List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

Geelong's are garbage:). Richmond doesn't have a lot either. No surprises, considering how long those teams spent at the top of the ladder (like WCE did).

Teams at the start of their rebuilds always have poor young players, as they are rebuilding. They won't become rated until they take the next step and the team moves up the ladder. 2 seasons ago both Freo and Carlton looked pretty crap, but that has changed now their players have developed.

I remember when we won the spoon in 2010, a rival list manager was quoted in the media as describing our list as beige, with no one you would want to trade for. The team played in a prelim the next year.

In 2018, everyone thought we were cooked and would miss finals (me included). We won the flag.

The fun of the rebuild is that you never know where the next great talent will come from. In last year's draft alone - Hough and Bazzo look exciting. Culley also looks like he has a lot of potential.

Getting the next bunch of elite talent will be the key. Hopefully we start with one with pick 2 this year. We already have Oscar Allen to lead the forward line. Another bottom 4 finish next year or the next will hopefully get us another top mid. Maybe we will be lucky and trade a mid that goes to the next level (I've heard there's a WA bloke at Brissie that can't get games :)
Fair point on Geelong. Forgot about them.

I really rated Richmond’s draft crop last year. Basically did half a rebuild in one draft. If they get a key forward with their first pick this year, they’re one more draft and a quality young mid away from fast tracking the drafting part of their rebuild.

I agree with your post. And who knows what happens in the future in regards to trades, I just find it hard to believe you’ll be jumping back in to the 8 so quick.

This is my vibe on Ashcroft, and I could be way off base

To me, I feel that he is a kid that really wants to stay in Victoria.......but he just doesn't want to play for North Melbourne. Nor does he want to move interstate to the eagles, or to a much lesser degree, Brisbane

Which means he has been holding out a slight hope that a "bigger" Melbourne club like an Essendon or a Hawthorn might finish last. But given that now won't happen, he is left to decide if wants to stay home in Melbourne and be drafted to the rabble that is North, or move interstate to Brisbane, where getting games in their midfield from round 1 isn't necessarily a given

I think that because he hasn't nominated for Brisbane by now, he will likely stay put in Melbourne and try to forge his own path

Think Mark Murphy V2.0, who was in exactly the same position as he also could have gone to Brisbane as a father/son
They breed them soft in Victoria.

Brissy would be a great place to live for a few years.

I don’t mean to be disrespectful, but I struggle to think of another club with so few quality young players. Especially midfielders.

Maybe Adelaide and St Kilda.
I could make a strong argument for Port Adelaide, too, who have a strongish group in the 25-30 mark but not much underneath. Geelong was suggested below as well. We do have attractive options for recruits post footy; but I doubt it beats the beach house of Torquay to keep those A graders rolling in the door.

I don’t disagree with the sentiment, though. It’s been an issue staring us in the face for some time the rebuild would be needed- it’s just got to us sooner than all of us would have liked.

I would describe our youth prior to this year as being unexposed. We historically don’t like to gift games early, we make them earn it through WAFL level. But that under levels have been compromised and it has impacted our development to an extent. Our selection strategy also in 2020-21 was also to back in our underperforming senior side. I have no doubt that wasn’t helped with not being able to have a genuine seconds side to pick from.

However that is the exciting part about this next transition period. Yes, it genuinely sucks to lose week after week but we get to see our younger crew get their chances. And with that, is genuine excitement for next year and beyond. It can turn around if the club makes the right moves on and off field.

Ideally we would be hoping for less interruptions to our lineup this year. We had to use every fit footballer on our list this year, which I am sure the club didn’t have on the whiteboard when planning for this year.

I think the club has done relatively well in regards to drafting from 2016 through to last year (Venables of course being extremely unlucky and Brander being an exception). Last year, although early days, I believe we nailed the draft with our 5 picks plus the 1 mid season. Our mid season pick this year has made a promising start to his career also. If we can get top end talent through the door and welcome back some important players from injury, this rebuild can be fast tracked.

Here’s what I would do to replenish the list.

U23
Joyce (rk delist)
Petrucelle (trade)
Trew (rk delist)
BWilliams (trade)

24-28Yr
Langdon (delist)
Nelson (rfa)
Strnadica (rk delist)
Witherden (delist)

Veterans
Gaff (trade)
Kennedy (retire)
Sheppard (retire)

That should equate to 30 primary and 5 rookie listed players. I’d elevate West and Jones to the primary. Take at the very least 4 picks to the draft, taking into account the potential to trade in new players with the aim to have 38 primary listed players. There’s then room to add up to 3 rookies as needs based (delisted free agent etc.)

Just my 2c.

JK said it today Oscar Allen made him a better player because he didn't want him to take his place. You do need quality in the team even if it's for a few years.
I get that,but OAllen isnt playing and when he was he was back up ruck so its nice in theory but...
We need to phase out these older guys and lets face it shuey is the most injury prone other than yeo whose going to be around longer.
We still dont know if trew and Winder are even afl quality yet. If they are fit they should both be playing in the seniors so we have a better sense of where they are at come delisting time

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

He's not being disrespectful. He's just stating the obvious. I bet you wouldn't have batted an eyelid if he was an Eagles supporter.

I'll do my best to explain it to you in a way that you'll understand that also doesn't result in responding with 15 posts with about how you're right:

Let's say you're a cattle farmer tending to one of your bulls, now you know the bull isn't that fantastic, but you're making do with it for the time being until you can afford the prize bull sperm you'd like to purchase in the coming months. Then another farmer from a different shire is driving past and he pulls up on the side of the road and stops you in the middle of milking your bull and says to you "hey mate, no offence, but that bull is a piece of shit."

Now you know he's telling the truth, and that he's not trying to be mean, but it's still a disrespectful act so you tell him to **** off. But really, you and one if your farm hands have discussed it before and you know that it's true.

So, perhaps its possible to be honest and disrespectful at the same time - something to consider. There's a list management board where all and sundry can go to discuss recruitment etc, and though the Eagles board is 99% of the time very welcoming, it doesn't mean opposition supporters get a free hit. And to be fair to briztoon they seem constructive the majority of the time, but I think that particular post was a bit average.

Have a terrific day. 🙂

I'll do my best to explain it to you in a way that you'll understand that also doesn't result in responding with 15 posts with about how you're right:

Let's say you're a cattle farmer tending to one of your bulls, now you know the bull isn't that fantastic, but you're making do with it for the time being until you can afford the prize bull sperm you'd like to purchase in the coming months. Then another farmer from a different shire is driving past and he pulls up on the side of the road and stops you in the middle of milking your bull and says to you "hey mate, no offence, but that bull is a piece of s**t."

Now you know he's telling the truth, and that he's not trying to be mean, but it's still a disrespectful act so you tell him to * off. But really, you and one if your farm hands have discussed it before and you know that it's true.

So, perhaps its possible to be honest and disrespectful at the same time - something to consider. There's a list management board where all and sundry can go to discuss recruitment etc, and though the Eagles board is 99% of the time very welcoming, it doesn't mean opposition supporters get a free hit. And to be fair to briztoon they seem constructive the majority of the time, but I think that particular post was a bit average.

Have a terrific day. 🙂
I reckon you just harden up.

I don’t mean to be disrespectful, but I struggle to think of another club with so few quality young players. Especially midfielders.

Maybe Adelaide and St Kilda.
Its not always about the young players though. The reason we've often rebounded quickly is because we've always had a group of older quality players still at the club. The clubs that have taken forever to rebuild have usually started from a lower base and had to rely heavily on the draft.

Fair point on Geelong. Forgot about them.

I really rated Richmond’s draft crop last year. Basically did half a rebuild in one draft. If they get a key forward with their first pick this year, they’re one more draft and a quality young mid away from fast tracking the drafting part of their rebuild.

I agree with your post. And who knows what happens in the future in regards to trades, I just find it hard to believe you’ll be jumping back in to the 8 so quick.
One thing to remember is we haven't lost all of our senior players. Our ability to keep them on the park is shit, but we have the following who should be around for a few more seasons:

Defence:
Gov
Barrass
Cole
Duggan
Jones

Mids
Kelly
Yeo (his body may force him to HB)
Sheed
Gaff

Forwards
Rioli
Ryan
Darling
Allen

That is a reasonable core If they are ever fit and in form at the same time. The young guys can slot in and fill the rest of the roles. We would need a mature Ruck as Nic Nat could go at any moment (given age and injury history) and the midfield is lacking top end talent and depth (so we'd need some young guys to come on in a hurry or a trade to break out). KPP are solid other than the ruck and they are much harder to trade for or develop (compared to mids/flankers).

We've done this before though - that's how we rebounded so quickly in 2002 and 2010.

You make a good point about Richmond, nail one draft and we might be on our way.

Let's say you're a cattle farmer tending to one of your bulls, now you know the bull isn't that fantastic, but you're making do with it for the time being until you can afford the prize bull sperm you'd like to purchase in the coming months. Then another farmer from a different shire is driving past and he pulls up on the side of the road and stops you in the middle of milking your bull and says to you "hey mate, no offence, but that bull is a piece of s**t."

Now you know he's telling the truth, and that he's not trying to be mean, but it's still a disrespectful act so you tell him to * off. But really, you and one if your farm hands have discussed it before and you know that it's true.

Have a terrific day. 🙂
After all of your references to bulls and bull semen I think you should be expecting 30 posts from chumpy.

Have a terrific day. 🙂
Nice story but it doesn't account for the fact that Briztoon is a pretty regular poster around here, so most people should know by now that they come in peace.

It's only my opinion of the way this board should be run but if you have enough credits in the bank (wink) for people to know you aren't a troll opposition supporter then you should get the same leeway an Eagles supporter would. If you can't handle what someone is saying, even when you agree that they are right, then you're playing the man and like Chump says you need to harden up.

TBH I think our list is in much worse shape than it was in 2002 or 2010. I'm expecting a longer dip and while we have what looks to be a decent young spine by relative terms to other lists our KPP are all on the short side except for Williams and Edwards and both may not be quick enough to make it at AFL level.

We'll see but I expect our lowest point at the end of 2025 and to then start the climb from there. Will be a tough few years and lets just hope we absolutely nail our high end picks so we can contend again after that 2025 period otherwise it will be a double rebuild as if not good enough we'll have a secondary rebuilt when those senior players aren't up to scratch in 2028-2029.

This is our first year in the bottom 4, so I have no doubt out list is worse now than 2002 (two years bottom 4 where we picked up Kerr and Judd) and 2010 (3 years bottom 4 but kinda 4 years because while we did OK in 2007 our post season was of a bottom side. Lost out best two players and had good draft picks. Picked up JK, Nic Nat, Shuey, Gaff, McGovern, Shep, Darling etc in that time).

West would hardly dent the cap. Probably on a T-bone and a middy every week at the local. You always need a few players who cost FA so you have room to pay the big dogs. When they come.
Would you rather west who we know is not going to make it or draft a new rookie on the same money who may make it ?

TBH I think our list is in much worse shape than it was in 2002 or 2010. I'm expecting a longer dip and while we have what looks to be a decent young spine by relative terms to other lists our KPP are all on the short side except for Williams and Edwards and both may not be quick enough to make it at AFL level.

We'll see but I expect our lowest point at the end of 2025 and to then start the climb from there. Will be a tough few years and lets just hope we absolutely nail our high end picks so we can contend again after that 2025 period otherwise it will be a double rebuild as if not good enough we'll have a secondary rebuilt when those senior players aren't up to scratch in 2028-2029.

I think its hard to judge the entire list as we are always injured

The biggest issue for me is the strength/medical/conditioning staff and the amount of injuries we have

Yeo arguably our best player has basically been injured for 2 years...shuey cripps sheed allen chesser cole etc the list goes on

We need to get people onto the field....doesn't matter what picks you get what's the point if they are sitting on the side lines in rehab

Get our medical/team/conditioning staff right and we will improve

I could make a strong argument for Port Adelaide, too, who have a strongish group in the 25-30 mark but not much underneath. Geelong was suggested below as well. We do have attractive options for recruits post footy; but I doubt it beats the beach house of Torquay to keep those A graders rolling in the door.

I don’t disagree with the sentiment, though. It’s been an issue staring us in the face for some time the rebuild would be needed- it’s just got to us sooner than all of us would have liked.

I would describe our youth prior to this year as being unexposed. We historically don’t like to gift games early, we make them earn it through WAFL level. But that under levels have been compromised and it has impacted our development to an extent. Our selection strategy also in 2020-21 was also to back in our underperforming senior side. I have no doubt that wasn’t helped with not being able to have a genuine seconds side to pick from.

However that is the exciting part about this next transition period. Yes, it genuinely sucks to lose week after week but we get to see our younger crew get their chances. And with that, is genuine excitement for next year and beyond. It can turn around if the club makes the right moves on and off field.

Ideally we would be hoping for less interruptions to our lineup this year. We had to use every fit footballer on our list this year, which I am sure the club didn’t have on the whiteboard when planning for this year.
I rate Ports recent drafts, 2018-2021. They’ve drafted a lot of talented kids, but a lot play forward flank and back flank. But they do lack in young mids.

I believe a function of that is where they have drafted, as often all the quality mids and KPP’s are already off the board.

Would you rather west who we know is not going to make it or draft a new rookie on the same money who may make it ?
Just to be clear: I don't think he is AFL standard. Ditto Langdon, Edwards, and Nelson.

BUT

• Every single list at every single second in the history of the game has spuds
  • If we dump West (and I don't care either way), we're replacing him with a late pick
  • You always have to have players on your list who cost not much so you can pay your stars (doesn't have to be West though)
  • How many players do we want to dump?

So sure, I'd love to replace him with "someone we know who will make it", but it doesn't work like that. How many players are we going to dump?

Joyce? Nelson? Naish? Dixon? Winder?

Add Sheppard and JK.

He's got some junkyard dog about him but not much else. When his time comes to get replaced, he'll be delisted. Maybe, this year, maybe next. I'd be surprised if lasts much longer.

Well thats just luck isnt it. Swings and roundabouts.

And not sure what your definition of free is but those father sons will still cost the Lions some serious draft capital.
+ academy kids (potentially).

What I meant by free hits, was getting access to draftees, father sons or academy kids, that are of higher quality compared to where our natural picks would probably fall.

Have a terrific day. 🙂
I like it, particularly because cattle AI and rapid genetic improvement, has been a business on both sides of my family.