Adelaide Crows
[39] Tom Doedee, [28] Nick Murray, [16] Max Michalanney
[33] Brodie Smith, [41] Jordon Butts, [20] Mitchell Hinge
[14] Jake Soligo, [12] Jordan Dawson, [38] Lachlan Sholl
[22] Izak Rankine, [1] Chayce Jones, [10] Luke Pedlar
[13] Taylor Walker, [32] Darcy Fogarty, [4] Lachlan Murphy
[43] Reilly O'Brien, [29] Rory Laird, [2] Ben Keays
IC: [8] Josh Rachele, [7] Riley Thilthorpe, [9] Rory Sloane, [30] Wayne Milera
EMG: [15] Brayden Cook, [26] Harry Schoenberg, [5] Matt Crouch, [34] Elliott Himmelberg

v

[3] Isaac Quaynor, [30] Darcy Moore, [4] Brayden Maynard
[32] Will Hoskin-Elliott, [28] Nathan Murphy, [25] Jack Crisp
[9] John Noble, [2] Jordan De Goey, [7] Josh Daicos
[23] Bobby Hill, [41] Brody Mihocek, [5] Jamie Elliott
[31] Beau McCreery, [40] Ash Johnson, [15] Nathan Kreuger
[17] Billy Frampton, [13] Taylor Adams, [35] Nick Daicos
IC: [6] Tom Mitchell, [22] Steele Sidebottom, [33] Jack Ginnivan, [37] Oleg Markov
EMG: [18] Finlay Macrae, [20] Will Kelly, [21] Trey Ruscoe, [36] Harvey Harrison

Pies are favourites, and deserve to be, despite having Pendelbury out and Sidebottom under a flu cloud. They're an amazing team with Daicos absolutely tearing up the competition and De Goey, Crisp, Adams, Sidebottom making up a pretty great supporting cast. But their injuries are many, and their worst players are worse than the Crows right now.

Schrödinger's Laird will either play or not play, and if not, the debate around who to replace him with settles into ~3 camps:
  1. Crouch - probably reliable for 30 possesions, but minimal hurt factor and defensively questionable. The old reliable answer. The way the Crows would normaly select, historically
  2. Schoenberg - 😬😬😬😬 A lot of folks reckon Ol' Fumbles can still improve and have a decent AFL career and should be given a chance. He was the best of a bad lot in the SANFL
  3. Neither, shuffle around centre time e.g., more Sloane & Soligo, and bring in a newbie like Cook
Personally, I fell into camp (1) by default, but then remembered myself when other posters said (1) was an absolute waste of games. They're right. I would like camp (3) as I don't rate Schoenberg.

I don't think we beat the Pies today, but we could.

P.S. Dear Footy Gods, I would like you to note the respectful and somber nature of the Game Day thread and thread title today, and if it's worth a few goals, that'd be great 👍
I reckon Fumbles can play but there seems to be a personality clash between him and Nicksy reading his body language at end of quarter huddles. The fella is there but he isn't listening.

Collingwood should be ripe for the picking, they are far from their best 22 with Pendles, Cameron, Cox, Howe, McStay and Lipinski all out….. most of these players are really important to their structure

Not to mention they are travelling on the back if. 5 day break

We need to take advantage of these factors

Crows by 20pts

a single 5 day break statistically has no impact, but a second short turnaround has a severe limiting influence.

The longer they are, the closer they are to being broken.

Also, man who have tool in hand, not necessarily a mechanic

no they're not. Once the win(s) are banked, the likelihood of it being broken is purely the odds of that happening in the next game, the occurred events have zero influence. Did they stop doing probability in year 10 maths or something?

First game I've managed to get to all year. Prepare to get jinxed!

938472d769bd0fc932561d70129b7438.gif

it's meaningless, the only thing that matters is how many games you've won come the end of the minor round. It's a fair comment that as the season progresses, the ladder becomes more reflective of how it will look come the end of the minor round. But giving a fig at round 7 is rank stupidity. Especially when they're looking at possible outcomes based upon other games and other ladder positions. It's daft.
Like in an earlier post, most of the teams in the top 8 now will play finals. It's meaningful as a guide to how the club is travelling. If you aren't in the top 8 now, there's areas that need addressing asap.

Do you guys think Keays has the skill set/fitness/experience to tag Daicos out of the game?
Skill, no. Fitness and experience, yes.
Another poster suggested that Murphy might go to Daicos as a hard tag (but i gotta say, it would surprise me because I doubt Murphy has the tank).
It's cold'n'cloudy here and we've had morning showers.
Might rain again later in arvo and I think those conditions might negate Daicos' brilliance slightly, m-a-y-b-e enough even for Nicks to not tag him at all.

Do you guys think Keays has the skill set/fitness/experience to tag Daicos out of the game?
Fitness & application no issues imo, my big question is whether the coaches will ultimately say go put a hard tag on him all match or just more or less say play on him, try make him accountable but not at the expense of our own systems.

The fact that Collingwood has the best record at Adelaide Oval of any interstate team makes me pretty nervous.

Reckon Collingwood's class is just a little too good and they know how to fight off pressure. A 20 point victory for Collingwood is likely

Exactly. The last 6 lossses to Collingwood have no bearing on this game, except maybe mentally on players who played in them.
If anything, those 6 losses should add fuel to the fire, not diminish it.
Long losing sequences are often broken.
Probably more the mental fragility of the supporter base I'd say.
The team goes in with a plan and some confidence.

The fact that Collingwood has the best record at Adelaide Oval of any interstate team makes me pretty nervous.

Reckon Collingwood's class is just a little too good and they know how to fight off pressure. A 20 point victory for Collingwood is likely
The thing with Collingwood is you pretty much know they show up every match & that you'll have to also show up to beat them, there won't likely be any easy win. Crows have been pretty good with effort & intensity this year but because of recent years I think as supporters we still expect to just throw in some stinkers. I do think we can get the job done today, lets hope we rock up & our mids get their hands on the ball enough.

Should be approaching this next stretch of games like a mini finals series.

Coaches box is the mismatch for mine. Can Nix and co. bring a strategy that see them in front at the line?
Fingers are crossed.
Maybe need bring out the one wood midway through the 3rd Qtr.

Run and carry at the Pies defense and then attack the teeth of goal is what Brisbane did to dismantle the Pies in R4.

Hope it's a cracker that gets the pulse racing and us with the 4pts at the end.
G/L Crows.

no they're not. Once the win(s) are banked, the likelihood of it being broken is purely the odds of that happening in the next game, the occurred events have zero influence. Did they stop doing probability in year 10 maths or something?
Mathematically that’s correct, but there can be an unmeasurable complacency factor during long winning streaks which muddies the water

Game Day Crows vs Pies in Adelaide, R7 2023