D2 Section 2010

David has had ample opportunity to play for more money and he has never gone down that road. He left to play for Bullants to play at a higher level of footy and knocked back far bigger offers. Even while at Bullants he continued to play for our club when he could. His loyalty and quality of character could never be questioned.

How, in an ammo competition, is a paid player from another league allowed to play when ever he can? Doesn't that make the stat decs a joke or is there special allowances given? I understand that the bloke wants to play with his mates etc but its either one or the other! Ca$h or mates!

You clearly have no idea of the system. David, like many others, plays in the VFL. When they have a bye he can be cleared to play for his registered second club which is the OP's. This may happen once a season at best. We also have a couple of young players who play in the reserves for VFL sides that when they don't get a game play with us.

This is the case in every grade of ammo's with most clubs in the same park.

It's not like they are playing another local league and coming across during the season, it is designed so that players who aren't getting a regular VFL game have somewhere else to play to keep match fit. Boundy plays maybe once a season in the interests of helping out his old club.

You clearly have no idea of the system. David, like many others, plays in the VFL. When they have a bye he can be cleared to play for his registered second club which is the OP's. This may happen once a season at best. We also have a couple of young players who play in the reserves for VFL sides that when they don't get a game play with us.

It's not like they are playing another local league and coming across during the season, it is designed so that players who aren't getting a regular VFL game have somewhere else to play to keep match fit. Boundy plays maybe once a season in the interests of helping out his old club.

The system is wrong then, how can one week someone be a professional paid player and the next snaging 10 goals in the 'amatuers' then meaning of ammuters is ment to be - 100 % unpaid players as non professionals, not one week gets paid bucket loads of cash and the next in d2 its rubbish...

If u chose to play VFL and cant get a game then stiff but u shouldnt be able to come into the ammo's... and if ur getting a game and its a bye thats even worse......

Its clearly not an amatuer league at times.

The system is wrong then, how can one week someone be a professional paid player and the next snaging 10 goals in the 'amatuers' then meaning of ammuters is ment to be - 100 % unpaid players as non professionals, not one week gets paid bucket loads of cash and the next in d2 its rubbish...

If u chose to play VFL and cant get a game then stiff but u shouldnt be able to come into the ammo's... and if ur getting a game and its a bye thats even worse......

What a load of Shite! He is not getting paid for the games he is playing in the VAFA. Simple.
The rule was also created to allow local league players to be drafted after the drafting rules were changed several years ago, allowing only VFL and U18 players to be drafted.

Port Man you seem to have no idea of the concept. Are you saying they should be forced to go and play for $$ at one of the numerous mercenary clubs in the various other suburban comps? Surely they are allowed to align themselves with the club were they might have played all their juniors, gone to school etc.

The reality is that if they are not getting a game in the VFL 1’s or 2’s they are probably not superstars anyway. While most are aligned with A & B clubs, I can’t see any harm if a few go back and play with their old club, even if it’s in a lower grade.

The 'how amateur are the amateurs' is a seperate arguement.

Christian Stagliano from banyule has been appointed to nth brunswick in 2010,can anyone tell me why hes leavin banyule, and who are all the players he will be bring down.

Port Man you seem to have no idea of the concept. Are you saying they should be forced to go and play for $$ at one of the numerous mercenary clubs in the various other suburban comps? Surely they are allowed to align themselves with the club were they might have played all their juniors, gone to school etc.

The reality is that if they are not getting a game in the VFL 1’s or 2’s they are probably not superstars anyway. While most are aligned with A & B clubs, I can’t see any harm if a few go back and play with their old club, even if it’s in a lower grade.

The 'how amateur are the amateurs' is a seperate arguement.

I agree with Port. We play in an amatuer league where only non-paid footballers play.

Boundy and other VFL players are professional footballers whether they are paid $1 or $1000. Should this really be allowed?

The whole system of ammos is that there is a level playing field in that there is no 'guns for hire' and basically everyone is playing for the sheer enjoyment of playing football.
Seems unfair to all the other clubs who may be travelling well, come up against a club who really isn't going to cause them a problem, only to find that that week the VFL has a bye and there are three to four VFL renegades running around kicking 10. That same club will then return to their mediocre standard the next week and the team who was defeated by the stacked side will have to start the process again. It can have an effect on possible finals placements etc.
If there is a bye in the VFL, would the system not be fairer if the players found themselves a game in an equivilent leauge, not D2 ammos? I know that there are quite a few ex AFL and VFL players getting a kick in the EFL and NFL, so wouldn't that be a better standard to play and keep match fit, heck even learn a few tricks from the old blokes??

The whole system of ammos is that there is a level playing field in that there is no 'guns for hire' and basically everyone is playing for the sheer enjoyment of playing football.
Seems unfair to all the other clubs who may be travelling well, come up against a club who really isn't going to cause them a problem, only to find that that week the VFL has a bye and there are three to four VFL renegades running around kicking 10. That same club will then return to their mediocre standard the next week and the team who was defeated by the stacked side will have to start the process again. It can have an effect on possible finals placements etc.
If there is a bye in the VFL, would the system not be fairer if the players found themselves a game in an equivilent leauge, not D2 ammos? I know that there are quite a few ex AFL and VFL players getting a kick in the EFL and NFL, so wouldn't that be a better standard to play and keep match fit, heck even learn a few tricks from the old blokes??

You sound like one of these clusb that clearly doesnt have any connections to any vfl players.
How do u think d2 clubs improve mate, and climb the grades? They hold good strong links with vfl players and get them to play for there clubs on there byes. Therefore when these players finish at vfl level the clubs hope they will return to them fulltime.

I take it that you have no players at your club who have stepped up to VFL level? I am sure if you had you would not be concerned with this opportunity.
Are you seriously suggesting that an OP, Westbourne, Bentleigh, whatever club player who has been good enough to achieve a higher level should not be able to play for the club that produced him, but should however play for a club in another competition that may or may not be of a higher standard?? You have got to be kidding

I was part of the coaching staff at Bentleigh in 2008 when Boundy came back & played for Paradians kicking 10 but that is the luck of the draw. Surely we want to encourage local players to have a crack at VFL & if they don't make it etc they come back to their club. By forcing them into NFL or EFL whilst they are on a VFL list would encourage them never to come back. Good on Boundy if having had a go at the Bullants he plays for OP. Maybe you want to go back to the old ammo rules where if you have earnt some coin prior to joining an ammo club you need to stand out of footy for 12 months?

Ridiculous to suggest that if a gun player from a lower grade team gets a look-in at VFL level he should all of sudden be barred from representing his club when not required by his VFL side, even if he has played for them for 3+ years...

Bill Irving from West Brunswick is another example. Murders D3 and D4, gets a game at Port Melbourne and all of a sudden he shouldn't be able to come back and play for WB if PM have a bye or something?

Pattison seems to be an interesting one, it looks like he may have one last crack left him in with Hawthorn offering him a pre-season alongside the likes of Wayde Skipper & Chris Bryan for a rucking spot on their list.

As for Boundy well good on Old Paradians, they deserve to reap the rewards for a player they developed. Is it fair to say that he will not be at the Bullants next year or is this just speculation at this stage. He seemed to be doing so well playing in a senior VFL Grand Final it would be a shame to see him give it up now.

I take it that you have no players at your club who have stepped up to VFL level? I am sure if you had you would not be concerned with this opportunity.
Are you seriously suggesting that an OP, Westbourne, Bentleigh, whatever club player who has been good enough to achieve a higher level should not be able to play for the club that produced him, but should however play for a club in another competition that may or may not be of a higher standard?? You have got to be kidding

The fact is everyone else is a non-paid player and they get paid and therefore they are not amatuer they are professional.

True, however it is like a professional athlete in most other sports competing in an amateur event; If they are not being paid for the event they are not affecting its amateur status. Regardless of how it is interpreted, the rule is for the betterment of the clubs and the competition. Without it there would be a constant drain of talent to other suburban leagues, and the VAFA would be a shadow of itself. All the best juniors would head from VAFA to VFL then off to the EFL, SFL et all never to be seen again!!

Christian Stagliano from banyule has been appointed to nth brunswick in 2010,can anyone tell me why hes leavin banyule, and who are all the players he will be bring down.

Left after 4 seasons at the club (2 19's and 2 seniors). Was reappointed but resigned due to conflicting committee.

In regards to players following I would imagine that the players he brought down would follow him. Also a number of them play at Rosebank CC so it would only be natural that they would stay to play there footy there. I would envisage at least 6 players leaving (of which 2- 3 would be good senior players at North)

You sound like one of these clusb that clearly doesnt have any connections to any vfl players.
How do u think d2 clubs improve mate, and climb the grades? They hold good strong links with vfl players and get them to play for there clubs on there byes. Therefore when these players finish at vfl level the clubs hope they will return to them fulltime.

You said it all....FINISH at VFL level, not just fill in for a week! Clubs climb through the grades from hard work and developing players, that and a good commitee behind them.
Just for the record, I am an interested onlooker who just likes an even playing field.

True, however it is like a professional athlete in most other sports competing in an amateur event; If they are not being paid for the event they are not affecting its amateur status. Regardless of how it is interpreted, the rule is for the betterment of the clubs and the competition. Without it there would be a constant drain of talent to other suburban leagues, and the VAFA would be a shadow of itself. All the best juniors would head from VAFA to VFL then off to the EFL, SFL et all never to be seen again!!

Correct me if I am wrong, it has been a few years, but didn't Old Xavs have huge dramas in getting the likes of Craig Kelly and Mercuri down there to play for free? Also Old Hailbury with a few ex pro players? They were not getting paid for the event but the VAFA made them jump through hoops! What makes a D2 team like OPs exempt?

The fact is everyone else is a non-paid player and they get paid and therefore they are not amatuer they are professional.

they are not getting paid by the club on the day to play but so you are wrong mate. And are you saying that people who play in efl, edfl, nfl are all professionals are you.........mate pfft.

are there any major ins and outs for next season?
also are there any coaching changes to each of the teams
heard a couple of rumours of well known footy names linked with the promoted Bentleigh.... CJ and KK anyone?
also for Bentleigh people, what happened to Kellaway to only play 3 games in 2009? is he going to give it another crack at this stage?

are there any major ins and outs for next season?
also are there any coaching changes to each of the teams

kevin brickley will be coaching eltham college next year. coached olinda to the flag last year in the yarra valley league against kinglake. very well spoken, looking forward to training on monday!

heard a couple of rumours of well known footy names linked with the promoted Bentleigh.... CJ and KK anyone?
also for Bentleigh people, what happened to Kellaway to only play 3 games in 2009? is he going to give it another crack at this stage?

CJ & KK? Huh? You're going to have to dumb it down a bit for me? Please use full names for us slow blokes

Kellaway fell ill last year which landed him in hospital, not sure if he'll play on, but I hope he does, not likely though.

Good Work OTP! Go Saints....!!!

Gday Griff, I used to play at Salesian back in 2002, mainly reserves, only cracked the seniors for two games and was used sparingly off the bench. :p Are guys like Oldy, Azza and Razza, Johnny Nannes, Gracie, Egg etc still at the club and having a kick?

John Nannes got me out to Salesian as I used to work with him at CGU.

Hope things are still going well at the club post-merger, I enjoyed my time as a Gryphon!