List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
On Scotty and Goss on SEN this morning, the producer came on at one point and said they have heard from an extremely reliable source that Matt Guelfi will be in Eagles colours next year. Apparently wants to come home. Out of contract at the end of this year.
Not sure what he adds to the team, other then right age 26, 27 in August.
Write off his first season, Guelfi would need serious therapy to get over Lyon’s game plan and attitude.

Welcome to my world on the WC board.

This is common for all supporter bases - we see what we have and overstate the value and expect to get even more back for what we've got.

A good trade (or compromise) should leave both parties unhappy.

2024 has been quite the odyssey for Moraes. Entering the season as an inside/outside mid, he's played both forward and wing this year, and now it seems that he's been designated as a rebounding defender for Vic Metro in this champs series. The only position he hasn't played is ruck (yet!). He showed some nice footy IQ to read the play and intercept the ball, and his excellent tank allowed him to run off his man to create outnumbers up the ground, but his variable foot skills seem unsuited to playing the rebounding role and resulted in a few turnovers here.

playing everywhere in juniors, like Harley

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

This is common for all supporter bases - we see what we have and overstate the value and expect to get even more back for what we've got.

A good trade (or compromise) should leave both parties unhappy.
On the unlikely chance the Roos have gone nuts and offered enough for tier 1, do you think 2+3 or 3+4 is enough for the CHAD mate?

Yes I think it's enough and no I wouldn't do it.

More than enough, bordering on overs.

In the perfect world for us that it does indeed get us tier 1 and we go into the new season with two top 5 picks I'd do that trade if we also got Swans pick coming back or one this year and future first.

However waking up we're in June. Heaps to play out.

2025 is a vital draft.

There is alot of WA Mids with one in top 3.
Then there is Dyson Sharp (a breakaway standout pick 1 whom at min is Tom Green with manic defensive capabiities)

If we can walk away with
1. Harley Reid
2. Dyson Sharp
3. Chad Warner

4. A 2024 mid top mid.

Then we have a setup rivaling Cousin/Kerr/Judd

More than enough, bordering on overs.

In the perfect world for us that it does indeed get us tier 1 and we go into the new season with two top 5 picks I'd do that trade if we also got Swans pick coming back or one this year and future first.

However waking up we're in June. Heaps to play out.
Either that or you split one of the firsts for two firsts and add the lower one to the deal.

More than just comment. Argue nearly any discussion

Notice how it’s almost always actually about Brisbane and not us:

“Omg guys, you should go to our board and search for Oscar Allen”

“Keen to know what draft watchers on this board think about a guy from our academy”🥳

“Our board is fed up with Dev, and we’ve got his bags packed”

“Brisbanes window isn’t closed, we have Ashcroftx2 that will be basically two brand new players in 2025” 🤩

It’s been a long time since Briztoon actually added anything of value to discussions on this board to be quite honest.

2025 is a vital draft.

There is alot of WA Mids with one in top 3.
Then there is Dyson Sharp (a breakaway standout pick 1 whom at min is Tom Green with manic defensive capabiities)

If we can walk away with
1. Harley Reid
2. Dyson Sharp
3. Chad Warner

4. A 2024 mid top mid.

Then we have a setup rivaling Cousin/Kerr/Judd
if were picking number one in 2025 id say that is a pretty bad outcome and a detriment to our young core players.
better we get the most from what we have, then hope that we pick 1 next year.

Without going back several pages reading everything has there been any rumors on Shai Bolton?
Talking to a few guys at the footy Saturday they were saying he wants to come home.
So both he and Baker are possibilities along with Warner??
If this is true there is no way all 3 will be headed our way so who would we prefer?
1-Warner, 2-Bolton, 3-Baker ?
Bolton more electric and game changing but Baker probably more consistent with leadership role.

Seems a lot of WA boys wanting to head home in the next year or two.

With Tassie coming in soon picks are going to be gold so if we play it well and aggressive we could have 3-4 really good experienced players come our way.

Thing is, if Yeo left now, at his age, he’s not triggering anything decent in the way of a compensation pick. Band 4 or band 5.
Dear Mr Briz,

Lets delve into what band 4 or 5 is in terms of money and what band Elliot is likely to receive.

There will be a total of 22.9% rise in the salary cap over the next 3 years -15.02m last year to 18.44m in 2027. If we add that onto what Ben "I'm a Band 1 player" Mckay received last year, which was 6 years at 850k, that puts band 1 at just under $1,050,000 by 2027. Note it only goes up 5.24% - 15.02m to 15.78m from last to this year. Band 1 is the top 5% of the competition whilst the bottom 30% receive no compensation.

So a rough guessimate/postulation of the bands by 2027:

Band 1 1m/1.05 mill+
Band 2 800/850k+
Band 3 650/700k+
Band 4 500/550k+
Band 5 350/400K+

Appreciate age and contract length are the extra spices that could push down the compensation and not to mention Ben gets 6 yrs and is considerably younger. No spices added regarding the resumes and Elliot has a slightly better one than Benjamin, but maybe because he's older he's achieved more.

At the moment Elliot's been reported to get 3 years at 900k at Adelaide and now North has a 3 year deal that might trump it. He'd be sitting in band 2 but possibly gets bumped down to band 3 with the length of deal and age. If North really has lost the plot he could go band 2, but the difference in band 2 or 3 is going to be neglible for WC.

After further study and for more reference Tom Dodee LY, 26 yrs old, received band 2 (EO first round) on 6 years at the measly rate of 680k pa last year. Yes age is relevant but if Elliot is getting 220k per annum more than Tom, I think that Elliot might snag the same, even with being 4 years older and 1 year less on contract length. Worst case band 3.

Articles I used to fact check:

AFL salary cap raise:

Ben's contract:

Elliot's offer from Adelaide:

Band compensation formula explained:

Tom Dodee contract:

To surmise, Elliot is likely to receive twice as much money that a band 5 pick would receive. Did you not know he was getting these offers? Before you dismiss the reality of the offer, Ryan Daniels reported it, not Kornes or "they won't pick him."

TY AOW

Without going back several pages reading everything has there been any rumors on Shai Bolton?
Talking to a few guys at the footy Saturday they were saying he wants to come home.
So both he and Baker are possibilities along with Warner??
If this is true there is no way all 3 will be headed our way so who would we prefer?
1-Warner, 2-Bolton, 3-Baker ?
Bolton more electric and game changing but Baker probably more consistent with leadership role.

Seems a lot of WA boys wanting to head home in the next year or two.

With Tassie coming in soon picks are going to be gold so if we play it well and aggressive we could have 3-4 really good experienced players come our way.

Warner should be our primary target. Worth this years R1 pick if we can do the deal. Sydney maybe be keen to do such a deal as next year he is ooc and may not be as valuable. We have the cap space and capital- we should make it happen. Apparently Sydney have succumbed to the fact he’s wants out, just a matter of when. Will be easier for us if the swans win the flag this year

Just doesn't look right...?

View attachment 2016824

Honestly, if he goes to NORTH chasing cash…sheesh…good luck mate.
Take the compo.

….that said, still think this is all Colin Young driven scuttlebutt to push up his price at the Eagles.

Not to sound like a Screaming Purple but the guy plays this game all the time.

McGovern to Freo?
Ryan to Hawthorn?

Etc…

Ages of players who’ve netted Round 1 compensation
Brendon Goddard - 27
Dale Thomas - 26
Lance Franklin - 26
James Frawley - 26
Tom Lynch - 25
Joe Daniher - 26
Zac Williams - 26
Ben McKay - 25

Elliot Yeo - 31?

Seems pretty unlikely.

FWIW I'm not hearing anything to suggest the North links for Yeo actually has legs.

Question is, who’s told Caro North have offered big money for Yeo. North hate her as far as I know and it wouldn’t have come from us so most likely it’s Yeo’s manager

I suspect we’re offering a 2 year deal with triggers for a 3rd whereas Yeo, via his manager, is pushing for a 3rd without any triggers

Don’t think he really wants to move but does want the security of a third year. Doubt money is an issue as any gap between what we offer and North offer could likely be made up in large part by endorsements here he won’t get playing for North (small Victorian club in a competitive market)

Three years on top dollar would be a reckless offer for a player who is over 30 with a significant injury history. And the midfield is not an area North need to bolster

Still think this is just a player manager trying to force our hand