Cousins sacked.

Re: Ben Cousins Sacked!

No surprise to me, after all Cousins' dismissal from the Eagles was on the cards since last year. Josh Kennedy must be wondering what has he got himself into since arriving from Carlton. And Chris Judd must have been very relieved to leave West Coast. It will take the Eagles many years to sort out the mess Ben Cousins have created. I reckon Fremantle would've been laughing their heads off by now about the latest drama involving the Eagles. I wonder what one D.Cometti thinks about all this?

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/s...006301,00.html

BEN Cousins was tonight sacked by the West Coast Eagles.

A spokesman for the club board said a special meeting had been convened which had decided to terminate his contract.

Cousins had controvened a set of conditions which had been placed on him after his return from a U.S. drug rehabilitation clinic three months ago.

The board has determined that it would not 'abandon' Cousins and would continue to support him in the struggle with his condition.

The club said it was left with "saddness, empathy and concern" for Cousins' rehabilitation.

"Ben has been a great champion and servant of West Coast. We accept our duty of care to ensure he gets the best possible support and medical assistance.

"Our final concerns centre around Ben Cousins, his family and friends. That will remain our number one priority".

Earlier today, the Eagles were rocked by another drugs scandal when a passenger in a car driven by former West Coast Eagles AFL player Daniel Chick was charged with possessing cocaine and cannabis.

Chick's car was yesterday pulled over in the inner Perth suburb of Northbridge at the same time a separate vehicle driven by Cousins was stopped nearby.

Cousins yesterday was charged with drug possession and failing to take a blood test and will face court in Perth tomorrow.

It's believed senior Eagles officials and people close to Cousins have been concerned for the Brownlow Medallist in recent days - following the recent death of his good friend and former teammate Chris Mainwaring.

West Coast's decision to end Cousins' career could stave off any AFL punishment to the club, which was threatened with loss of draft picks or premiership points if Cousins, or any Eagle, was found to be involved in drugs again.

It's extremely unlikely another AFL club would draft Cousins, while the AFL would almost certainly deregister him in light of this year's events.

Howard weighs in

Meanwhile, Prime Minister John Howard has weighed into the Cousins scandal, warning that the AFL must take a tough line on drugs.

He also described the latest strife to hit Cousins as a tragedy for a great athlete.

"But I hope that the AFL is as tough as needs be in relation to the culture and attitude within the sport that brought it about," he said this afternoon.

The Government has been critical of the AFL's controversial three strikes illicit drugs policy – endorsing a zero tolerance approach to illegal drugs in all sports.

Mr Howard said he felt sorry for the star footballer's family and he hoped the player was able to get a grip on his problem.

"I think it is a personal tragedy for a very talented young man," Mr Howard said.

Others were less sympathetic, however, with former coaches and players warning Cousins had damaged his club and probably destroyed his career.

Former Eagles coaches Ken Judge and John Todd and ex-player Karl Langdon savaged Cousins today, saying the club needed to move on the wayward star.

"Quite probably his career is over at West Coast Eagles," Judge said this morning.

"It would be very sad if that's the way it happens and I don't think the club will have any choice but to terminate his contract. You can't continue to brush things under the carpet," he said.

"At some stage or the other you've got to accept that there are some issues and problems that perhaps haven't been addressed correctly in the past."

Former Eagle and premiership player Karl Langdon said the club had no option but to sack the talented midfielder if the allegations were proven.

"He's been given too many chances," Langdon said today.

Langdon said it was unlikely another AFL club would take on the troubled star.

And he said it was unfair to blame the Eagles for Cousins' woes.

"Individuals like Ben Cousins are old enough to know better," Langdon said.

"Unfortunately he's been influenced and the choices that he's made have been the wrong ones."

But Todd said the club also carried a burden of responsibility for rushing Cousins back to football and should face consequences from the AFL.

"They've put the individual ahead of the club and the club are paying the price because of it," Todd said.

"I honestly believe they've got to pay the price for making a mistake. And the AFL have certainly got to take some responsibility," he said.

"If you put rules in place, you've got to abide by them. I've always been very strict on discipline, and if players overstep the mark, they know exactly where they stand, they pay the price."

Todd also blasted the AFL's "weak" three strikes rule on drugs.

"I honestly believe that the players who get the amount of money they're getting - one strike and out.

"If you put rules in front of players they understand the circumstances and the consequences, but to have three strikes and then you're to be looked at, I think that's got to be tightened up.

"(But) to really say that the Eagles have got a culture problem, that's unfair because not all players should be tarred with the same brush.

"He probably has overstepped the mark with the Eagles and the Eagles cannot keep on supporting him where the culture's come back to haunt them."

But it was only Viagra!

:rolleyes:

No way that it not the point. The main charge is his failure to undergo a drug driving impairment test. The same really as refusing a drink driving test.

The only reason why on earth you would refuse a drug test is pretty darn obvious don't you think.

Pretty quick after the death of mainwarring to ask for a drug test, gee why wouldn't he allow one this time??? Do the math.

Nine news tonight said they thought the drug was Diazapam (which he had no prescription for). If this was the case it would seem a lot of people have jumped the gun. Diazapam is hardly cocaine etc. :eek:

Already delisted for 'Salary Cap pressures' I think.

If you believe that a Club that just traded it's most expensive player would have salary cap problems that is.

nah wasn't salary cap problems it was giving "the more deserving young talented players who had to take a back seat as daniel chick to their spot" "they have waited a long time, and it's only fair to them, Chick isn't getting any younger"

Good night Benny.

js16cousins04_gallery__470x296.jpg

Nine news tonight said they thought the drug was Diazapam (which he had no prescription for). If this was the case it would seem a lot of people have jumped the gun. Diazapam is hardly cocaine etc. :eek:

Why have non-prescription downers. What are you using it for, coming down off other stuff??

Sheller's right. Have some bloody sympathy people!

Teams aside, one of the greatest footballers to play in the modern game has ruined his own life. He's fallen into a trap and lost his longtime girlfriend, his reputation, his friends, one of the only people who were there for him (Mainy), and now his job and his club. I think most of us feel if Ben could control his behaviour, he would.

Have some compassion people! Put yourself in Ben's shoes! Yes, he's had warnings and chances, he's a role model etc etc etc. Yes, he has no one to blame for himself - and that's bloody sad!

No excuses now, but where would Ben be today if:

1. The media got off his back earlier? They've been on his back like Princess Diana back in 97!
2. If the public didn't judge him so harshly - if the public showed compassion and support.
3. If one of his closest friends Chris Mainwaing was there to talk to him.

I'm not sticking up for Ben, I just question some people's levels of maturity when they condemn a sportman for taking drugs the way they would a murderer (Cos that's how some of you are carrying on!)

Try to focus your 'negative energy' on talking about how this might actually save lives and teach kids and / or current users that this is not the path to follow.

I'll respond to the smartarses who want to make more of a joke out of this, by saying have a damn good look in the mirror before you go putting down a man who inspired thousands of eagles supporters and football fans in general across Australia, because NOBODY is perfect.

Put any of us in the shoes who makes, including marketing, probably a Million dollars a year to play footy with his mates..... part of his contract is to stay clean morally, criminally, ethically and to represnt his teammates, club and sponsors in a very professional way.... Not a hard thing to ask to get $1,000,000 a year....... Geez mate he is not an ordinary person like you and me because he is paid not to be ordinary. He took the money mate.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/articles/2007/10/16/1192300767731.html

MARCH 2002■Ben Cousins and Michael Gardiner, who socialise with convicted heroin trafficker John Kizon, are cleared in a club inquiry after claims they had been caught in a police sting allegedly ordering cocaine.

MAY 2005■Cousins and Gardiner refuse to answer police questions about a phone call to a bikie after a Perth nightclub shooting.

People may have differing levels of sympathy for individuals with drug problems, but Cousins' choices off the field as well as his arrogant & narcissistic personality does nothing to engender sympathy for Ben Cousins from me.

Cousins sacked.