List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

The closest thing I can come up with to a godfather offer. Would Melbourne give up this much? Are they that into Reid?

Melbourne gain: Pick 1, pick 54
Melbourne lose: Pick 5, pick 14, future first, pick 24, Grundy, McVee

Gold Coast gain: Pick 14, pick 24, pick 30 (2575 points)
Gold Coast lose: Pick 4 (2034 points)

Sydney gain: Grundy
Sydney lose: Pick 30

West Coast gain: Pick 4, pick 5, future first (MEL), McVee
West Coast lose: Pick 1, pick 54

Id prefer Sparrow as steak knives not McVee.

Astrix spread sheet showed how we are missing several years cohorts of mids and we need another 1 or 2 bigger inside mids. Sparrow isnt elite but he's a big boy who does his job.

4 and 5 could land the Dees Watson and Caddy / McKercher. Caddy wont solve problems straight away sure.

Do Melbourne even need Reid that badly?

Got Oliver and Petracca throwing the ball around to each other as it is.

I get they want the next gen power player to partner up with them, but surely not worth selling the farm over.

Dees want Harley to play forward and solve their half forward goal kicking issues and kicking into the F50 quality. A young Dusty who played alot forward.

Then in a couple of years Petracca plays less mid and more forward line. Harely moves into more midfield minutes. Nice combo.

Dees problems are kicking straight from good positions. Not getting it into the F50. Last nights loss showed that clearly.

Not sure it's the key forward that was the issue. They have Smith, Van Rooyan and Schache as well on there list.

Their entries were so bad last night.

I reckon they would be keen on another gun midfielder.
Their forward line is nowhere near as good as what Richmond was before Lynch or Geelong before Cameron, yet both those clubs went for another big forward.

To me it just seems the obvious area of improvement to get them to another GF and with pick 5 they have a chance to top up with an established player.

A better focal point up forward will create better entries as well.

Dees offer 5, 15 and future first (around pick 15-18) for Ben king from Gold Coast.

Gold Coast offer us 4, 5 and Melbournes pick (either 15 this year or next years first) for 1.

They get Harley Reid and Walters. We get potentially McKeercher and Curtin plus another late first.

The trouble is if north get 3 for McKay then probably end up missing out on one of mckeercher or Curtin.

Not saying I’d do the deal, but could be possible win win for all.

Something like that would have to make a Pieman's palm itchy.
I think we all would need to rethink pick 1.

It would most likely have us walk away with either Mckercher, and if were kissed on the dick Duursma too, with Murphy at 14

Worst case scenario Mckercher, Watson/Sanders, Tholstrup.

I’m not draft expert and have not analysed the order but walking away with either of those two scenarios is daylight and would have the board in all sorts of melts.

Not sure it's the key forward that was the issue. They have Smith, Van Rooyan and Schache as well on there list.

Their entries were so bad last night.

I reckon they would be keen on another gun midfielder.
With Petracca, Oliver, Viney and Brayshaw (all top 5 picks if it wasn’t for FS) just to start and after watching Melbourne’s last 2 finals, you honestly think they need another gun midfielder and not a forward target? The entries were rubbish because there was no one to kick to in a good position so they just threw it on the boot.

Ben King has agreed to a 2 year contract extension with GC - this was mentioned this week on the Tradies podcast (or maybe Gettable, can’t remember exactly)

Any Melbourne godfather offer would be heavily reliant on them outbidding WB for the pick 4. All the reports are the WB are desperate for it as well and have more to offer to get it.

Dees offer 5, 15 and future first (around pick 15-18) for Ben king from Gold Coast.

Gold Coast offer us 4, 5 and Melbournes pick (either 15 this year or next years first) for 1.

They get Harley Reid and Walters. We get potentially McKeercher and Curtin plus another late first.

The trouble is if north get 3 for McKay then probably end up missing out on one of mckeercher or Curtin.

Absolute agree you that Dees should ask about Ben King but on what planet does 4 and 5 become McKercher AND Curtin, especially when Roos have 2 and 3? We’ll be lucky to get McKercher OR Curtin and 15 ends up at 22. The only way we’d get those two is trading for 2 and 3 with North. This is what I’ve been saying, we need to look at what players we’d be drafting with these picks, not the number of the picks themselves. I also think Melb could do a lot worse than asking about a player like Jack Darling. Proven target who probably has a bit of good footy left in him with decent ball delivery and low cost pick/trade wise while JVR and Jefferson develop. Only sticking point would be salary.

That’s why I said if north get three you probably miss out on one of those two.

Try reading.

4 and 5 becomes 5 and 6 after Jed walter bid.

We all know pick 6 is a dud pick.

So it's really pick 1 for pick 5...

Just pick Reid.

Given all the info available now, & based on how they are tracking by approx quality:

Reid - Isaac Heeney
Walter - Max King
McKercher - Zach Merrett/ Zak Butters
Duursma - Jack Gunston
Sanders - Josh Kelly
Read - Josh Fraser
O'Sullivan - Darcy Moore

--Gap---
Caddy - Clive Waterhouse
Watson - Zac Bailey
Rogers - Prestia
Curtin - Grant Birchall
Reid had 8 clearances the other day. He’s an established mid. It’s only because he’s so bloody good up forward that people have this concern that he’s more a forward than a mid.

Feel like Melbourne are more likely to use pick 5 on an established tall fwd rather than trading away everything for Reid.

They will now be desperate to make something of this window given its 'only' got them one flag and 2 straight sets exits.

Richmond may consider letting Lynch go for 5 and he'll be happy to buy himself another premiership.

This works for all parties, except it’s unclear what happens with Lynch’s salary.

AFL has previous stated (Franklin) that FA salaries stay against the clubs TPP due to compensation being based on said contract.

Lynch is on over 1 million in 2024 on a back ended deal.

Tigers wouldn’t entertain that trade if it means they essentially still have his salary against their TPP while not even playing for the Tigers.

Van rooyen was suspended, Schache is rubbish and Smith is nowhere near good enough to lead the forwardline of a finals team.
Van Rooyan is pretty good. Right about Smith as leader. I was just saying they jave a few options already and there issues were more about entries.

Try presenting trade scenarios that you don’t then state there’s a problem with in the same paragraph. We’ll be lucky to get either of those at 4 or 5.
You’re fairly obtuse I see.

For starters I proposed a deal Melbourne could look at, and then we could swing in behind. But noted there were issues. There’s a fair chance that if north don’t get three (which is not locked in at this stage) that both those two are there at 4 and 5.

There’s been talk that North and Hawks like Dursma and Watson so not out of realms of possibility.

But even then
I’ll leave actual draft value of players to those who have read more than one article about the players

Ben King has agreed to a 2 year contract extension with GC - this was mentioned this week on the Tradies podcast (or maybe Gettable, can’t remember exactly)

Any Melbourne godfather offer would be heavily reliant on them outbidding WB for the pick 4. All the reports are the WB are desperate for it as well and have more to offer to get it.

This is because it is now becoming increasingly likely that a bid on Croft comes just before their first pick.

It shits me that McKay is going to net Norf pick 3 when they only spent pick 21 on the guy.
It's not like he's a superstar who would garner anything close to pick 3 in trade value.

There's many KPD's ahead of him tbh, Barrass included; yet Norf will get the warchest handed to them by Gill on the way out.