Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - Stage 4 Restrictions in Place in Vic - Part 3

This is part Three.

Part One can be found here -

Part Two can be found here -

Part 4 can be found here:

Australian stats page:

Last edited by a moderator:
Teams have been playing in Perth, despite the need to quarantine. So want you really want is ALL games to be played on Perth? It could have happened, blame your premier. Victorian fans couldn't give a toss where their team play this year - makes no difference when our only option is to watch on tv.

AFL’s inability to quantify the risk and rewards has nothing to do with any state Governments response.

Irrespective of if WC and Fremantle are playing in Perth the AFL should be playing games out of Optus until round 18.

I recall it being heavily inferred that both WA clubs would be rewarded when going into hubs at a time when others weren’t with an even run at home later in the season; there’s money to be made in an additional home game or two for WC and Freo playing at home. But here we are, both clubs playing a second set of five games in Queensland, adding to heavy traffic on a deteriorating Gabba and Metricon.

The AFL industry seems pissy at WA because the government wouldn’t afford them the special treatment they think they deserve. They are constantly lauding Queensland as selfless saviours, ignoring that they have been well recompensed.

If you don’t think the AFL could be petty enough to try and swing its dick at the WA government, I’d suggest you haven’t been paying attention.

I recall it being heavily inferred that both WA clubs would be rewarded when going into hubs at a time when others weren’t with an even run at home later in the season; there’s money to be made in an additional home game or two for WC and Freo playing at home. But here we are, both clubs playing a second set of five games in Queensland, adding to heavy traffic on a deteriorating Gabba and Metricon.

The AFL industry seems pissy at WA because the government wouldn’t afford them the special treatment they think they deserve. They are constantly lauding Queensland as selfless saviours, ignoring that they have been well recompensed.

If you don’t think the AFL could be petty enough to try and swing its dick at the WA government, I’d suggest you haven’t been paying attention.

Not the thread for your insecure WA persecution complex, this thread is about the virus not #waaavicbias

AFL’s inability to quantify the risk and rewards has nothing to do with any state Governments response.

Irrespective of if WC and Fremantle are playing in Perth the AFL should be playing games out of Optus until round 18.

This is true but then you start to realise that the dislike for WA and WA footy is very real.

Nice attempt to put words in my mouth.

my argument is that if money is the great god we all bow to - the season would have been held in wa/ sa

but clearly money isnt the be all and end all is it?

Our premier relaxed the rules so vic teams can play vic teams while they quarantine - 2 weeks after arriving they and their families would have been enjoying the complete freedoms we here are enjoying rather than being locked up.

Quarantine is ridiculous for AFL, who have been self quarantined and tested to the shithouse all along. Especially in Queensland their regulations are way stricter than the general population.

If a team went to W.A., they are not going socialising in north bridge either. The AFL are in a bubble.

Your premier is therefore a flog, blame him if you wanted more footy.
Like the "plague ship" he big noted himself over. The last cruise ship to dock after the covid outbreak. the one with no covid.

Big tough premier.

Bad luck about the footy for you.

Quarantine is ridiculous for AFL, who have been self quarantined and tested to the shithouse all along. Especially in Queensland their regulations are way stricter than the general population.

If a team went to W.A., they are not going socialising in north bridge either. The AFL are in a bubble.

Your premier is therefore a flog, blame him if you wanted more footy.
Like the "plague ship" he big noted himself over. The last cruise ship to dock after the covid outbreak. the one with no covid.

Big tough premier.

Bad luck about the footy for you.
When the hubs started - none of that was the case...

When you look at it from the jaundiced perspective of the AFLHQ, everything says GF at the Gabba.

One issue which I'm sure is in the back of their mind is just this: long term, it's preferable that a GF outside of Victoria be a tepid affair in a broken down stadium with 15k people in it because it allows them to keep pretending 'there's nothing quite like the MCG.'

If the GF is held in Perth or Adelaide, it will go off. It will be a major sporting event in a football mad state in a shiny new stadium most likely packed full of spectators. And most likely it will involve Port or West Coast obliterating a team which has had to, horror of horrors, travel to play in a GF.

In every respect it will be a 'proper' gf which will raise uncomfortable questions about why it is in the MCG each year.

So far better for everyone in victoria that it be at the Gabba and suck ass.

When you look at it from the jaundiced perspective of the AFLHQ, everything says GF at the Gabba.

One issue which I'm sure is in the back of their mind is just this: long term, it's preferable that a GF outside of Victoria be a tepid affair in a broken down stadium with 15k people in it because it allows them to keep pretending 'there's nothing quite like the MCG.'

If the GF is held in Perth or Adelaide, it will go off. It will be a major sporting event in a football mad state in a shiny new stadium most likely packed full of spectators. And most likely it will involve Port or West Coast obliterating a team which has had to, horror of horrors, travel to play in a GF.

In every respect it will be a 'proper' gf which will raise uncomfortable questions about why it is in the MCG each year.

So

much

this

I recall it being heavily inferred that both WA clubs would be rewarded when going into hubs at a time when others weren’t with an even run at home later in the season.
Both West Coast and Fremantle have been rewarded. 7 games at their home ground against interstate opposition. Only Bris and GC will be better off when it comes to home ground advantage this year.

279. Numbers have pretty much flatlined since the start of the week. Really hope stage 4 has a big impact on numbers.

It's proof that the restrictions are working. No one ever expected it to get to 0 that quickly but compared to the same time last week the numbers are good.

It's a little worry if numbers don't come down quickly. Stage 4 is pretty tiresome - even when you know its for the best. And you can get away with a lot because there just aren't enough police to police it. So the longer it takes, the less compliance there will be. Numbers need to get down to a rate where tracers can keep up before that happens, and preferably to 0.

The restrictions work until you lift them..then what? Everyone was out and about yesterday, October will resemble May and June when everyone went nuts packing shopping centres as soon as they could. Dan Andrews said today 0 is out of the question.

If you’re not at 0 you need to remain super vigilant for every case to make sure you know exactly where the virus is, and not fall two weeks behind it like we did. Given the understanding is the outbreak was triggered by hotel quarantine guards getting it then spreading it at household events, I think household visitors will remain severely limited and biosecurity at hotel quarantine will be much more stringent. So far it appears NSW have managed to keep control despite having the virus in the public to some degree. The good news for Victoria is it we still have at least a month before even thinking of easing restrictions, so by that point there will be much better clarity on the effectiveness of NSW’s controls.

NSW has had numbers bubbling around the 10-20 a day for a few weeks now. 5 today. Potential clusters in Queensland and SA looked to have been crushed (touch wood).

I think low numbers are possible with relaxed restrictions as long as there is an aggressive test and trace regime and reasonable compliance with existing rules.

The protestors return, extinction rebellion will be back with the full backing of Adam bandt,

What’s someone who knows about this kind of thing’ understanding of player covid restrictions? Wife taking youngest to his game this morning & sees a reasonably high profile crow who’s not playing today in the car park of the school where the games are held. Should they not be isolating from the general public? Wasn’t that the function of hubs?

NSW has had numbers bubbling around the 10-20 a day for a few weeks now. 5 today. Potential clusters in Queensland and SA looked to have been crushed (touch wood).

I think low numbers are possible with relaxed restrictions as long as there is an aggressive test and trace regime and reasonable compliance with existing rules.

NSW are doing well but they also had a stretch of about 3 weeks with 0 community transmission, every case they had was from overseas until we imported it in. Feel like Victoria has always been playing catch-up and we will always have some sort of community transmission. You only need to look at the mystery cases comparison.

It'll be a Richmond v Geelong GF so you need to calm the **** down mate.