• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D2 Section 2010

Good Summary Clint, but gotta go with Sudds on 1st 2 games. ESL going well & will secure safety this week. SMS must win at home.

Here is a quiz. James Coyne writing in "the Amateur Footballer" refers to a particular club as follows:-

"great effort with so many players out of action".

Later on he writes that "the club has the plague"

For which club is he making excuses?

From posts on this forum it must be Bentleigh?

Good Summary Clint, but gotta go with Sudds on 1st 2 games. ESL going well & will secure safety this week. SMS must win at home.

Here is a quiz. James Coyne writing in "the Amateur Footballer" refers to a particular club as follows:-

"great effort with so many players out of action".

Later on he writes that "the club has the plague"

For which club is he making excuses?

Dr Truth do you and Phantom Strobler ever move on or do you just enjoy the topic of conversation going round and round in circles? If you want to talk about the same crap all the time trade emails with one another or send private messages and chat about it somewhere else.

In relation to the article, you are more than welcome to put your hand up and write the article each week and then you can waffle on about whatever you like. Most people would probably stop reading after the first couple of weeks though once the round up of matches follows your posts on this forum and covers the same story line every week.

Here goes for this week....

Banyule will beat Glen Eira at Banyule. This should be a good game going on the first encounter that saw the Bears home by a couple of kicks. The bears need to find their kicking boots as their radar has been way off over the last 3 weeks which has seen them kick far more behinds than goals. Glen Eira's top half dozen players are as good as anyone in the comp and they will see this as a must win game. Should be a belter.

Parade host Prahran and will win easily. Boundy and Brabender up forward will have a day out and should dine out on the smallish Prahran defence. Parade are gaining momemtum and won't drop a game like this. Parade then have the ever improving ESL and Banyule in the weeks after this game.

St Mary's will defeat Therry. Therry had to come from behind to beat Prahran last week but had been poor in the weeks prior. St Mary's weren't far off OP's last week and will see this week as a genuine chance to win a game and stay up in this division. Crowley was great with 4 goals last week but TP will need a greater impact from Mc Whinney and Costello to get over the line in this one.

Westbourne will continue Bentleigh's horror second half of the year with a win out at the wind farm. Westbourne will want to bounce bace to stay in touch with the 4. Bentleigh pushed the bears last week and going by the quarter by quarter scores led at 3 1/4 time before falling away at the end. Massive game for both clubs.

ESL will get the chocolates over Eltham. The animals have left their run late but they are having a dead set crack and may see themselves being a chance if the results fall their way. Eltham are funny side to get a guage on. They have some super players but are quite inconsistant.

5 0UT OF 5 for Sudds. Great tipping by me,

Nothing like a bit of hear say from a one sided argument....apparently.

Volunteer of the week award must go to the Westbourne runner for his antics before half time from what I saw who incidentally got sent off in the 2s....from what I saw. I won't repeat what I heard from someone, who heard from someone what he thought about his opponent of Asian descent. He had quite a day

What's hear say about what I said, Sniper?

- Fairly ordinary Bentleigh go down to Westbourne - fact

- Was only there for the last quarter - fact

- Apparently it was a bit spiteful in the second - direct quote from the umps at 3Q time

- Elbowed player off to hospital for stitches - fact

As you say, nothing like a bit of hear say from a one sided argument.

My bad, I stand corrected OTP, it was just how your post read. you have to clarify every post you make on here, as there are some on here who like to blow things way out of proportion.

6 rounds to go and this is the run home for each of the teams.

Bolded = home games

Banyule - Bentleigh, Glen Eira, Eltham, Old Paradians, Therry, St Mary's
Play all top 3 sides but are good enough to win a least 4 of them. Best case scenario will win all 6 and finish 16 -2. Worst case will win 3 of last 6 and end up 13 - 5. Need to get Brown back in the side but will finish Top in my opinion.

Old Paradians - S t Mary's, Prahran, ESL, Banyule, Bentleigh, Old West
Form team. Could win all 6 to finish 13-5. Can only see them losing 2 games maximum. The round 16 game against Banyule should be a ripper.

Glen Eira - Eltham, Banyule, Prahran, Therry, St Mary's, ESL
This is a big call but I see them winning at least 5 of the 6 and are a chance to roll the bears away. They could finish second

Therry - Prahran, St Mary's, Bentleigh, Glen Eira, Banyule, Eltham
Will have to turn their form around or they could be gone. Massive game at Prahran this week who are in good form.

Old West - ESL, Bentleigh, St Mary's, Prahran, Eltham, Old Paradians
I think they will finish 4th at worst. Only play one team in the 4 and that is in round 18. They could be safely entrenched by that time.

Bentleigh - Banyule, Old West, Therry, ESL, Old Paradians, Prahan
Injuries have killed them you just have to have a look at their best players early in theyear and you will notice that most of these blokes are not playing at present. However you are only as good as you depth.

Eltham - Glen Eira, ESL, Banyule, St Mary's, Old West, Therry
Hard run home can see them winning 3 of these.

ESL - Old West, Eltham, Old Paradians,Bentleigh, Prahran, Glen Eira
Playing well but have a tough draw. If they win this week they may give themsleves a sneaky chance.

St Mary's - Old Paradians, Therry, old west, Eltham, Glen Eira, Banyule
Night mare draw. If they win 3 of them it would be a great result. Last team to beat Parade.

Prahran - Therry, old paradians, Glen Eira, Old west, ESL, Bentleigh
Hard draw but capable of winning 3

4 weeks to go and the picture maybe becoming a little bit clearer so I will have a stab at the final standings.

1. Banyule 16-2
Big game against Paradians in 2 weeks but the Bears seem to be rolling along nicely.

2. Old Paradians 12-6
Massive 2 weeks for the Raiders. They play an inform Animals outfit at Bennetswood this saturday and Banyule the follwing week. I expect the class of Parade to get over the line in at least 3 of these games but I could be wrong.

3. Old Westbourne 10-8
Will win next 3 and lose to Paradians in round 18. Percentage of 96% is better than most of it rivals for this position.

4. Glen Eira 10 -8
Will beat Prahran away and Therry at home. Not so confident of them winning the last 2.

5. Emmaus St Leo's 9-8-1
Win this week which I wouldn't be suprised if they did and they will play finals. I expect them to win their last 3.

6. Therry Penola 9-9
Have dropped right away losing 3 out of the last 4. Will beat bentleigh at home and that might be just about it.

7. St Mary's 7-11
I expect them to beat Eltham away and Glen Eira at home. Wouldn't be suprised if they beat Westbourne.

8. Bentleigh 6-11-1
Will beat Prahran in the last game. They could win all 4 but they need to discover their early season form and need to get some players back.

9. Eltham 6-12
If they beat St Mary's at home then I think they will stay up. But if they don't then I think they will be in trouble.

10. Prahran 4-14
Unluck with injuries and might suprise a few but have a very tough draw.

I may be totally wrong but thats for you blokes to decide.

5 outta 5 for me too sudds. Reckon your ladder is pretty close to how it will be. Top 2 settled, Prahran are destined for D1. Sides on the up are ESL & SMS, unfortunately they are running out of games. Bentleigh & Eltham to fight out 8th position. Agree Bentleigh could win 4 games, but more likely it is 1. It comes down to Eltham winning 2 games and they have the toughest draw. If they don't Bentleigh survive.
This weeks winners:-

OP's
Therry
Banyule
GE
SMS

Eltham have been a very strange team this year. They've only won 2 games since about round 5 but have not been blown out once and have lost a few very close ones. (Worst defeat was 37 odd points by Banyule i think.)

4 weeks to go and the picture maybe becoming a little bit clearer so I will have a stab at the final standings.

1. Banyule 16-2
Big game against Paradians in 2 weeks but the Bears seem to be rolling along nicely.

2. Old Paradians 12-6
Massive 2 weeks for the Raiders. They play an inform Animals outfit at Bennetswood this saturday and Banyule the follwing week. I expect the class of Parade to get over the line in at least 3 of these games but I could be wrong.

3. Old Westbourne 10-8
Will win next 3 and lose to Paradians in round 18. Percentage of 96% is better than most of it rivals for this position.

4. Glen Eira 10 -8
Will beat Prahran away and Therry at home. Not so confident of them winning the last 2.

5. Emmaus St Leo's 9-8-1
Win this week which I wouldn't be suprised if they did and they will play finals. I expect them to win their last 3.

6. Therry Penola 9-9
Have dropped right away losing 3 out of the last 4. Will beat bentleigh at home and that might be just about it.

7. St Mary's 7-11
I expect them to beat Eltham away and Glen Eira at home. Wouldn't be suprised if they beat Westbourne.

8. Bentleigh 6-11-1
Will beat Prahran in the last game. They could win all 4 but they need to discover their early season form and need to get some players back.

9. Eltham 6-12
If they beat St Mary's at home then I think they will stay up. But if they don't then I think they will be in trouble.

10. Prahran 4-14
Unluck with injuries and might suprise a few but have a very tough draw.

I may be totally wrong but thats for you blokes to decide.
Sudds
-Interesting summary of the view from 6 rounds out.
After 2 of those games -it’s still no clearer.
What makes it so interesting from here on is that the result of one or two games each round has such far reaching consequences for the following weeks. In Ammo footy the teams from 7-10 start their finals now…the others can’t afford to look to o far ahead or they get bitten on thr bum.
For example- this week-
ESL win against OPs this week and their r18 game with GE will be a cracker and may decide who of them plays finals….but if OPs continue their 'roll' and the Animals lose, they're sitting 2.5 games out with 3 to play (but well away from relegation) so GE would shorten considerably for R18.
Prahran must defeat GE this week at home or they could find themselves 2 behind with 3 to go. This is a season definer for them.
Similarly the outcome of OW v STM will profoundly influence their following weeks.
If STM can clear the drop zone by defeating OW and then Eltham…then their motivation for the last 2 games is fairly dim. If they lose one or either they’re right in the firing line.
OW similarly could end up playing 3 consecutive relegation derbies (St M, E, Pra)... & then OPs and that doesn’t sound as easy as you painted it. (Particularly if they lose this week the other relegation candidates may just fancy their chances of repeating the dose)
To indicate how this season has been anything but predictable -Bentleigh were comfortably in the 4 at R8 and now6 weeks on are only 2 pts out of relegation with 3 tough ones out of their next 4. How much would Therry enjoy this week putting their old foes into “RelegationZone” calcs as well as shoring up their position in the 4?
Ditto Eltham who were 2nd after 4 rounds...they now sit equal 9th with 3 probable finalists in their last 4games but are still 1 of only 3 teams with a percentage of 100 or better!!!!!
(Flip side -OPs were 8th after R7 at 2/5…now they are 9/5.)
With the exception of the OPs recent run & the Banyule juggernaut, it’s been a raffle each week.
It's one of the absolute best things about Ammo footy -2 up and 2 down -year in, year out
No excuses accepted. No amount of injuries, hard luck stories or anything else will change the ultimate results for 2010
The old truth remains ...if you're good enough and want it enough -you’ll stay up.
If you're good enough and want it enough -you’ll make finals.
Let the games begin... ‘cos at this point in time I'm sure except for Banyule and OPs, there's 8 other teams who still see themselves either potential finalists or potential relegation prospects …or maybe both.
Each week the picture will get clearer…I hope.

Sudds
-Interesting summary of the view from 6 rounds out.
After 2 of those games -it’s still no clearer.
What makes it so interesting from here on is that the result of one or two games each round has such far reaching consequences for the following weeks. In Ammo footy the teams from 7-10 start their finals now…the others can’t afford to look to o far ahead or they get bitten on thr bum.
For example- this week-
ESL win against OPs this week and their r18 game with GE will be a cracker and may decide who of them plays finals….but if OPs continue their 'roll' and the Animals lose, they're sitting 2.5 games out with 3 to play (but well away from relegation) so GE would shorten considerably for R18.
Prahran must defeat GE this week at home or they could find themselves 2 behind with 3 to go. This is a season definer for them.
Similarly the outcome of OW v STM will profoundly influence their following weeks.
If STM can clear the drop zone by defeating OW and then Eltham…then their motivation for the last 2 games is fairly dim. If they lose one or either they’re right in the firing line.
OW similarly could end up playing 3 consecutive relegation derbies (St M, E, Pra)... & then OPs and that doesn’t sound as easy as you painted it. (Particularly if they lose this week the other relegation candidates may just fancy their chances of repeating the dose)
To indicate how this season has been anything but predictable -Bentleigh were comfortably in the 4 at R8 and now6 weeks on are only 2 pts out of relegation with 3 tough ones out of their next 4. How much would Therry enjoy this week putting their old foes into “RelegationZone” calcs as well as shoring up their position in the 4?
Ditto Eltham who were 2nd after 4 rounds...they now sit equal 9th with 3 probable finalists in their last 4games but are still 1 of only 3 teams with a percentage of 100 or better!!!!!
(Flip side -OPs were 8th after R7 at 2/5…now they are 9/5.)
With the exception of the OPs recent run & the Banyule juggernaut, it’s been a raffle each week.
It's one of the absolute best things about Ammo footy -2 up and 2 down -year in, year out
No excuses accepted. No amount of injuries, hard luck stories or anything else will change the ultimate results for 2010
The old truth remains ...if you're good enough and want it enough -you’ll stay up.
If you're good enough and want it enough -you’ll make finals.
Let the games begin... ‘cos at this point in time I'm sure except for Banyule and OPs, there's 8 other teams who still see themselves either potential finalists or potential relegation prospects …or maybe both.
Each week the picture will get clearer…I hope.

Good post. However I think the formlines of certain teams are clearly better than others at present. Therry, Bentleigh and Eltham were early Pace setters but have struggled over the last 5 weeks. Eltham are 3rd bottom with a percentage of over 100 due to their early form.
Banyule and Parade arre clearly 1-2(at present) and the others I believe would need to have a day out to beat them in a final. (Any idea as to where the finals will be played?)

Any thoughts for team of the year?

Drapac (Ban) Kahout (GE) Rehlicki (OP)

Lawry (Bent) Gayfer (Ban) Hunter (OW)

Hickey (STL) Singh (SMS) Johns (OW)

Richardson (Elt) McWhinney (Ther) Mills (GE)

Brabender (OP) Boundy (OP) Ciavola (Elt)

Rucks:

Spink (GE)
Walsh (Ban)
Trufeldt (Ban)

I /C - Robertson (Bent), Spitty (OP), Sleight (PRA), Faroldi (Ther), Baranello (STL)

Rucks:

Spink (GE)
Walsh (Ban)
Trufeldt (Ban)

I /C - Robertson (Bent), Spitthill (OP), Sleight (PRA), Faroldi (Ther), Baranello (STL)

Sorry should be spithill not spitty

Anyone heard of where the finals will be played. With 2 northern based teams most likely to feature in both ones and twos you would think that it would be a ground at this way. I notice they are using Coburg for club 18 finals this year so it could be that venue.

Rucks:

Spink (GE)
Walsh (Ban)
Trufeldt (Ban)

I /C - Robertson (Bent), Spitty (OP), Sleight (PRA), Faroldi (Ther), Baranello (STL)

Surely A.Dwyer and B. Gatehouse from SMS would be making this team. Both seem to be in the best every week and both could (and have) played A Grade...

You could also argue a case for Christian, Shepperd, Parthenidies, Giles, Barclay and Brown from Banyule. But you can't fit everyone in. Not a bad side Twiggy. Every team is going to push for their blokes however I find it hard how a side that has won 5 games and are second bottom could have 3 representatives as Nostradamus is suggesting.

Where do you get your info from for this team of year, are you a player or supporter or official, eitherway it's a great effort, some good players and variation of teams, chris Hudson maybe a bit stiff. Has had a great year since moving in to the ruck. Who is everyones top five for league b&f

The Ruck is one position where their is a fair bit of quality.

Pathenidies
Spithill
Crooks
Spink
Hudson

I think Spink has the best all round game. But all 5 could be worthy of a spot. I think Twiggy Munson nailed it with Spink and Spithill but I wouldn't swap them for our bloke (Parthenidies). I am biased however.

Dwyer was stiff and probably could go ahead of Ciavola. Hudson has had a great year and could possibly move Mills back put Hudson up forward and get rid of Rehlicki. Fedderson from Bentleigh is another that could get in.

Top 5 (from what I have seen)

Hunter (ow)
Hickey (stl)
singh (sms)
trufeldt (ban)
boundy (ops) - if he played on the ball, playing deep forward at the moment.
spink (ge)