List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

Hey guys as a Hawks fan I’m just wondering is there any chance you guys could win a few games so we could get Harley Reid or is it gonna be West Coast and Hawthorn purposely losing for the Harley Reid cup 😂lol. it’s a strange feeling barracking against your own team to win every week but it makes it interesting I can’t wait to see Hawthorn West Coast round 10 and we can see all the players that suddenly get rested or get injured It’s going to be a strange old season LOL 😂

Just because we play Gaff on ball does not mean we are tanking.:drunk::drunk:;)

But yes the Hawks v Eagles game in Tassie looks like the Harley Ried cup.

But dont dispair, you guys can always offer pick 2 plus a F1st plus another 2nd!

So not the end of the world.;)

Hey guys as a Hawks fan I’m just wondering is there any chance you guys could win a few games so we could get Harley Reid or is it gonna be West Coast and Hawthorn purposely losing for the Harley Reid cup 😂lol. it’s a strange feeling barracking against your own team to win every week but it makes it interesting I can’t wait to see Hawthorn West Coast round 10 and we can see all the players that suddenly get rested or get injured It’s going to be a strange old season LOL 😂
You should feel embarrassed posting something like this. Zero pride in your team. Actually cheering on your team to win the spoon and wanting a team struggling to field 22 fit players to give you a leg up by winning.

I genuinely hope you follow in the footsteps of other draft pick collectors in Carlton, Saints and Norf and spend a couple decades down the bottom.

Good player but a high hamstring so could be two months, have a hospital annex now at Mineral Resources Park so in good hands .

Seriously Wouldn't be the worst option for WC Clarke is a tough player .
Yeah, I just saw the latest google maps satellite images of Lathlain, things have changed a bit down there

mash-season-2-camp.jpg

I think we have to look at the MSD as a way to grab someone we see having a future with the team, not someone who's going to help us this year. So if he looks like a guy who could be best 22 down the track then we should still take him imo

The longer it goes the more I think NicNat has played his last game. I hope not but he probably had 10 games left over the next 2 years (in line with his contract terms) if he gets up so no much left in the tank.

If he is gone, then we could do with the list spot plus move his salary to the head of the nga named after him.

Over the next 2 years, our cap will be opened right up
Big $ reductions with-
Guv
Gaff
NicNat
Shuey
Hurn
Cripps
Darling (likely playing but much reduced coin)
Yeo

Only high $ players playing longer are Kelly, Barrass, Allen and Sheed

So I expect we are already in discussions with WA talent over east

Priority targets for me
  • Taylor
  • McDonald
  • Naughton
  • Pickett
  • English
  • Rivers
  • Warner
  • Granger-Barrass

I know we are not going to get them all but we should ensure their salaries are squeezing their clubs.

We need to get mean and prioritise FA, utilise our bottom finish to walk players through and disrupt the clubs struggling in cap space. It needs to be done without selling hard our draft picks while coping in a compromised couple of Tassie drafts

Time to pick off the expansion clubs

Here's the thing it's a 50/50. I was standing next to him late last year and would have thought he was 191-192. Also a lot of measurements particularly by clubs are taken with boots on.

If Oscar Allen had of been his 195/196 at the time of the draft he would have gone top 5 but he was 191 and it was seen as too short as we were supposedly entering an era of super talls being the norm.

Now with the 6,6,6 rules, an extra umpire on the field, the stand rule and straight play on from kick ins with the defender player being a further 5 metres back it's greatly shortened the grounds. So talls don't necessarily need to be as big as a lot were projecting (except for rucks as im certain the bounce is next to go and then height and athleticism will be ever more important in the centre) but the ability to time a lead, play with a high footy IQ, mark at your highest point combined with overall athleticism and the ability to finish is much more important than being say 200cm. In saying that * knows what the afl does with rules in the future.

I'm going to sit back pretty quietly for the next few weeks before doing a reassessment of talent with what i've seen from the different leagues and after the second academy game.

Mitch Edwards start to the year has been at a lower level than I expected but I had a chat to him today and he was almost 2 inches taller than when I last saw him last year. He was listed at either 204 or 205 then. Mind you when kids start getting to that height with a height difference of over 25cm it's hard to tell just how tall they are from a chat. He had a decent game today but his ruckwork was almost solely won on height. How to best describe his game, as though he's fitting into his body again if you know what i mean. Could genuinely hit the combine at 210 imo. Needs to get a bit more physical otherwise he will be frustrating as s**t and a long, slow burn like English before his ruckwork is even breaking even with most of the top level AFL rucks. At this stage I think he's going to be a big slider but would really hope to have that port second rounder falls inside 40 so we can pick him up.
Last I saw he was 207cm, probably still growing too. I'm a massive fan, as I think he's very good at ground level, tackling etc.

Do we even need it though? Cripps is done for the year, bad feeling Cole is as well.

Doesn’t feel like we’ll have any trouble finding a couple of guys to rule out for the year. Cripps, Cole, McGovern, Ryan, Naitanui…

Take two spots to the MSD, use the first pick as effectively a head start on the national draft (like we did last year with Culley) and the second pick on a more mature-age prospect.

Do we even need it though? Cripps is done for the year, bad feeling Cole is as well.

Yep, Cripps can go on the LTI list. Not sure on the value of taking a 2nd MSD pick (if we did it would have to be a younger speculative player you would think), but plenty of options to open up another spot if we need to without retiring a couple of guys who may play roles in the back end of this year.

Doesn’t feel like we’ll have any trouble finding a couple of guys to rule out for the year. Cripps, Cole, McGovern, Ryan, Naitanui…

Take two spots to the MSD, use the first pick as effectively a head start on the national draft (like we did last year with Culley) and the second pick on a more mature-age prospect.
Yep, agree completely on all counts.

Reckon we'll get pick 1 in Mid season draft, but then pick 2 in national draft. Like last year.
We're playing ok, just need a few injuries back.

I don’t see our player payments as much of a problem. Forking out in what is the final year or 2 of some of the veterans contracts and not affording to bring anyone in now effectively forces us to hit the draft and as the big dollar players drop off the list we’ll be ready to pull the trigger on a free agent or 2.

The only players on the list with a big payday on the horizon are Allen and Ryan.

We’ll be able to afford a big fish or 2 when we need them and with the flexibility of front loading deals we could wipe off large parts of big contracts in time for the Ginbeys, Culley’s and Hewetts of the world to get paid.

Reckon we'll get pick 1 in Mid season draft, but then pick 2 in national draft. Like last year.
We're playing ok, just need a few injuries back.
Who's winning the spoon? Hobart and Launceston won't win it, neither will Gold Coast.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk