D4 2010 - Part 2

Semi Final Tips

Monash Gryphons vs Mt Lilydale - Monash will be well rested after having 3 weeks off and will be keen to make a statement against their main rivals for the flag. If Mt Lilydale let the Gryphs break away early (like Manningham did) I don't think they'll be able to reel them back in. MtL must start Hooke in the ruck (forget rucking Rhodes) if they are any chance to counter the initial Gryphon onslaught. MG to win by about 3 goals.

Manningham Cobras vs South Mornington - South Mornington would be on a high after their come from behind win. They seem to be a team who thrives on 'confidence'. Manningham would be disappointed to let a 5 goal lead slip against MtL last week. I think that SM have the better bottom 6 so I'm tipping them by a goal.

Will be ineresting to see if Monash having about a month since they last played a hard game of footy will be a good or bad thing for them. If Mt.Lilydale are within a goal or two at 3 quarter time - I wouldn't be surprised to see Monash get rolled this week.

RM, you definately had a good view of Roberts as you shelted behind the fence with ongoing verbal crap coming from your and Turbo's mouth towards him. By the way that's about as close as Turbo would ever want to be to Roberts which is understandable.

Hahaha you're kidding. I spent about 10 minutes sledging Roberts (he started to play well as soon as I started). I then realized I wasn't enough of an ass to keep it going and moved on. Also I think you have Turbo confused with someone else as he wasn't sledging.

Seniors
No Team Premiers GF
1 Monash Gryphons $1.60 $1.06
2 Mt Lilydale $2.30 $1.12
3 Manningham $16.00 $5.50
4 South Mornington $21.00 $8.00
113% 107%

Reserves
No Team Premiers GF

1 Monash Gryphons $1.90 $1.12
2 North Brunswick $2.70 $1.30
3 South Mornington $11.00 $4.25
4 Swinburne Uni $8.00 $3.75
111% 108%

2nd Semi - Seniors Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Monash Gryphons $1.70 $2.80 $4.30
Mt Lilydale $2.10 $3.40 $5.50
106% 107%
2nd Semi - Reserves Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Monash Gryphons $1.50 $2.50 $3.80
North Brunswick $2.50 $3.50 $8.80
107% 106%

1st Semi - Seniors Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Manningham $1.40 $2.60 $3.00
South Mornington $2.70 $4.20 $7.60
108% 109%
1st Semi - Reserves Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
South Mornington $2.20 $3.20 $7.00
Swinburne Uni $1.60 $2.80 $3.70
108% 108%

Re: D4 2010

70/88 progressive.

Seniors
Mt Lilydale vs Manningham Cobras - 32 points.
Eley Park vs South Mornington - 6 points.

Reserves
Richmond Central vs Swinburne Uni - 19 points.
North Brunswick vs South Mornington - 43 points.

72/90 progressive.

Seniors
Monash Gryphons
vs Mt Lilydale - 28 points.
I've been waiting for this game all season. This game is almost as important as the Grand Final as whoever wins this game will have the psychological advantage. I imagine this being a high scoring affair with both backlines being punished. Which ever backline can limit the opposition, it will go a long way to winning this game. I just think the Gryphons are a slightly stronger team and this will get them over the top of MtL.

Manningham Cobras vs South Mornington -17 points.
Last time these two teams faced each other in round 14 the Cobras won by about 9 goals. After watching the Cobras last week I think they have the bodies to beat them out here again. McCallum will be the force to stop for the Tigers and I just can't see who they will use to effectively stop him. He still needs the ball delivered so if the Tigers can limit this they might be able to stick with them for awhile.

Reserves
Monash Gryphons vs North Brunswick - 42 points.
South Mornington vs Swinburbe Uni - 16 points.

Hahaha you're kidding. I spent about 10 minutes sledging Roberts (he started to play well as soon as I started). I then realized I wasn't enough of an ass to keep it going and moved on. Also I think you have Turbo confused with someone else as he wasn't sledging.[/quote

its the hardest 10 minutes you have work in a game for a long time but thanks for the contribution:thumbsu:

Week 1 Finals Preview

Elimination Final

Eley Park
over Sth Mornington by 10 Pts (Just four weeks ago I was spruiking the Tigers as a serious challenger to the top 2. However their recent form has been l shaky at best. They are leaking far too many goals from turnovers and coach Sutherland must be lamenting the lack on contested ball wins that were a trademark earlier in the year. I expect a very even contest, far closer than the odds posted on this forum would suggest and expect some fireworks in close. It will get willing at times and perhaps even untoward if one side loses the plot. I am favouring the Sharks to win the match due to greater firepower up forward. Sam Thomas and Dave Bennett are both quality players and although the Tigers may be able to quell one, I doubt they can contain both. South will have to rely on players such as Mitch Duff and Grant Ryan if they are to win as their waning form has mirrored that of the team. Shark just).

Qualifying Final

Mt Lilydale over Manningham by 32 Pts (Make no mistake; I am an unabashed Mt Lilydale fan. It is to one’s folly in under-estimating the Mountain Men. You don’t progress through a season 17 & 1 and then slip against a team you’ve already beaten twice too often. Many have overlooked the game early in the season where the Rams crushed the Cobras at Bulleen by 12 goals. Sure Manningham have improved since then, but too much is on the line for Mt Lilydale to falter. Thomas Wall is as good a midfielder as anyone in the comp and Roberts and Rodwell are a ‘shoe in’ for team of the year in the forward line. Sam McCallum is the ‘X-Factor’ in the contest. If he fires, as well he might, the Cobras are an outside chance, but he may have to kick 8 goals plus. This will be made even more difficult in the windy (and possibly wet) conditions predicted and expect the Rams to double team him anyway. I suspect a tag placed on Warrick De Vercelli so the supply to McCallum is mitigated. I doubt Manningham will score more than 10 goals for the match and their opponents will hence win comfortably.

Week 1 Finals Review

1\2 (71/80 cumulative)

You really have to hand to the Mt Martha men. Down on form and facing a 19 point deficit at lemon time, they dug deep are conjured what would have to be their finest ever win in the clubs short history. The hardness factor, so much mentioned on this forum came to bite the Sharks and what was most pleasing from the Tigers perspective, was that it came from lesser lights such as Sam Wright and Tomas Mitchell, An Alan Sutherland coached team is always going to make the opposition earn it and Ken Schwab and his chargers were left pondering what might have been. Well done to the Sharks, great to have Eley Park back playing finals footy. One would think they will place this one in the memory bank forfuture campaigns.

As for the Qualifying Final (love the old McIntyre Final Five!), The Rams pretty much outplayed the Cobras in every facet of the game. 38 scoring shots to twenty was the definitive statistic and evidently the margin could’ve been far greater. In fairness to Manningham, they did start well and were technically in the contest until late, but two things are now evident. The gap between the top 2 and the rest is significant (what rhetoric…) and Mt Lilydale are playing the type of footy that, on their day, could deliver them a flag. As expected, Warrick De Vercelli was defiant for the Cobras, but Nick Hooke and Justin Roberts showed exquisite skill acquisition when the heat was on to ensure the game was safe. Not sure how this result could possibly be reversed if they meet again in the Prelim…

Week 2 Finals Preview

1st Semi Final

Cobras over Tigers by 8 Pts (I expect two very even games this weekend, however, this fixture on Sunday should be played in near perfect conditions and one would think this should suit the men from Manningham a little more. I expect they will be able to attain first use of the ball through their midfield lead by De Vercelli, and get it in quick to McCallum. Having said that, no one can doubt South’s attack on the ball carrier, which, with the possible exception of the Gryphons, is the best in the competition. South will require big games from the likes of Matty Foon and Bobby Wilson is they are to cause the upset, but I see them falling just short)

2nd Semi Final

Monash over Mt Lilydale by 10 Pts (There has been much conjecture concerning the validity and structure of the Gryphons preparation for this contest. However, the history of the old VFL showed that the week's rest before a final was worth ‘two in the bush’. Having said that, I feel there is nothing between these teams. Both have damaging forwards such as Wills and Allen for Monash; Roberts and Rodwell for the Rams. Similarly their respective back halves are solid and midfielders like Rutherford and Fletcher, Wall and Stewart will provide the spark their respective cohorts. Strangely enough, I feel this game may be won by the lesser lights of the respective teams. Those who have not been sighted by opposition coaches. Those who haven’t showed up of the countless replays that coaches Finkemeyer and Osborne have perused in recent weeks. It is for this reason, I select Monash, a club who clearly has the better depth, and whose rotation will be better served by the men coming off the bench like Mike Davies and Ivan Nuguid. Lee Wells to star as the Gryphs earn the right to contest Division 3 in 2011).

Good luck to all

Quasi

He's definitely not old...

Nah all credit to him - bit like Woodberry from Richmond Central, doesn't look at all like a footballer but he's bloody effective.

Monash v Mt Lilydale
The last two meatings between the sides have produced very tight contests, but this match apart from a 10 minute burst in the third quater by Mt Lilydale was one way treffic. Granted that the Rams played the second half with only two on the bench but they were lucky to get away with a 6 goal loss, we should have finished the game stronger but with our only ruckman red=carded in the third term it made it a bit harder being a man down. The Rams seemed a shade of the team we expected to show up and had several players up forward which we had targeted after viewing thier dominance over Manningham the week before completly shut down. Great win and we do deserve a spot in the G.F and wont be to bothered who we face in the big one!

Hey Sneako, what was the go at selection. Went in with a couple of underdone players.

Did anyone see the incident in the reserves game with 10 seconds to go? Who was that Nth Brunswick weak pri#k that cleaned up number #2 from Monash?

Quasi was correct. While the Monash big guns fired the so called "lesser lights" more than did their jobs. While Roberts got 3 goals, 2 came from 50 metre free kicks paid up field. Means he only kicked 1 marking goal. Monash full back beat him hands down.
As predicted Monash into the gf in both 1s and 2s. Great depth and spirit at the club. Looking forward to Sept 11th celebrations.

Assuming it was a long trip back to South Mornington last night after being knocked out in both grades. Didn't get to see the matches however I'm assuming it would have been a dark day for all. Sure they won't be reading this as they will all still be in somewhat of a haze...

Hey Sneako, what was the go at selection. Went in with a couple of underdone players.

Did anyone see the incident in the reserves game with 10 seconds to go? Who was that Nth Brunswick weak pri#k that cleaned up number #2 from Monash?
I saw the incident. I'm pretty sure it was #8 (but not 100%) went through with a raised elbow. I was very surprised Monash didn't demonstrate at all after the incident. I find it very hard to believe that not one of the players saw it occur. :confused:

I didn't see that incident Johnny but it was a fantastic game (I caught the last quarter) that ended in a draw. Monash only getting on top in the second period of extra time. Hopefully the grand final can be just as entertaining

In the Seniors, for the second time in a row, Monash kicked a score more than big enough for Pakistan to get bowled out against in the 4th innings of a test in defeating Mt. Lilydale. Game looked over, and about to get messy halfway through the third, but full credit to Mt Lilydale who then kicked 4 unanswered goals to finish the term and give themselves a sniff. A worrying sign for Mt Lilydale though I think is that I overheard their supporters (And I assume this is an internal view as they appeared to be reserves players) during the game resigning themselves to the fact that Monash are a far better side.

On Sunday, I again caught the last quarter of the 2's and it was another fantastic game with less than 2 goals seperating an unlucky South Mornington and the victorious Swinburne Uni. Swinburne senior coach George Koumantatakis seems to have taken over the reigns on the boundary while Jacob Mennan runs around the forward line and adds some depth to an already strong team

In the seniors, South Mornington only have themselves to blame after leading by 4 goals at half time and then kicking 2.8 in a tight final quarter. 4.6 or 5.5 here probably would have been enough, but the fight they showed at the end of the season and finals have them early favourites for 2011 in my mind.

All this being said. I think we're left with the best 3 sides in both grades. I think both Mt. Lilydale and Nth Brunsiwick might be vulnerable this week after big let downs on the weekend, and Manningham and Swinburne Uni should turn up with every confidence the can cause an upset

Monash v Mt Lilydale
The last two meatings between the sides have produced very tight contests, but this match apart from a 10 minute burst in the third quater by Mt Lilydale was one way treffic. Granted that the Rams played the second half with only two on the bench but they were lucky to get away with a 6 goal loss, we should have finished the game stronger but with our only ruckman red=carded in the third term it made it a bit harder being a man down. The Rams seemed a shade of the team we expected to show up and had several players up forward which we had targeted after viewing thier dominance over Manningham the week before completly shut down. Great win and we do deserve a spot in the G.F and wont be to bothered who we face in the big one!

Does red card mean off for game and trip to the tribunal & possible missing of GF?

A huge chance for everyone to taste premiership sucsess in 2011 in D4. Both teams that are coming down, Kew & St Francis Xavier, have each only won one game and have a percentage of about 50.

Compare this to Monash last year who won 5 or 6.

Teams like Sth Mornington, Manningham (If they lose on the weekend), Eley Park, Swinburne and Richmond could all be in with a genuine show of winning some siverware, but preperations need to start now in recruiting. Perhaps spending a bit of money on a big name coach could presuade a few extra players down

In the reserves though it looks to be a Kew v Nth Brunswick GF in what is a usual role for these clubs

I saw the incident. I'm pretty sure it was #8 (but not 100%) went through with a raised elbow. I was very surprised Monash didn't demonstrate at all after the incident. I find it very hard to believe that not one of the players saw it occur. :confused:
Correct #8 it was but from my position it was in play , both had eyes on the footy and did not appear to be intentional. Maybe you don't want him playing against your team this week ?. No one remonstrated because it appeared to be accidental, the game was played in good spirits and we look fwd to beating them again in the GF.

There has been a little talk around team of the year, however now that I have heard invites for league B&F's are out does this change anything?
Who got invited from each club?

mtLillydale are not even in the same breath of air as Monash, monashs leading goal kicker allen has no impact on the game and they still win by 6goals. no2 for the lillys needs to clean give the game away also..... Any injuries out the the gyrphons camp as this is lillydales only hope?? seen afew boys limp off the ground late for the gryphons....

sorry mate but 38 scoring shot to 20 last start is way to big a difference for me.. cobras blew any chance they had of beat mtl with the 4 goal first qtr lead that day