Opinion Chris Scott's coaching - Part II [NEW POLL ADDED]

For how long will Chris Scott be Geelong coach?

• For as long as he wants the job

• 5+ more years

• Somewhere between 2020 and 2022 (i.e. beyond his current contract)

• He will be sacked/resign in 2019

• He will be sacked/resign in 2018

• The Nuclear Option: sacked/resign in 2017

Results are only viewable after voting.

Caro said on Footy Classified that the termination clause is proving a point of contention with Scott's manager - gave me some hope the club might actually be finally putting pressure on Scott to succeed.
That's not unreasonable - we give you an extension but if either party mutually terminates the agreement the coach does not get squillions

Well said.

I think above all of Beveridge's achievements, his ability to get the team motivated to an incredible degree last year was more important than anything. I'd equate it with Geelong in 2007 and Collingwood in 2010, where for whatever reason the entire side was as really working as one. Must be an amazing feeling being at the helm. No wonder it's not that easy to do.

from memory, beveridge has a strike rate of better than 50% for premierships from seasons coached, at all levels. he definitely has 'it', whatever that may be...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/chr...t/news-story/1800397e1dee79a503139a7eb298a88b

Other than being a petulant child, anyone know why Scott would feel the need to go on record and say this? Tall poppy syndrome at its absolute finest. Have nothing but respect for your footy club and past players. But your coach is nothing but an arrogant sook.
I wouldn't let it bother you mate, clearly Scott's just got sour grapes because he's finished top 4 three times in the last half decade and won half as many finals as you guys did from finishing 7th in 2016 alone. Scott's been proven as one of the worst finals coaches in the league over the last 5 years and so I imagine it would've been frustrating for him to see Bevo come along in his second season with a side that's traditionally rebuilt rather than the mercenary chasing we've done and destroy it when the pressure's really on. Bevo's footy philosophy completely contradicts Scott's, Bevo values run and carry, smaller/midsize dynamic players rather than tall plodders, forming close relationships with the players built on teaching through respect and communication rather than Scott's old school uncommunicative aloof approach, Bevo hates the media while Scott thrives in it, and Bevo values performance in finals over season results which Scott doesn't.
Scott's about to re-sign after negotiating his contract renewal based almost entirely on his season winning record.

Caro said on Footy Classified that the termination clause is proving a point of contention with Scott's manager - gave me some hope the club might actually be finally putting pressure on Scott to succeed.

Apparently all staff at the club are on 3 or 6 months termination agreements, meaning they only get paid out that amount. I'm assuming the club expect Scott to also go onto that agreement and Craig Kelly doesn't agree with it. Not sure I've heard of any other clubs that have the same policy in place?

Yeah that's what Caro said, reeks a bit of selfishness on Scott's behalf that he wants to be an exception to the rule down there?? Just more evidence for mine of his inherent arrogance.

I wouldn't let it bother you mate, clearly Scott's just got sour grapes because he's finished top 4 three times in the last half decade and won half as many finals as you guys did from finishing 7th in 2016 alone. Scott's been proven as one of the worst finals coaches in the league over the last 5 years and so I imagine it would've been frustrating for him to see Bevo come along in his second season with a side that's traditionally rebuilt rather than the mercenary chasing we've done and destroy it when the pressure's really on. Bevo's footy philosophy completely contradicts Scott's, Bevo values run and carry, smaller/midsize dynamic players rather than tall plodders, forming close relationships with the players built on teaching through respect and communication rather than Scott's old school uncommunicative aloof approach, Bevo hates the media while Scott thrives in it, and Bevo values performance in finals over season results which Scott doesn't.
Scott's about to re-sign after negotiating his contract renewal based almost entirely on his season winning record.
Surprised how long it took you to latch on to this post.

You love spouting crap about "traditional rebuilds", but WB did not do that. Like all clubs its a blend of draft picks + trades. Think Crameri, Hamling, Boyd, and this year, Cloke. And if you think the pressure won't be on WB to retain all of its talent as they demand a bigger slice of the pie, you are kidding yourself

It doesnt bother me in the least.

They've each got one premiership to their name, and Scott has the highest winning percentage of any current coach.

Winning percentage in the home and away season means **** all when you can't get it done in finals.

Yeah, Scott has won a flag. But Bomber won two premierships with that list he built. Scott has built his own list since then, and he's proven that he struggles with developing young players. Cockatoo, caddy, Duncan, Guthrie, GHS, Motlop should all be further along in their development. Maybe the players just aren't buying into his game plan anymore?
I think it would be a mistake if Geelong give him anymore than a one year deal.

Yeah that's what Caro said, reeks a bit of selfishness on Scott's behalf that he wants to be an exception to the rule down there?? Just more evidence for mine of his inherent arrogance.
Evidence? What, hearsay evidence? You and I have absolutely no clue what Scott is thinking, or saying.

sometimes i think you tend to have your conclusion, 'scott is inherently arrogrant', then just retro fit all his actions into that basket. calling it 'evidence of his arrogance' is probably not as accurate as perhaps 'examples of begaviour that may support your conception of his arrogance'.

not to say he isnt, of course. but hard to tell from this far away, even harder to say definitively.

id also perhaps add that, especially in the context of professional sport, arrogance is almost a requirement.

sometimes i think you tend to have your conclusion, 'scott is inherently arrogrant', then just retro fit all his actions into that basket. calling it 'evidence of his arrogance' is probably not as accurate as perhaps 'examples of begaviour that may support your conception of his arrogance'.

not to say he isnt, of course. but hard to tell from this far away, even harder to say definitively.
You obviously haven't seen any of his post match pressers over the last few years.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/chr...t/news-story/1800397e1dee79a503139a7eb298a88b

Other than being a petulant child, anyone know why Scott would feel the need to go on record and say this? Tall poppy syndrome at its absolute finest. Have nothing but respect for your footy club and past players. But your coach is nothing but an arrogant sook.

Actually a well written article which discusses a current issue and trend in the AFL which the Bulldogs are kings of, that there is a growing number of contentious handballs that could easily go the call of a throw and also a lot of throws not being picked up.

Umpiring will adapt to this as it always has for changes. A brilliant piece with him openly discussing it as all other football departments including the AFL itself would also be looking at. If you think the umpires AFL and clubs weren't discussing and reviewing it over the off season and arent going to come down on it harder this year, then your diluding yourself

If you want to sook and have a moan because he is highlighting the Bulldogs, I hate to point out the obvious, but every single club and agency in the AFL would be thinking and looking at the same thing, it isn't a Scott exclusive thing thinking about the new contentious throwing of the ball coming about. Your "don't pick on us" comments are the real arrogance and sulks. Take it somewhere else You sook

Winning percentage in the home and away season means **** all when you can't get it done in finals.

Yeah, Scott has won a flag. But Bomber won two premierships with that list he built. Scott has built his own list since then, and he's proven that he struggles with developing young players. Cockatoo, caddy, Duncan, Guthrie, GHS, Motlop should all be further along in their development. Maybe the players just aren't buying into his game plan anymore?

Well, it sort of does. You know you have to win enough games to make it right?

The dogs are a good side, they are improving beautifully, but face it, you got extremely lucky. All those Geelong players you just mentioned were part of a side that finished the season above you after 23 rounds and beat you twice, very comfortably the first time on your home ground. Mustbe doing something right..

Quit whinging you sook! "Oh no, we want special rules just for us! We want to keep throwing the ball!" Good luck this season... I think a few teams will be seriously gunning for you guys.

Well, it sort of does. You know you have to win enough games to make it right?

The dogs are a good side, they are improving beautifully, but face it, you got extremely lucky. All those Geelong players you just mentioned were part of a side that finished the season above you after 23 rounds and beat you twice, very comfortably the first time on your home ground. Mustbe doing something right..
You guys definitely did something right. You recruited the best player in the game. And paired him with another great in Selwood. Take Dangerfield out of your side and you're a fringe top 8 side. Your defense and forward line don't scare anyone. The fact you're experimenting with Harry Taylor up forward just proves my point.

Quit whinging you sook! "Oh no, we want special rules just for us! We want to keep throwing the ball!" Good luck this season... I think a few teams will be seriously gunning for you guys.
Haha please. Supply me with some video evidence of our players throwing the footy? Our quick handpasses out of congestion arent exploiting the rules anymore than a Selwood shrug while being tackled.

You guys definitely did something right. You recruited the best player in the game. And paired him with another great in Selwood. Take Dangerfield out of your side and you're a fringe top 8 side. Your defense and forward line don't scare anyone. The fact you're experimenting with Harry Taylor up forward just proves my point.

Our defense was the second best last year (kept your premiership winning team to 43 points for the match) and was third highest scoring, so yeah I'm tipping the forward line is ok. Definitely improvement needed though. But don't let any facts knock you off your high horse.

His terrified that the chuck dogs are going to get called out a lot more all because of Scott's comments. AFL and the umpires would have been all over it in the off season and well prepared for 2017.