List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 33 27.5%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 16 13.3%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 10 8.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 7 5.8%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 38 31.7%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 5 4.2%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 1 0.8%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 4 3.3%
  • Other

Votes: 6 5.0%

• This poll will close: .

I agree with your general point. Not sure you can complain though. I reckon if I went onto the Brisvegas board and focussed on regurgitating the negative views of your own posters, I would receive a much less pleasant reception than you have received here over a long time.
Our board can be far less welcoming of visitors than here. I've mentioned it repeatedly how accommodating the majority of your members are.

Not complaining per say. Just disagreeing with Obeanie1 claims.

Another strong performance from Urquhart who was the heartbeat of the WA midfield as they upset the hot favourite SA. He was the largest stoppage influence on the ground, his size and explosive movement difficult to deal with. He was able to find space and use his long penetrating kick to pump the ball inside 50 11 times for the match.

WA vs SA notes:
Bo Allan looked good, had some really nice moments in the middle

Gerryn was good up forward, good athletic profile - not a need for us at all though

Rohr hasn’t really got going at Colts level but had a brilliant showing today - again, not a need for us though

Rodriguez was consistently good through the middle all day

Urquhart had another exciting game, I like how he always kicks and moves the ball forward - has incredible kicking penetration, good size too

Hamish Davis was incredible, felt like he was everywhere, another one with a really impressive athletic profile and versatility, can hit the scoreboard at a high level as shown in his colts games too

Champion was mostly quiet, did kick a brilliant goal though

Burke was really good, one to keep an eye on for us with later picks - would fill a big need on the wing, he runs hard all day, is a tidy ball user and can hit the scoreboard and link up play well. Kicked two today.

Van der Struyf was awesome, had some really nice kicks through the corridor

Banfield looks the goods, had a good game for an underager, excited to get a F/S next year

MacTaggart and Hayes were both lively as well

Peterson completely blanketed Welsh

Cody Curtin looks good, not eligible until 2025 but he’s 197CM already and seems to know who he is unlike Dan, think he’ll be a really solid key position prospect next year

Draper had a pretty quiet game, his numbers look pretty good but didn’t seem to have much of an impact unfortunately

Both the Camporeale twins were good and got a lot of it, Hargrave was good all day too.

Max Rohr will get drafted on that game been amazing today moves so well and always looked dangerous

Gerryn I think would make a amazing full back would love us to pick him up
Hamish Davis been happy with him all year he is one i want with a later pick

Resources being pumped into those states by the AFL to the detriment of heartland football states like WA & SA where the AFL takes a “she’ll be right” approach as Aussie Rules is the dominant code.

Despite the ongoing rugby league dominance in those northern states the fact that there is about 13.9 million people across those two states determines that the talent pool is going to be much deeper than WA and SA with a combined population of 4.78 million (sources: ForecastID).

But what is WA producing?

WA has produced numbers of high quality footballers in the past. And now it seems to be drying up.

That isnt good.

But what is WA producing?

WA has produced numbers of high quality footballers in the past. And now it seems to be drying up.

That isnt good.

Went well today versus SA, and with, I think, 9 under-agers, so talent is coming through obviously. The 24 crop seem light on though. Is this because of the lack of good players whilst participation numbers are high [I don't know figures on this], or is it due to poor development?

2nd rucks who can start forward or back

Jack Williams
Harry Barnet
Archer Reid
Jaimeson
Livingston

Lose BW bring in Ben Miller UFA defender / 2nd ruck if we need servicable depth in defense and ruck.
I haven't seen much of Ben miller, is he an upgrade on HEdwards? The only time I remember seeing him he wasn't overly impressive

On SM-S921B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I haven't seen much of Ben miller, is he an upgrade on HEdwards? The only time I remember seeing him he wasn't overly impressive

He will be getting plenty of games.

He is quicker and more agile than Harry, I will say that.

Looks like a decent lock down defender taking the tallest forward. Originally a ruck but listrd at 198cm.

UFA and a WA lad from Kagoorlie.

A decent contract at decent money he would be a adequate replacement and potential upgrade on Harry Edwards, Rotham or Jameison. Good age and a position we need boosting.

Trade Harry plus a F2nd to Dogs for Busslinger and Garcia.

F2n Busslinger
HE for Garcia

UFA B Miller.

Two tall defenders, Miller ready to go.

Garcia improves our bench and rotations. He goes in and gets that groundball and flicks it out to Harley, Hewett and Ryan. Hopefully forward of centre.

Id take Ed Allan for BW if offered. If the Pies want to try to extend their premiership window by trading in top up players then BW would certainly be a good target. Hes still young enough to be around Daicos for a long time and would replace Mason Cox.
North dont have a second target up forward, theyve just named Brynn Teakle for a game as a ruck/fwd, I think they need BW more than we do. Hardeman for BW for sure.
Hardeman and Allan are both in positions of need too, either sound good to me
Are you insane man?? An untested player for one of the best backup rucks going! He’s certainly not a No1 ruck but he’s a very good second!They don’t grow in trees.

He will be getting plenty of games.

He is quicker and more agile than Harry, I will say that.

Looks like a decent lock down defender taking the tallest forward. Originally a ruck but listrd at 198cm.

UFA and a WA lad from Kagoorlie.

A decent contract at decent money he would be a adequate replacement and potential upgrade on Harry Edwards, Rotham or Jameison. Good age and a position we need boosting.

Trade Harry plus a F2nd to Dogs for Busslinger and Garcia.

F2n Busslinger
HE for Garcia

UFA B Miller.

Two tall defenders, Miller ready to go.

Garcia improves our bench and rotations. He goes in and gets that groundball and flicks it out to Harley, Hewett and Ryan. Hopefully forward of centre.
Yeah I just didn't see it with miller, might be a decent back up but only getting games now due to injuries at richmond

Are you insane man?? An untested player for one of the best backup rucks going! He’s certainly not a No1 ruck but he’s a very good second!They don’t grow in trees.

One of the best backups going?? The same bwilliams that constantly loses hit outs, drops marks and is so important in our forward line jack darling does just as much ruck work..

Collingwood would laugh in our faces even considering it as an offer

One of the best backups going?? The same bwilliams that constantly loses hit outs, drops marks and is so important in our forward line jack darling does just as much ruck work..

Collingwood would laugh in our faces even considering it as an offer

He would probably replace someone like Mason Cox if it were true.

Big Boy Bailey replacing a bloke this board denigrates at the drop of a hat but who has won multiple games for Collingwood including against us when we were decent.
That bloke is 33 years old. It wouldn't be the worst move by Collingwood, especially if they can also bring an actual ruckman in like Ned Moyle.

Josh Battle a preferred option?
I want to see what HEwards can do after 18 months post specialist treatment. He could still come good. And there's Jamieson, he's got a year to go so let's see if he can make a defensive position his own.
It's early but I'd like to somehow get a few more picks for next year and use 1 on curtin and there's always the buss talk

Bo Allan's size and power through the midfield proved too difficult for South Australia to handle. There's not a lot of subtlety to Allan's midfield craft at this stage, but he's super competitive and crashes through bodies taking the footy with him or creating space in his wake. His bone crunching tackles were also a feature.

I want to see what HEwards can do after 18 months post specialist treatment. He could still come good. And there's Jamieson, he's got a year to go so let's see if he can make a defensive position his own.
It's early but I'd like to somehow get a few more picks for next year and use 1 on curtin and there's always the buss talk

I see it pretty much the same way. Would be more in a buss camp over Curtin at this stage. (Cost less/better defender). Unless our team see Curtin as a mid/Dawson type.

Nah Dan curtains bro is draftable next year, 197cm already.. a backman

I was just reading how the main option that the AFL is considering for changing the academy rules is to make it so the Northern clubs have same restriction as the other clubs, i.e. they can't match a bid for a player in the top 40.

What a stupid system. So you can have an academy and the AFL wants you to plough all this money and resources into it but at the end of the day if the player coming through is too good naturally or you do too good a job of developing him then you get no return on your investment. Who comes up with a stupid convoluted system with a contradictory incentive structure like that?

How about every club gets an academy drawing from roughly evenly sized talent pools and you get to take one player a year from your academy. Or maybe two players. Then the clubs will be incentivized to invest resources and develop and the Northern clubs get to keep players from their local area. Which should be the main two reasons for having academies at all.

Bo Allan's size and power through the midfield proved too difficult for South Australia to handle. There's not a lot of subtlety to Allan's midfield craft at this stage, but he's super competitive and crashes through bodies taking the footy with him or creating space in his wake. His bone crunching tackles were also a feature.

Speed surprises me. At worst will make a great defender with his athleticism and long left foot.