List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

According to the Tradies podcast, Sam Mclure reported that Harley Reid does not want to leave Victoria and has indicated this to West Coast.

What about all the other Vic country & Vic metro players? And the Tassie boys? If we dig deep enough (and care about it) perhaps our only safe option in the top 10 ends up being Curtin simply because he's from WA.
It's a national draft, players shouldn't be dictating where they are drafted.

According to the Tradies podcast, Sam Mclure reported that Harley Reid does not want to leave Victoria and has indicated this to West Coast.

Im hoping this is true and it gets massive media attention.

We split last year because the best kids didnt want to move West.

If this is the case again and we are cornered and forced AGAIN into splitting Trev needs to earn his pay and absolutely tee off. Formal complaint to the AFL about kids basically draft tampering. Demanding something be done.

Could well lead to better access to our academy kids or even similar access as the expansion clubs whilst we are rock bottom.

North cry hat in hand when currently they have two kids we would have loved to have deafted either one but were basically blocked by mummys boys and their clever managers.

McClure doesn't know shit. The rookie me central bloke said he spoke to him personally on the weekend and said Reid was clearly open to to moving and isn't the type who would just up and leave, as he's spoken to him a number of times in the past and has a fair gauge on him.

Im hoping this is true and it gets massive media attention.

We split last year because the best kids didnt want to move West.

If this is the case again and we are cornered and forced AGAIN into splitting Trev needs to earn his pay and absolutely tee off. Formal complaint to the AFL about kids basically draft tampering. Demanding something be done.

Could well lead to better access to our academy kids or even similar access as the expqnsion clubs whilst we are rock bottom.

North cry hat in hand when currently they have two kids we would have loved to have deafted either one but were basically blocked by mummys boys and their clever managers.
We split the pick last year because the best kids didn't want to move west AND the perceived gap among the top 10 was smaller than usual. Arguably, that read has been correct. The 2022 draft class has been very good so far across the board.

Outside of McKercher, who I think the AFL will ABSOLUTELY assist Tassie in bringing home for their inception, I think we take best available.

North also lost a No. 1 mummy’s boy in JHF and Pick 1 to land the 2 mummy’s boys.

Not that you said this but I keep hearing how cleaver North were landing 2 picks last year, but fail to say they effectively gave up 2 No. 1 picks to get them.

via email: AFL, Herald Sun etc.

"Dear Members,

It has been advised to our recruitment team, for the second successive year, that the best available player at our draft position has no intention of fulfilling a long term commitment to our club. This continues a worrying trend of elite Victorian talent and their management pre-selecting the clubs they land at impacting the intended equalisation effect of the AFL draft.

The increasing incidence of this occurrence along with the varying levels of access to academy players each club has the ability to select within the top ten picks of the draft are further diminishing our clubs access to elite talent from that of the Country to now that of just a few select states.

We feel, as a club, that a time has come where these factors need to be highlighted and considered by the AFL as a country wide organisation and as a result have no choice but to request a priority pick immediately after our first pick in the 2023 AFL draft to account for the sacrifices in talent available to the club for the above reasons over the past two years."

via email: dcurtin@.......

Dear Dan,

We have been extremely impressed with your performances across the National Championships this year and see you as a future leader of this club. Should you wish to be an eagle for life we would love to have you and highly recommend you advise all recruiters of your intentions not leave Western Australia.

In relation to draftees do not want to move interstates, it kills the purpose and fairness of having national draft.
AFL should introduce Zone Drafting as the first layer (before national draft). This Zone Drafting allows AFL clubs to draft a certain fixed amount of players each year from their assoicated zones and footy clubs. Then the surplus players to join the National Draft which will become the next level of drafting.
This Zone Drafting has many advantages.
1. Prevent tanking. Bottom teams will remain competitive for the whole season and not playing for high draft picks.
2. Rebuild is done through good Reserved players management and development.
3. others....

McClure doesn't know s**t. The rookie me central bloke said he spoke to him personally on the weekend and said Reid was clearly open to to moving and isn't the type who would just up and leave, as he's spoken to him a number of times in the past and has a fair gauge on him.

To be fair, McClure actually said Reid's management company has a very good track record of keeping rookies at their clubs once they're drafted

Yeah fair enough.

Still, sounds like it's hearsay from people not really ITK, as opposed from Reid himself, especially considering what the Rookie me Central bloke said.

via email: AFL, Herald Sun etc.

"Dear Members,

It has been advised to our recruitment team, for the second successive year, that the best available player at our draft position has no intention of fulfilling a long term commitment to our club. This continues a worrying trend of elite Victorian talent and their management pre-selecting the clubs they land at impacting the intended equalisation effect of the AFL draft.

The increasing incidence of this occurrence along with the varying levels of access to academy players each club has the ability to select within the top ten picks of the draft are further diminishing our clubs access to elite talent from that of the Country to now that of just a few select states.

We feel, as a club, that a time has come where these factors need to be highlighted and considered by the AFL as a country wide organisation and as a result have no choice but to request a priority pick immediately after our first pick in the 2023 AFL draft to account for the sacrifices in talent available to the club for the above reasons over the past two years."

via email: dcurtin@.......

Dear Dan,

We have been extremely impressed with your performances across the National Championships this year and see you as a future leader of this club. Should you wish to be an eagle for life we would love to have you and highly recommend you advise all recruiters of your intentions not leave Western Australia.
With our track record I'm not sure an email is the way to go

The headline, rather then the story here Nuffington Post
McLure said that the Eagles would be aware that Harley would prefer to stay in Victoria, but he is not against relocating. McLure also said neither management or Harley himself had told the Eagles he wants to stay in Victoria, rather he and his management have been honest in his preference to stay (like nearly every other kid eligible to be drafted). If the Eagles pick Harey, there is no expectation he will be looking to move back to Vic e.g. like JHF.
From what I listened to, this is completely different to Archie Perkins telling recruiters he wanted stay in Vic

In reality, it doesn't really matter if Harley wants to stay in Victoria or not.
If we recruit him, it is up to the club to create and build an environment for Harley where he believes (and is) able to get the best out of his career/talents, and a place he wants to be for the rest of his career.
Harley has done his bit to get recruited, its up to us to provide him all the tools and development we can for him to become the player all the experts/clubs/supporters believe he will be.
There are extenuating circumstances for why people leave clubs that are outside of a clubs control, but the reason most players leave, much like the general public is the coaching group (management), their teammates, culture, lack of opportunity and/or development. You get those things right, and players will stay, regardless of their initial preference to stay in their home state.

I hate the move back threat. We play almost every second week in Victoria. If he needs to spend an extra day or two there around games there's plenty of opportunity and we've done it for players in the past.

He'll be more concerned about playing for a basket case of a club. He knows he'll play for a bad club (being pick 1), but do we have a future? That's why JHF wanted out at North (doubt he leaves if at Pies/Blues/Bombers etc). Why Scully bolted on Melbourne and why Trengove, Watts and others should have moved from Melbourne early on. We aren't at that level (if we fix our medical side), we have shown repeatedly we are a big club who can be competitive and contend on a regular basis.

An update on Zac Fisher - per the HUN

-----------------------------------
Where does Blue end up?

Carlton mid-forward Zac Fisher is more likely to find a new home in Victoria, with West Coast cooling on the prospect of securing him as part of their rebuild.

The Eagles are determined to retain their draft picks and aren’t sure he would further their list strategy despite being a dashing midfielder with a strong left foot who hails from West Australia.

The Blues are happy for him to move on to secure midfield time at a rival club, which would also clear cap space.

So watch this space on suitors which emerge for Fisher, who has played five excellent games in the VFL including his most recent 24-possession outing.
-------------------------------------

My read on it is that Eagles keen to retain their good draft picks. I am thinking that a R4 pick for him would have been discussed but dismissed by Carlton.

If it truly is cap space, then we could easily spread his deal out over 3 years and bring him home. Not jumping at the prospect, more a stocking filler.

The article also discusses Grindy to Port to replace Lycett. He want to ruck and the Dees experiment has failed.
I would be fine in taking Lycett for free (he is out of contract and not a FA so a walk to the PSD). Unless of course NicNat is likely to come back and play 20 games in 2024!!!

The headline, rather then the story here Nuffington Post
McLure said that the Eagles would be aware that Harley would prefer to stay in Victoria, but he is not against relocating. McLure also said neither management or Harley himself had told the Eagles he wants to stay in Victoria, rather he and his management have been honest in his preference to stay (like nearly every other kid eligible to be drafted). If the Eagles pick Harey, there is no expectation he will be looking to move back to Vic e.g. like JHF.
From what I listened to, this is completely different to Archie Perkins telling recruiters he wanted stay in Vic
I think it's fair to understand that most kids would prefer to stay home and that's fine with Reid. Good to note that there's no indication that he's going down the Perkins/Smith route however.