs might get a run after another huge VFL game. Make him sub and give Anthony a full game. Anthony can't be sub again - he plays a full game in either the AFL or VFL.

Adams has a knock and we have been conservative all year.

Am I the only one who thinks Ziebell's not an overly good forward?
Agee - he looked a lot better as a mid that pushes forward instead of a traditional lead up forward. Not quick enough to get seperation and he is better competing against a mid in the forward line rather than a traditional back man.

U know what, he saw him, you can see him glance but he is not the world's greatest check side kick and he was charging forward so he opted for the goals. No problem with that. Sure it is a limitation on his part but if we dropped every limited player we would be watching grass grow. Boomer would be 50 games less if he was held to the same standard, sometimes you just allow your played to back themselves.
It's not the only thing Maj gets wrong. Comparisons to Boomer? C'mon. If set up requires he stays until Taz is ready. I still think he's got a bit to learn on how to play the game.

I reckon you should watch his 2013 highlights

Where he played almost exclusively as a mid? I've got no doubt he can be a goal kicking mid; he's one guy who can kick a goal off one step from the arc. I'm just not convinced he's overly effective as a deep forward. TBH I think he's only playing there currently because he's playing hurt.

Oh sorry I took that wrongly, well psh yeah, would you want him playing as a deep forward? I like it because he is reliable down there, when/if your resting another forward or they are playing out of position. The fact that he can play there is handy, but yeah he offers more as a mid penetrating the forward line

“I don’t have a concern with the umpires. They make some mistakes for you, they make some mistakes against you. It all evens up in the end.” Brad Scott.

No it doesn't Brad not when you're on the arse end of it :mad: should have kept out of the whole umpire debate Brad :(

Effective disposal percentage is #3 in the league.

Everyone's a butcher. Delist.

No, just Gibson, Ziebell, Swallow, Adams, Anthony, Jacobs & Greenwood sometimes.

Or about 1/3 of a team.

Harper isn't qualified to shine the boots of either Hill boys. Take your blinkers off mate, you are blinded by the jumper he wears & by his career highlight reel, not his actual output, he along with MacKensie have had plenty of opportunity & have been carried at times. They both lack the desperation required to play AFL. Gibbo while less talented has it in spades.

We are finally looking the goods to finish top 6 & maybe top 8 & you want to start blooding youngstars or guys who aren't performing at VFL. Clueless!!!

Good post, your opinion, but I could buy that.

My take:

2 ankle surgeries and being skull ****ed by your coach will do that to you.

I ****ing love highlights, when you have a meat grinder, you can afford to carry a few talented players on the fringes. **** me, we've carried Petrie/Ziebell/Adams/Mullet/Thomas/Goldy, why shouldn't we carry our most talented youngster?

His game is suited to AFL, not VFL.

It's a massive assumption on your part that the team will be worse, I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just stating that there is just as much chance we improve without the 5-6 clangers we are currently putting up with from a bloke who gets 95% of his possessions on his own.

And if we don't finish 5th or better from here, then we are shit.

^ It's like when I think of elliot playing for Collingwood 2's. Doesn't seem to fit right. Simply because of the highlights factor

What i find interesting is that Maj was subbed due to "being selfish" and yet Nahas burnt Gibson in the first quarter in exactly the same way and SFA was said about it.

I doubt that "being selfish" was the reason he was subbed.

Perhaps just perhaps Brad thought "what tactics have beaten these flogs before?"

then he remember the game where we were down at 3/4 time and isolated Drew deep and they had no answer for it. so he gives that a crack and then lo and behold same tactic works again.
he could have isolated Drew by playing Daw high, or rested him on the pine. Subbing wad a risk if we got an injury. Brad was making a statement, and Nahas could well have been told.

Brad himself said it wasn't the change, nor the forward structure that caused the turn around, it was Swallow and co in the guts.

I must say, this weeks Changes thread is much more enjoyable than this fairly clear cut no changes types. Should Daw be persisted with? Should Tarrant be rushed back? Will the 2nd half small forward line be given a run? Is Wright a certainty to be dropped? Will LT pass his fitness test? Has Benny Jacobs earn his spot? Will Patch come up? Is Harper in the Mix? A debut for Wood or Brown? Lots of permutations and combinations. Usually we should be most satisfied with the No Changes outcome, but this is much more fun.

No, just Gibson, Ziebell, Swallow, Adams, Anthony, Jacobs & Greenwood sometimes.

Or about 1/3 of a team.

Good post, your opinion, but I could buy that.

My take:

2 ankle surgeries and being skull ****** by your coach will do that to you.

I ******* love highlights, when you have a meat grinder, you can afford to carry a few talented players on the fringes. **** me, we've carried Petrie/Ziebell/Adams/Mullet/Thomas/Goldy, why shouldn't we carry our most talented youngster?

His game is suited to AFL, not VFL.

It's a massive assumption on your part that the team will be worse, I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just stating that there is just as much chance we improve without the 5-6 clangers we are currently putting up with from a bloke who gets 95% of his possessions on his own.

And if we don't finish 5th or better from here, then we are shit.

This is particularly true, the extra space at AFL level is invaluable to a bloke like Harper.

Going by Scott's comments I reckon Tarrant will come straight in this week. And unlike many on this board, I support that call.

“He’s a supreme athlete, so with most players you’d suggest he’s a bit underdone, but he’s a bit of a rare commodity in that he’s such a terrific endurance athlete with speed and power.

“He’s probably more of a chance than others would be.”

Preview Changes vs Adelaide