List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

The younger Van Rooyen - Sam kicked 5 today from 15 disposals and 9 marks.

He is 193 cm 85 kg.

van-rooyen-samuel-BfVfo.png

One to keep an eye on as the season progresses.

The other piece with English at the end of 2024 is the ability to send him to the PSD if the bulldogs are thinking of forcing us to match, particularly if we end up with, god forbid, another bottom 4 finish

In the next 2-3 years it’s a threat we should be willing to use in potential trade negotiations
Totally agree but do we actually have anyone with the balls to do it?

English would be a RFA not an UFA.
Therefore it is not simply a matter of he wants to join us so we sign him up.
The Bulldogs could and probably would match an offer so then we would have to trade for him.
Nowhere near as simple or non costly in draft capital as with Hunt for example.
Front end and it will become very hard for them

The younger Van Rooyen - Sam kicked 5 today from 15 disposals and 9 marks.

He is 193 cm 85 kg.

View attachment 1667371

One to keep an eye on as the season progresses.
Looks just like his brother, just as talented by the sounds too.

193 cm is a bit of a tweener/3rd tall type height, hopefully grows a bit more throughout the year.

Definitely promising!

Not a chance if it's pick 1, drive that Harley over the Nullabor.

Pick 2, potentially yeah. At this stage no one is a clear cut second, feels quite even again for a good 15 or so. Would love Curtin and Edwards for what was pick 2.

Very early days though, as we know from last year many of the top 20 were barely being discussed at this stage of season or played in the academy game: Ginbey, Humphrey, Allan, Cadman, Mackenzie, Phillipou to name few.

Not a chance if it's pick 1, drive that Harley over the Nullabor.

Pick 2, potentially yeah. At this stage no one is a clear cut second, feels quite even again for a good 15 or so. Would love Curtin and Edwards for what was pick 2.

Very early days though, as we know from last year many of the top 20 were barely being discussed at this stage of season or played in the academy game: Ginbey, Humphrey, Allan, Cadman, Mackenzie, Phillipou to name few.
Yeah I share this sentiment. I reckon most of us do.

Bit of talk on the autopsy thread about the 2019 draft and Warner.

Putting Warner aside there are three interesting names.

Pick 9 Henry
Pick 18 Georgiades
Pick 22 Dev Robertson

We could pick up one or even two of these kids for as little as a 3rd / F3rd each.

Would potentially help repair that draft we didnt have early access to.

He’ll also be 27 by the time he is a free agent. Gun player, no doubt, but we are a long way off our rebuild and he is not going to have many productive seasons left in him by the time we are a premiership threat again.

Fair enough we will be offloading some big salaries in coming years, but I would hope it doesn’t mean losing a gun kid down the track because we have used up our salary cap on an ageing ruckman.

A 27 year old ruck is entering their prime.

Some play their best over 30.

We will bank two more drafts before that and will have Nic retired.

As long as he's fit as a FA its a no brainer.

Would consider Van Rooyen if he grew to over 195cm.

Here's the thing it's a 50/50. I was standing next to him late last year and would have thought he was 191-192. Also a lot of measurements particularly by clubs are taken with boots on.

If Oscar Allen had of been his 195/196 at the time of the draft he would have gone top 5 but he was 191 and it was seen as too short as we were supposedly entering an era of super talls being the norm.

Now with the 6,6,6 rules, an extra umpire on the field, the stand rule and straight play on from kick ins with the defender player being a further 5 metres back it's greatly shortened the grounds. So talls don't necessarily need to be as big as a lot were projecting (except for rucks as im certain the bounce is next to go and then height and athleticism will be ever more important in the centre) but the ability to time a lead, play with a high footy IQ, mark at your highest point combined with overall athleticism and the ability to finish is much more important than being say 200cm. In saying that **** knows what the afl does with rules in the future.

I'm going to sit back pretty quietly for the next few weeks before doing a reassessment of talent with what i've seen from the different leagues and after the second academy game.

Mitch Edwards start to the year has been at a lower level than I expected but I had a chat to him today and he was almost 2 inches taller than when I last saw him last year. He was listed at either 204 or 205 then. Mind you when kids start getting to that height with a height difference of over 25cm it's hard to tell just how tall they are from a chat. He had a decent game today but his ruckwork was almost solely won on height. How to best describe his game, as though he's fitting into his body again if you know what i mean. Could genuinely hit the combine at 210 imo. Needs to get a bit more physical otherwise he will be frustrating as shit and a long, slow burn like English before his ruckwork is even breaking even with most of the top level AFL rucks. At this stage I think he's going to be a big slider but would really hope to have that port second rounder falls inside 40 so we can pick him up.

Hey guys as a Hawks fan I’m just wondering is there any chance you guys could win a few games so we could get Harley Reid or is it gonna be West Coast and Hawthorn purposely losing for the Harley Reid cup 😂lol. it’s a strange feeling barracking against your own team to win every week but it makes it interesting I can’t wait to see Hawthorn West Coast round 10 and we can see all the players that suddenly get rested or get injured It’s going to be a strange old season LOL 😂

Here's the thing it's a 50/50. I was standing next to him late last year and would have thought he was 191-192. Also a lot of measurements particularly by clubs are taken with boots on.

If Oscar Allen had of been his 195/196 at the time of the draft he would have gone top 5 but he was 191 and it was seen as too short as we were supposedly entering an era of super talls being the norm.

Now with the 6,6,6 rules, an extra umpire on the field, the stand rule and straight play on from kick ins with the defender player being a further 5 metres back it's greatly shortened the grounds. So talls don't necessarily need to be as big as a lot were projecting (except for rucks as im certain the bounce is next to go and then height and athleticism will be ever more important in the centre) but the ability to time a lead, play with a high footy IQ, mark at your highest point combined with overall athleticism and the ability to finish is much more important than being say 200cm. In saying that * knows what the afl does with rules in the future.

I'm going to sit back pretty quietly for the next few weeks before doing a reassessment of talent with what i've seen from the different leagues and after the second academy game.

Mitch Edwards start to the year has been at a lower level than I expected but I had a chat to him today and he was almost 2 inches taller than when I last saw him last year. He was listed at either 204 or 205 then. Mind you when kids start getting to that height with a height difference of over 25cm it's hard to tell just how tall they are from a chat. He had a decent game today but his ruckwork was almost solely won on height. How to best describe his game, as though he's fitting into his body again if you know what i mean. Could genuinely hit the combine at 210 imo. Needs to get a bit more physical otherwise he will be frustrating as s**t and a long, slow burn like English before his ruckwork is even breaking even with most of the top level AFL rucks. At this stage I think he's going to be a big slider but would really hope to have that port second rounder falls inside 40 so we can pick him up.
Got any bulk on himself or skinny?

Hey guys as a Hawks fan I’m just wondering is there any chance you guys could win a few games so we could get Harley Reid or is it gonna be West Coast and Hawthorn purposely losing for the Harley Reid cup 😂lol. it’s a strange feeling barracking against your own team to win every week but it makes it interesting I can’t wait to see Hawthorn West Coast round 10 and we can see all the players that suddenly get rested or get injured It’s going to be a strange old season LOL 😂
I wouldn’t stress mate, I think we’re playing enough good footy that we’ll win some games once player availability improves. Can’t see us finishing below yourselves.

I personally hope so but I’ve never seen such a bad injury list before for you Player’s I hope some of your player’s come back because when you get them back you are very competitive. It’s a super draft so even though Harley Reid is a super talent there’s some really good players in the top 1 to 5 range