List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
I come in peace and respect-ta-pa....

Baker-Gun. You dont realise what you are getting. Team/Culture builder. Yes he had a down year this year but he could be your next captain. Cleanest player you will even see below his knees. Freakish really. Just play him off HBF for F sake. He isnt a mid or forward

JG.....Honestly.....dud...thanks for taking him off our books.
Yeah real captain material.

Thanks mate but we have leaders already. We are a top end club, we don’t need an illiterate bogan as captain.

You can keep him if you value him so highly and can convince him to stay.

We had a drug ****ed criminal as captain, but I agree we draw the line at illiterate bogan.
But he could work a room with charisma that was off the charts. Corporates couldn’t wait to hand over sponsorship money once he’d done the rounds. Corporates would check baker hasn’t pilfered stuff

If they can do it for good return, it would be seen as a coup as just even a few weeks ago Cal and co were saying it would be really hard to split picks this year due to the even top 10 or so.

I’ve definitely liked it for this draft in particular. I think the evenness in the top bunch means two early picks is genuinely like a two for the price of one deal. I think pick 3 projections by some clubs could easy be available at our first selection even if we are to split.

I honestly think unless you are in love with your projected 3 pick it would be far better for us list profile wise to inject two top 10ish players in if we can get that done. There will be guns aplenty in this first round

Thanks for everything Jack, can’t begrudge him for getting a couple extra years at Norf.

Shame he didn’t get to 300 for us, but we obviously got a quality footballer for many years.

As much as he was divisive for various reasons over the years, can’t dispute that he wasn’t a champion of our club.

Special thanks for staying back to take a photo and sign footies for several dozen kids, including my son, after the Rick the Rock footy clinic when he was being ushered away for the evening.

If they get (2) compo our pick would be 4

Effectively Trading ( 2 ) + 4

for 8 + 11 + 24 + baker

That would only be fair .

Richmond end up picks 1 2 and 4

We end up 7 11 14 24 26
I'd do that. May as well cash in while FA compensation is available.

Re
Yeah real captain material.

Thanks mate but we have leaders already. We are a top end club, we don’t need an illiterate bogan as captain.

You can keep him if you value him so highly and can convince him to stay.

Yep , agreed! But...as long as he can football it's fine.
We aren't recruiting him for his literacy skills, or to recite poetry.

Thinking about the 26 for Dev idea for a moment, we could possibly ask for Brisbane's F1 to make it work. 26 + F3 for Robertson + F1. Values Dev at the Darling pick and gives Brisbane points this year. Would work well with Get_The_Gaff's idea above, leaving us with four picks inside 24 this year and three firsts next year.

Easy to pick the winner here - its not us
What is currently pick 3 for 6, 10, 24 + Baker wouldn't be a win for us? Especially if we're happy with who we can get at what would wind up as pick 7?

His uncle is WCE royalty, he grew up a WCE supporter, WCE showed interest last year, WCE showing interest again this year, there's obvious starting spots in WCE midfield for him at AFL level, he's also from WA and coming back home to family....

If Devon is going to ignore all of that to start somewhere else over East, i bid good luck to that kent. He'd have officially taken the title from Preuss and Grundy going to Melbourne behind Gawn is the dumbest career decision a player has ever made.
I don't get it, if he's that dumb why do we want him - besides none of the things you mentioned about him, have anything to do with his football skills? Why was WCE showing interest in him, his highlight reel was dismal...if he turned out to be a Redden, we'd be hell lucky!