Opinion Changes Vs Geelong

Both he and Jacobs will benefit greatly from 12 months of footy and solid physical development. Both have been brought in with the longer term in mind. Gys is quite a tall unit too. Just needs muscle and consistency of game time.

After watching Jacobs against Collingwood I think we went early on debuting him. Could have done with a few weeks (at least) in the VFL. Who is he aligned to NB or the bees?

Dunno who he's aligned to, but yeah, agree. He needs to add some strength too.

I hope the players were watching yesterday.

Hawthorn carved them up when they lowered their eyes and hit the leading target 30-40 meters out in the first half.

Geelong destroyed them when they just blazed away thinking Gunston, Hale, Roughead or Franklin were going to pluck it.

Taylor/Rivers/Lonergan/Enright will absolutely kill us if we just blaze it long into the 50, Petrie isn't exactly in great form, and Hansen/Tarrant will definitely earn their paycheck this week.

I'd be tempted to move Hansen back this week (he looked good in the last qtr when he did) and bring in Majak, play him deep forward.

I wouldn't mind seeing Petrie at CHF when he's bogged down like that, and Majak's definitely capable of playing out of the box if Drew plays further up the ground.

Hine's definitely got the wheels to be an AFL regular, a tight role on Chapman could be perfect for him imo.

In: McMahon, Hine, Daw
Out: Gibson/Anthony, Jacobs, Harper

I think a point needs to be made with Harper, he's been absolutely gifted games at times over the last 2 years, he's got fantastic potential, gotten fitter, he needs a rocket at some point in the season if he puts up the same inconsistency he's displayed in the last 2 years, there's nothing wrong with being dropped, look at the captain, he spent part of a season in the VFL.

Thought the boys were just off on the day. When you see Wellsy and Swallow missing targets with no pressure, its just one of those days.

Im usually a 'drop anybody who missed a kick' type of supporter as well, but i reckon we wont change too much just yet. MacMillian im afraid couldnt hit the side of a barn on his best kicking day and his decision making is hopeless, and im trying to see the best in Mullett because i like his speed and he has a crack, but i think he might be a little bit like MacMillan, and we cant afford that going forward.

I hope the players were watching yesterday.

Hawthorn carved them up when they lowered their eyes and hit the leading target 30-40 meters out in the first half.

Geelong destroyed them when they just blazed away thinking Gunston, Hale, Roughead or Franklin were going to pluck it.

Taylor/Rivers/Lonergan/Enright will absolutely kill us if we just blaze it long into the 50, Petrie isn't exactly in great form, and Hansen/Tarrant will definitely earn their paycheck this week.

I'd be tempted to move Hansen back this week (he looked good in the last qtr when he did) and bring in Majak, play him deep forward.

I wouldn't mind seeing Petrie at CHF when he's bogged down like that, and Majak's definitely capable of playing out of the box if Drew plays further up the ground.

Hine's definitely got the wheels to be an AFL regular, a tight role on Chapman could be perfect for him imo.

In: McMahon, Hine, Daw
Out: Gibson/Anthony, Jacobs, Harper

I think a point needs to be made with Harper, he's been absolutely gifted games at times over the last 2 years, he's got fantastic potential, gotten fitter, he needs a rocket at some point in the season if he puts up the same inconsistency he's displayed in the last 2 years, there's nothing wrong with being dropped, look at the captain, he spent part of a season in the VFL.
Completely agree with the last bits Pykie. I was surprised that they played both of Gibson and Anthony and didn't play Hine and Daw. I know, or I think I know why they're holding off on Daw, but I'm sure the idea is to win games. It was clear even before saturday that both Hine and Daw should've played. Eventually you've got to roll the dice. As for Harper, well he needs to get his shit together. These 7 or 8 possession games can't go on forever.

I have some reservations about Petrie and Daw in the same forward line. I think both are most suited to a deep role.

I think Drew up the ground as an "extra" ruckman needs a bit more consideration.

He made the AA squad as basically a free rolling KPP up and around the wings.

His best game for the club was against Collingwood about 5 years ago playing that exact role.

I think if he plays the entire game at CHF, rather than just being pushed into it, he might play it differently. Majak is clearly the best bloke available at the club to replace him at FF, Robbie and Lachie aren't capable of beating a #1 defender 1-on-1 imo. I was impressed with Majak's leading patterns on the weekend for Werribee.

Taylor is going to Petrie regardless of where he plays, and if he draws him away from the goal square, and up around the Wings/CHF, and leave Lonergan or Rivers exposed in the goal square on Majak, I think it could work pretty well.

I think Drew up the ground as an "extra" ruckman needs a bit more consideration.

He made the AA squad as basically a free rolling KPP up and around the wings.

His best game for the club was against Collingwood about 5 years ago playing that exact role.

I think if he plays the entire game at CHF, rather than just being pushed into it, he might play it differently. Majak is clearly the best bloke available at the club to replace him at FF, Robbie and Lachie aren't capable of beating a #1 defender 1-on-1 imo. I was impressed with Majak's leading patterns on the weekend for Werribee.

He's cherry ripe for a debut atm.

Majak in the square makes a whole lot of sense to me.

Far better mark than Hansen and Tarrant.

In what way?

In the way I think that his debut will come with all the bells and whistles we can muster.

and in a game where we tend not to draw as well, say round 4.

my opinion is pure speculation.

#edit this is based on the fact I am yet to see horses for courses or VFL form rewarded or poor performance relegated to VFL.

I certainly won't knock Tazz for his effort, but he just can't mark. And that is the number 1 thing i expect from a KPF.

Not sure if its just me,

But very few games last year i found him holding majority of them,
Not sure if it is a confidence thing or just luck.
Maybe your right he needs to be dropped and get some confidence into him.

Not sure if its just me,

But very few games last year i found him holding majority of them,
Not sure if it is a confidence thing or just luck.
Maybe your right he needs to be dropped and get some confidence into him.

Robbie needs to steady, collect himself and jump just prior to attempting an over head mark, rather than hitting the contest at flat out top pace.

The only mark that should be attempted at top pace is the chest mark.

It's a fault that can be easily fixed.

Robbie needs to steady, collect himself and jump just prior to attempting an over head mark, rather than hitting the contest at flat out top pace.

The only mark that should be attempted at top pace is the chest mark.

It's a fault that can be easily fixed.
Its seems like he not judging the flight of the ball correctly. But this, could well be the culprit.

Also, i thought he did some really good things as well. At least he is contesting in some degree.

Its seems like he not judging the flight of the ball correctly. But this, could well be the culprit.

Go watch the replays and study him mate.

He does not "gather" himself on enough occasions prior to attempting marks.

My guess is that it's probably due to being concerned about being in the contest for a second effort if he drops the mark.

His commitment to the contest is outstanding but he needs to tweek a few things in order to get a better payoff for his efforts. He needs to be encouraged to jump at the ball.

Opinion Changes Vs Geelong