List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

What are Melbournes 3 first rounders.
I’m guessing
Freo 1st pick 6-10
Melbournes 1st pick 15-18
Future 1st?

Don’t reckon that would anywhere near enough.

GWS if interested could have a draft haul worth considering. This could be appealing.

Tigers pick 4-8
Gws pick 6-10
Future 1st

North Could maybe

North 1st pick 2-3
Power 1st pick 11-15
Nth future 1st or if McKay leaves and get good compensation. Pick next to there 1st.

Lastly Suns could maybe if they have someone that wants out which is pretty standard.
Suns 1st pick 5-8
Suns Future 1st
GWS 2nd round tied to suns pick 22-27
Maybe something else to sweeten.

Hawks maybe
Hawks 1st pick 2-4
Hawks future 1st
???

Guess players could come into it but generally pick trades don’t involve players these days. It’s the other way around where a player is traded and picks are swapped to sweeten the deal.

Personally I’m in the take Reid if we had pick one and then find other ways to improve our draft hand. Everyone has there own view on this however.

👍🏻
Think you're spot on here.

Four months until the season ends and we know who has pick 1

Basically a whole season of underage games ahead for this years draft crop to display their talents so that a pecking order can be established with any credibility

There’s also a trade and FA period that will impact the draft order beyond simple finishing positions

The draft itself is still more than 6 months away

But yeah let’s talk about trading a pick we don’t yet have based on draftees who have yet to establish their credentials

Personally feel that Moir is a tease but I’m happy to admit I’m wrong if he fires playing for SA.
Duursma is a real worry for me with his ability to avoid the contest.
Watson good, McKercher Good, Philactides good and I reckon Nate Caddy could fire in the national carnival if he gets some supply.
I reckon the key position players that are 192-196 are back with the way ball movement has sped up recently.

Look at Allen, Cameron and Curnow for example. Even Fogarty.
Agree, Caddy is the one who's been severely underrated.

Duursma has all the talent but lacks physicality.

Moir has all the talent but unsure on his work ethic and consistent performance.

Those two could be big hits or big misses.

Others like Lorenz are seemingly dropping so could be worth looking at later on.

Watson, Curtin, Reid probably a top 3 at this stage.

Pick 1 which I doubt we are getting you’d have to be looking at north!
If they get the Ben McKay compensation
Pick 1 & 20 for Pick 3,4 & 13
Then why not trade with Melbourne
Pick 4 for pick 8 & 17
End up with 3,8,13,17 in the first round from 1 and 20
Pipe dream I know but it would be nice😂

Basically a whole season of underage games ahead for this years draft crop to display their talents so that a pecking order can be established with any credibility

There’s also a trade and FA period that will impact the draft order beyond simple finishing positions

But yeah let’s talk about trading a pick we don’t yet have based on draftees who have yet to establish their credentials
Cmon Keys read the thread title…..never too early edition

Plus we haven’t really got much else to look forward to for this year.

THIS is what I'm here for.
British Basketball Popcorn GIF by Newcastle Eagles

Thoughts from the game, it rained solidly all night and the ground looked ok but as soon as the players went to ground bucket loads of water sprayed up. So was a tough day, as the ball was sliding around and was hard to handle. I played on the ground before when wet and it's bloody tough to play on when wet like that - so I'll cut them all some slack.

I was probably more impressed with Vic Metro than I was the Young guns, this was last trial game for VM before champs so they would've been very keen to play well.

• Philactides was BOG for mine, he racked it up off half back and is a top 10 pick. I think he can end up top 5, especially if he goes into the midfield and needs to relax a bit when kicking as he can rush it. But he's got speed, power and great skills.
  • Archie Roberts, another first rounder for mine. He racked it up off half back and his kicking and how clean he was today was great to watch, he cracked in a few times too.
  • Docking, had a great game and I reckon earnt his spot on the VM team. Small half forward with great run and skills, was really good early and dominated the last quarter.
Nyko, Will Brown and Jake Smith were also really good.

Young Guns
  • Tough conditions for Maric, but he fought his way into the game and did some nice things. Want to watch him again, as think he'll star in dry conditions. Could've kicked 3 or 4, think he finished with 1.3.
  • Tedcastle, conditions suited him and he took full advantage with 3 snags I believe, had real nice forward craft. Slotted a beauty from a tough angle in the pocket, wind was coming straight at him too.
  • Rye Penny, had a very good game off half back. Was mostly clean and used it well, ran to support.
  • Luke Teal, got tackled in the wet side of the oval right in front of me and he would've been carrying 3 kilos of water after that. Had some nice moments, but not enough of it ultimately. He's got some nice attributes, and he noticeably was really trying, you could see he really wanted it but probably didn't have the day he wanted. Was ok.
  • Petric did some nice things across half back
  • Will Elliott, for a guy over 200cm kicked an awesome goal. Down the city end, the ball if it hit the ground would slide 30+ metres and he picked up one that bounced in front of him on the run and turned his defender inside out and kicked truly. Did a few other nice things.
  • Clay tucker, took some nice overhead marks early and tap work was good.

If I am not wrong, Tedcastle is a NT lad, was playing for Saint Mary's FC. If it is him, he's a talent.

Don't take away our dreams God dammit

If I am not wrong, Tedcastle is a NT lad, was playing for Saint Mary's FC. If it is him, he's a talent.
He was a long way from the NT today, it was bloody freezing. He looked good, if he puts in another performance like that he might get a look in with recruiters

Cmon Keys read the thread title…..never too early edition

Plus we haven’t really got much else to look forward to for this year.
Everyone who wants to talk footy to me at work, social etc. I just say I'm looking forward to November, won't be much else to get excited about.

North picked Sheezel ahead of Wardlaw in real life, but in this hypothetical they take Wardlaw first?
Consecutive picks don’t think it matters which one was first, wardlaw was consistently seen as the second best player in the draft behind Ashcroft

And no one except GWS saw Cadman ahead of any of them. Different teams rate different players differently. If North rated Wardlaw ahead of Sheezel why’d they read their names out in the opposite order?

Less talk about picks, more talk about Jed Anderson Quinton Narkle and how many B&F's he'd win at our club 🙏

I for one am interested to find out who you’re going to delete your account over this MSD

Agree, Caddy is the one who's been severely underrated.

Duursma has all the talent but lacks physicality.

Moir has all the talent but unsure on his work ethic and consistent performance.

Those two could be big hits or big misses.

Others like Lorenz are seemingly dropping so could be worth looking at later on.

Watson, Curtin, Reid probably a top 3 at this stage.

I’ll believe it when I see it regarding a team using a top 3 pick on Nick Watson. Great talent and fun to watch, but he’s a small forward who I believe would be the smallest player in the competition.

Taller than Caleb Daniel. He's also only 2cm shorter than Masten.

Don't take our tiny little bit of sun light away from us....
Sad Tears GIF by SpongeBob SquarePants

And no one except GWS saw Cadman ahead of any of them. Different teams rate different players differently. If North rated Wardlaw ahead of Sheezel why’d they read their names out in the opposite order?
Few rumours going around about eagles liking Cadman if I remember correctly and also just remember everyone rating wardlaw as the 2nd best mid In the draft but it was last year and we got ginbey and Hewett so all is good

Hey lads, just wanted to pop in.

Negatives, positives and comments.

Firstly get the negative out of the way
"Harley Reid is a massive flight risk apparently. His manager already telling WC not to bother."

This leads to my comments, how does it make you all feel, and realistically, who's your draft target then, do you trade down? and who do you trade with? Hawthorn? North? Melbourne?

And the positive.

Daniel Curtin, best key defender in this draft by a fair way, 197cm? really well built, good tank, good agility/speed considering his size especially, played midfield aswell and dominated with 26 disposals, 20 kicks, 18 contested, 12 clearances & 11 tackles.

:thumbsu:
I thought school went back last week

We have enough LTI’s to open up some list spots. Surely the powers that be have seen enough from the WAFL brigade to turn some of the list over. We can’t do it all in the end of year draft so I’m hoping we take a few in the mid season and cut some extra dead wood at the end of the year.

Was semi optimistic about guys like XON, Petch Clark showing improvement with some more opportunities, but years have gone by now.

Will be super disappointed if we don’t make some moves in the MSD.