Dees vs Tigers Friday Night

Richmond has one very good element, and that is their forward line. Their midfield is average at best, and their defence is breakable.
Gotta make Joel Bowden accountable, thereby cutting off the majority of the supply to their forwards. I'd be very surprised if we don't win the clearances, and if we do, our forwards will be able to kick a winning score. Simmonds vs. White in the ruck will be great, especially since Simmonds learnt to play alongside him.

Put simply, Richmond, like Collingwood are having a solid season, but our class is superior and if we're the real deal we'll beat them.

It will come down to the hardness of the midfield and the game plans. Our midfield is undermanned, but Polo, Tuck, Foley and Deledio can go all night. If our midfielders are more desperate then we will get the clearances. The centre breaks isn't about class. Should be a top game, unless we play a stupid forward set up again. But we love the G and the 50,000 tiger fans will spur us on

lucas_hsv said:
What do you mean come out of the woodwork? I don't have stats, but I'd be confident in betting our crowd averages for home games would be pretty high this year, more so than melbournes. Happy for you to proove me wrong though, will eat humble pie.
Look at the dribble on your board about 90,000 tigers fans turning up and 500 for us. I don't remember Richmond having crowds last season.

Lightning In A Bottle said:
Fellas! Don't get caught up in tiger fans bull****. We are a much better team than them and when we turn it on its pretty to watch. Real pretty! Tigers lower the standard of the game when they beat teams (see vs adelaide and pt. adelaide) but they'll struggle to control us on the G. I'm not cocky but look at our quality players compared to theirs.

Johnstone, Bruce, Yze, Davey, Robbo, Neitz, McLean, Pickett, Green, White, Whelan. It's just not possible to stop all at once. The Tigs do need to be taken seriously though or we will lose in a scrap game. We will continue on our merry way.

Lightning.
you forgot to mention the tigers are the king of the G not melbourne:p

Theseventhhamster said:
Look at the dribble on your board about 90,000 tigers fans turning up and 500 for us. I don't remember Richmond having crowds last season.
i do, maybe you should lay off the drugs mate:eek: . melbourne fans when winning half of richmond, melbourne fans when richmond are winning not even a 3rd of richmond;)

if collingwood had 3 good years in the last quarter of a century, would you expect them to be getting about 30,000 members the last 10 years and average crowds of 40,000 over that 25 year period? I doubt they would have done any better. It's time for the Tiger generation to begin and we will prove we are the biggest club in Melbourne and maybe even the league. I can see us getting 40,000-50,000 members after 2 years of success. We won't even hear the Melbourne cheer amongst the booing from 50,000 tigers on Friday night ;)

CowboyFromHell said:
You are joking aren't you?

Name the midfielders of yours who can go with:

Bruce, TJ, Green, McLean, Pickett, McDonald, Yze etc. Name them.

Off the top of my head I can think of Johnson and Tuck. Who else? Brown plays mainly up forward. Foley? Polo? Deledio?

No chance. Our midfield owns yours. Only way you will win is if Wallace resorts to his rubbish game plan (and, again, makes a game horrible to watch), but even then we have shown we are more than capable of beating that game plan.

Dees by 6 goals.
bruce-Lids, TJ-Johnno, Green-Kraks, Mclean-Polo, Picket-Foley(coz foley wont back down to any of picketts weak attacks) McDonald- He's a gun, so put hyde there, Yze- pettifer. hmmm sorry mate your midfield aint that impressive, it is good but you guys higly overrate it

lucas_hsv said:
What do you mean come out of the woodwork? I don't have stats, but I'd be confident in betting our crowd averages for home games would be pretty high this year, more so than melbournes. Happy for you to proove me wrong though, will eat humble pie.

yeah richmond get as many fans or slightly more than everyone else when we are going ok, but when we get on a roll then even more come out of the woodwork and we suddenly vastly outnumber everyone else. watch em pour out from every nook and cranny. only difference is other teams get on a roll and they pour out of the woodwork to only match it with us when we are middle of the road.

this should be a ripper match as long as we come to play. i rate the dees higher than the tiges in terms of experience and ability. tiges are on a roll though and plough is a coach in great form at the moment. this game could go either way. bring it on! madtiger exagerates the numbers but we will outnumber you guys.

Madtiger2006 said:
if collingwood had 3 good years in the last quarter of a century, would you expect them to be getting about 30,000 members the last 10 years and average crowds of 40,000 over that 25 year period? I doubt they would have done any better. It's time for the Tiger generation to begin and we will prove we are the biggest club in Melbourne and maybe even the league. I can see us getting 40,000-50,000 members after 2 years of success. We won't even hear the Melbourne cheer amongst the booing from 50,000 tigers on Friday night ;)
Agree with everything you say Madtiger except the booing- it will be all Tiger cheering! EAT EM ALIVE TIGERS!

jackson_rules said:
bruce-Lids, TJ-Johnno, Green-Kraks, Mclean-Polo, Picket-Foley(coz foley wont back down to any of picketts weak attacks) McDonald- He's a gun, so put hyde there, Yze- pettifer. hmmm sorry mate your midfield aint that impressive, it is good but you guys higly overrate it
Sounds fantastic TJ - johnson is the only match up we don't dominate. :thumbsu:

lidsyyy3 said:
my melbourne friends how r we all, the clearances will still be in our favour with young foley starting to come along.
just warning u blokes trav johnstone will not get a kick friday night, kane johnson will shut him down too easily, fantastic player when hes up and running but dont think he can shake a good tag. good luck fellas

He gets tagged every week, and every week opposition fans say "who the hell was on travis bloody johnstone" he can shake em like a bottle of orange juice before drinking, well.

Madtiger2006 said:
don't worry about last years game at Telstra. Our game plan was rubbish and we congested our own forward line, while you guys had an open forward line. We play miles better at the G. As long as we stick to our game plan we can definately win because we have a strong forward line like Melbourne and a similar midfield and defence. Should be a pretty even match. Don't forget that Brown is back to his best now. Raines could take Davey, but so could Deledio who can definately match him for pace. I can't wait when we outnumber your fans by 3:1 :D. Our players will have the crowd advantage and it will spur the young exciting Tigers to a 4 goal win.

Crowd advantage came in real handy last year. You realise to get any advantage out ofit, your fans actually need to have something to cheer about, right?

My prediction: Melbourne by ten goals

Nathan Brown will be put off by Matthew Whelan's mere presence, who will hopefully get in his ear early, maybe a small pish and shove or some such, Brown is mentally soft and it won't take much to put him off his game with Whelan scragging him.

I'm concerned about Richo - usually Nicho kills him, but he won't be playing this week so it could be a killer against us.

I say stick Bruce at CHF, Dunn in the pocket, Neitz at FF - Neitz loves having space to lead into, and without Miller or Dunn blocking it he will get all the space he wants. Dunn is a good player close to goals, and Bowden will then have to take on Dunn deep in the pocket, negating Bowden's run - or Bruce at CHF who will kill him all over the ground and make him accountable.

Or we could just get Miller to go and smash his face in again like last year. either way is good.

I can't see KJ beating Travis Johnstone, with TJ's lighter frame it really shows when he's getting scragged, and because he plays so cleanly himself, the umps always seem to be looking for frees against him. Bartram vs Deledio or Tambling should be a cracker :)

Yze will be the dangerman, he murdered the tigers last year with some ridiculous goals playing from the goalsquare. Can't really see a good match up for him.

Davey will do his thing, even when he doesn't get a lot of it he still usually makes good use of his touches which is why it's hard to shut him out, in fact, you pretty much can't. It's more up to him than anything - will probably chip in with 1 or 2 with a small chance of runing riot.

Pettifer is the real danger man, we haven't come accross too many forward lines with two gun small forwards. And the fact is we don't have two Matthew Whelans - Chris Johnson might be too inexperienced for such a big job, maybe we should bring Wheatley back in but even then I'm not convinced - actually Ward will get the job and try and rough him up. Depending who is hurting us more on the scoreboard I can see Whelan and Ward rotating between Brown and Pettifer. Both have been genuinely damaging for us the other way too so Brown's fitness might get exploited.

White VS Simmonds: Master VS Apprentice and if the media had any idea this week would be touted as the battle for AA ruckman, not last week. Should be a cracker but I'm backing white, the cagey veteran ruckman, to take the points.

rick James said:
Pettifer is the real danger man, we haven't come accross too many forward lines with two gun small forwards. And the fact is we don't have two Matthew Whelans - Chris Johnson might be too inexperienced for such a big job, maybe we should bring Wheatley back in but even then I'm not convinced - actually Ward will get the job and try and rough him up. Depending who is hurting us more on the scoreboard I can see Whelan and Ward rotating between Brown and Pettifer. Both have been genuinely damaging for us the other way too so Brown's fitness might get exploited.

White VS Simmonds: Master VS Apprentice and if the media had any idea this week would be touted as the battle for AA ruckman, not last week. Should be a cracker but I'm backing white, the cagey veteran ruckman, to take the points.

Agree with that Rick James. With Whelan likely to get Brown in leaves us a bit short for Pettifer who is a sure thing for all australian. However Petiffer is more a marking forward who covers a lot of ground (got clocked at 16km in one match). A perfect match up for him would be Bruce however i don't think Danners would like to use him in that roll. I think that Rivers may get him to start with Caroll going to Richo and Dutchy to Shultz while Miller will get the resting ruckman for the tigers.

As for the ruck i can't believe that no one has mentioned Jeff White for All-Australian. Was watching White line fever last night and there poll asked who was the best ruckman this year and the choices were Lade, Simmonds, Cox, Everitt and Charman. That is complete bull sh*t. White has been super this year and is getting great support from Jamar who looks a good sort. I think Jeff White will be pumped for a big one with all the talk about Simmonds AA and is my tip for Best on.

good call goal sneak, white has been fantastic all year and im finding it hard to remember anybody who has beaten him this year. should be an interesting contest between him and simmonds but white is in just about career best form and i think it might be a bit much for simmonds. jamar should be too good for their backup ruckman too unless simmonds rucks all game in which case i think he will get worn down as the match goes on.

should be an interesting match between the two forward lines which both are full of dangerous players that will push both opposition defences. so i think the match will be won in the middle and thats where i feel we have an advantage.

got to give richmonds young midfield credit, they have been great all year, but in my opinion they may struggle this week against the physical pressure footy that the melbourne midfield brings to the table. expect the melbourne players to hit hard and wear the richmond boys down. i think richmonds midfield is good but not quite up to melbournes yet, still need another 2 years or so, much like melbournes did 2 years ago.

bruce at CHF could be a good move, make joel bowden accountable. either joel has to follow bruce around which puts a big hole in richmonds rebound or bowden racks up 30 possessions but bruce get 25 accross half forward and kicks 4 goals. wallace has done well this year coaching the tigers but daniher has been fantastic for us and should be interesting to see what surprises both coaches have in store for the game.

i think it should be an interesting game to watch but im predicting melbourne to wear richmond down in the first half and then start to pull away in the second half. melbourne by between 30 and 40.

brown isn't mentally soft. Even if he is quiet he will probably kick a couple of goals anyway. His last 2 weeks have been great and he is playing with the confidence he had before his injury. Whelan will be in trouble if we start winning the ball out of the middle

jackson_rules said:

Bruce will murder lids, TJ - Johnno will be a good match up, Green is too good for Krak, McLean is 15 classes above Polo, Pickett's "weak" attacks will still knock Foley six feet under, McDonald will probably run with Tuck and Yze won't play down back on Pettifer.

Since you mentioned those match ups, I'm changing my prediction - Dees by 10 goals.

Here's to a great match between the original MCG tennants.

Good luck ol' boys!:thumbsu:

rick James said:
Nathan Brown will be put off by Matthew Whelan's mere presence, who will hopefully get in his ear early, maybe a small pish and shove or some such, Brown is mentally soft and it won't take much to put him off his game with Whelan scragging him.

I disagree that Brown is mentally weak.
How can u honestly say that?
lol.
He didnt even show any pain when he did his leg.

Madtiger2006 said:
brown isn't mentally soft. Even if he is quiet he will probably kick a couple of goals anyway. His last 2 weeks have been great and he is playing with the confidence he had before his injury. Whelan will be in trouble if we start winning the ball out of the middle

I hope it doesn't rain for Nathan's sake as it might cause his mascara to run and perhaps, ruin his designer hair...

C'mon Dee-mons!

oxx said:
He didnt even show any pain when he did his leg.

Simple explantion.

He was in shock, hence, the show of no pain.

Top Dog said:
Simple explantion.

He was in shock, hence, the show of no pain.

Fair enuff but its no gauge for mental weakness.

I'm worried.

We are a better team i reckon, but knowing us, we are bound to lose one of the next 2.

We won from rounds 4-8, 5 in a row, then lost, now we've won another 5 in a row and i reckon this will be the one that we drop.

Plus i hate richmond and know many of their supporters who will give me s*** about it.

Dees vs Tigers Friday Night