Re: D4 Section Ammos

JP the Chinaman said:
My top four for next year:

1. St.Mary's
2. Eltham
3. UHS
4. Richmond

take that!!!:thumbsu:

I think that the Richmond tip is a long punt at best, though I will tip them to come off the ass end of the comp next year. I would be placing Boxhill Nth into the fray.

Eltham should use their finals campaign this year as a steep learning curve, and with another year under their youthful belts I can see them being a force next season. I've a feeling there will be an influx of new talent into the team, with some big bodies being picked up.
St Marys are an aging team, but one that has been there & done that of the last couple of seasons, and I think they will be smarting from their D3 failure this year, looking to make ammends.
Who knows..... St Marys may suffer the same fate that became Mt Lilydale once they were relegated back down, a severe shortage of players and retirements onmass.
UHS as peviously mentioned, and from my past dealings with them are a proud club and will be looking to get back to D3 asap, though they may make the usual relegation illness of yapping way too much, as has been their downfall previously. Though the stench from the zoo (or is it the rugby players nextdoor??) can be rather reched on a windy day.;)

Eltham until the grounds get wet will be thereabouts.

St Marys may struggle to find the passion anfter the yo-yo.

UHS - know nothing about them.

Bulleen - internal turmoil but top 6 players are equivalent to any in the comp.

Box Hill North - Top 4.

Albert Park - tall, strong bodied and play a good brand of footy. Early pick.

Richmond - no.

Syndal - will need to recruit heavily.

North Brunswick - moose on the loose will be better than 2006.

:)

Where is that Richmond carpet snake when I ever needed one...oh well, there goes my coin...you know I love a gamble...word is that beef and black beans are easier to get at Boccy Hill...if not for the sand trap at their ground, it'd make a nice home...:thumbsu:

Flowerpower said:
Eltham until the grounds get wet will be thereabouts.

St Marys may struggle to find the passion anfter the yo-yo.

UHS - know nothing about them.

Bulleen - internal turmoil but top 6 players are equivalent to any in the comp.

Box Hill North - Top 4.

Albert Park - tall, strong bodied and play a good brand of footy. Early pick.

Richmond - no.

Syndal - will need to recruit heavily.

North Brunswick - moose on the loose will be better than 2006.

:)

Eley Park folding or you just don't rate them enough to even mention them Flowerpower? Or maybe those acid trips from the 70's are still having their effects on you?

Also doubt Bulleen's top 6 are equivalent to any other teams in the comp? That's a big call or is it referring to just D4?

Considering you love a roughy JP, I reckon you should come down to Richmond Centrals for a kick in '07. The food at the canteen is hard to beat, especially when served up by the lovely Tina; our resident Chinese canteen staff member!

In all seriousness though, we do have a good club at the Centrals, just couldn't crack that elusive win this year. The fact that players stuck around until the end of the season and we had enough to fill two sides each week was a great sign, and testiment to the character of all the players this season.

The club pretty much had to start from scratch at the start of '06, with lots of senior players leaving from the year before. Most of the players this year have vowed to be back in '07, which should at least give us a better chance of getting a win on the board.

Well done to all teams in D4 in 2006. Despite our lowly position on the ladder we found all our games to be played in good spirit, and we look forward to fronting up to the challenge again next year.

JP the Chinaman said:
Where is that Richmond carpet snake when I ever needed one...oh well, there goes my coin...you know I love a gamble...word is that beef and black beans are easier to get at Boccy Hill...if not for the sand trap at their ground, it'd make a nice home...:thumbsu:
Have you heard the same things I have JP? Sounds like there may be a club 18 at BH next year. Led by the #11 from their ones. The majority of this team is tipped to be Vietnamese/Chinese. Lots of sponsors from the Richmond business community.

BTW, Istrongly suspect Chickee babe was responsible for that sign last Saturday. I know you were there early enough. My second choice would be a left handed batsmen friend of yours.

I think we should start a campaign to keep JP in D4. We will miss his contributions too much. Come on guys, who will put in the first bid on behalf of their club.

haha...you're indeed a spy mate...I reckon Scottland Yard may be ready to sign you up for your services mate...impressed to say the least...I am not too sure how far they are into the whole idea...How and where do you get your info is what I'd like to know...do you work for VAFA? ...BHN already has a few Asian background players, and Try the No.11 is certainly a great candidate to head off this new venture...saw most of the boys play at the 2005 Multicultural cup at Optus oval...I was impressed.:thumbsu:

Na Central mate...not a big fan of canteen food all together...it'll be a good year for the Snakes in 07 mate...keep ya spirits up like this past season...it shows resolve to be beaten and getting up from it week after week...so it will tough you up...just need to learn how to win, once you win and have a taste of it...success will follow...

Centrals07 said:
Considering you love a roughy JP, I reckon you should come down to Richmond Centrals for a kick in '07. The food at the canteen is hard to beat, especially when served up by the lovely Tina; our resident Chinese canteen staff member!
In all seriousness though, we do have a good club at the Centrals, just couldn't crack that elusive win this year. The fact that players stuck around until the end of the season and we had enough to fill two sides each week was a great sign, and testiment to the character of all the players this season.
The club pretty much had to start from scratch at the start of '06, with lots of senior players leaving from the year before. Most of the players this year have vowed to be back in '07, which should at least give us a better chance of getting a win on the board.
Well done to all teams in D4 in 2006. Despite our lowly position on the ladder we found all our games to be played in good spirit, and we look forward to fronting up to the challenge again next year.

Hey Centrals07 - Why type of coach are you guys targeting ? One with senior experience ? Or another background ?

Cheers,
RFS
:D

PWOAH!

Richmond to jump up into the four is a MASSIVE call.

I'm very sorry but I do not see that see happening in 2007. They won't be able to drag themselves off the bottom unless they field a very different team next year or they will not fair much better than a clearly last performance again.

"Baby steps" should be the 'word of the day' for a long time around Richmond AFC.

That is of course assuming they even want to get of the bottom and play some finals football. My impression of the club is that it is very much a socially orientated club.

lout said:
St Marys are an aging team, but one that has been there & done that of the last couple of seasons, and I think they will be smarting from their D3 failure this year, looking to make ammends.
From what I saw of StMarys this year they have quite a few young lads coming through who probably just lacked a bit of experience. Quite a good 'never say die' type of side imho.
The funny thing about relegation is the amount of confidence it can give a side to drop a level and whallop a few lesser sides (like richmond, sorry). The passion comes back pretty quickly after a few good wins. I think i read somewhere they are setting up a u19 side which is step in the right direction.
I wouldn't rule out UHS. Still a long way till 2007. A decent coach will set them on the right track again.

Coach Hollywood said:
Eley Park folding or you just don't rate them enough to even mention them Flowerpower? Or maybe those acid trips from the 70's are still having their effects on you?

Also doubt Bulleen's top 6 are equivalent to any other teams in the comp? That's a big call or is it referring to just D4?

Dead right Hollywood,

Eley Park can barely field 2 teams, their gun won the comp B&F and they were still demolished by top group of sides.
Contenders with confidence.....1.Eltham 2.Albert Park 3.4.5.between St Marys, UHS and St Marys as an outsider. Bulleen anywhere from 4 to 8 then.....the rest is a raffle. Box Hill North, Syndal and a long gap to Eley Park, Richmond and North Brunswick.
Yeah Vegemite, Eltham need a couple of in and unders and if they do they will dominate comp and if not still top 2 by a street as previous history attests.
Rome wasn't built in a day. Don't forget the marg!

My apologies to the Sharks.

Eley Park - comp B&F winner, new clubrooms, new trainline upgrade out the back, and a few more numbers should see them improve.

Acid in the 70's man - you young ones missed out........:D

Flowerpower said:
My apologies to the Sharks.

Eley Park - comp B&F winner, new clubrooms, new trainline upgrade out the back, and a few more numbers should see them improve.

Acid in the 70's man - you young ones missed out........:D

Yes, was an impressive effort year 1 by the Sharks. Look for further improvement in 2007. Whipping of the Bullen Boys early in year was impressive.

JP the Chinaman said:
haha...you're indeed a spy mate...I reckon Scottland Yard may be ready to sign you up for your services mate...impressed to say the least...I am not too sure how far they are into the whole idea...How and where do you get your info is what I'd like to know...do you work for VAFA? ...BHN already has a few Asian background players, and Try the No.11 is certainly a great candidate to head off this new venture...saw most of the boys play at the 2005 Multicultural cup at Optus oval...I was impressed.:thumbsu:

This research was easy JP. Ripped sraight from the front page of BH website......
(25/9/06) Get aboard the Dragonboat! The Elgar Park Dragons are aiming to join Club 18 next season as part of Box Hill North and Elgar Park Sports Club. Free BBQ, social footy and cricket match from 11:30 this Sunday (1 October)

Redders_i.d. said:
Yes, was an impressive effort year 1 by the Sharks. Look for further improvement in 2007. Whipping of the Bullen Boys early in

year was impressive.

well redders so where is the big mouth king cobra.
pass this on to him should shut his mouth because someone is.

we know the king cobra got punched up from hawthorn.
but watch your back as i hear you open your mouth to much
this is a message

Sorry to report we are to lose another charactor from the our competition. Word has it Peter 'Tugger' Pullen is hanging up the whistle.

rightfoot_sloth said:
Hey Centrals07 - Why type of coach are you guys targeting ? One with senior experience ? Or another background ?

Cheers,
RFS
:D

Hi RFS,

At the risk of sounding like someone churning out cliche after cliche, the Richmond Centrals would simply be looking to find the best possible fit for the club. That person may well have senior experience but undoubtedly there are some candidates without senior experience out there who would still make excellent coaches.

Next year will be a real challenge for us, and we need somebody who sees the role as such. It is a challenge and an opportunity to play an important role in helping to turn things around.

The players showed great strength and resilience fronting up each week to give it their best. Any potential coach would need to embody the spirit that our players have shown this year.

Being at the bottom of the table, we actually find ourselves in a position of a bit of a niche market. There are many people in Melbourne who have wanted to try playing the game but never had the opportunity. The club welcomes all players and supporters and it is important, therefore, that any potential candidate have the communication skills required to address players of all experience.

There is a committed and enthusiastic group of players who are looking forward to fronting up to the challenge again next year. It was interesting reading other notes on this web board about confidence. Clearly the Richmond Centrals were lacking in confidence last season, but hopefully this will turn around. When it does, the Richmond Centrals will be a respected club both on and off the field.

Spy1, that dissappointed me mate...surely you'd know that I'm more intellegent than that...that was posted 25/09/2006 and your comment came before this thing was ever posted, so you were in the "know" before that...and I say this with all due respect...but YOU ARE IN THE KNOW....

Anyway...I wonder how this will be received by the football public...no doubt some people will be saying that this is reverse racism or whatever, interesting to see what the feedbacks would be like...although I don't think this is an exclusive Asian background team...but certainly a great way to get a part of the community involved in something that they have been interested in for a long time but never quiet sure where to voice their interest...good on the boys...

You coming down for a sausage or two Spy1? no doubt you will...:thumbsu:

Centrals...I think you're right mate...it gives many people the chance to have a crack, especially people without the footy background, foreigners and also FOBs ( fresh off the Boats ), I'd market this way...head off to the University's and start my campaign there...with the Yanks and Germans I'd start with...or Irish...they'd eat it up...:thumbsu:

Centrals07 said:
Hi RFS,

At the risk of sounding like someone churning out cliche after cliche, the Richmond Centrals would simply be looking to find the best possible fit for the club. That person may well have senior experience but undoubtedly there are some candidates without senior experience out there who would still make excellent coaches.

Next year will be a real challenge for us, and we need somebody who sees the role as such. It is a challenge and an opportunity to play an important role in helping to turn things around.

The players showed great strength and resilience fronting up each week to give it their best. Any potential coach would need to embody the spirit that our players have shown this year.

Being at the bottom of the table, we actually find ourselves in a position of a bit of a niche market. There are many people in Melbourne who have wanted to try playing the game but never had the opportunity. The club welcomes all players and supporters and it is important, therefore, that any potential candidate have the communication skills required to address players of all experience.

There is a committed and enthusiastic group of players who are looking forward to fronting up to the challenge again next year. It was interesting reading other notes on this web board about confidence. Clearly the Richmond Centrals were lacking in confidence last season, but hopefully this will turn around. When it does, the Richmond Centrals will be a respected club both on and off the field.

The way Richmond played the game and umpired was a huge improvement this year (especially the 2nds compared to recent years). Not a lot of success but certainly a lot more respect from this member of another D4 side. Keep up the good work Centrals and it will turn around.

PointPaul said:
Dead right Hollywood,

Eley Park can barely field 2 teams, their gun won the comp B&F and they were still demolished by top group of sides.
Contenders with confidence.....1.Eltham 2.Albert Park 3.4.5.between St Marys, UHS and St Marys as an outsider. Bulleen anywhere from 4 to 8 then.....the rest is a raffle. Box Hill North, Syndal and a long gap to Eley Park, Richmond and North Brunswick.
Yeah Vegemite, Eltham need a couple of in and unders and if they do they will dominate comp and if not still top 2 by a street as previous history attests.
Rome wasn't built in a day. Don't forget the marg!

Interesting that Corey Creswell won the Eley B&F rather than comp B&F Payne.

Redders_i.d. said:
The way Richmond played the game and umpired was a huge improvement this year (especially the 2nds compared to recent years). Not a lot of success but certainly a lot more respect from this member of another D4 side. Keep up the good work Centrals and it will turn around.

And a new siren to boot.... the pot and wooden spoon has been retired! Club definatley on the move! Nah best of luck to them, from what I have read they wil be on the up next season.

JP, your sniffing a much better trail than KC, with regard to Spy 1's information infostructure.
My understanding is this is not an exclusive team, rather it is to encourage those who may feel uncomfortable in an mainly anglo/euro enviroment. Obviously it won't hurt to base it in BH where there is a largely untapped youth and business community.

JP the Chinaman said:
Spy1, that dissappointed me mate...surely you'd know that I'm more intellegent than that...that was posted 25/09/2006 and your comment came before this thing was ever posted, so you were in the "know" before that...and I say this with all due respect...but YOU ARE IN THE KNOW....

Anyway...I wonder how this will be received by the football public...no doubt some people will be saying that this is reverse racism or whatever, interesting to see what the feedbacks would be like...although I don't think this is an exclusive Asian background team...but certainly a great way to get a part of the community involved in something that they have been interested in for a long time but never quiet sure where to voice their interest...good on the boys...

You coming down for a sausage or two Spy1? no doubt you will...:thumbsu:

Look for the shady bloke dressed in trench coat, dark glasses, hat pulled down and a sausage sanger in each hand. ;)