Roast Cheating Filthy Power Found Guilty, Fined $100k, Club Facing Financial Ruin

What should the penalty be?

I'd imagine it would be a big fine 100 or 200k with 1/2 suspended, but fine removed from soft cap.... Even if the AFL are picking up the bill, in essence, the penalty is equivalent or 1 or 2 staff members.

That's the penalty. I don't think draft sanctions are relevant with future picks traded.... The penalty will be in 2 or 3 years.

Taking away points is dumb... They end up 7th or 8th and lose a final in Melbourne lets them off the hook. They are in poor form. Limp into 4th and out in straight sets is actually more painful.

Personal fine or suspension of the Dr as well.

And Ken has the ability to go, "that head clash was sickening, both guys are off".
As coach, buck stops with him, maybe he gets a personal fine, too?

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Taking away draft points over the next 2 years makes the most sense.

Fine already shown it doesn't change behaviour.

Taking away premiership points is not fair imo.

So, have Port been jettisoned from the AFL yet?

No?

Darn it!
No, but there is some serious noise being made about this now and none of it is good. I wouldn't be surprised if the AFL smashes Port with multiple penalties not just a fine. They definitely deserve it. What that club did is abhorrent considering what we now know about head impact injuries.

Taking away draft points over the next 2 years makes the most sense.

Fine already shown it doesn't change behaviour.

Taking away premiership points is not fair imo.

There's too much noise coming from AFL mouthpieces (Barrett, Wilson, Ralph) that it will be a big fine. They've all gone out their way to say no draft penalty component.

I can't believe Chris Davies is now trying to claim that Port made the decision themselves yesterday to put Aliir and Jones into concussion protocol.

What an absolute load of shit, the only reason they're in concussion protocol is because the AFL forced their hand.

They're such a duplicitous club and Davies is a massive flog and one of the most dishonest spin doctors in the AFL.

I can't believe Chris Davies is now trying to claim that Port made the decision themselves yesterday to put Aliir and Jones into concussion protocol.

What an absolute load of s**t, the only reason they're in concussion protocol is because the AFL forced their hand.

They're such a duplicitous club and Davies is a massive flog and one of the most dishonest spin doctors in the AFL.

It's been a terrible look for him and in particular Hinkley. What he said after the game was embarrassing.

Everyone makes mistakes but this wasn't a mistake or error of judgement.

What an absolute load of s**t, the only reason they're in concussion protocol is because the AFL forced their hand.

TBF they may have read the writing on the wall 5 minutes before the call came in from the AFL

Gotta love Port finally getting called out for a change.

Port have a habit of skirting the rules - concussion protocols, injury sub, how we get fined $50k for Tex not wearing a mask on a plane, and Port got caught at swimming and said ‘oh they were eating’. Even how all their players flop.

Most dishonest team that usually goes unnoticed by media because they’re irrelevant.

Now they’ve been caught red handed putting players health at risk and trying to spin best they can. Club deserves to be smashed. A fine won’t do it.

Port have a habit of skirting the rules - concussion protocols, injury sub, how we get fined $50k for Tex not wearing a mask on a plane, and Port got caught at swimming and said ‘oh they were eating’. Even how all their players flop.

Most dishonest team that usually goes unnoticed by media because they’re irrelevant.

Now they’ve been caught red handed putting players health at risk and trying to spin best they can. Club deserves to be smashed. A fine won’t do it.
Or are the AFL finally doing something because they are relevant at the moment?

I'm sure it's been said ad nauseam but a fine won't cut the mustard here. A fine to Port is irrelevant when they live on handouts as it is.

For it to have any meaning it must come in the form of something affecting performance. Salary cap fines, draft points, etc. Otherwise it's just a pay to win operation with no potential downside. If I remember right our fine came out of our cap? I seem to remember one or two people lost their job from it, not because they were responsible but because it meant we couldn't pay them.

Port have got away with this for the last few years cause we have been a basket case and an easy deflection target. Not saying we are perfect now, far from it, but we aren't giving the media free kicks everywhere and with a 24 hour news cycle now they need stories from somewhere and Port just gave them a massive one.

They won't get anything too bad because they just try and bullshit their way out of it like they have done in the past.

Given what Davies is saying they're clearly now trying to bullshit out of this one too. It appears that the official story they're running with is that Lachlan Jones and Aliir Aliir have both tested negative for concession, but both have suffered headaches post game.

So basically the only thing that they're claiming to have done wrong is not test Aliir for concussion, but he never had concussion anyway so it's not a big deal that he was still playing.

I do not trust for a second that both players have tested negative for concussion, why would they self report on their attempt to cheat to the system?

BF failed a concussion test....

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

No no it was just a migraine.
Stop posting, you guys are killing me with laughter. :D

Gosh on Saturday arvo, all I could think of was just how big Port would win by.

No Rankine, No Rachele, No Murray, No Butts, No Worries.

The Crows win coupled with the gravy of the Port fiasco handling the concussion protocols, has made the last 72 hours as a Crows supporter, so wonderful.

Roast Cheating Filthy Power Found Guilty, Fined $100k, Club Facing Financial Ruin