List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
Reckon Hough and Ginbey is a good start in the elite backmen stakes.

Reubs looks like a natural general back there to me.
A Jetta type who can slice up a corridor by foot would be great. Just not a priority right now. Just need to bide our time and get best available, and then trade for gaps.

Reckon Hough and Ginbey is a good start in the elite backmen stakes.

Reubs looks like a natural general back there to me.
Im not convinced theyll be A-graders, for me A-graders are the guys who will be in the mix for AA when theyre in their prime. Hough is great defensively but needs to add some offence to his game imo and Ginbey needs a bit more time back there to get fully comfortable. Definitely B+ easily achievable though, and theyre still young, im not writing them off at all.

A Jetta type who can slice up a corridor by foot would be great. Just not a priority right now. Just need to bide our time and get best available, and then trade for gaps.
This is where we disagree strongly. Games are won via transition.
We can already compete just fine in clearances consdidering we have Bailey as our ruckman, and we have added a defensive mid to the mix now who should help limit how badly we lose clearances.

The only times we could score this year was basically when we won a clearance, we were useless any other time.
Cant build and play a modern gamestyle when you cant transition the ball, thats gotta be the first step to being competitive consistently.

Anyway, im done on this topic with you

No tweets from tonight's episode of Footy 'Classified' Furnace about the Eagles pick being up for grabs. Did any brave soul watch? Was it brought up at all? Promising signs if it wasn't.

Hard no to 3 for 12+14

They are fairly certain the TB trade will be done

On their quick fire ‘deal or no deal’ bit it was TB for F1 & F2 and Damo said deal as long as it was the Hawks picks (which sparked conversation… what didn’t seem to get any interest is that the proposed deal is substantially worse than what we have already been offered and rejected)

Oh yeah we are set for mids - in what world? Wildly off

We have a fair few mids to sort through and develop. We will add another one or two.

You cant just keep drafting mids and only mids until you get a gun midfield. If you did you would habe no forwards and no defenders.

And the talls at your second rounder may be rated much higher than the mids available at that pick.

So blindly drafting mids for the sake of it isnt a great strategy.

Don’t do this shit with the numbers again - makes your post even more unreadable than usual which is a low bar to begin with

Black Cat GIF

Owies isnt going back to the Blues, he will be traded supposedly. I wonder if we still have interest.

If the Blues were to offer 14+Owies(+Carroll?) for Barrass I think we would take it, if Barrass could be convinced to change his mind and go to the Blues instead.
Owies has similar numbers to Cripps, a little less pressure(still decent though) but more goals. Did it with a lot less time on ground too(he was sub a couple times).

We could do worse

I find it amusing frustrating that Geelong is threatening to take Smith to the national or preseason draft if no deal done for pick 17. However, Eagles refuse to threaten taking Baker through the same process. FFS

Owies isnt going back to the Blues, he will be traded supposedly. I wonder if we still have interest.

If the Blues were to offer 14+Owies(+Carroll?) for Barrass I think we would take it, if Barrass could be convinced to change his mind and go to the Blues instead.
Owies has similar numbers to Cripps, a little less pressure(still decent though) but more goals. Did it with a lot less time on ground too(he was sub a couple times).

We could do worse
At this point, I'd be happy to have nothing to do with pick 14

We don’t need to trade for Owies he can be gotten as a delisted here agent. Same with Carroll…

To start Monday with s trigger warning the infamous Trade Whisperer account has us speaking to Essendon re pick three and Darcy parish.

We could do worse
I think for 700 or 800k or whatever his price was said to be, Eagles could do better.

Wow, that was a tough read/catch up.

Feel like you blink and your a page or two behind again.

Half the posts eventuated to be nothing and another large portion will probably also turn out to be a waste of data online.

If the posters in here had their way, Matt Clarke would have been executed by now and he's done nothing but fly the Eagles flag so far (bar the comment in the presser regarding Baker's worth).

Can we make a limit of one post per day, per person? (not serious but c'mon people).

Forearm had a serious workout scrolling through all that, also, any chance we can minimise/or add a spoiler to the pinned post at the top? it is extremely informative, however, it is currently adding another 3-4 scrolls per page and pages are adding up quickly.

internet quagmire GIF

This is where we disagree strongly. Games are won via transition.
We can already compete just fine in clearances consdidering we have Bailey as our ruckman, and we have added a defensive mid to the mix now who should help limit how badly we lose clearances.

The only times we could score this year was basically when we won a clearance, we were useless any other time.
Cant build and play a modern gamestyle when you cant transition the ball, thats gotta be the first step to being competitive consistently.

Anyway, im done on this topic with you
As I said, you can't win games with elite HBFs but lacking in the midfield. Zorko has been a star off half back, but take Neale and McLuggage out of the midfield, and they aren't winning many games.

We have a fair few mids to sort through and develop. We will add another one or two.

You cant just keep drafting mids and only mids until you get a gun midfield. If you did you would habe no forwards and no defenders.
Ahhh, also known as Norths drafting strategy.
And the talls at your second rounder may be rated much higher than the mids available at that pick.

Mate no offence but you know f*ck all about what Pyke & the board think so stop acting like you do. Your a guy on a online forum who’s entitled to your opinion but stop talking like it’s a fact. Give it a break (You’re also not the only one)
Basically my claim here is a guy walked into McDonalds, ordered a Big Mac and I said "You like Big Macs dont you". Our lack of desire to do a long and painful rebuild is evident in our actions

Literally 100% of what we did so far is about competing as fast as we can. Choosing Graham and Baker, wanting to split pick 3 and even before that our desire to give up said pick 3 for Daniel Curtin. None of what we are doing is what other clubs are currently doing when rebuilding.

Hawks have leapfrogged us and it was by lettimg the likes of Tom Mitchell go and then bringing in someone to replace him as a free agent (Amon) . They didnt give up Mitchell and then spend most of their draft captial they got on replacing him like we are going to do with Barrass. They had a bit of patience and kept the assets as opposed to burn them in trades...

We have won 7 out of 70 games and you are chucking a tantrum about someone who thinks we are making wrong decisions.... Think about that.

Darcy Parish for pick 3?

WTF

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Do you not realise there are other picks to find half back flankers? No one is saying that we should choose mids with all our picks. Just choose a mid with the first pick in a draft that has really strong mids in it.

Sometimes I think people just want to go against the grain. You come across like a flat earther. Are you a sovereign citizen by any chance?

We don’t need to trade for Owies he can be gotten as a delisted here agent. Same with Carroll…
I dont think Carroll gets delisted, we could just walk Owies I guess as a DFA/PSD. Thats fair
To start Monday with s trigger warning the infamous Trade Whisperer account has us speaking to Essendon re pick three and Darcy parish.
Surely no chance. What else do the Bombers have to offer us? Parish would be worth a mid teens pick i'd guess?
Theyve got the Dees and their own F1s, not ideal.
Makes sense for the Bombers to trade out Parish, and he would be a good get for our midfield, better than Baker imo.
At least Parish can rack up 30 touches a week and handball it out to our other mids

I think for 700 or 800k or whatever his price was said to be, Eagles could do better.
I think it came out that the 700/800k thing was either fake, or the Owies camp took it back pretty quickly haha