Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

O’Connell would get murdered by Cameron. Doesn’t have the defensive skill needed to play on a superstar like Jezza.
What is happening with McLennnan?
Is he going to make it?

McCartin over Petracca is getting a run again. Pretty disappointed nobody has mentioned Billings over Bont.

Really everyone knows we should have taken Petracca, our drafting has been fine since 2018, but you are right, mentioning Ben Long as something like our saviour.
Remember when Josh Bruce kicked 10 for the Bulldogs? Gee I wish we had him back :D :D :D :D

Josh Bruce probably would have been good to guide King. He’s injury prone and looks psychologically weighed down. Perhaps being able to slowly build up would have been better. Jones was hardly a great piece of the puzzle. We traded out heaps to get picks and burnt them or overpaid for equivalent level players. List management and drafting was abysmal. We are better post Libba and Trout at least.

Henry and Owens would be for most (Owens certainly 2 years ago maybe not last year).

Both are still getting games on potential though. Neither are consistent yet. We need them both to get to a level where they would be first picked in a top 8 side on output.

Reality is we never win there. We have about seven first team guys out and they are injury free. There's pretty clear reasons why we lost but if that form becomes a trend then it could be a long season as every team will fancy themselves against us.

The worrying thing for me is there's no quick fix for the midfield or the backline, so those players are just going to have to play better.

A heap of guys like Jones and Clark are taking the piss. Get contract extensions and go half arsed again. I’d tell them both that they’ve played their last senior games until they raise their standards. Make them earn their spot back off a kid.

They both seemed to be underdone. I feel like in the past we've refused to play guys early that are underdone but we must just be that stretched that we have to. Marshall the other. Hopefully they've found their feet now because we can't afford to carry any senior players.

On the weekend effort, I totally agree on Jones.
I would cut Clark some slack though, subbed in after the game totally shot and we were getting absolutely mauled in the mids.
Don't know if it was him per se or a better balance but we evened up the clearances a bit when he came on and stopped them just walking it out of the middle. Wasn't impressive but not totally invisible like Jones.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Who the hell decided to play Clark as a sub, he was never a burst player.
I'd have started with him and taken him off if he spudded it up.
Jones played way worse though.

I think if anyone know where the club was at under ratts and what has been said, this is exactly why we go Ross back. It’s a full rebuild but the club knows we can’t say it publicly

That’s not what the president has been saying though. If we drop to bottom 4 it’s a disaster for him. He staked his reputation on challenging from now on. Pushing it out another 5 to 10 years just can’t be acceptable. He can’t help injury but if we are fully bottoming out he probably needs to go just to save face.

We are actually usually very good against the Cats at Marvel, but that was with a really well-organised defence and we would counter punch them. What we saw on the weekend it's hard to imagine restricting their scoring.

Bloody hell Baily Smith was good when he got on the gear did a pre-season with Geelong.

No mate, the problem is supporters like you think there’s a magic wand that can undo the mistakes of Richo, Watters, and Ratten.

You want to win a flag, or you want to do what we’ve done and be a middling mediocre side for the next decade?

Eat the ****ing lemon and shut up. It’s a narrow minded rhetoric to demand success now without considering all of the factors at play.

If it takes us an extra three years of being shit to then bounce and stay up not a single person on here will complain.

The decision makers and administrators employed staff not the coaches. They have failed in their roles and have to be held to account like anyone in any organisation. We probably need a full spill of the board if this is start again time. We probably can’t hold the good young players we do have and most of our best players will be retired in 4 years. We are starting way back in the pack and missed an opportunity to clean up last year. They chose again to cut the fat. If they stuffed up list management get better list managers.

Who the hell decided to play Clark as a sub, he was never a burst player.
I'd have started with him and taken him off if he spudded it up.
Jones played way worse though.
I don’t mind Clark as sub. He only plays 70% of gametime anyway, so if you start him on the field and someone else gets subbed off, it’s basically the same as him being subbed off.

At least when he comes on for the last quarter, he should be able to keep up

Both are still getting games on potential though. Neither are consistent yet. We need them both to get to a level where they would be first picked in a top 8 side on output.
When Henry is fit he's usually one of the most dynamic players on the field no matter who we're playing

He'd be a lock in Port Adelaide (replace Richards), Sydney (replace Hanily/Corey Warner), Hawthorn (replace Maginness), and Bulldogs (replace McNeil/Gallagher) off the top of my head imo

The decision makers and administrators employed staff not the coaches. They have failed in their roles and have to be held to account like anyone in any organisation. We probably need a full spill of the board if this is start again time. We probably can’t hold the good young players we do have and most of our best players will be retired in 4 years. We are starting way back in the pack and missed an opportunity to clean up last year. They chose again to cut the fat. If they stuffed up list management get better list managers.
I’ve said it a million times but the board should have been spilled when they sacked Ratten. I agree with sacking him, but their incompetence shouldn’t be forgotten.

If Ross is sacked, the board has to go with him. They’ve been useless for years and years, how they escape scrutiny is beyond me.

O’Connell would get murdered by Cameron. Doesn’t have the defensive skill needed to play on a superstar like Jezza.
Yeah look no matter how we put it I think there's always gonna be massive discrepancies between the individual talent of either side. All we can do is put out a structure that is consistent with the brand of football we play and try to plug holes with our kids

Very grim

Yeah totally, that’s my point. Our old guys are mediocre, our mid exp guys are where good teams get improvement and performance from. While most of ours are injured we won’t be going far.

Our best players are Wilkie, Marshall, Macrae, Sinclair. None are mediocre, but all are in the final stages of the careers though. Our next best are probably NAS and then Phillipou and Wilson who are huge potential rather than fully formed. Our bedrock players like Webster, Wood, Howard, Butler are old and don’t have ready made replacements. If we can’t challenge while they are around still, things could get dire.
King, Snags and maybe Henry are our only guys from that mid career bracket that look like they’re going to be high level. Compare that to the Crows and Hawks and you see the issues.

When Henry is fit he's usually one of the most dynamic players on the field no matter who we're playing

He'd be a lock in Port Adelaide (replace Richards), Sydney (replace Hanily/Corey Warner), Hawthorn (replace Maginness), and Bulldogs (replace McNeil/Gallagher) off the top of my head imo

McNeil looked alright the other night. 2 really important goals when the game tightened up. Henry has A grade potential but has to even out quiet games and patches. He’s the right age to lift but hopefully injury hasn’t limited his future

Don’t you start, I’ve been agreeing with Stav lately you don’t want both of us against you

Alright gonna have my say. Was at the game yesterday and picked up a few positives that might cheer up a few Monday blues.

1. No second year blues for Wilson. Can hold his head high. Would like to see him have more CBA’s.
  2. Hall is an AFL player. Definitely something to work with, gives us a different look small forward.
  3. Mason looked decent up forward. Would move him permanent forward and bring another wingman in travaglia/boxshall in.
  4. Macrae will contribute nicely each week. Keen to see him with matteas.
  5. I’ve been a big knocker and windhager but actually thought he showed he can play at the level and his ball winning ability is really good. Give him more of a go inside.

Biggest let down, not one player came and thanked the travelling away fans. Hate this aspect in footy. I know I’ve come in late here so understand most topics have been broached but reach out if you have any thoughts

They were both clearly playing at like 80%. Just think Ross wanted some experience.

Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Write your reply...